Sarasota, FL 
Lakeview Park Share
Uploaded By: RussMB Hole #2 (Taken 1/2012)
3 / 266ft.   3 / 390ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Approach



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Technical Beauty

1    6/26/2013   6/26/2013
Review By: davmer2303
Played: 25  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 1.9 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: * Great shotmaking on nearly every hole.
* Not long but still reasonable distance variety.
* Short and long tees for different skill levels.
* Tee pads are of good length and signs are clear and accurate.
* Course flows well and is obvious even for first timers because of the use of arrows under each basket.
* Multiple basket positions!
* Many holes are birdie opportunities, but high amount of risk reward.
* Bathrooms and water fountains on site.
* Course is FUN to play!
Cons: * We played after a rain and there was a lot of standing water. Did not make it unplayable though.
* If you like to throw your high speed drivers then this is not your course. If you enjoy technical challenges then this is not a con.
Other Thoughts: Lakeview park is a beautiful, moderately treed course playing along canals and ponds. Although there is a lot of water, I don't consider it a con. Only on 15 and 18, did it actually make me nervous. This course is a great example of risk reward. Good shots will be rewarded and bad shots will be punished. However, most water is avoidable just by playing cautiously. There are some water carries, but they are never very far. But, this course would not be fun for the brand new. There are simply too many disc eating locations. However players of moderate to high skill level should be able to find their way around around this beautifully, challenging course.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/9/2011   10/9/2011
Review By: mattdabbs
Played: 63  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 11.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: When you pull up, hole 1 is all the way the gravel road almost to the dumpster. Come ready for water...it is everywhere. I would enjoy this course far more after having played it a few times. I had to lay up on multiple holes because I couldn't tell where the water was. The one time I let lose I lost a disc on the water as I didn't see it was behind the pin. This course will challenge your game and force you to manage your shots well.

All in all, this is a wonderful course that I am sure the locals love. You can tell a lot of work has gone into this course and it is very well designed. There are multiple routes on many holes which is nice if you are right or left handed.

Hole 18 is a great way to end the round. You either can lay it up for an easy par or risk it all and hopefully get a birdie on what is nearly an island green.
Cons: There were really only 2 problems I can think of. 1 - There are some long walks between holes due to all the water. 2 - I wish there was a little more opportunity to air it out without worrying about water being all over the place. Right when you think you have a chance there is water behind the pin. That is really the only downside to this course that I can think of.
Other Thoughts: I would love to play this course again and gain some confidence to really give it my best. Thanks to all those who put so much work into this course and the DG scene in Sarasota.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Get ready to get wet!

1    6/27/2011   6/27/2011
Review By: prerube
Played: 213  Reviewed: 195  Exp: 7.3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Multiple tees, Multiple pin positions.
Tons of water to create a lot of challenge.
Seems very well planned to maximize water threats.
narrow piece-mealed concrete tee pads.
Ribbons have been added to the baskets to point the way to the next tee, this made navigation so much easier.
Cons: No tee signs, distance markings.
Extreme chance of disc loss on many holes.
Parking lot is used as OB
Hole 7's far tee had no safe route (but there is always the short tee)
Hole 16 tee looks at basket 17 which is only 80 feet from it's basket, which is tucked over to the right.
stagnant mud smells horrible if have to jump in, becareful we did see a small alligator in the water.
Course appears to be a frequent victim of basket theft. Several baskets did not match, many appeared far newer, some even showed clear signs of aggressive attempts at multiple thefts (basket 16 specifically).
Other Thoughts: This course was a challenge, but if you stay dry you will be handsomely rewarded with tons of duece opportunities.

I spent alot of time in the water retreiving discs for my foursome and we still lost 2 discs.

_________________________________
BRIEF HOLE BY HOLE
Hole 1 starts out using the parking lot as OB and the basket is perched on a small mount with a low ceiling forcing your disc to stay low for a decent ways.
Hole 2 has water hazard on the right which affects lefties during the drive and righties during the putt.
Hole 3 uses the parking lot as OB again on the left 274 feet relatively straight.
Hole 4 features a mando that only affects LHBH players and is only there to keep your discs off the dog park
Hole 5 is 311 feet over a small hill
Hole 6 brings back the water in a deceivingly risky shot. It is a 227 foot hole over a small water hazard, but the trees can easily knock you straight down into the water.
Hole 7 is a more intimidating hole over a larger water hazard with very little opportunity to play it safe.
Hole 8 is basically a repeat of hole 7 going back the other direction.
Hole 9 throws over a creek with enough foliage to create risk.
Hole 10 is a dog leg left, throwing directly at the building and letting it fade to the basket.
Hole 11's tee is the sidewalk behind the building and the basket is infront of a small water hazard.
Hole 12 is a dog leg left with water on both sides.
Hole 13 is a 326 foot shot with a good amount of foliage and water behind the basket.
Hole 14 features lots of water. with the safest area being on the left side.
Hole 15 is a straight shot with a late sharp dog leg left. Water on 3 sides!
Hole 16 looks at basket 17 but it is really a slight right with the basket tucked over by the stone trail.
Hole 17 plays back to the 2 baskets in the opening, but to get there you have to throw down a tunnel of trees. Past the wall of trees there is water on both sides. There is also water behind the basket if you fade right on your drive.
Hole 18 is a short throw over the water, but a short shot will send you into the water infront of the basket.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  recent updates!

1    7/20/2010   7/23/2010
Review By: Bmoore
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: We've been improving the course at Lakeview Park for the last year+.

First, the county has built a man-made damn and installed a pump that runs 24/7. This has greatly increased the health of the park and the clarity of the water, so discs are much easier to retrieve.

Second, the County hired a private contractor to remove dead and dying trees, which has opened up the course a bit, and made a few of the water holes play easier (safer).

New pin positions have been added to holes #1, #2, #5, #6, #7, #9. We've also added paver bricks behind tee pads to improve the length of tees, as several were too short.

In addition, our club (Sarasota Sky Pilots) continues to trim back the invasive plants that grow into the fairways. We've also added a couple benches.
Cons: Obviously, there is still work to be done at Lakeview Park.

Join us at the end of September for a PDGA C-tier event, the Snake & Lake Partake benefiting the Racing Dog Rescue Project.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great course, better club

2-4    10/31/2009   11/1/2009
Review By: DOGvsRAPTOR
Played: 45  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 12/1/2009
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: As stated in other reviews this course is not a long range bomber course, it is a tricky tech course with plenty of lines and shot options for everyhole. With that being said bring your A game when throwing your putters and midranges as accuracy is crucial to threading through the many ponds and trees throughout the course. This park is gorgeous with great trees, ponds, and wildlife. I've been in the area to see my grandfather and played a triples round with the www.SarasotaSkyPilots.org club members and had a great time hanging out and seeing how they play their own course.
Cons: Some of the teepads are short and worn down, but I found ways to work around this. Holes 16-18 are a little tight, but as long as you are paying attention it should not be an issue.
Other Thoughts: I can't say enough good things about the the people from www.SarasotaSkyPilots.org and how they run their club. All around good people, fun to play with, and some really good players. If you are looking to air out some big shots then roll over to North Water Tower, but for pure beauty I don't think you'll find too many courses as nice as Lakeview. Go throw and see for yourself.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Old Florida at it's Finest!

5+    5/20/2009   5/31/2009
Review By: Roller Coasters
Played: 39  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 10.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wonderful course on the site of the old Sunshine Springs and Gardens. A botanical gardens park with swan boat rides on a canal that winds through the park and a spectacular ski show on Sarasota Bay that was open from 1955 to 1959. The gardens are mostly gone, but the canals, the trees and the Old Florida feel remain. There are no long holes, only 5 holes are longer than 300 feet and the longest is 352. It is instead a technical challenge and a severe mental challenge to not let the water get into your head. The course ends, by heading out on a peninsula that is surrounded by Sarasota Bay. There are some great views and two challenging finishing holes - 16 and 18.
Cons: The tee pads are very short thoughout the park. The signage is very poor and the baskets are not marked.
Other Thoughts: Start off with lots of old growth oak trees, complete with plenty of hanging moss. Add in a peninsula on Sarasota Bay that was once home to a great ski show. Next, add a meandering canal that served as a prototype for Cypress Gardens and you have one of the most beautiful parks and disc golf courses in Florida. This course has a feel unlike any other other in Florida. It also has a very cool dog park at one end of the course. There is a lot of water here, it comes into play on 14 of 18 holes. On most holes, it is more a mental than an actual physical challenge. The water that you need to clear is usually pretty close to the tee. The exception to this is hole 18. It is 262 feet but you have to cross water to get to the hole on another small peninsula. The crossing is about 240 feet, and the landing area isn't huge. For most players, it is a definite lay-up hole. For your first time, you should print out the course map. If you forget it, just remember that the tee for hole 10 is actually across the entrance road, next to the dumpsters. If you follow that painted basket clue for the next tee, you will end up playing hole #12 instead of 10. Make sure you take a little walk and cross over the road for tee pad 10. That is really the only hard tee to find and the only place that the course doesn't flow well.

This course is only 5 minutes off I-75. Do yourself a favor and add this course to your wish list and take the time to get a taste of Old Florida. It is definitely one of my favorite courses and is a wonderful round spent going back in time.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.