Tonawanda, NY
Lincoln Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #11 (Taken 9/2013)
4 / 309ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Poorly Designed

1    10/28/2013   10/28/2013
Review By: superium
Played: 30  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: New discatcher baskets. Interesting lines but half of the holes don't have realistic fairways.
Cons: Holes are too close to playgrounds, shelters, and other tees. Only takes one errant shot on a crowded day of picnicker's for a lawsuit to happen and give the local disc golf scene a bad name.
Not really playable/safe on nice weekends due to picnickers.
Course can be swampy at times.
Other Thoughts: Course should be downsized to 9 holes and totally redesigned due to safety purposes.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

A nice starter course

5+    9/25/2013   9/26/2013
Review By: ssejhill
Played: 14  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 12.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - New course in quiet neighborhood which may help generate more interest for the sport.
- Short course, both in length of holes (holes average about 300ft) and the number of holes (12), allow most players to get in a round quickly
- Very generous pars on the course. Par 5 on a 350ft hole? Now that is generous. I consider the entire course to be a par 3.
Cons: - Lincoln park can be quite busy on weekends and several of the holes play near shelters and/or playgrounds which can be a bit of a hazard.
- Only 12 holes. What an unusual number for a course. I typically will play 2 rounds as a result.
- No tee pads
Other Thoughts: I love having a course so near my house. This will be a boon (hopefully) for bettering my play.

There are trees in play on the entire course and you will have to be careful on most throw to either thread small gaps or shape your throws around them. This course will reward accuracy more than distance on your drives.

Holes 4, 5 and 6 play side-by-side-by-side. You will have to be careful if others are playing as your throws may easily encroach on the other 2 holes.

It would be great if they put in some tee pads. There are sign posts and for each tee but it doesn't say where the tee is. The ground is already getting flattened on one side or the other next to the tee signs but it isn't consistent. Some times it's on the right side of the post, other times it is on the left.
All baskets are new Discatcher baskets. They are not my favorite, but that is just my personal preference and opinion.
Kudos to the Town of Tonawanda Recreation Department for installing the course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    8/28/2013   8/29/2013
Review By: amorrison111
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 9/1/2013
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: its a nice course for those who usually dont play. yet at the same time its a longer version of veterans dgc. there are plenty of trees to avoid but no elevation changes. there are also no hazards minus non disc golfers.
Cons: i only got a chance to play 1-7 but 8-12 look like they are surrounded but picnic tables through out which might get alittle hairy.
Other Thoughts: plenty of narrow paths around trees other then that wide open space and not many hazards

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great course for getting people involved in disc golf

1    8/28/2013   8/28/2013
Review By: lcra0825
Played: 77  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 7.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - bathrooms on location
- good parking (Some of the courses like this you have to find parking on the street)
- Nice central location. It should be used by many people who wouldn't normally play disc golf
- Hole design utilizes the trees very well as obstacles requiring you to shape your drive
- Tees are easy enough to find and baskets are numbered to make finding your way around quite easily
- some longer distances which is rare in courses of this kind
- Seems to be well maintained with park office on sight. One of the rec directors informed me that tee signs are on the way, and he gave me a scorecard and a full color layout of the course
- No worries of losing discs here
Cons: - there is not much variety in scenery as it is in a park. Every hole looks the same
- The park wasn't busy when I played but I could forsee the possibility of the course intruding with non-disc golf visitors. One of my drives landed in the middle of a swing set, luckily there was no one swinging there
- Regular disc golfers will only consider this a practice course because of it only being 12 holes
Other Thoughts: First I would like to mention that I only rate courses with less than 18 holes a max of three and this is better than the other area nine hole courses due to its ease of playability. This course is great for families and those people who wouldn't normally play disc golf while will still be used for quick rounds by regular disc golfers in the area. I was quite impressed with the maintenance of the course and how easy it was to find the tees and baskets. I had trouble with this at the other nine hole courses in the area.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.