Disc Golf Store
Lake Stevens, WA 
Lake Stevens DGC Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #6 (Taken 5/2010)
3 / 210ft.   3 / 200ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

1    12/8/2012   12/8/2012
Review By: Ranger Rick
Played: 42  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 2.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Variety is the spice of life! Uphill; downhill; over the river, and through the woods. There are holes for everybody!

Egg baskets - I like them (and hated them at times) because they are different and add something that made this course unique!

The Swamp - not so much a swamp; more of a seasonal wetland, but it creeped it's way through the course, ready to rear it's ugly head at any minute. I had to go fishing a couple of times, but it's not so deep or unforgiving that you can't retrieve an errant disc without too much trouble.

Tee signs - great signs overall, though a few have been vandalized. With so many trees and elevation difference, the signs at each tee made it much easier to find the basket!
Cons: Mixed tee boxes - some where concrete pavers (thumbs up) and some were gravel (thumbs down).

No course map, here or onsite.

Painted trees - though they helped immensely to help me find the next tee box, I didn't care for the spray paint on the trees. I understand that it is a necessary evil, but still made the course look a little trashier.

Some baskets were close to each other, and I had to walk up to them to determine which one I was shoot at.
Other Thoughts: I had a really good time! There were plenty of people on the course, and everyone was friendly and courteous. One gentleman offered to play with me to show me around ( I declined, but it was a very nice offer), another group let me play through, all in all, the locals were friendly and helpful!

The course is short, but very technical (which works great for me as I am a newer player, and haven't developed a strong arm yet). I played the whole course with just two discs - a Buzzz, and a Warlock, and the only problems I had were of my own making.

What it lacks in distance, it more than makes up for in the fun department! I plan to make this a regular stop on my way home from work, or when spending some time at the lake nearby

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 The Ultimate Challenge

1    4/20/2011   5/3/2011
Review By: MrNiceFella
Played: 17  Reviewed: 15
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very challenging course. Egg basket style pins make it especially challenging. Heavily wooded, good elevation changes, plenty of hazards. Lots of fun!
Cons: All short distance shots. Needs concrete tee pads. Someone spray painted numbers and arrows on trees to direct you from hole to hole. This looks terrible and it is a shame that this person didn't have more sense than this. Some good signs would have prevented this from happening.
Other Thoughts: Water in the bog is very cold! Avoid it as much as possible.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 short and sweet

1    3/6/2011   3/6/2011
Review By: Robinhood
Played: 25  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 14.4 Years
This review was updated on 3/10/2011
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
The best and worst of Lake Stevens DGC are the Unique Egg Baskets which will really challenge your putting. Technically Challenging lots of trees, narrow fairways and bog hazards. Good layout, and use of land. Well marked and easy to follow layout.
Cons:
Unique Baskets can be frustrating to putt. Muddy at times. lots of tree damage, some are about chopped down.some missing signage, but blaze markers are on the trees to the next hole. short shots on most hole, I would have liked to see a little more distance.
Other Thoughts:
Well worth the trip, I will be back for sure. It would be nice to see a little more length on the course, but overall very good use of the space.

lots of recent blow down trees, and mud, lots of mud.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/7/2010   8/25/2010
Review By: Duanel
Played: 33  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 24.7 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very technical, this course will definitely teach you how to be accurate. There is enough of a variety between holes to make it exciting.
Cons: Watch your step on a few of these holes between the 'Bog of Eternal Stench' and various steep hills. Oh, and I really hate the baskets. Many's the time I should have had a par or bird and was denied by stupid placement of chains.
Other Thoughts: Did I mention I hate the baskets? Because I do. The locals seem to be proud of them, though. Bully for them! Anyway, the layout more than makes up for the baskets. I really enjoy the course and play it multiple times a month. I don't really care for the baskets, though.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

The Baskets MAKE this course fun!

5+    7/28/2009   9/2/2009
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 184  Reviewed: 114  Exp: 22.6 Years
This review was updated on 12/10/2014
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I must start by saying that other than the gnarly technical woods that make this course so great - the BASKETS are what make this one-of-a-kind disc golf experience. I will explain why in a moment. First, you play primarily through a massive understory of firs and cedars on a quite short layout that is twisty and technical. Some of the holes would be fairly easy to deuce, or at least get your par - if not for the baskets.. The baskets offer a 3-Dimensional putting experience, as they are shaped like a globe, and sometimes you are putting into a half-sphere, or even a pie-wedge quadrant that requires pin-point accuracy. Often times there is a set of guard chains in the quadrant you are putting into which is sometimes attainable, but only with an absolute perfect shot, and some luck. The reason these baskets work for me, is due to the short length of the course, they create a dynamic on the green that requires that your drive or approach be very accurate. If you land on the side that has the guard chains - consider that you have landed in a sand trap or bunker, and you are penalized accordingly. I think greens should be designed this way in disc golf - a flat, wide open green is fine, but it shouldn't be seen on every hole on the course!

Otherwise, this course is a lot of fun and has elevation, and requires all kinds of different shots.
Cons: Tee pads are still gravel and always uneven. Fortunately, the course is short, so rarely is a big run up required.

Navigation can be a bitch if you are not carrying a map, so print one out.
Other Thoughts: Sooo many people complain about the baskets - even really good players. If you are such a good player, then putting should not be a problem to you, right?!

They have a little tournament every year, in which you can opt to play a one-disc challenge. I've always wondered what it would be like to play with one disc only.....

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

  Correction: CAN play during school hours

5+    7/30/2009   7/30/2009
Review By: JamesD
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: HerbDeaf's review of 3/19/2009 stated "you can't play during school hours".

I believe the only restriction during school hours is not to play hole #12, which is right next to the school.

Since there ia a hole #19, you just play that and still get a full 18.

2 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Real classy

5+    4/4/2009   4/4/2009
Review By: menmabassguitar
Played: 20  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 8.8 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Technical tight tree shots. Its right next to a Elementary school so its always well kept.
Because of all the hills and trees its pretty dry this time of year.
I play this course every week, it gets littered with people around afternoon times
Cons: short holes. and no trash bins really,

there appears to be a real "pack it in, pack it out" miss-understanding

The last two holes are aimed at one another, I've already seen someone get hit in the head with TWO frisbees!
Other Thoughts: Use Caution around other players and when school is out

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Lake Stevens Jungle Adventure!

6/19/2007   3/30/2008
Review By: weum107
Played: 108  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 18.6 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very thick, beautiful scenery and some big views. Lovely Park with a very Costa Rican feel to it. Not too tough to navigate...and who doesn't love a 19th hole tee box!
Cons: A little tough to find from interstate. Discs must be watched carefully as they can easily be laid to rest at this course. Very thickly wooded course. Ultra fun.
Other Thoughts: Had a blast here and met a cool local fella. Watch for the foliage and keep an eye on those drivers...spent a fair chunk of time scanning the brush for my Gazelle. Worth the journey to get there....not too hard once i asked for directions in picturesque Lake Stevens. Fun and rewarding!

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.