Mayfield, KY 
South Highland Sports Club Share
Uploaded By: HB553 Hole #10 (Taken 8/2013)
4 / 285ft.   -- / --   4 / 510ft.   4 / 645ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Approach



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 South Highland Sports Club

5+    4/6/2014   4/6/2014
Review By: Ted Bratton
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful long challenging course with a lot of OB grass/cart paths/bunkers/water, elevation, three tee choices, amazing staff, carts, reasonably priced discs for sale, food available
Cons: -
Other Thoughts: 10$ fee, few trees, often windy, many opportunities to lose discs in water hazards

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

South Highland: The friendliest course in town

1    3/31/2014   4/2/2014
Review By: Brokensaint
Played: 161  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 7 Years
This review was updated on 4/7/2014
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: South Highland is a ball golf course that has found a way to splice its DNA with that of a disc golf course to create an exceptional hybrid mutant child! Set upon a broad rolling expanse of land, South Highland dove-tails 18 holes and three tee-pads of disc golf with a full 18 of ball golf. An aberration of nature, or a miracle of divine design? Let's see...
As you pull onto the property, an old but stately manor greets you. Driving around to the rear of the structure, you see the cart sheds and parking lot. You pull in beside an aged but sharply-kept black Jaguar. The sounds of a three-man crew doing roof work snaps in the other-wise silent air. There is an iron spiral stair that leads to a veranda overlooking the course. This is the clubhouse. Beneath the veranda, the door to the pro-shop. As you enter, you're met by a stately silver-haired fellow. Bob Turner, the General Manager, greets you warmly, with genuine friendliness. Behind the counter, a lovely young woman, Katarina, welcomes you to South Highland. There is an easy chatter of small talk while you purchase a drink and snacks from the machines and browse their decent selection of Innova discs. Katrina explains the fees, hands you a map and a "Rules of Disc golf" flyer. Bob points through the window to show you where the cart paths are and explains how the disc gold course flows. Both Bob and (I think) his daughter Katarina seem informed about disc golf and are truly pleased that you are playing their course.
Map in hand, you get your cart with a childish giddiness. You pile in, bags tucked neatly in the back of the cart and you are off!
The course lays before you, sloping away from the main building and rolling up and out. You can see the rise and fall of hillocks and mounds, stands of mature trees, the twinkle of water. And so you begin your experience.
Each hole has 3 sets of tees, Gold, Blue and Red, that more or less all follow the cart path. The Golds are long. Quite long. And the wind is not your friend. That and the OB rules take these long open holes and mutates them into a maze of placement golf.
As you play through, you will throw from great mounded teepads, across mowed fairways while avoiding sandtraps, grass traps and various bodies of water. Elevation, while never extreme, is constant and the way you perceive distances can be misleading. This is more than just a big arm throwers course.
You noticed water on the course earlier. Now it has noticed you. Several holes play with water at the basket, one of which actually sits on a thin ridge of land separating two broad shallow water hazards.
You run the course, looping back to the clubhouse at hole 9 and of course 18 for a bathroom break and maybe a refreshment recharge. There is a laminated menu in your golf cart reminding you that you can call Katarina at the club house around hole 7 (or 16) and order food that will be ready for you when you finish 9 (or 18).
You've now thrown lots of calculated bombs, head and tailwind shots, and death putts into lurking OB. You pull up to the shed, return your cart and Bob comes out and shakes your hand, thanks you for playing. Katarina brightens a sunny day with a smile and a wave and you are on your way. The South Highland Experience.
Cons: About the only Con I can come up with is more a preferential statement than a true negative: Its an open field course. As stated, there are plenty of hazards that shape the fairways, but tree tunnels and true shule are not really evident here. Its just not that kind of golf here.
Pay-to-play is not my favorite, but I felt it was more than worth my ten bucks.
Other Thoughts: I thoroughly enjoyed my time at South Highland. The staff was remarkably hospitable and genuine. The course was beautiful! Just beautiful. When I played, they had recently burned the grass, leaving sculpted tracts of scorched grass that still showed the mow patterns. It had a desolate grandness that I just loved!
Also, there were ball golfers teeing up around me, but never did we interfere with each other.
I had a great experience and will make the drive down from St. Louis in the early fall to play again!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Really fun first 9, Bad back 9

1    11/10/2013   11/11/2013
Review By: gmoney1984
Played: 97  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 1.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Riding in a golf cart playing disc golf! This makes it worth playing alone even though it's 10 bucks. Most bags fit in the back of your cart and you can keep your putters up front with you.

-Even though it's mostly wide open it's still really fun with the OB rules. Just the experience of playing disc golf on a real golf course is really really cool and several baskets are well placed by sandtraps or you have to throw over sandtraps and the greens to avoid a penalty

-You run into a bathroom twice.

-chances to unleash alot of shots
Cons: -Hard to find out where to get a cart. The main door leads into the clubhouse which is not where you need to go. walk around the north side of the building to the pro shop. the pro shop does sell discs at a decent price

- baskets placed to close to water. If you throw your disc in one of the many ponds kiss it goodbye.

- Didnt happen to us since no one was there but I imagine if it gets busy ball golfers would be a problem as your are playing right along with them in the fairways and to the sides of fairways still in harms way.

-somewhat hard to navigate but they will give you a map and it's a good thing you have a cart

-doesnt force you to use alot of different discs or alot of different shot types
Other Thoughts: We played the middle tees which are plenty long. Our Girlfriends played the short tees which are really short and work nicely for people who cant throw far and it still has a challenge of OB's even harder on some tee shots than the longer tees. There are too many shots that bring the water into play. If you play it safe you have a decent chance of not losing one but several spots where one bad shot and your disc is gone.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    8/25/2013   8/31/2013
Review By: Pathat19
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.5 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: 1. very well manicured
2. golf carts to ride
3. hard to lose a disc
4. very long holes for those who like to bomb.
Cons: 1. kind of tough for those who don't have big arms
one of my friends don't avg. about 200-250 per drive and he still had a great time and shot well.
Other Thoughts: if you are going to play in the mornings make sure to call and reserve a tee time. any time after 2pm you don't need to. although its a ball golf and disc golf course we didn't run in to any of the ball golfers that where on the course.make sure to follow rules in the golf carts. and don't drive across greens or tee pads

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/29/2013   8/29/2013
Review By: Nubuler
Played: 17  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: 1. Very long! Not many courses around the area have this kind of length.
2. Dual pads for all level of player.
3. Manicured fairways
4. Tough OB's on most of the holes.

Cons: Not many cons, maybe a few more guarded baskets.
Other Thoughts: This was a fun course and the staff was very friendly. A man stayed with me thru a few of the holes to help guide as there are no signs out there yet. I beleive they will be getting signs very soon. Its worth the 45 minute drive for me. Will be back.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging and Exciting

1    8/27/2013   8/27/2013
Review By: WestTNDiscGolf
Played: 13  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.7 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: 1. Well manicured
2. Use of Cart
3. Long Holes
4. Dual Tee Pads for rec/pro
5. Pro shop with concessions
Cons: Not really many cons, the various water hazards can be a vacuum for people not having a great game but that's the risk you take!!
Other Thoughts: Amazing course and extremely friendly staff. This is an overall A+!

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Terrific Course

1    8/26/2013   8/26/2013
Review By: WillA
Played: 28  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 4.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 1. Two sets of tees, championship and rec
2. The ball golf greens and bunkers are out of bounds. That along with the water hazargs require you to think before you throw.
3. This is a long course with a lot of par 4 and par 5 holes. It challenges your entire game.
4. I loved being able to take a cart.
Cons: I can't really think of any. I expect they will not have concrete tee pads but since this a dual ball/disc golf course that makes sense. Oh, I guess this is a minor con, the grey DGA baskets don't show up very well. When you are throwing on a 700 foot hole that can make a difference.
Other Thoughts: This course is a dual use course with both disc golf and ball golf. I really like it a lot. I played before the tee signs were up but the tees were marked with flags. The rec tees make it possible for rec players to play and have a good time.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.