Tullahoma, TN 
Sunrise Rotary DGC Share
Uploaded By: HB553 Hole #11 (Taken 10/2013)
3 / 295ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Average Cousre but Hard to Play

1    6/6/2014   6/6/2014
Review By: Shockling
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 0.2 Years
Pros: -Well kept fairways in woods
-Large variety on holes
-No holes felt similar
-Recently mowed
-Nice signs indicating the hole
-Varying pars on holes
Cons: -Narrow fairways in most parts of the course
-Slightly muddy do to recent rain
-Not a beginner course

Technical Players Delight

1    1/19/2014   1/21/2014
Review By: JSurmann
Played: 40  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 5.9 Years
Pros: This 18 hole course flows nicely and is in a portion of the park that looks to be only dedicated to Disc Golf. No need to worry about pedestrians. Both the front and back 9 end up right at the parking lot and course flow seems natural between holes. Course Map shed at the parking lot shows the general layout and there was a box on the back side for scorecards but was empty when I was there. Plenty of pencils though. A nice touch.

The front 9 is mostly wooded holes while the back 9 has only 2 or 3 fully wooded holes so if you are looking for a more technical round you can play the front 9 only or if you are looking for more open holes, back 9 is your game. Fairways in the woods are well groomed. I've seen other courses that hack tree out and leave the 3" stumps everywhere but not at this course. Grass was even planted on the wooded holes to keep it looking nice.

A variety of shots is needed to excel on this course but accuracy will win over raw distance. Distance varies from under 200' to over 600' and pars are fair with a course par of 56 that seems accurate.

Full size concrete tee pads on each hole are all in great shape as well as the DGA baskets that are brand new and all catch very well. Mulch around most of the baskets caught missed putts well. Signs with distances look great and the few "Next Tee" signs where needed were helpful.
Cons: Most all baskets seemed to sunken in 6-8 inches lower than baskets I normally play on. I'm sure they are within regulation height though.

Many of the wooded fairways seemed a bit narrow and some holes such as 8 had too many guardian trees in the middle of the fairway.

The only hole I thought was a very poor design was hole 15. The sign is extremely incorrect and does not play straight at all. It plays about a 25-30 foot layup shot from the tee, hard dogleg right, then down a 12 foot alley 150 feet into the open where the basket is another 40 feet out of the woods. This hole felt very unfair.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed hole 12 which played out of the woods, to the right and back into the woods. I felt that this was one of the signature holes on the course and nothing could be done to improve it.


1    10/7/2013   10/8/2013
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 17.9 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 18 holes set in a park-like area that appears to be 100% dedicated to the course. There is a mix of shorter woods, and longer open, and even a couple holes play from the open into woods and from woods into open.

The wooded holes are relatively short, but are plenty challenging as they often have sharp angles, strategic trees in the middle of the fairway, and punishing rough if you miss the fairway. Most open holes had few to no obstacles other than length, but there was a shorter grass fairway and long grass rough clearly defined and lined with what appear to be white o.b. stakes- if so, these would add much challenge when/if observed.

The course gave me a pretty good challenge to score well (I did not have my summer-season A-game, and it was the first time through), but each hole made me work for a 3, I had no 2's, and ended up with several 4's.

Superb concrete tees with traction tops. Brand new Mach baskets including a practice basket. Ample gravel parking lot. Several small signs to the course from the main road past the school. Course navigation playing the first time was a breeze with next tee signs and clear paths.

Overall, a decent beginner/intermediate course in a town that did not have a course nearby. If traveling down I-24 between Nashville and Chattanooga, the course is not too far from the interstate (12 miles) and most of that is highway.
Cons: Some tee shots that I would call unrealistic shapes of disc flight, where basically you have to conservatively putt it from the tee to the bend in the fairway, and then play your long upshot. On many of these it seemed to me there was a better, more obvious spot for the tee- would not have made it any easier, just more of a risk/reward option, rather than a play-it-safe option as your only option.

Though somewhat challenging to score low if you end up off the fairway, I found the course to be somewhat uninteresting as far as strategy and shot choice. There was little thought on each shot other than to play safe down the obvious fairway line- basically I felt on most holes there was only shot choice, (yes you still have to execute), but I prefer at least some holes to offer options and risk/reward scenarios.

I happen to find the hole map/diagrams from this designer to be almost completely useless- they are always vague and often do not represent an accurate shape of the fairway and basket placement. This course is no exception, and I found myself having to walk the fairways on all wooded holes to find the basket anyways.

No restrooms, water, picnic tables, trashcans. (At least right now.)
Other Thoughts: Still new, but very playable (missing big map on kiosk, permanent tee signs, trash cans, benches, all those are extras, but nothing you absolutely need.)

A bit of mud in the fairways from construction, but I played the day after it had rained an inch. There was straw and mulch in most places, so the mud was hardly noticeable, and grass is starting to grow back in in many places.

Not a con, but a potential one: I hope the open hole tall grass is not allowed to become a ridiculous length in the summer. Shorter grass and stakes can identify o.b. well enough without the punishment of ticks, chiggers, and lost discs.

I played on a Monday, but school was on fall break, so I can't comment on playability during school hours- the park is set apart from the school, but the road to the parking area is the school road.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Tullahoma has Arrived! Turn LEFT @ Country Club LN.

1    8/27/2013   8/27/2013
Review By: bgill
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 39.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/11/2013
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Sunrise Rotary disc golf course is in early development stages and is playable but understandably difficult. The open and combination holes play well and wind will be a factor.
Tee pads are grippy and roomy.
DGAMach 3 baskets almost made me believe I could putt.
Nice neighborhood, near East Middle School.
Cons: It's green friends. Off fairway is not fun. You'll need bug spray. School zone traffic could be a hassle at start or let out times.
Other Thoughts: Tullahoma's Sunrise Rotary course will be a good winter course this year and continue to improve.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.