Madison, WI 
Hiestand Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #11
3 / 208ft.   3 / 300ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee



Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Great city course

5+    6/20/2014   7/2/2014
Review By: zdwyatt
Played: 14  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 15.1 Years
Pros: The course is well-balanced, with a nice blend of lengths and shot shapes. The course varies from open fields to tight wooded holes. Each hole has two concrete tee pads and multiple pin locations (though they don't seem to get changed very often).
Cons: This a popular city course, so it's usually very busy. The course also suffers from trash and vandalism, though the new pay-to-play requirement seems to be improving that. More than any other course in Madison, this one seems to attract the beer-drinking, pot-smoking crowd. This can lead to some slow groups and, on occasion, belligerent players.
Other Thoughts: This is a nice course overall. I'd rank it second among Madison courses, behind Token Creek/Vallarta-Ast. The scenery of the course is pleasant, as are the views of the city.

 Just an overview

5+    6/17/2014   6/18/2014
Review By: Chainz3
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Very easy to navigate where each hole leads
- Very nice mixture of open and wooded
- Great course for anybody (Lefty, righty, Backhand, etc.)
- Good mix of distances
- Quality baskets
- Pro shop across the street
Cons: - Brush is tough to find discs in when it is fully grown
- Some teepads are very dusty which causes a lot of error
- Too much broken glass, cigarette buts, and grass pulled up
Other Thoughts: $5 to play for afternoon or $40 for a season pass
(Pay to play only for ages 17 and up)

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great Madison Course!

5+    7/11/2011   3/23/2013
Review By: Jmpviper
Played: 9  Reviewed: 8
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Has a mixture of flat lands, hills, and trees. The holes change up a lot making you utilize your different skills. A couple tee offs overlooking the city of Madison resulting in a great view.
Cons: Sometimes there's an abundance of people. It's in the city of Madison so on some days there will be other disc golfers or soccer players in the area. Best to go in the early morning to better avoid the crowds.
Other Thoughts: Probably the second best course in the Madison area but still a good course.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great Course

5+    12/13/2012   12/18/2012
Review By: ajkuck
Played: 39  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 7.3 Years
This review was updated on 12/20/2012
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course offers a variety of holes and shots. There are many technical holes in the woods, some open holes, many birdie opportunities. The holes in the woods definitely require some technical and accurate shots, but are certainly fair. The lanes in the woods are quite wide with scattered trees in the middle of the fairways on many holes. This gives you the opportunity to chose between several different lane options and make the course quite unique. Trees definitely play a bigger role from the long tees. There are also a bunch of holes with nice elevation change, including 3, 15, 17, and 18, which offers a nice change of pace. Several holes, including 8, 10, and 17 have role away pin locations as well. Hole 3 is about 500 ft. downhill and is definitely the signature hole on the course. Personally, my favorite hole is 15. It's an awesome downhill hole with a wide open fair with woods on both sides. When it's calm, I love laying out a long, slow turnover shot. The maintenance of the course is also well done. I throw RHBH and the course offers many opportunities for throwing hyzers and anhyzer shots. It is a great course for both left and right handed players, regardless of whether you backhand or forehand. The city also does a nice job of moving around pin locations throughout the season, which makes for a nice change of pace. There is also a practice pin near the first tee pad, which is nice to warm up on.
Cons: The course is always busy. It also lacks quality landscaping to prevent erosion control, which makes many holes muddy after a rainfall. The signs could also be improved, along with adding some benches and more garbage cans.
Other Thoughts: I go to school at UW and this course is very comparable to the courses I play in Minnesota. The only odd thing is that everyone is Madison play the short tee pads, which was quite a change for me. I have played the course a few times from the long tees and it certainly makes the course a lot more challenging. I also can't wait until this course and Elver are pay to play next spring so that the things I mentioned in the cons section above can see some improvement. It will also help with cleaning up the course a bit and getting rid of some of the rift raft. The course has a lot of potential.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Hiestand Park...

5+    6/2/2012   6/3/2012
Review By: theaeroeagle1877
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Easily accessible area, right off of one of Madison's main roads.
-Well maintained.
-Some variety (see cons)
-Multi-pin placement changes the course every time you play, giving you a new challenge many times over.
-Good blend of long fairways, wooded challenge shots, uphill, and down hill.
Cons: -Very busy course
-Could use more of the park and have more variety.
-Lots of overgrowth on both sides of fairway make it hard to find stray disc.
Other Thoughts: I love this park, I typically try to go at night, when less people are present.
I feel as though they could have used more of the land to make the course vary in different areas.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Out of town perspective

1    10/7/2011   10/10/2011
Review By: stubborn puppet
Played: 43  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 3.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
It's hard to add to what the other reviews have said in either category, but I'll go ahead and try to keep it short.

> Nice, large, level red and blue tee pads.
> Decent Tee signs with accurate distances and reasonable display of pin placements.
> Multiple pin placements that look like they'd really offer a different game.
> Amazing use of the location, terrain and nature.
> Great variety of shots.
> Excellent mix of risk and reward by creative use of obstacles and topography.
> Clean and well maintained.
Cons: Like the previous review, there isn't much "bad" to say, just nit-picking.

> The course feels like the holes could be longer in many places, even playing from the blue pads. I'd have liked a few more holes where I could really let it rip.
> There were a few safety issues on the course because a couple of fairways overlapped tees for the next hole and I almost knocked another player out with a drive that went just a few feet out of sight... sorry.
> The blue tees could be placed at slightly more creative angles... but they're still very welcome on a course that already felt a bit short.
> I hate to be "that guy", but there were way too many players on the course that felt perfectly at home lighting up their joints in front of everyone. I don't mind the pot smoking at all, but DGer's have a hard enough time with negative stereotypes turning off the general public (and especially the parks depts.) without people going out of their way to reinforce that negative impression. Some jacka$$ even spray painted 420 in giant silver letters on a tree right in the middle of a fairway. Try to use a little discretion, jeesh.
Other Thoughts: I'm from way, way out of town and stopped through this course while visiting relatives. Very, very impressive. My home town may have a lot more courses than the Madison area, but this one is as good as any I've played. It is so obvious by how beautiful and just downright scenic Hiestand Park DGC is that the designer was given full reign to make this course and if they weren't, they did the best job ever of making good use. I love the way that each hole felt totally unique and in many cases, like I had just been teleported a hundred miles just by walking to the next tee because of the change of scenery. I don't know if the wind is always as much of a factor at this park, but it was really blowing when I played and made for a very hard game that blew any chances of a good score for me.
Getting some more length and a little more curve out of some of the holes, along with some Mando signs, would easily move this course into the 4.5 to 5 range for me.
Locals, cherish this gem and give respect to the MadCity Disc golf club for keeping it so nice.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/20/2011   8/26/2011
Review By: smyith
Played: 134  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 13 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Am and Pro Level CementTeepads
- Multiple Pin Placements
- Practice Basket
- Tee signs
- Everything on the land is so well used. I think the designer must have had alot of freedom in the design.
- Hills, Drop offs, Woods, and Open are all well utilized
- Greens aren't as guarded as they are dangerous. Knowing when to layup saves big strokes.
- Pro teepads add a much harder challenge, altho not much difference from am pads as far as line to the basket.
- Power control and shot placement/angle are required
- Fun!!!
- Really works your mental game.
- Smart play gets better scores. In other words not a pitch-n-putt
- Some benches and trash cans
- Glide Disc Golf is a short walk from Hole #1
Cons: *I can't think of anything I really care about so I'll be picky*
- Could use way more trash cans and benches
- Better Tee Signs
- I'd like to see them make some slight alterations to make the hole more different from Pro to Am pads. Letting certain trees grow out more could easily solve this.
Other Thoughts: This is Madison's best course. Elver isn't far off though. Its appealing to all from chucker to Pro. Its a short trip from the interstate. If you only have time for one course when coming through PLAY THIS COURSE.
The short pads are more geared towards the REC and INT level players. The long pads are more for your ADV and PRO level players. The course gets a great deal longer on the Pro pads. This combined with the dangerous greens makes for some tricky golf. Scores can easily get away from you. Take your dueces when you can cause your gonna get a bogey or two.
I gave this course a 4 but think its capable of a 4.5 with the changes I mentioned in the Cons section.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Intermediate/Expert

1    6/26/2011   7/5/2011
Review By: notapro
Played: 416  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 11.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set on and around a very hilly and wooded section of this large park. There are lots of other things going on here, but it seems well separated from the course itself. Holes are pretty evenly split between fairways bordered by rough/forest, and holes inside the woods.
- Some very tight and interesting lines to be found in the woods here, from both sets of tees. A couple RHBH hyzers and straight shots, but the majority are of the RHFH or anny variety. Tough tree placement off the tee, on the fairway, and near the basket demands very good accuracy start to finish. Elevation changes in here are used well, with some sharp downhills, some over-the-hill shots, and some uphills.
- Holes that border the forest also have great character, due to both elevation and proximity to the rough. Uphill shots include #1, with a smaller fairway, #4, with a RHBH anny (rough/rollaway on the right), and #17, a steep slope with a protected basket and a rollaway fairway/green. Downhills include a bomber on #3, with a creek behind the pin, and #10, a long shot with a sloping, undulating fairway and green. Good stuff.
- A few holes play out of and into the forest as well. #14's blue tee is nearly half in and half out, with rough waiting outside the window. Going back in, #5 has an excellent finish, a long valley hole that finishes up and right into a clearing in the forest.
- Good amount of sloping greens here, both from the natural terrain as well as some tough placements. #5's basket is on a built-up ledge on a hillside, and the hilliest holes are just natural rollaways, in a few different directions.
- Awesome mix of hole lengths here, from both sets of teepads. Plenty in the 300's and 400's here from the blues, with a few either which way. The short holes feel long with the craziest lines, and the long holes are of varying difficulty.
- Water on #3 is the only water, but it is in a good spot. Big arms can't go too far past the basket on this one.
- Good teepads, signs, and baskets. Navigation a bit tricky, especially at the intersection by #2's basket. When in doubt go right, more or less.
Cons: - Not many cons here. The one that stands out is the uniformity of the more open holes. Almost every single shot out here is straight, with a slight/medium right turn being very useful. There are elevation changes, and there are some trees to avoid off the tee, but otherwise it's almost point and shoot.
- Some of the holes are a little close to each other; look out for early hyzers from #5 when on #4. Also tread carefully by the intersection by #2's basket, a lot of traffic through there.
Other Thoughts: - Overall, I really enjoyed this course, from start to finish. Great variety going up and down the hills, into, through, and out of the forest. Some very interesting and tight lines inside the forest, complemented by lots of open hilly shots. Staying clean is important, with some very, very thick rough in all areas of the park. Probably a bit much for a beginner, I think everyone else would find challenge and/or fun here, no doubt.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 My favorite in Madison

1    6/12/2010   6/25/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 762  Exp: 12.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very fun course, and was my favorite of the three I played in the Madison area. It's got some nice elevation, with a good variety of uphill and downhill holes, including one fun downhill bomb. Most holes use the elevation in some way, and it really adds to the variety and fun factor here. There is also good variety of hole shapes, with a balanced mix of right and left turning holes.

There are two nice concrete tees on almost every hole, and they're in pretty good shape with enough texture for good grip. Several of the alternate tees changed The baskets are older, but still catch ok. The layout flowed well enough that it was easy to follow, and there was enough signage that you don't have to walk up too many holes to see where to throw.
Cons: The course has a few too many holes in the same length range if you play either set of tees, though if you want more variety you can mix up which tee you throw from. There isn't much late trouble, so approaches and putts aren't too interesting on many of the holes here.

This course was quite crowded when I played, and in talking too locals apparently that's the norm here. That meant parking was a bit of an issue with only street parking (including several spots in danger of drives that go long on 18). It also made for a slow round, many large groups were letting faster groups play through, but some weren't, and there were some large groups of beginners out playing that moved pretty slowly.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun ace run type course from the short tees, and a more challenging wooded course from the longs, making for good variety. It's a little crowded, but it's a fun place to play and has enough variety to keep it interesting. The short tees are great for newer players, with reasonable distances and a good mix of shot shapes to learn. More experienced players will find some challenges from the longs and will enjoy the elevation and variety.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Hiestand... Amazing!!!

1    11/11/2009   11/11/2009
Review By: Shuie
Played: 623  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 12.4 Years
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Hiestand is set atop a wooded hill all fairways have shrubs and trees bordering them...... when i played yesterday that had the alt. pin placements and played shorts.
#1 225' slight uphill with a left fade
#2 281' slight right fade moderate number of trees in fairway.
#3 369' down hill bomber.
#4 250' up hill
#5 320' right fade slightly up hill with the pin up on the retaining wall
#6 260' right fade moderate trees in fairway
#7 180' moderate trees in fairway
#8 276' up two sets of rolling hills
#9 215' few trees in fairway
#10 301' right fade
#11 208' straight shot few trees on fairway
#12 210' downhill moderat trees on fairway
#13 198' few trees on fairway
#14 259' wide open
#15 319' slightly down hill
#16 260' right fade few trees in fairway #17 236' uphill with a two tree defense round the pin
#18 259' left fade.
Pro tees will change the course quite drastically adding more than just distance. Pro shop across the street...
Cons: Busy course... gonna be sitting/waiting if its a busy day.. water fountain would be nice.....
Other Thoughts: Its a great course.... everyone should play... elver and token creek are close too... i play all these courses decent amount of times a year....

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.