Madison, WI 
Hiestand Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #11
3 / 208ft.   3 / 300ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee



Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 outstanding course!

1    6/24/2012   7/13/2012
Review By: adazm
Played: 23  Reviewed: 22
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: brilliant dg course! multiple pin placements. multiple tees. excellent elevation change. tons of trees. a mixture of short and long holes. happy grassy fairways.
really encompasses almost everything i look for in a dg course!
Cons: yes, it was crowded. we got there in the afternoon, and we were not alone. which is a small price to pay for an awesome free course.
Other Thoughts: 2nd of 9 dg courses played on road trip that week. this was def one of the highlights :)

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Hiestand Park...

5+    6/2/2012   6/3/2012
Review By: theaeroeagle1877
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Easily accessible area, right off of one of Madison's main roads.
-Well maintained.
-Some variety (see cons)
-Multi-pin placement changes the course every time you play, giving you a new challenge many times over.
-Good blend of long fairways, wooded challenge shots, uphill, and down hill.
Cons: -Very busy course
-Could use more of the park and have more variety.
-Lots of overgrowth on both sides of fairway make it hard to find stray disc.
Other Thoughts: I love this park, I typically try to go at night, when less people are present.
I feel as though they could have used more of the land to make the course vary in different areas.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Out of town perspective

1    10/7/2011   10/10/2011
Review By: stubborn puppet
Played: 43  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 3.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
It's hard to add to what the other reviews have said in either category, but I'll go ahead and try to keep it short.

> Nice, large, level red and blue tee pads.
> Decent Tee signs with accurate distances and reasonable display of pin placements.
> Multiple pin placements that look like they'd really offer a different game.
> Amazing use of the location, terrain and nature.
> Great variety of shots.
> Excellent mix of risk and reward by creative use of obstacles and topography.
> Clean and well maintained.
Cons: Like the previous review, there isn't much "bad" to say, just nit-picking.

> The course feels like the holes could be longer in many places, even playing from the blue pads. I'd have liked a few more holes where I could really let it rip.
> There were a few safety issues on the course because a couple of fairways overlapped tees for the next hole and I almost knocked another player out with a drive that went just a few feet out of sight... sorry.
> The blue tees could be placed at slightly more creative angles... but they're still very welcome on a course that already felt a bit short.
> I hate to be "that guy", but there were way too many players on the course that felt perfectly at home lighting up their joints in front of everyone. I don't mind the pot smoking at all, but DGer's have a hard enough time with negative stereotypes turning off the general public (and especially the parks depts.) without people going out of their way to reinforce that negative impression. Some jacka$$ even spray painted 420 in giant silver letters on a tree right in the middle of a fairway. Try to use a little discretion, jeesh.
Other Thoughts: I'm from way, way out of town and stopped through this course while visiting relatives. Very, very impressive. My home town may have a lot more courses than the Madison area, but this one is as good as any I've played. It is so obvious by how beautiful and just downright scenic Hiestand Park DGC is that the designer was given full reign to make this course and if they weren't, they did the best job ever of making good use. I love the way that each hole felt totally unique and in many cases, like I had just been teleported a hundred miles just by walking to the next tee because of the change of scenery. I don't know if the wind is always as much of a factor at this park, but it was really blowing when I played and made for a very hard game that blew any chances of a good score for me.
Getting some more length and a little more curve out of some of the holes, along with some Mando signs, would easily move this course into the 4.5 to 5 range for me.
Locals, cherish this gem and give respect to the MadCity Disc golf club for keeping it so nice.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/20/2011   8/26/2011
Review By: smyith
Played: 134  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 13.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Am and Pro Level CementTeepads
- Multiple Pin Placements
- Practice Basket
- Tee signs
- Everything on the land is so well used. I think the designer must have had alot of freedom in the design.
- Hills, Drop offs, Woods, and Open are all well utilized
- Greens aren't as guarded as they are dangerous. Knowing when to layup saves big strokes.
- Pro teepads add a much harder challenge, altho not much difference from am pads as far as line to the basket.
- Power control and shot placement/angle are required
- Fun!!!
- Really works your mental game.
- Smart play gets better scores. In other words not a pitch-n-putt
- Some benches and trash cans
- Glide Disc Golf is a short walk from Hole #1
Cons: *I can't think of anything I really care about so I'll be picky*
- Could use way more trash cans and benches
- Better Tee Signs
- I'd like to see them make some slight alterations to make the hole more different from Pro to Am pads. Letting certain trees grow out more could easily solve this.
Other Thoughts: This is Madison's best course. Elver isn't far off though. Its appealing to all from chucker to Pro. Its a short trip from the interstate. If you only have time for one course when coming through PLAY THIS COURSE.
The short pads are more geared towards the REC and INT level players. The long pads are more for your ADV and PRO level players. The course gets a great deal longer on the Pro pads. This combined with the dangerous greens makes for some tricky golf. Scores can easily get away from you. Take your dueces when you can cause your gonna get a bogey or two.
I gave this course a 4 but think its capable of a 4.5 with the changes I mentioned in the Cons section.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Intermediate/Expert

1    6/26/2011   7/5/2011
Review By: notapro
Played: 420  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 11.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set on and around a very hilly and wooded section of this large park. There are lots of other things going on here, but it seems well separated from the course itself. Holes are pretty evenly split between fairways bordered by rough/forest, and holes inside the woods.
- Some very tight and interesting lines to be found in the woods here, from both sets of tees. A couple RHBH hyzers and straight shots, but the majority are of the RHFH or anny variety. Tough tree placement off the tee, on the fairway, and near the basket demands very good accuracy start to finish. Elevation changes in here are used well, with some sharp downhills, some over-the-hill shots, and some uphills.
- Holes that border the forest also have great character, due to both elevation and proximity to the rough. Uphill shots include #1, with a smaller fairway, #4, with a RHBH anny (rough/rollaway on the right), and #17, a steep slope with a protected basket and a rollaway fairway/green. Downhills include a bomber on #3, with a creek behind the pin, and #10, a long shot with a sloping, undulating fairway and green. Good stuff.
- A few holes play out of and into the forest as well. #14's blue tee is nearly half in and half out, with rough waiting outside the window. Going back in, #5 has an excellent finish, a long valley hole that finishes up and right into a clearing in the forest.
- Good amount of sloping greens here, both from the natural terrain as well as some tough placements. #5's basket is on a built-up ledge on a hillside, and the hilliest holes are just natural rollaways, in a few different directions.
- Awesome mix of hole lengths here, from both sets of teepads. Plenty in the 300's and 400's here from the blues, with a few either which way. The short holes feel long with the craziest lines, and the long holes are of varying difficulty.
- Water on #3 is the only water, but it is in a good spot. Big arms can't go too far past the basket on this one.
- Good teepads, signs, and baskets. Navigation a bit tricky, especially at the intersection by #2's basket. When in doubt go right, more or less.
Cons: - Not many cons here. The one that stands out is the uniformity of the more open holes. Almost every single shot out here is straight, with a slight/medium right turn being very useful. There are elevation changes, and there are some trees to avoid off the tee, but otherwise it's almost point and shoot.
- Some of the holes are a little close to each other; look out for early hyzers from #5 when on #4. Also tread carefully by the intersection by #2's basket, a lot of traffic through there.
Other Thoughts: - Overall, I really enjoyed this course, from start to finish. Great variety going up and down the hills, into, through, and out of the forest. Some very interesting and tight lines inside the forest, complemented by lots of open hilly shots. Staying clean is important, with some very, very thick rough in all areas of the park. Probably a bit much for a beginner, I think everyone else would find challenge and/or fun here, no doubt.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Nice Course

5+    6/17/2011   6/17/2011
Review By: gintner31
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Get To Try Some Good Rips
Challenging Holes
Lots Of Different Shots
Cons: Damn Long Grass
Busy
Trash Cans Full
Other Thoughts: This Course Is Awesome Just Wish They Would Mow Some Of The Long Grass So If You Have A Bad Shot You Dont Hunt For 25 Mins For Your Disc

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 My favorite in Madison

1    6/12/2010   6/25/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 817  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 12.8 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very fun course, and was my favorite of the three I played in the Madison area. It's got some nice elevation, with a good variety of uphill and downhill holes, including one fun downhill bomb. Most holes use the elevation in some way, and it really adds to the variety and fun factor here. There is also good variety of hole shapes, with a balanced mix of right and left turning holes.

There are two nice concrete tees on almost every hole, and they're in pretty good shape with enough texture for good grip. Several of the alternate tees changed The baskets are older, but still catch ok. The layout flowed well enough that it was easy to follow, and there was enough signage that you don't have to walk up too many holes to see where to throw.
Cons: The course has a few too many holes in the same length range if you play either set of tees, though if you want more variety you can mix up which tee you throw from. There isn't much late trouble, so approaches and putts aren't too interesting on many of the holes here.

This course was quite crowded when I played, and in talking too locals apparently that's the norm here. That meant parking was a bit of an issue with only street parking (including several spots in danger of drives that go long on 18). It also made for a slow round, many large groups were letting faster groups play through, but some weren't, and there were some large groups of beginners out playing that moved pretty slowly.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun ace run type course from the short tees, and a more challenging wooded course from the longs, making for good variety. It's a little crowded, but it's a fun place to play and has enough variety to keep it interesting. The short tees are great for newer players, with reasonable distances and a good mix of shot shapes to learn. More experienced players will find some challenges from the longs and will enjoy the elevation and variety.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Great For All

5+    8/20/2009   3/15/2010
Review By: Ltmmusic
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is great fun for all players. Plenty of challenging shots, pro and am tees, signs, great variety of holes. This is my home course and the course that I first ever played on. It's what made me fall in love with the sport. Multiple pin positions make it so you're not playing the same course every time. A great free course with a disc golf pro shop right across the street.
Cons: This course is almost always packed with people. Parking can be quite difficult to find and it's very easy to end up sitting and waiting at a hole. The trees can be a little heavy on the sides at times so for a beginner who doesn't land on the fairway discs can be lost. However they are often found and if you put your number on it most people will call.
Other Thoughts: When I lived back in madison I played this course just about everyday. I never got bored and always had fun. This course got me and many of my friends started. It really is great for everyone beginners to pros.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 HIGH on Hiestand

5+    8/9/2009   2/7/2010
Review By: #19325
Played: 318  Reviewed: 170  Exp: 13.6 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Hiestand is my favorite Madison area course to play. If it was maintained as well as Token Creek this would be Madison's signature course. Make it pay to play!

This course has great variety. There are 2 cement tees on every hole but #3. The short tees are very beginner friendly playing at 4,700ft. while the long tees play at 6,450ft. SSA played 52.46 from the long tees during the 2009 Mad City Open. To shoot a 1000 rated round you needed to shoot 52 -2. This course offers a layout for all skill level players.

The course flow is great. It's not hard to navigate. Adequate tee signs.

There is some great elevation. It plays up, down, on, and across a large hill. The design is very good offering every type of shot selection.

There is a good mix of open and wooded holes. The wooded holes are very fair golf shots with some heavy rough to penalize bad shots.
Cons: Erosion and garbage. It's unfortunate the local player base cannot throw their garbage away. It really takes away from the great course they have.

This course gets heavy play. Erosion is an issue in several areas.

Make is pay to play! This will fix these problems.
Other Thoughts: This course is very popular and gets tons of use. Be prepared to be patient during prime time hours.

Make sure to visit Mike and buy a disc at his
Glide Disc Golf Store right across the street. He's a great guy. http://www.glidediscgolf.com

This course is a must play if you are in Madison.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful Course

5+    11/28/2009   12/2/2009
Review By: MooTaters
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/14/2013
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Currently my favorite course in the Madison area. It's based on a big hill in the park which adds a lot of fun topography. It has a decent variety of holes favoring different throwing styles. Hole 3 is fun just for a nice bomber, if you're new make sure to take a right at the end of hole 2 or you'll be skipping 3 holes. This is something nice about the course though, as there are about 4 skipping points I can think of. So if you're running late or have a large group that won't let you shoot through, then you can just skip a couple holes. Glide being right across the street is great and Mike is just awesome!
Cons: It can get very crowded and sadly people don't always understand how to let people shoot through or break up a group of 6-8 into two groups. It can be confusing sometimes to navigate unless you go there a few times. Sadly many people like to litter even though there's a trash can at EVERY HOLE! The course is now pay to play, which I hope brings some good improvements, and might tone down the traffic a little bit. I personally feel it may not have ended up that way if people had been more respectful when it came to littering and graffiti, but there's nothing that can be done now. It's also too bad since now basically every course in Madison that's worth playing is pay to play.
Other Thoughts: Sorry about the above littering comment, but it just bothers me when people disrespect nature like that.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.