Lake Stevens, WA 
Lake Stevens DGC Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #15 (Taken 5/2010)
3 / 180ft.   3 / 210ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Awesome course

1    7/3/2009   7/11/2009
Review By: Terrace park ranger
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: Beautiful, clean, funky baskets make the game more interesting. It is well worth a drove out of the Seattle area, as nothing down there is as much fun as this course. The cleanliness makes it easier to find your disc, so you can spend more time playing and less time looking for your disc. It is a very well designed course and I'm thankful for it.
Cons: Can be easy. Go in the winter if you feel like swimming.
Other Thoughts: Very well maintained.

1 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Great Vacation Course

2-4    3/3/2009   5/30/2009
Review By: Wraith3
Played: 12  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 9.2 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great course with plenty of variety. The trees are magnificent, and give a very unique feel to the course. The gentle hills are just perfect compared to the generally flat courses that i usually play in SW michigan. This course is just purely beautiful. And the people are great too, they always seem to be very helpful and friendly.

A must visit on every trip to the seattle area
Cons: These holes are just awful, although they do add an extra challenge. but i don't like to have to play my approach or miss a birdie because i was facing the wrong way to the hole.
Other Thoughts: I always just park in the School Parking lot. but i think you can park on the street also.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 The only course with these baskets

5+    9/13/2010   5/29/2009
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 231  Reviewed: 223  Exp: 13.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/11/2011
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very technical course with a lot of different shots and dual tee pads makes it even more technical. A couple of fun shots over and near a bog penalty if it goes in to the water and a decent amount of elevation without wearing you out after the round. Very fun and you can get a round in in about an hour if your fast. The doubles tournament on Mondays is a lot of fun and the locals are really laid back.
Cons: The baskets are horrible to some people and I am getting used to them but the chaining off a side of the basket, it's like putting a four by four in the middle of a putting green on a ball golf course but that being said it's the only course I know of that uses these baskets so I would be against removing them for "real" baskets. The good thing about the baskets is they make you a much more accurate putter. The course is a bit short and I would like to see a couple of holes that you can air it out on, as about half of the course I use a midrange disc on. The tee pads are gravel/dirt because the city doesn't want anything "permanent" in the park as cement.
Other Thoughts: This is a very nice course, the layout is excellent and they did a god job with what they had, and the course is easy to follow which is a plus. Family friendly but still a challenge to people who play regularly which makes this a great disc golf destination. A lot of trees and you will hit many of them so use discs that can take the damage! Recently there has been work done and gravel is now covering the tee pads.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Great Technical Course

1    5/24/2009   5/26/2009
Review By: python6114
Played: 8  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.4 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Beautiful Course with a great landscape and easy to follow directions to holes and baskets. The trees help you feel secluded in such a small space. This is technically challenging with a lot of shots around trees. The best part is the baskets are more challenging then anything I've experienced with some sides being chained off. You actually have to play your approaches wisely.
Cons: I wish it was a little longer then the course would be one of the most difficult in Washington State. Also I could imagine that during the wetter months the bog could be a smelly problem.
Other Thoughts: This is worth the trip and I am sure I will play there more then once even though it is about an hour drive for me. Also there is a great hardware store by the course that has a really good selection of discs.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Real classy

5+    4/4/2009   4/4/2009
Review By: menmabassguitar
Played: 20  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 10.5 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Technical tight tree shots. Its right next to a Elementary school so its always well kept.
Because of all the hills and trees its pretty dry this time of year.
I play this course every week, it gets littered with people around afternoon times
Cons: short holes. and no trash bins really,

there appears to be a real "pack it in, pack it out" miss-understanding

The last two holes are aimed at one another, I've already seen someone get hit in the head with TWO frisbees!
Other Thoughts: Use Caution around other players and when school is out

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 wierd baskets

1    8/30/2008   11/4/2008
Review By: Starwraith169
Played: 48  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 13.3 Years
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: very technical with lots of trees. You certainly have to have accuracy. Its really pretty inside the trees. Different elevation shots.
Cons: The course has these wierd looking half circle baskets with bars over the top and different chain placements. It definitely added to the difficulty for a shorter course, but I hated the design. Also, the course was really confusing for lack of signs to the next hole. I also hated how they spray painted all the trees. Its really an eyesore.
Other Thoughts: Please change out those damn baskets. I wouldnt think that you could have a PDGA sanctioned tourney there, because I know those baskets are not approved.

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Tough and mostly fair

6/25/2008   6/26/2008
Review By: LanceInTacoma
Played: 35  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 26.3 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: As many others have mentioned, the wooded setting is nice. I would imagine, that even on a really hot day, you would be mostly cool in here under the canopy. The course designers certainly did a good job of getting the most out of a fairly small area, acreage-wise. Although others have complained about them, I don't mind the baskets so much, they are certainly unique, at least in my experience, and being a local would have its advantages I suppose, since sometimes being on the right side of the hole offers you a much better chance of draining a putt, than the left side, or vise versa.
Cons: I would like to have a few holes that require a little more distance and power than these do, but it certainly puts a premium on accuracy and control. A little more parking would be nice too, especially since there is a large construction project going on at the school currently, so even though school is out, there was no parking available there.
Other Thoughts: A couple of observations. One, although I only saw three other groups playing during my quick morning round, it seemed everyone was throwing forehands. I don't know if it was just a weird coincidence, or if maybe some of the good locals that play a lot throw mostly forehand and have taught others their favorite shot. Also, my second ace of the year, and third ever came during my round, and it wasn't on one of the shortest holes either. It was a 209 foot tunnel type shot that had to thread the needle through some trees. A nice straight shot witnessed by a couple of 10-11 year old bmxers that were standing around waiting for me to finish the hole so they could go back to their favorite jump. All in all, I liked the course, and would play here occasionally if it were closer to me.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Technical Trees

1    6/19/2008   6/19/2008
Review By: HarbDeaf
Played: 25  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 9.9 Years
This review was updated on 3/19/2009
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lake Stevens, a heavily treed 5 acre lot mostly huge pines w/ ferns. Beautiful beautiful course. Extremely Technical. First hole you air it out over a meadow towards the forest, to warm you up. Inside, is trees and mo' trees. Lots of elevation changes. Course is designed awesomely for 5 acres. You don't have to worry about hitting other people. Water hazards come and go with the weather. I've met some killer water hazards where you kind of worry about losing your disc. This course has a heavy wooded feel where you have to often have to thread the needle with your disc when you drive. Good luck and expect some tacos.
Cons: Cons in a nutshell are the baskets & chain setting. The Baskets have 4 bars on them, and the chains vary due to vandalism. But really it depends on how you look at it, as a challege or a nuisance? I like to think it's a challenge. Many a disc has bounced out of the basket or gone right thru. You HAVE to throw it perfect to make it go in. The guy playing next to you is in the same boat.
Other Thoughts: Follow the painted arrows on the Trees for the next Tee off. The tees are usually dry and framed w/ wood. Again, heavy trees which is good in rain. Not too many people. Close to Hwy 9 and the Hwy to Grantie Falls.

Downtown Lake Stevens is nearby & the lake. True Value Hardware store carries discs. The course is right next to a school, you can't play during school hours.

Also there's Pro and Am Tees to Tee off from and both are fun! I enjoyed it.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Lake Stevens Jungle Adventure!

6/19/2007   3/30/2008
Review By: weum107
Played: 110  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 20.3 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very thick, beautiful scenery and some big views. Lovely Park with a very Costa Rican feel to it. Not too tough to navigate...and who doesn't love a 19th hole tee box!
Cons: A little tough to find from interstate. Discs must be watched carefully as they can easily be laid to rest at this course. Very thickly wooded course. Ultra fun.
Other Thoughts: Had a blast here and met a cool local fella. Watch for the foliage and keep an eye on those drivers...spent a fair chunk of time scanning the brush for my Gazelle. Worth the journey to get there....not too hard once i asked for directions in picturesque Lake Stevens. Fun and rewarding!

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 How I love this course!

1/1/2008   3/5/2008
Review By: Disc Golf Fanatic
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.2 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I love the baskets! I know some don't like but it keeps a short course challenging. Also love the wooded setting, the variety of drives, hazards and crazy putts and the friendly regulars.
Cons: Once you figure out how to drive through the trees, some holes are a little too easy. Sometimes too many park users blundering blindly through the course.
Other Thoughts: Play this course several times a month. Happy to see the first Ace of '08 huzzah Anti-Chris!

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.