Sarasota, FL 
Lakeview Park Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #2 (Taken 9/2009)
3 / 266ft.   3 / 390ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Sterotypical Florida Course

1    1/7/2014   1/7/2014
Review By: Charbachuk
Played: 32  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 4.5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Lots of parking.
- Course flows well from hole #1 to hole # 18; most of the next tee-pads are in clear sight from the last basket.
- Course flow is nearly perfect, starting you in almost the exact area you finish.
- Great shot diversity; each hole is going to challenge you with different shapes and obstacles, you will use every throw on this course; Hyzer, Ann-hyzer, Straight, Roller, Thumber..ect.
- Water Holes! Yes, this course is riddled with water. A little canal runs thru the majority of the course and water comes into play on most holes. It challenges you to throw low because anything high gets caught up in the canopy and dropped into the water.
- Good shot at an Ace. Especially on the front 9, a couple of shorter putter-midrange holes allow for a good opportunity to run it!

Cons: - Course can be somewhat difficult to find if you don't know exactly where you are going. Get directions for the elementary school right next to it and you will be ok.
- Parking lot is like sand, making it hell on your vehicle. Parking lot is also located along the first few holes; I've seen a shank hit a car before.
- No real signature hole on this course; if you want to consider 18 signature you could but i wouldn't.
- Alot of crossing fairways, especially on the back 9; the majority of the holes either run into, or right thru other fairways.
- No real long hole on this course; this is a con to me because i feel a good course needs to have every type of shot.
- If your shot goes into the water, you have all but lost it forever. Usually the water is pretty thick; your typical Florida swampy water, so if it goes in, your chance of seeing it is very small.
- Teepads are lack luster. Typical old school course with smaller pads that have seen better days; not terrible.
- Tee-signs are old and misleading.

Other Thoughts: - This is the Sterotypical Florida Swamp course. Located right on the edge of a lake (Hence the name Lakeview), a canal travels thru the course and provides good challenge on such a short course.
- I would make a day trip out of this course only because its different than most courses, and because Water Tower Park is located only minuets away.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

A Disappointment

1    12/22/2013   12/30/2013
Review By: hugheshilton
Played: 35  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Beautiful park setting.
- Some technical holes that will really make you consider your shots from a risk/reward point of view.
- Multiple pads (2 or even 3!) on most holes.
- Multiple basket placements.
- Navigation from hole to hole is pretty easy.
Cons: - Real punishments for missing your lines (as in an opportunity to lose a disc in the river on about 2/3rds of the holes).
- It's kind of hard to tell which placement any particular basket is actually in.
- There were some holes on the back 9 with really no sort of defined fairway. You were just throwing through a huge group of trees and hoping you didn't hit one of the big branches. I don't mind narrow fairways at all, but having some sort of defined fairway is important. "Throw and pray" type holes are not particularly fun.
- LOTS of overlapping/shared/crossing fairways. I can't stress enough how terrible the final 9 holes of this course are if you have a group either behind or in front of you. You're literally throwing AT each other on almost every hole. It's ridiculous. Whoever designed this course should have made a 12-15 hole course, which is all they really have room for instead of creating an 18 hole course where you're likely to get hit on about half the holes. It's really a shame, but getting hit by fast flying plastic can really ruin your round and your day.
Other Thoughts: If there were no one else playing the course, this would really be a great place to play a round. It is a beautiful park and a fairly challenging course considering all the water hazards. However, when I played, there was a group of 6 or 7 idiots in front of us (me and a friend) who wouldn't let us pass. They were constantly chucking discs at us on the latter half of this course because of all the shared/overlapping fairways (not exactly their fault because the course is poorly designed but they had absolutely no courtesy about it). Literally almost every hole on the back 9 has an opportunity to hit someone playing either the previous hole or the next hole. Needless to say, this really detracts from the enjoyment of a round of golf. If this course were to eliminate several holes, they could have 12-15 really reasonable holes and I would give them a better rating than the current setup. It's just too easy to get hit on holes that share fairways.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Sarasota's Finest

5+    10/13/2013   10/13/2013
Review By: thrembo
Played: 85  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 39.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wonderful neighborhood course that makes the best, out of what's available.

Lightly wooded, minor elevation changes, and other interesting terrain, make for a fun round.

Plenty of water hazards add to the excitement. There are two sets of tees, so lesser players can have easier water carries, or lay ups, to minimize disc loss's, or having to "Go Swimming".

Very highly maintained. The local league does a great job. They also have weekly events, and host legendary tournaments.



Cons: There is a lot of water here. If you or your discs are completely allergic to water, stay far away from this course. The risk can be minimized by playing from the short tees, or laying up, but there could be a strong chance of losing a disc here.
Other Thoughts: I used to think that Water Tower was my favorite Sarasota area course, but over the years, Lakeview has passed it up. Its very charming now. And who wouldn't want to risk a disc to play a charming course? Pack a couple extra discs, and maybe one that you wouldn't care so much, if you lost it, and you'll be fine!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Technical Beauty

1    6/26/2013   6/26/2013
Review By: davmer2303
Played: 25  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: * Great shotmaking on nearly every hole.
* Not long but still reasonable distance variety.
* Short and long tees for different skill levels.
* Tee pads are of good length and signs are clear and accurate.
* Course flows well and is obvious even for first timers because of the use of arrows under each basket.
* Multiple basket positions!
* Many holes are birdie opportunities, but high amount of risk reward.
* Bathrooms and water fountains on site.
* Course is FUN to play!
Cons: * We played after a rain and there was a lot of standing water. Did not make it unplayable though.
* If you like to throw your high speed drivers then this is not your course. If you enjoy technical challenges then this is not a con.
Other Thoughts: Lakeview park is a beautiful, moderately treed course playing along canals and ponds. Although there is a lot of water, I don't consider it a con. Only on 15 and 18, did it actually make me nervous. This course is a great example of risk reward. Good shots will be rewarded and bad shots will be punished. However, most water is avoidable just by playing cautiously. There are some water carries, but they are never very far. But, this course would not be fun for the brand new. There are simply too many disc eating locations. However players of moderate to high skill level should be able to find their way around around this beautifully, challenging course.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A Love-Hate Relationship

1    8/7/2012   8/7/2012
Review By: RamsFan1
Played: 62  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A relatively short, technical course located in a small township park next to an elementary school complex in Sarasota. A practice basket greets you by the pavilion at the end of the park and a small plexiglass announcement board sits by hole #1. The tee pads consisting of oversized pavers are sufficient in length. Decent signage consisting of PVC pipe and/or metal framed placards depicting hole number and distance. Each hole has multiple basket placements and some have short tees. Navigation is relatively easy. Good use of what little elevation there is on the course, and a couple of elevated baskets add to the challenge. Benches exist at most holes, bathrooms are present on site and many trees provide a needed shady canopy during play.
Cons: Water hazards are everywhere. Parts of the course play in tight quarters, and one must be "head's up" for incoming discs at various junctures. Lakeview will not appeal to the guy who likes to grip and rip.
Other Thoughts: Though an okay course, I did not enjoy my experience here. Any fun factor one could have- and there ARE some good holes- is negated by the ridiculously oppressive amount of water that covers the grounds. One has a legitimate chance of going into the water on 11 or 12 of the 18 holes here (and I took full advantage), and most discs are irretrievable. Not only will bad shots be severely punished, but there's a very good chance a couple of good shots will be also. Few courses place such a high premium on accuracy, and Lakeview can be an exercise in frustration.

I gave this course a fair rating despite my misery here. Prepare to play ultra-conservatively and bring a good supply of plastic.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Land of the [Tiny] Dinosaurs

2-4    3/18/2012   3/28/2012
Review By: ohtobediscing
Played: 153  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 35 Years
This review was updated on 7/22/2013
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A beautiful Southern Coastal course populated with live oaks, Spanish moss, palmettos, and pines. Though the media may seem to show a long, swamp-infested course that might cost you $100 per round in plastic, relax---its not as bad as it looks. Unless you're a poser.
The park was once an amusement attraction until the later 1950s, with a petting zoo, elephant rides[!], and a rubber-tired kiddy train that ran on a cement-block path throughout the park. The maze-like lagoon is man-made, and the corner of the park that shelters #s 15-18 was once a botanical garden: some of the exotic plants still reside there. Until the DGC went in, this park had literally gone to the dogs, and several ground-level burial markers ["Honey Bear", just SE of pin #2] can be found throughout the course.
At most, this is fairway driver terrain, but midranges will have their day once the water closes in. The first 5 holes are more open and dry, and give you a chance to warm up your arm, while exhibiting the variety of terrain and vegetation. Small hills and the most mature trees prevail here, leaving either low-ceilinged thoroughfares or open fairways.
From #6 on, water either lines the rough, must be thrown over, or lies just to the side or behind the basket---sometimes, all four. The lagoon is waist-deep at worst, but severely murky below 1 1/2 ft. and not a pleasant wade. Rumor has a 3-4 ft. alligator in residence, but no one claims a personal sighting.
The forest closes in about the same time, making accurate drives critical for birdies and the wallet, or timid shots w/layups if par seems safer.
What should be obvious, but needs to be stated for the oblivious: this is NOT a good beginner course.
2 tees and 3 pin locations per hole, a mix of fair to very good baskets, benches, next-pin locators, covered pavilion with tables and grill, good bathrooms. Playground and a great off-leash dogpark that parallels #4. And every time you take a step, anole and pine lizards skitter from under and around you.
Cons: Uh, well, the water. If you can't control your shots you're going to lose discs. The tees, composed of cement blocks from the old train path, are moved around so much that any distance listed on the signs is an approximation. It can be humid and buggy in the warm months. At least one local dog owner takes pleasure in walking his mutt s-l-o-w-l-y through the DGC. Course distinctly favors RHBH[either by turning left or having water just right of the basket], so you better have a good flick or anhyzer if you're a lefty. As this is in a neighborhood, stores are a few miles away.
Other Thoughts: Showed up to play Sunday doubles and wouldn't you know it, it was a Sky Pilots' work party day! 4 hours of overgrowth butchery got me all the pizza I could eat, a bunch of ace beers, and notoriety as a fierce vegetation fighter. If you're lucky, #13 basket will be in the new "elevated jailhouse" location we put in that day! The other fun bit was only 12 showed to play doubles---so we all played as one big group, and I got to watch a LOT of shot-shaping!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful Scenic Water Course

2-4    7/15/2012   1/24/2012
Review By: RussMB
Played: 107  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 9.9 Years
This review was updated on 1/27/2013
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -The course is located in a beautiful park, and the course is well maintained. Garbage cans and recycling bins located throughout the course.
-Designed to be a challenging course, for the more skilled player.
-Concrete Tee's, Mach Series Baskets, Restrooms and Bulletin board at the start, with scorecard. (It was empty the day I played)
-Basket 13 is now raised tee in the middle of the trees
-Multiple pin placements and Multiple Tee's (Red and Blue) Red tee's are less risky, but not immune from risk. The tee's with yellow painted on them are old tee's and not in use anymore. (As far as I could tell)
-Excellent use of the terrain and ecology of the park.
-Designed for the skilled player, and it's not beginner friendly. *The Pinebrook course is a excellent beginner course, and is just down the road
-Great pin locations that are wrapped in beautiful and scenic surroundings. Lots of risk/rewards, with plenty of water hazards. If you are intimidated by water, you may want to consider that before playing here.
-18 is an excellent and beautiful finishing hole!
It's even more so when the basket setup in the extreme Dog Leg right position.
-To play here a thrower needs to play smarter and consider their options and surroundings. A long drive can end up wet, as well as a drive that didn't go far enough.
-A variety of shots(Distance throws, dog legs, water carries, alternating terrain, and blind shots) will require the thrower to consider a little strategy when throwing. (i.e. Setting up your second shot and shot shaping)
-Navigation was fairly simple, but I had to constantly reference the map I downloaded from DGCR on my phone. *Flip side to that in the cons.
-Big fun factor for me! I'm looking forward to frequenting this course!
-Located in an area with many great courses. (Sarasota, Port Charlotte, Ft Myers)
For What it's Worth
-Playground Equipment in Park near the course
-Dog Park available
Cons: -Apparently Signs Have been installed since I last played here. (will update accordlingly on my next visit) Tee signage was lacking. Though its easy to tell which tee you were shooting from (Red, Blue) It didn't have a map and/or distance. Some baskets require a walk down the fairway to see the location. Possibly posting a map at the Billboard would be handy as well. Print off the map from this site before you go.
-Flip side to navigation, It's easy to mistake a tee and/or a basket and then realize you're playing the wrong hole and/or basket.
For instance: The 10 Tee is a little tricky to locate. Once you finish 9, you need to cross the bridge on your right. You play down then back to the bridge, cross BACK over the same bridge. Play 12 down, then back to the elevated basket 13. THEN you will cross over another bridge to play 14. There are signs, but you will see the 12 tee, and it's easy to assume it's 10, before you see the sign to cross the bridge to play 10. Just pay attention to the signs and the numbers on the baskets.
-Though the course is segregated from other activities, it's not immune to park goers and park walkers. You may find yourself waiting on a park patron a time or two.
-Tee #1 can taking some looking to locate. Drive all the way down, and look for the billboard on the left.
-Odds are good you will leave here missing a disc or two, but you will still have a great time! Just know that there is a lot of water here before you decide to come. (Not a con to me, but may be to some.)

In retro, these issues will only affect the first time players. Once you play here a couple of times, the navigation isn't an issue and you can have fun.
Other Thoughts: This is a fantastic course that is located in a beautiful park. Having played here a second time, and knowing where I was going, for the most part, I was truly able to appreciate this course for the fun and challenge that it is.

There have been some improvements made that have added to the experience. There are plenty of scenic water carries that make Lakeview a challenging course. The walk through the course here alone is a pleasant experience. Here you will find yourself throwing over a variety of terrains, multiple water carries, and working lines in and around the trees. Though it may be a harder course, it's still very fun to play. Navigation should only be an issue on your first time playing here. Once you've played here, you should remember where everything is. I highly recommend putting this on your wish list.

You may want to opt for playing a little more conservatively. It's not impossible to walk away with all of your discs, it's just that some holes will bait your confidence, and cause one to challenge the risk/reward. On the flip side, there are a few holes that you may want to consider a second shot placement, and opt for a good and accurate up shot.

This course is located in the heart of a residential area, and you may want to use your GPS or printed map to find your way to the park. There are plenty restaurants on Bee Ridge just west of I-75, so you may want to pick up something before you arrive. Come! Enjoy this course, and have a blast!

FUN FACT: Once upon a time, this course used to be a small zoo and a botanical garden.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Can't Wait to Go Back!

1    12/26/2011   12/29/2011
Review By: arajski
Played: 21  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Environment - The physical environment of this course is beautiful. Going to each hole (especially the back 9) was gorgeous. Hole 17 is something to stop and marvel at as you through from a peninsula along the bank to the hole. There is a huge lake, large ponds and a winding creek to shoot over as you throw under a canopy of trees. The park was well kept and very relaxing to be at.

Variety - The variety was fantastic. Some drives required my midranges and others my drivers. Some drives were flick and most backhand (for RHBH). Some were open (mainly 1-5) and the rest were very technical.

Upkeep - My Sarasota friends were telling me how they moved the baskets around and they recently add a grass bridge to make walking/throwing easier. They seem to give attention to the maintenance of this park.

Neighborhood - The area of this park (contrasted to Water Tower) was great. I felt safe and didn't think twice about who was around me.

Equipment - There were great concrete pads and up to par (no pun intended) baskets. I didn't get tripped up once on the pad or get frustrated at the quality of the chains.

Expert/Pro/Armature Pads - There are excellent options for all levels of players. The expert pads are very challenging and highly risky. The Pro pads have technical shots and are mildly risky. The Armature pads are safer and quite simple. Great for all types of people.

Facilities - The park had great parking and indoor bathrooms.
Cons: Hazards - The water can be a little nerve racking when you are throwing a new disc. Water is part of the fun but it can also upset you very easily.

Dogs - As I walked to my shot from the pad of 16, there were piles of dog poop. I step in one and was very upset. Also, hole 4 shoots along the dog park and the barking dogs are incredibly distracting.

Wind - The back 9 borders the lake and there can be wind off the lake making your drives less controllable and more likely to drive into the water.

Distance Hole - There wasn't a 450+ hole for you to air your arm out. Most shots were short to medium and very technical.
Other Thoughts: This park was a disc golf course. Some courses are parks with baskets throughout. This was a disc golf course first. I live in Tampa and would gladly travel the hour drive for the course. If you go, bring some crappy discs you don't mind loosing. All in all, the best course in Sarasota.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/9/2011   10/9/2011
Review By: mattdabbs
Played: 63  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 11.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: When you pull up, hole 1 is all the way the gravel road almost to the dumpster. Come ready for water...it is everywhere. I would enjoy this course far more after having played it a few times. I had to lay up on multiple holes because I couldn't tell where the water was. The one time I let lose I lost a disc on the water as I didn't see it was behind the pin. This course will challenge your game and force you to manage your shots well.

All in all, this is a wonderful course that I am sure the locals love. You can tell a lot of work has gone into this course and it is very well designed. There are multiple routes on many holes which is nice if you are right or left handed.

Hole 18 is a great way to end the round. You either can lay it up for an easy par or risk it all and hopefully get a birdie on what is nearly an island green.
Cons: There were really only 2 problems I can think of. 1 - There are some long walks between holes due to all the water. 2 - I wish there was a little more opportunity to air it out without worrying about water being all over the place. Right when you think you have a chance there is water behind the pin. That is really the only downside to this course that I can think of.
Other Thoughts: I would love to play this course again and gain some confidence to really give it my best. Thanks to all those who put so much work into this course and the DG scene in Sarasota.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Get ready to get wet!

1    6/27/2011   6/27/2011
Review By: prerube
Played: 213  Reviewed: 195  Exp: 7.3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Multiple tees, Multiple pin positions.
Tons of water to create a lot of challenge.
Seems very well planned to maximize water threats.
narrow piece-mealed concrete tee pads.
Ribbons have been added to the baskets to point the way to the next tee, this made navigation so much easier.
Cons: No tee signs, distance markings.
Extreme chance of disc loss on many holes.
Parking lot is used as OB
Hole 7's far tee had no safe route (but there is always the short tee)
Hole 16 tee looks at basket 17 which is only 80 feet from it's basket, which is tucked over to the right.
stagnant mud smells horrible if have to jump in, becareful we did see a small alligator in the water.
Course appears to be a frequent victim of basket theft. Several baskets did not match, many appeared far newer, some even showed clear signs of aggressive attempts at multiple thefts (basket 16 specifically).
Other Thoughts: This course was a challenge, but if you stay dry you will be handsomely rewarded with tons of duece opportunities.

I spent alot of time in the water retreiving discs for my foursome and we still lost 2 discs.

_________________________________
BRIEF HOLE BY HOLE
Hole 1 starts out using the parking lot as OB and the basket is perched on a small mount with a low ceiling forcing your disc to stay low for a decent ways.
Hole 2 has water hazard on the right which affects lefties during the drive and righties during the putt.
Hole 3 uses the parking lot as OB again on the left 274 feet relatively straight.
Hole 4 features a mando that only affects LHBH players and is only there to keep your discs off the dog park
Hole 5 is 311 feet over a small hill
Hole 6 brings back the water in a deceivingly risky shot. It is a 227 foot hole over a small water hazard, but the trees can easily knock you straight down into the water.
Hole 7 is a more intimidating hole over a larger water hazard with very little opportunity to play it safe.
Hole 8 is basically a repeat of hole 7 going back the other direction.
Hole 9 throws over a creek with enough foliage to create risk.
Hole 10 is a dog leg left, throwing directly at the building and letting it fade to the basket.
Hole 11's tee is the sidewalk behind the building and the basket is infront of a small water hazard.
Hole 12 is a dog leg left with water on both sides.
Hole 13 is a 326 foot shot with a good amount of foliage and water behind the basket.
Hole 14 features lots of water. with the safest area being on the left side.
Hole 15 is a straight shot with a late sharp dog leg left. Water on 3 sides!
Hole 16 looks at basket 17 but it is really a slight right with the basket tucked over by the stone trail.
Hole 17 plays back to the 2 baskets in the opening, but to get there you have to throw down a tunnel of trees. Past the wall of trees there is water on both sides. There is also water behind the basket if you fade right on your drive.
Hole 18 is a short throw over the water, but a short shot will send you into the water infront of the basket.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.