Disc Golf Center
Richwood, TX 
Bobby Ford Park Share
Uploaded By: GMSdrum Hole #6 (Taken 8/2013)
3 / 120ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Short, short, short

2-4    5/17/2014   5/19/2014
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 188  Reviewed: 150  Exp: 7.1 Years
This review was updated on 9/15/2014
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
The baskets are top quality DISCatchers. The tee posts are numbered and the flow (with the minor exception of #1 to #2) is pretty hard to mess up. The course is ideal for beginners with no holes over 125'. For anyone playing longer than a beginner this is an upshot practice or Ace accumulation course. Tees are natural but there's little chance of these getting enough play to get grooved in. Hole #3 is a hyzer shot, and #5 is an anny shot, but the rest are pretty much straight shots so for what it is I guess you could say there's at least some variety. Restrooms are located in the small shack on hole #3.
Cons:
Short, short, short. Park is too cramped for a disc golf course; with a walking trail, playground, and basketball court all in harm's way there's a good chance you might have to skip a hole. Parking is limited.
Other Thoughts:
Any golfer that's been playing longer than six months will be disappointed if they don't '2' every hole out here. Seriously, no drivers need here. With distances this short it was a wise choice for Cody Miller to break the Guinness World Record for most holes played in 24-hours on May 17/18 2014.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Cool Concept - Poor Execution

2-4    2/22/2014   2/23/2014
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 134  Reviewed: 109  Exp: 2.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/21/2014
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is unique in the sense that all of the holes are under 110', making for a very quick round. The fact the course is this short almost makes your "drives" more of a long putt, or at least that is how I shot at each hole.

The baskets are nice Innova Discatchers. I was blown away that so much money would be put into good baskets on such a little course. The tee posts serve their purpose well. The flow of the course is easy to follow; it shouldn't be hard with such a short course anyways :).
Cons: If you have to skip a hole or two because of other park goers that is a serious con, in my opinion. Hole 8 throws over a basketball court, and sits dangerously close to the pavilion. Hole 4 is close to the playground and should be skipped if kids are there.

Hole 3 is blocked by a shed and a lamp post. You have to take the hyzer route to get to the basket or try your luck with the 7 foot gap, kind of a silly hole.
Other Thoughts: In all honesty, the park is much to small to handle a course. I really enjoy the concept of a short course like this, but when holes play so close to other non-golfers, it is not necessary. I would love to have this course in my neighborhood or my backyard to practice my short game.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

PUTT PUTT COURSE

5+    10/8/2013   10/8/2013
Review By: uwdiscgolf
Played: 77  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 5.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very fast play course. You can literally play this course in less than 15 min. The course nothing more than a practice for putting and upshots. The distances are all under 150 ft. For anyone playing this course for the first time I highly recommend that you only take your putter or midrange. This course can be fun if you can understand that the design and length are nothing for the serious player. Even if you birdie every hole for a score of (-9) the rating for the round is only in the low 900's.
Cons: The CONS for the course are pretty self explanatory once you step out of the car.

!. Short course that is less than 1,000 feet : Though i will not degrade the score of this course based on that. I feel a putt putt coure is what most nine hole courses are for INT/ ADV players.

2. Course is cramped in a small park with playground equipment and houses near by. One backyard plays ever so close to #6 pin.

3. Walking path as is the case with so many course in Houston area comes into play. For some of the holes you can use them as O.B. lines.
Other Thoughts: There is not much else to say about this course. Really since its so small there is really no possibility for more holes. The course is seriously for newbies and beginners. I enjoyed the fact that while there are little to few obstacles, and such short holes... The course was a great warm up for Dunbar. I highly recommend stopping here to get a good laugh, and warm up before heading out to Dunbar.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Beginner Friendly!

1    8/25/2013   8/26/2013
Review By: GMSdrum
Played: 109  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.7 Years
This review was updated on 10/29/2013
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
New baskets!

The tee posts are simple, just the hole number, but that's all you need here. The baskets are numbered and the layout is easy to follow. The next tee post is visible from each basket.

It's a neighborhood park, so there's no rough - you are unlikely to lose a disc unless you *seriously* overthrow hole 5 or 6.

A good amount of variety for such a short course. Notably, hole 3 and hole 5 force a certain shot. Basket 6 is guarded by trees. Most holes have at least one obstacle for you to consider off the tee.

Plenty of shade on this course - nice big trees but few low hanging branches to grab your disc.
Cons:
The tee pads are grass, likely to be mud/dirt if there's much activity.

Tee post 5 faces about 45 degrees left of the actual basket (maybe the basket was moved?)

A few of the tees are quite close to the previous basket.

Biggest con - there is too much going on in this small area. The playground and walking path are definitely an injury concern. Hole 8 plays over/through the basketball court (could be why that basket was lying on the ground when I played). If the park is crowded you may not be able to play at all.
Other Thoughts:
The holes average around 100 feet, so this is a beginner course! Do not expect more. A great place to take friends who are new to the game, or the wife who gets frustrated at courses with 300 foot holes. For anyone with any experience, it's a short game practice course to collect birdies and aces. Leave your drivers in the car!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.