Lake Stevens, WA 
Lake Stevens DGC Share
Uploaded By: Clempson13 Hole #1 (Taken 8/2011)
3 / 330ft.   3 / 350ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Basket



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 Real classy

5+    4/4/2009   4/4/2009
Review By: menmabassguitar
Played: 20  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 8.5 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Technical tight tree shots. Its right next to a Elementary school so its always well kept.
Because of all the hills and trees its pretty dry this time of year.
I play this course every week, it gets littered with people around afternoon times
Cons: short holes. and no trash bins really,

there appears to be a real "pack it in, pack it out" miss-understanding

The last two holes are aimed at one another, I've already seen someone get hit in the head with TWO frisbees!
Other Thoughts: Use Caution around other players and when school is out

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 wierd baskets

1    8/30/2008   11/4/2008
Review By: Starwraith169
Played: 45  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 11.3 Years
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: very technical with lots of trees. You certainly have to have accuracy. Its really pretty inside the trees. Different elevation shots.
Cons: The course has these wierd looking half circle baskets with bars over the top and different chain placements. It definitely added to the difficulty for a shorter course, but I hated the design. Also, the course was really confusing for lack of signs to the next hole. I also hated how they spray painted all the trees. Its really an eyesore.
Other Thoughts: Please change out those damn baskets. I wouldnt think that you could have a PDGA sanctioned tourney there, because I know those baskets are not approved.

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Tough and mostly fair

6/25/2008   6/26/2008
Review By: LanceInTacoma
Played: 35  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 24.2 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: As many others have mentioned, the wooded setting is nice. I would imagine, that even on a really hot day, you would be mostly cool in here under the canopy. The course designers certainly did a good job of getting the most out of a fairly small area, acreage-wise. Although others have complained about them, I don't mind the baskets so much, they are certainly unique, at least in my experience, and being a local would have its advantages I suppose, since sometimes being on the right side of the hole offers you a much better chance of draining a putt, than the left side, or vise versa.
Cons: I would like to have a few holes that require a little more distance and power than these do, but it certainly puts a premium on accuracy and control. A little more parking would be nice too, especially since there is a large construction project going on at the school currently, so even though school is out, there was no parking available there.
Other Thoughts: A couple of observations. One, although I only saw three other groups playing during my quick morning round, it seemed everyone was throwing forehands. I don't know if it was just a weird coincidence, or if maybe some of the good locals that play a lot throw mostly forehand and have taught others their favorite shot. Also, my second ace of the year, and third ever came during my round, and it wasn't on one of the shortest holes either. It was a 209 foot tunnel type shot that had to thread the needle through some trees. A nice straight shot witnessed by a couple of 10-11 year old bmxers that were standing around waiting for me to finish the hole so they could go back to their favorite jump. All in all, I liked the course, and would play here occasionally if it were closer to me.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Technical Trees

1    6/19/2008   6/19/2008
Review By: HarbDeaf
Played: 25  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.9 Years
This review was updated on 3/19/2009
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lake Stevens, a heavily treed 5 acre lot mostly huge pines w/ ferns. Beautiful beautiful course. Extremely Technical. First hole you air it out over a meadow towards the forest, to warm you up. Inside, is trees and mo' trees. Lots of elevation changes. Course is designed awesomely for 5 acres. You don't have to worry about hitting other people. Water hazards come and go with the weather. I've met some killer water hazards where you kind of worry about losing your disc. This course has a heavy wooded feel where you have to often have to thread the needle with your disc when you drive. Good luck and expect some tacos.
Cons: Cons in a nutshell are the baskets & chain setting. The Baskets have 4 bars on them, and the chains vary due to vandalism. But really it depends on how you look at it, as a challege or a nuisance? I like to think it's a challenge. Many a disc has bounced out of the basket or gone right thru. You HAVE to throw it perfect to make it go in. The guy playing next to you is in the same boat.
Other Thoughts: Follow the painted arrows on the Trees for the next Tee off. The tees are usually dry and framed w/ wood. Again, heavy trees which is good in rain. Not too many people. Close to Hwy 9 and the Hwy to Grantie Falls.

Downtown Lake Stevens is nearby & the lake. True Value Hardware store carries discs. The course is right next to a school, you can't play during school hours.

Also there's Pro and Am Tees to Tee off from and both are fun! I enjoyed it.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Lake Stevens Jungle Adventure!

6/19/2007   3/30/2008
Review By: weum107
Played: 108  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 18.3 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very thick, beautiful scenery and some big views. Lovely Park with a very Costa Rican feel to it. Not too tough to navigate...and who doesn't love a 19th hole tee box!
Cons: A little tough to find from interstate. Discs must be watched carefully as they can easily be laid to rest at this course. Very thickly wooded course. Ultra fun.
Other Thoughts: Had a blast here and met a cool local fella. Watch for the foliage and keep an eye on those drivers...spent a fair chunk of time scanning the brush for my Gazelle. Worth the journey to get there....not too hard once i asked for directions in picturesque Lake Stevens. Fun and rewarding!

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 How I love this course!

1/1/2008   3/5/2008
Review By: Disc Golf Fanatic
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.2 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I love the baskets! I know some don't like but it keeps a short course challenging. Also love the wooded setting, the variety of drives, hazards and crazy putts and the friendly regulars.
Cons: Once you figure out how to drive through the trees, some holes are a little too easy. Sometimes too many park users blundering blindly through the course.
Other Thoughts: Play this course several times a month. Happy to see the first Ace of '08 huzzah Anti-Chris!

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Not Thrilled With These Baskets!

7/21/2005   3/2/2008
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 680  Reviewed: 632  Exp: 36.2 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's a lovely setting for a course played mostly under some tall pines trees. The course is well designed, challenging and probably seldom crowded.
Cons: It has these funky baskets that I've never seen anywhere else. Each basket is different from the others so no two putts are ever the same. In fact, two identical 15 foot putts on the same basket can have totally diffterent difficulty ratings depending on which side you're putting from. I found them to be distracting, annoying and downright frustrating. Not right for the serious disc golfer! It's gotta be wet and boggy there during the winter months.
Other Thoughts: Lake Stevens is quite a ways off the beaten track. I think it's a shame that the baskets distract from such a beautiful course.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Lake Stevens DGC

5+    2/21/2008   2/25/2008
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 187  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 14.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/6/2011
13 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Lake Stevens DGC is a 19 hole course put nestled underneath massive pines and other native foliage, giving the course a prehistoric feeling. Fairly easy to navigate through, the pin placements are well thought out. Holes for the most part have tight to very tight fairways with only holes 1, 18, and 19 wide open. The designer of the course did a great job incorporating elevation as well when given.

Not much distance for the most part, but very challenging. This is the type of course where it is easy to shoot well under par on a great day and several strokes over the next time. It is a love / hate relationship for most! When it rains, this course is one of the best in the northwest as far as being covered. The course seems to allow water to run off into many of the little bogs which adds to the overall challenge and charm.

Locals are also what makes this course great. Everyone is friendly and welcoming and always willing to help with navigation of the course. Tournaments are well run and a lot of fun. The two main tournaments are Freeze Between the Trees in Jaunuary/February and Aqua Fest in July and are both worth the $ with great payouts.
Cons:
Baskets can be an issue for most, although not for me as much. Although the use of these unique baskets helps to make this course a true par 3, at times the baskets block out discs with a web, or are missing chains all together (making the discs go right on through).
Other Thoughts:
I have always enjoyed this course for its tranquility and uniqueness. The course is usually empty and for experienced players, the course only takes about 45 minutes. Although the baskets are different, they are innovative and fun (at times). I would recommend this course to all who are visiting.

13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.