Saint Louis, MO 
Willmore Park Share
Uploaded By: BreuerKyle Hole #11 (Taken 8/2013)
4 / 720ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee

Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Great Practice Course

5+    11/1/2015   11/9/2015
Review By: mdejong
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Many elevation changes
Nice variety of short/long holes
A fair mix of righty/lefty holes
Long, wide concrete tee pads
Cons: Navigation issues, particularly after holes 3, 13, 14.
Grass goes unmowed for long periods of time in the summer
Other Thoughts: Great design for a course. Most of the cons are due to the park that it's located in; things the designers could not avoid.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Lovely Park With Great Club Support!

1    10/23/2015   11/3/2015
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 831  Reviewed: 782  Exp: 37.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wilmore Park is a lovely, green park with rolling terrain and a of couple pretty lakes. The lakes are always present but don't really come into play on the course.

This is a course where you can see that the local club, in this case, the St. Louis Disc Club, has really put forth the effort into making this a first class disc golfing experience. Their mark is everywhere, starting with the kiosk with it's league and tourney information and then on to the nice, new 12' concrete tee pads. They wider at the back which helps direct you to the hole and also have a 4' long concrete foul box. The tee signs are attached to 4" x 4" and have bag holder hooks. The signs give the basic information. The baskets are the Gateway triple chain models. They're nice although a little hard to spot in the shady woods. I'd always prefer the brighter DGA models.

One nice thing about this course is the variety of distances. There is one nice short ACE run (# 6 @ 184'), another slightly longer ACE possibility on # 16 playing about 266' and then a nice combination of holes in the 300' range, some 400', some 500' and then # 11 playing over 700' from the short and over 900' from the longer tees.

The course is mostly open with a scattering of trees, just enough to provide challenge throughout the hole, whether it be early off the tee, mid-fairway or around the baskets. But they are usually used to maximum benefit. There is virtually no underbrush on the course. Coming from the Northwest, I appreciate these Midwestern courses with little to no underbrush. But this lack of underbrush means that errant shots are not punished too severely. It's almost always fairly easy to get back on track, perhaps with just a loss of a stroke.
Cons: There were some long walkouts. Some felt necessary, others seem unnecessary to me.

The mostly open terrain did seem to get a little redundant to me. I found myself looking to try different shots, just to amuse myself on some holes. Like how far can I throw a roller here. But saying that, the course is great for those possessing a nice roller in their repertoire.

Other Thoughts: I'm not completely sold on the red foul box on the tee pads. I'd hate to see some nit picky player calling a foul box violation in crucial situation in a tournament. I know the reasoning behind them but I don't know if they're worth the hassles that could possibly arise.

This is just one really fun, comfortable park to come and play disc golf. Although long, beginner type players could enjoy a round here due to the lack of obstacles and underbrush. Advanced type players, I think will find challenge playing from the longer tees. I just wish the course had the one or maybe even two, really signature types holes, that players remember and talk about after they leave the park.

These nicely rolling hills are always good fun to throw in. Keep up the good work here, St. Louis Disc Club!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

1    4/30/2015   5/10/2015
Review By: TheGodfather
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Loved how open the course was. Holes were challenging with a great variety of woods & openness.
Cons: Being the first time I played the course I found it difficult to find where the holes were. There were no scorecards so I had to look at the course from my iPhone to see a map of each hole.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great Course

1    4/23/2015   4/24/2015
Review By: theRHW
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 2.6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: +nice long concrete tee pads
+tee posts with bag hooks, always a plus
+great use of the wide open space available
+little chance of loosing a disc to the water, but it adds a nice view
+++Provided scorecards with a printer MAP of the course at the course sign!!!
+good variation in obstacles and elevation
Cons: -lots of foot traffic
-people walk their dogs across the grass with no regard for the holes we were trying to play
-park holds water for days and days after it rains at holes 2&13
-there needs to be a small footbridge for crossing the creek between 15&16

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great course!

1    12/7/2014   12/7/2014
Review By: brettedward
Played: 36  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The new tee pads are great. Layout is excellent even though there are a couple of walks from basket to next tee that are hard to figure out unless you're playing with someone who knows the course.(#5 to #6 and from #13 to #14). I'm relatively new to disc golf and this is enough of a challenge to help me get better, but open to allow someone to enjoy the course.
Cons: Need a couple of additional markers to help you get from the holes I mentioned above. I was with others in the beginning that helped me figure out 5 to 6, but I messed up from 13 to 14 by myself. I know - should have read the layout map!!

Also, if it's rained recently, there are several holes where the water doesn't drain very well.

Watch out of goose poop on several holes!
Other Thoughts: Speaking of layout maps - the box is almost empty and the ones that were in there were wet from the rain Friday night.

This is a fun course that will give you some easy holes to let you relax and then some challenges due to the tree lines.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Very pleasant course

1    11/16/2014   11/16/2014
Review By: jasonrigler
Played: 67  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 3.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Tee Pads are perfect. Very clean park. Good course for new players. Elevation changes. Nice course for glow golf. Well designed to mostly avoid throwing at pedestrians. You can play the course fairly quick.
Cons: A few long walks to the next teepad. 3 to 4 and 5 to 6. (need better signage for that one). Pay careful attention to people crossing the park with dogs or jogging.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course to play. It is open enough to give new players some peace of mind with just enough trees to cause you to consider your shot for a moment. If you can throw 300ft reliably you should have no problem playing par on this course. You can throw some rollers here. Not sure what the signature hole would be. There is water but it doesnt really come into play, I assume because the walking paths go around the water. This is a good course with great teepads. I played this course on a very cold Saturday afternoon. I can only imagine how busy it would be on nice days. I think they have designed it as well as they can to protect park goers and still make for a fun round of disc golf. Play this course to warm up and then play the more challenging Jefferson Barracks course nearby.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Better and Better

5+    10/6/2014   9/21/2014
Review By: maxburn
Played: 17  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.7 Years
This review was updated on 10/7/2014
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: st louis dgc and the river city flyers have added a ton of new pin positions.
there are as many as 2 new pin positions at some holes. changing the line/target keeps this course fresh.
*The NEW concrete pads make all the difference-no more muddy tee shots!!!
*AND the practice basket near #1 is always great to loosen up and cool down after your round.
*Nice combo of open fairways, (generally), but almost always some trees in play, either in your face or at the end of throws.
*Good layout that pays dividends with shot placement, it will save strokes.
*Shoot your aces on #6, (very short / <200' with water OB), or #16. Hole # 12, #'s 15 &16
*Hole 2 is long, starts downhill, you'll want to avoid the major oak tree on left / center of the fairway. its about 275-300 feet out. you can float a hyzer past tree, or if you're short, you're under the branches, or even worse facing a 150X125' tree in your way.
-Hole 3 is short, but the pins are on top of a swaile past a thick group of bald cypress trees. a good tee shot gets you started, but then going under the trees, then up the small hill is a bitch. if you have a roller shot working for you, use it here. a difficult par 3 without a throw to pass the trees and travel uphill!
-The longest, #11 has a good amount of open fairway for a straight drive and long 2nd (or 3rd) shot. Approach from the left side of fairway for clearest shot to the pin. then you negotiate your way in or through a group of very large cottonwood trees unless you are strong and throw in and through, or around to the right, cut shot diving into trees. certainly par-able with a few good tosses.
-Hole #14 is down hill, over a bowl shape and up the next hill. you can get some extra lift, especially if it's warm, thermals rise up from the bowl. the pins sit; A) in a cubby, visible from tee, and, B) is just iver the hill from hell to the left of A. shoot between 2 large tree trunks and over the crown of the hill.
**Hole #15 now has 2 PIN PLACEMENTS. Look left from "A" pin. it's not behind the pine tree like A, go left, almost straight and the new placement sits behind a tall, straight maple tree.
*putts/ short approaches at #15 can take air. this is what i call the 'river des peres effect'. seems like there's always a head wind, then swirls up and can take a floater away, way away. be careful!!
* #16 now has 2 pin placements, both reachable and catch some wind on your tee shot.
*Hole #17 is just fun, and, it is challenging, if you throw to the right off the tee, this hole gets longer. get past a line of OB trees and shrubs on right and you will see your objective. Challenging approach, and/or putt due to elevations. throw short and you'll wind up in the bottom of a bowl, looking up to pin. BUT you can attack the pin in A position, the ground usually stops and catches missiles.
*#18 is a great finish. shoot over the crest of the hill, staying out of the lake and trees on the right. the pin is hidden by a small cluster of evergreens to left. go for it. (placement A is much straighter).
Cons: * watch where you're walking! there are camouflaged pits, holes, dips and puddles hidden by the evenly cut grass. pretty much booby traps.
*Not many.
*A few spots do not drain well, off the tee at #8, the walk between 4 and 5, fairway on 3, the basket on 2 has a few wet spots to avoid, and basket A at 13 can have standing water....but mostly good drainage.

Other Thoughts: *the course is now in year two, St Louis Disc Golf Club is doing a great job improving this course with limited funds.
*Could use a few benches here and there to catch your breath.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Open, Hilly, and Great for Practice!

5+    7/13/2014   7/14/2014
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course will help you to hone in on your shots, techniques, and ability to judge distance. This course makes me feel as I am playing myself rather than the course. There are several open fairways that allow you to check out how far you can drive. The open fairways do not make it boring by any means. The basket placements, hills, and the few trees out there really make this course fun and unique. There is hardly anywhere to lose your disc unless you are really unlucky.
Cons: Dirt tee pads create puddles and mud in the rain. It may be hard to find your way to the next hole if you don't have a map or prior knowledge of the course. Hole 9 ends far away from the parking lot, which means you have to start from hole 1 and play a full 18, unless you want to walk a good distance back to your car. MORE DRINKING FOUNTAINS!!
Other Thoughts: Great course for all skill levels. If you have never played disc golf before than I would reccomend this course to get acquainted. I am there 3-4 times per week.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Date: 8/11/2014 Designer Response by: stubborn puppet
Consider checking out the brand new, 12' long tee concrete tee pads. They're 5' wide in the front, 8' wide in the back and have a 4' long red concrete foul box up front for safety and to prevent erosion. There is also now a practice basket near tee pad 1. I think it might improve your rating. Enjoy.

A Solid Course With Potential

1    5/13/2014   5/19/2014
Review By: Wise Fool
Played: 125  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 6.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Baskets are brand new and catch well.
-Park is in very good shape and very well maintained.
-Good variety of hole lengths on this course. A couple of the holes are around 200 feet and then there are a few holes that are 500 or 600 feet long.
-The elevation available in the park is used pretty well on this course.
--This course is spread out so the holes don't interfere with each other.
-The available trees in the park are used pretty well on this course. The course features some straight shots and then some shots that go right or left.
-Easily accessible bathrooms and trashcans on the course.
-Arrows set into the ground near each basket pointing in the direction of the next tee.
Cons: -Tee-pads are dirt. I played this course after it had rained and they were nearly unusable. Concrete tee-pads are really needed on this course.
-Tee-signs need to be improved. Currently they are only a post with the distance to each pin position. With some of the longer holes, this course definitely needs tee-signs that shows the layout of the hole.
-The flow of this course isn't exactly easy to follow.There are lots of long walks between the tees and some times they make you walk the exact way you just came. Even with the arrows at each basket, it was sometimes hard to find the next tee-pad. I was able to pull up a map on my phone and it helped quite a bit. Without the map, I probably wouldn't have been able to find all of the tee-pads.
-Couple holes especially holes six felt like filler holes and weren't overly exciting.
-None of the holes were very wooded or tight and didn't really force specific shot types. None of the holes overly difficult either.
-It's a shame they weren't able to bring the ponds into play more. I see why they couldn't because of the amount of people fishing on them, but it is still a shame.
Other Thoughts: This was solid course. None of the holes were super memorable, but there were still solid. If the flow of this course was improved and concrete tee-pads and tee-signs were added this could be a pretty good course. If you are in the area it is worth playing, but I wouldn't consider it a destination course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Date: 8/6/2014 Designer Response by: stubborn puppet
Consider checking out the brand new, 12' long tee concrete tee pads. They're 5' wide in the front, 8' wide in the back and have a 4' long red concrete foul box up front for safety and to prevent erosion. I think it might improve your rating. Enjoy.

Willmore or less feed your addiction

1    4/18/2014   4/24/2014
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 193  Reviewed: 137  Exp: 11.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Plays all around a pretty busy, very clean and pleasant city park with typical park amenities.
Disc Play: Mostly open/semi-open with a smattering of well-placed trees. Maybe 2-3 holes I'd describe as lightly wooded. The openness of this design allows for plenty of shot variety, but certainly doesn't require it. Great distribution of hole distances of varying lengths with one under 200, several in the 250-350 range, many over 400' and (depending on pin placement) anywhere from 2-5 over 500'with a couple of 600 footers - nicely done.
Good use of elevation: downhill, uphill, slopes - several holes play longer or shorter than posted. Some with rollaway potential for risk/reward opportunities.
Equipment: Natural tees weren't bad, but leave something to be desired on long holes where sure footing helps achieve distance. Tees marked with tall 4x4 posts with small signs, but pin location isn't noted. Scorecard with map at kiosk off the parking lot.
Aesthetics: Very pleasant park style setting with nice ponds, lots of green space, and essentially no underbrush. Rolling hills also add to the appeal. Definitely a pleasant walk through the park.
Routing/Nav: see cons... 4" diameter pavers in the ground near the pin with arrow pointing toward next tee along with tee markers are the only saving graces here.
Memorable holes: For me #'s 5, 7, 8, and 10 and 11, stood out above the rest.
Low chance of disc loss.
Fills a DG void in the immediate vicinity.
Trash cans at many tees (score card even shows where they are), and a few restrooms (near parking, tee 7 and on the way to 14).
Potential safety issues: Several holes play close to walkways and other areas where other park goers are likely to be, and this is a busy park with plenty of non-DG traffic (at least it was the day I played). Situation's exacerbated by several factors; wide open course design - with nothing to inhibit them, pedestrians simply stroll through the park, completely unaware they entering onto completely undefined fairways. Made only worse by the fact that there are several long holes that play blind due to elevation. Long holes mean faster discs, more "oomph" and less precision... you do the math. One or two holes play near roads with decent traffic.
Not much variety in terms of fairway types. Everything's open/semi open, lightly wooded at best - feels repetitive toward the end. If not for all the sweet elevation changes, I see how some might say it's boring.
Too many holes don't make you pay for missing your intended line. Although though doing so may cost you birdie opportunities, the open design makes for easy recoveries to save par.
Routing/Nav: I don't mind long walks from hole to hole (especially when there's a reason, like the walk from 7-8 here), but Willmore's routing from hole to hole is terribly inefficient and often non-intuitive. The walks only seem to get longer and more confusing the further you get into the course. Playing 3 takes you completely in the opposite direction of 4's tee. The resulting walk is awkward, but only mildly annoying. 5 to 6 is took a while to find, 6-7 is a hike. 7 to 8 is counterintuitive, but I forgive that one because they opted to make 8 a downhill thrill, rather than an uphill humbler. I don't recall issues from 9-13, but the walk to 14 is completely atrocious. You walk past 17 to get to 15, and 18 isn't obvious to the uninitiated in any way, shape or form. The map is of limited help, but is essential your first time out.
Other Thoughts: Willmore is appropriate for beginners to advanced players. Wide open layout means wind is likely to be a factor here (was during my round). Given the length on some of these holes (and the arm speeds they're likely to generate) this makes disc selection and shot execution very important, because the wind has a long time to work on your disc. Shots can get away from players, and there really isn't much (in the way of obstacles) to keep them from ending up where you don't wanna be. IMO, this doesn't coexist well in the proximity of pedestrians near ponds, on walkways, flying kites in fields... all of which were part of my round.

Strictly from disc play standpoint, I see this course as 3.0 - 3.25. I like the range of distances and use of elevation, but the limited variety of shot shapes required and lack of technical holes of any sort hold it back from any potential it might have had for a higher rating. Factor in the potential for interference with other park goers and the horrible routing, and I just can't rate it high as I'd like to. There are some fun holes and interesting pin placements, but I can't overlook its flaws.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Date: 8/6/2014 Designer Response by: stubborn puppet
Consider checking out the brand new, 12' long tee concrete tee pads. They're 5' wide in the front, 8' wide in the back and have a 4' long red concrete foul box up front for safety and to prevent erosion. We've also addressed a few of the possible safety concerns you have concerning pathways and roads - as well as where people were prone to walking across the fairway. I think it might improve your rating. Enjoy.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.