Lake Stevens, WA 
Lake Stevens DGC Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #17 (Taken 5/2010)
3 / 230ft.   3 / 235ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee



Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Small Beautiful Course

2-4    8/6/2011   8/19/2011
Review By: Clempson13
Played: 19  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.2 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a gorgeous evergreen course with a lot of holes located creatively in a small area. I spent half the time I was playing the course taking in the scenery since I'm not from the area. The baskets with blocking chains definitely threw in a different aspect to the game I hadn't seen before and I actually kinda like them; really made the course more technical.
Cons: Downsides to this course would be the short hole lengths and the intersecting/proximity of holes to one another. There were a few holes where the map said the basket was up and the left a bit, look out there and I see three baskets.... That kind of made it challenging. Graffiti on the trees were somewhat helpful, but were really an eye sore.
Other Thoughts: I didn't get to play the course when the "bogs" were full of water, but I can definitely see how these would make the course more complex as I played around/through the dark spots where they usually are. Also take care to avoid the ferns with a wayward disc...it can be pretty hard to locate it in them.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 The Ultimate Challenge

1    4/20/2011   5/3/2011
Review By: MrNiceFella
Played: 17  Reviewed: 15
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very challenging course. Egg basket style pins make it especially challenging. Heavily wooded, good elevation changes, plenty of hazards. Lots of fun!
Cons: All short distance shots. Needs concrete tee pads. Someone spray painted numbers and arrows on trees to direct you from hole to hole. This looks terrible and it is a shame that this person didn't have more sense than this. Some good signs would have prevented this from happening.
Other Thoughts: Water in the bog is very cold! Avoid it as much as possible.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 short and sweet

1    3/6/2011   3/6/2011
Review By: Robinhood
Played: 25  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 15.8 Years
This review was updated on 3/10/2011
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
The best and worst of Lake Stevens DGC are the Unique Egg Baskets which will really challenge your putting. Technically Challenging lots of trees, narrow fairways and bog hazards. Good layout, and use of land. Well marked and easy to follow layout.
Cons:
Unique Baskets can be frustrating to putt. Muddy at times. lots of tree damage, some are about chopped down.some missing signage, but blaze markers are on the trees to the next hole. short shots on most hole, I would have liked to see a little more distance.
Other Thoughts:
Well worth the trip, I will be back for sure. It would be nice to see a little more length on the course, but overall very good use of the space.

lots of recent blow down trees, and mud, lots of mud.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  commercial for the Lake Stevens DVG

1    1/15/2011   1/15/2011
Review By: video1138
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: FUN
The trees keep it dry even when the rain is falling.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eyBogphWiTw
Cons: Losing the disc in the bog sucks, but watching a friend lose a disc in the bog is a pro.
Other Thoughts: Baskets are different than I am used to, not a bad thing.

1 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 BASKET HATER

5+    10/21/2010   10/22/2010
Review By: S3R14L_K1LL4
Played: 16  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.6 Years
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Decent maintainance. Not overly crowded. Challenging, yet fun. Friendly LOCALS/REGULARS.
Cons: THE BASKETS SUCK!!! I understand and respect the "EGG BASKETS" and their whole chain set up representing sand traps and what not, but this is a challenging enough course as it is.
Other Thoughts: Like this course a lot, and play it regularly. Have introduced many people to Disc Golf via this course, and 9 out of 10 are regular players now.

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/7/2010   8/25/2010
Review By: Duanel
Played: 33  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 26.2 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very technical, this course will definitely teach you how to be accurate. There is enough of a variety between holes to make it exciting.
Cons: Watch your step on a few of these holes between the 'Bog of Eternal Stench' and various steep hills. Oh, and I really hate the baskets. Many's the time I should have had a par or bird and was denied by stupid placement of chains.
Other Thoughts: Did I mention I hate the baskets? Because I do. The locals seem to be proud of them, though. Bully for them! Anyway, the layout more than makes up for the baskets. I really enjoy the course and play it multiple times a month. I don't really care for the baskets, though.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

The Baskets MAKE this course fun!

5+    7/28/2009   9/2/2009
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 192  Reviewed: 125  Exp: 24 Years
This review was updated on 12/10/2014
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I must start by saying that other than the gnarly technical woods that make this course so great - the BASKETS are what make this one-of-a-kind disc golf experience. I will explain why in a moment. First, you play primarily through a massive understory of firs and cedars on a quite short layout that is twisty and technical. Some of the holes would be fairly easy to deuce, or at least get your par - if not for the baskets.. The baskets offer a 3-Dimensional putting experience, as they are shaped like a globe, and sometimes you are putting into a half-sphere, or even a pie-wedge quadrant that requires pin-point accuracy. Often times there is a set of guard chains in the quadrant you are putting into which is sometimes attainable, but only with an absolute perfect shot, and some luck. The reason these baskets work for me, is due to the short length of the course, they create a dynamic on the green that requires that your drive or approach be very accurate. If you land on the side that has the guard chains - consider that you have landed in a sand trap or bunker, and you are penalized accordingly. I think greens should be designed this way in disc golf - a flat, wide open green is fine, but it shouldn't be seen on every hole on the course!

Otherwise, this course is a lot of fun and has elevation, and requires all kinds of different shots.
Cons: Tee pads are still gravel and always uneven. Fortunately, the course is short, so rarely is a big run up required.

Navigation can be a bitch if you are not carrying a map, so print one out.
Other Thoughts: Sooo many people complain about the baskets - even really good players. If you are such a good player, then putting should not be a problem to you, right?!

They have a little tournament every year, in which you can opt to play a one-disc challenge. I've always wondered what it would be like to play with one disc only.....

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Too short and too hard

1    6/17/2009   8/10/2009
Review By: JEREMSTER
Played: 17  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 17.2 Years
3 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: It's a beautiful course to look at, and the tee pads are well marked from the baskets.
Cons: Most of the holes are way too short, mostly under 200ft. But even though they are short there is rarely a clear path to the basket from the tee pad, which by itself would be frustrating enough, but the real downfall of the course is the joke baskets that you can only hit from one side and at just the right angle. Plus somebody thought it was a good idea to spray paint directions on every other tree with bright pink paint(ugly). Also the course has a lot of non-disc golf users (dog walkers and such) so you have to watch your shots.
Other Thoughts: This course has a lot of potential but in the end its just too un-playable.

3 of 10 people found this review helpful.

  Correction: CAN play during school hours

5+    7/30/2009   7/30/2009
Review By: JamesD
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: HerbDeaf's review of 3/19/2009 stated "you can't play during school hours".

I believe the only restriction during school hours is not to play hole #12, which is right next to the school.

Since there ia a hole #19, you just play that and still get a full 18.

2 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome course

1    7/3/2009   7/11/2009
Review By: Terrace park ranger
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: Beautiful, clean, funky baskets make the game more interesting. It is well worth a drove out of the Seattle area, as nothing down there is as much fun as this course. The cleanliness makes it easier to find your disc, so you can spend more time playing and less time looking for your disc. It is a very well designed course and I'm thankful for it.
Cons: Can be easy. Go in the winter if you feel like swimming.
Other Thoughts: Very well maintained.

1 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.