Lake Stevens, WA 
Lake Stevens DGC Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #9 (Taken 5/2010)
3 / 144ft.   3 / 144ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee

Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 short and sweet

1    3/6/2011   3/6/2011
Review By: Robinhood
Played: 25  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 15.2 Years
This review was updated on 3/10/2011
3 Helpful / 2 Not
The best and worst of Lake Stevens DGC are the Unique Egg Baskets which will really challenge your putting. Technically Challenging lots of trees, narrow fairways and bog hazards. Good layout, and use of land. Well marked and easy to follow layout.
Unique Baskets can be frustrating to putt. Muddy at times. lots of tree damage, some are about chopped down.some missing signage, but blaze markers are on the trees to the next hole. short shots on most hole, I would have liked to see a little more distance.
Other Thoughts:
Well worth the trip, I will be back for sure. It would be nice to see a little more length on the course, but overall very good use of the space.

lots of recent blow down trees, and mud, lots of mud.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  commercial for the Lake Stevens DVG

1    1/15/2011   1/15/2011
Review By: video1138
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: FUN
The trees keep it dry even when the rain is falling.
Cons: Losing the disc in the bog sucks, but watching a friend lose a disc in the bog is a pro.
Other Thoughts: Baskets are different than I am used to, not a bad thing.

1 of 13 people found this review helpful.


5+    10/21/2010   10/22/2010
Review By: S3R14L_K1LL4
Played: 16  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.9 Years
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Decent maintainance. Not overly crowded. Challenging, yet fun. Friendly LOCALS/REGULARS.
Cons: THE BASKETS SUCK!!! I understand and respect the "EGG BASKETS" and their whole chain set up representing sand traps and what not, but this is a challenging enough course as it is.
Other Thoughts: Like this course a lot, and play it regularly. Have introduced many people to Disc Golf via this course, and 9 out of 10 are regular players now.

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.


5+    8/7/2010   8/25/2010
Review By: Duanel
Played: 33  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 25.5 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very technical, this course will definitely teach you how to be accurate. There is enough of a variety between holes to make it exciting.
Cons: Watch your step on a few of these holes between the 'Bog of Eternal Stench' and various steep hills. Oh, and I really hate the baskets. Many's the time I should have had a par or bird and was denied by stupid placement of chains.
Other Thoughts: Did I mention I hate the baskets? Because I do. The locals seem to be proud of them, though. Bully for them! Anyway, the layout more than makes up for the baskets. I really enjoy the course and play it multiple times a month. I don't really care for the baskets, though.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

The Baskets MAKE this course fun!

5+    7/28/2009   9/2/2009
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 191  Reviewed: 124  Exp: 23.4 Years
This review was updated on 12/10/2014
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I must start by saying that other than the gnarly technical woods that make this course so great - the BASKETS are what make this one-of-a-kind disc golf experience. I will explain why in a moment. First, you play primarily through a massive understory of firs and cedars on a quite short layout that is twisty and technical. Some of the holes would be fairly easy to deuce, or at least get your par - if not for the baskets.. The baskets offer a 3-Dimensional putting experience, as they are shaped like a globe, and sometimes you are putting into a half-sphere, or even a pie-wedge quadrant that requires pin-point accuracy. Often times there is a set of guard chains in the quadrant you are putting into which is sometimes attainable, but only with an absolute perfect shot, and some luck. The reason these baskets work for me, is due to the short length of the course, they create a dynamic on the green that requires that your drive or approach be very accurate. If you land on the side that has the guard chains - consider that you have landed in a sand trap or bunker, and you are penalized accordingly. I think greens should be designed this way in disc golf - a flat, wide open green is fine, but it shouldn't be seen on every hole on the course!

Otherwise, this course is a lot of fun and has elevation, and requires all kinds of different shots.
Cons: Tee pads are still gravel and always uneven. Fortunately, the course is short, so rarely is a big run up required.

Navigation can be a bitch if you are not carrying a map, so print one out.
Other Thoughts: Sooo many people complain about the baskets - even really good players. If you are such a good player, then putting should not be a problem to you, right?!

They have a little tournament every year, in which you can opt to play a one-disc challenge. I've always wondered what it would be like to play with one disc only.....

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Too short and too hard

1    6/17/2009   8/10/2009
Played: 17  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 16.6 Years
3 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: It's a beautiful course to look at, and the tee pads are well marked from the baskets.
Cons: Most of the holes are way too short, mostly under 200ft. But even though they are short there is rarely a clear path to the basket from the tee pad, which by itself would be frustrating enough, but the real downfall of the course is the joke baskets that you can only hit from one side and at just the right angle. Plus somebody thought it was a good idea to spray paint directions on every other tree with bright pink paint(ugly). Also the course has a lot of non-disc golf users (dog walkers and such) so you have to watch your shots.
Other Thoughts: This course has a lot of potential but in the end its just too un-playable.

3 of 10 people found this review helpful.

  Correction: CAN play during school hours

5+    7/30/2009   7/30/2009
Review By: JamesD
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: HerbDeaf's review of 3/19/2009 stated "you can't play during school hours".

I believe the only restriction during school hours is not to play hole #12, which is right next to the school.

Since there ia a hole #19, you just play that and still get a full 18.

2 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome course

1    7/3/2009   7/11/2009
Review By: Terrace park ranger
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: Beautiful, clean, funky baskets make the game more interesting. It is well worth a drove out of the Seattle area, as nothing down there is as much fun as this course. The cleanliness makes it easier to find your disc, so you can spend more time playing and less time looking for your disc. It is a very well designed course and I'm thankful for it.
Cons: Can be easy. Go in the winter if you feel like swimming.
Other Thoughts: Very well maintained.

1 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Great Vacation Course

2-4    3/3/2009   5/30/2009
Review By: Wraith3
Played: 12  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.3 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great course with plenty of variety. The trees are magnificent, and give a very unique feel to the course. The gentle hills are just perfect compared to the generally flat courses that i usually play in SW michigan. This course is just purely beautiful. And the people are great too, they always seem to be very helpful and friendly.

A must visit on every trip to the seattle area
Cons: These holes are just awful, although they do add an extra challenge. but i don't like to have to play my approach or miss a birdie because i was facing the wrong way to the hole.
Other Thoughts: I always just park in the School Parking lot. but i think you can park on the street also.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 The only course with these baskets

5+    9/13/2010   5/29/2009
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 229  Reviewed: 221  Exp: 12.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/11/2011
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very technical course with a lot of different shots and dual tee pads makes it even more technical. A couple of fun shots over and near a bog penalty if it goes in to the water and a decent amount of elevation without wearing you out after the round. Very fun and you can get a round in in about an hour if your fast. The doubles tournament on Mondays is a lot of fun and the locals are really laid back.
Cons: The baskets are horrible to some people and I am getting used to them but the chaining off a side of the basket, it's like putting a four by four in the middle of a putting green on a ball golf course but that being said it's the only course I know of that uses these baskets so I would be against removing them for "real" baskets. The good thing about the baskets is they make you a much more accurate putter. The course is a bit short and I would like to see a couple of holes that you can air it out on, as about half of the course I use a midrange disc on. The tee pads are gravel/dirt because the city doesn't want anything "permanent" in the park as cement.
Other Thoughts: This is a very nice course, the layout is excellent and they did a god job with what they had, and the course is easy to follow which is a plus. Family friendly but still a challenge to people who play regularly which makes this a great disc golf destination. A lot of trees and you will hit many of them so use discs that can take the damage! Recently there has been work done and gravel is now covering the tee pads.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.