Madison, WI
Hiestand Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #2
3 / 264ft.   3 / 335ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
  Nice Course

5+    6/17/2011   6/17/2011
Review By: gintner31
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.9 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Get To Try Some Good Rips
Challenging Holes
Lots Of Different Shots
Cons: Damn Long Grass
Busy
Trash Cans Full
Other Thoughts: This Course Is Awesome Just Wish They Would Mow Some Of The Long Grass So If You Have A Bad Shot You Dont Hunt For 25 Mins For Your Disc

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 My favorite in Madison

1    6/12/2010   6/25/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 747  Reviewed: 747  Exp: 12.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very fun course, and was my favorite of the three I played in the Madison area. It's got some nice elevation, with a good variety of uphill and downhill holes, including one fun downhill bomb. Most holes use the elevation in some way, and it really adds to the variety and fun factor here. There is also good variety of hole shapes, with a balanced mix of right and left turning holes.

There are two nice concrete tees on almost every hole, and they're in pretty good shape with enough texture for good grip. Several of the alternate tees changed The baskets are older, but still catch ok. The layout flowed well enough that it was easy to follow, and there was enough signage that you don't have to walk up too many holes to see where to throw.
Cons: The course has a few too many holes in the same length range if you play either set of tees, though if you want more variety you can mix up which tee you throw from. There isn't much late trouble, so approaches and putts aren't too interesting on many of the holes here.

This course was quite crowded when I played, and in talking too locals apparently that's the norm here. That meant parking was a bit of an issue with only street parking (including several spots in danger of drives that go long on 18). It also made for a slow round, many large groups were letting faster groups play through, but some weren't, and there were some large groups of beginners out playing that moved pretty slowly.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun ace run type course from the short tees, and a more challenging wooded course from the longs, making for good variety. It's a little crowded, but it's a fun place to play and has enough variety to keep it interesting. The short tees are great for newer players, with reasonable distances and a good mix of shot shapes to learn. More experienced players will find some challenges from the longs and will enjoy the elevation and variety.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Great For All

5+    8/20/2009   3/15/2010
Review By: Ltmmusic
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is great fun for all players. Plenty of challenging shots, pro and am tees, signs, great variety of holes. This is my home course and the course that I first ever played on. It's what made me fall in love with the sport. Multiple pin positions make it so you're not playing the same course every time. A great free course with a disc golf pro shop right across the street.
Cons: This course is almost always packed with people. Parking can be quite difficult to find and it's very easy to end up sitting and waiting at a hole. The trees can be a little heavy on the sides at times so for a beginner who doesn't land on the fairway discs can be lost. However they are often found and if you put your number on it most people will call.
Other Thoughts: When I lived back in madison I played this course just about everyday. I never got bored and always had fun. This course got me and many of my friends started. It really is great for everyone beginners to pros.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 HIGH on Hiestand

5+    8/9/2009   2/7/2010
Review By: #19325
Played: 312  Reviewed: 166  Exp: 12.9 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Hiestand is my favorite Madison area course to play. If it was maintained as well as Token Creek this would be Madison's signature course. Make it pay to play!

This course has great variety. There are 2 cement tees on every hole but #3. The short tees are very beginner friendly playing at 4,700ft. while the long tees play at 6,450ft. SSA played 52.46 from the long tees during the 2009 Mad City Open. To shoot a 1000 rated round you needed to shoot 52 -2. This course offers a layout for all skill level players.

The course flow is great. It's not hard to navigate. Adequate tee signs.

There is some great elevation. It plays up, down, on, and across a large hill. The design is very good offering every type of shot selection.

There is a good mix of open and wooded holes. The wooded holes are very fair golf shots with some heavy rough to penalize bad shots.
Cons: Erosion and garbage. It's unfortunate the local player base cannot throw their garbage away. It really takes away from the great course they have.

This course gets heavy play. Erosion is an issue in several areas.

Make is pay to play! This will fix these problems.
Other Thoughts: This course is very popular and gets tons of use. Be prepared to be patient during prime time hours.

Make sure to visit Mike and buy a disc at his
Glide Disc Golf Store right across the street. He's a great guy. http://www.glidediscgolf.com

This course is a must play if you are in Madison.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful Course

5+    11/28/2009   12/2/2009
Review By: MooTaters
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.7 Years
This review was updated on 6/14/2013
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Currently my favorite course in the Madison area. It's based on a big hill in the park which adds a lot of fun topography. It has a decent variety of holes favoring different throwing styles. Hole 3 is fun just for a nice bomber, if you're new make sure to take a right at the end of hole 2 or you'll be skipping 3 holes. This is something nice about the course though, as there are about 4 skipping points I can think of. So if you're running late or have a large group that won't let you shoot through, then you can just skip a couple holes. Glide being right across the street is great and Mike is just awesome!
Cons: It can get very crowded and sadly people don't always understand how to let people shoot through or break up a group of 6-8 into two groups. It can be confusing sometimes to navigate unless you go there a few times. Sadly many people like to litter even though there's a trash can at EVERY HOLE! The course is now pay to play, which I hope brings some good improvements, and might tone down the traffic a little bit. I personally feel it may not have ended up that way if people had been more respectful when it came to littering and graffiti, but there's nothing that can be done now. It's also too bad since now basically every course in Madison that's worth playing is pay to play.
Other Thoughts: Sorry about the above littering comment, but it just bothers me when people disrespect nature like that.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Hiestand... Amazing!!!

1    11/11/2009   11/11/2009
Review By: Shuie
Played: 611  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 12 Years
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Hiestand is set atop a wooded hill all fairways have shrubs and trees bordering them...... when i played yesterday that had the alt. pin placements and played shorts.
#1 225' slight uphill with a left fade
#2 281' slight right fade moderate number of trees in fairway.
#3 369' down hill bomber.
#4 250' up hill
#5 320' right fade slightly up hill with the pin up on the retaining wall
#6 260' right fade moderate trees in fairway
#7 180' moderate trees in fairway
#8 276' up two sets of rolling hills
#9 215' few trees in fairway
#10 301' right fade
#11 208' straight shot few trees on fairway
#12 210' downhill moderat trees on fairway
#13 198' few trees on fairway
#14 259' wide open
#15 319' slightly down hill
#16 260' right fade few trees in fairway #17 236' uphill with a two tree defense round the pin
#18 259' left fade.
Pro tees will change the course quite drastically adding more than just distance. Pro shop across the street...
Cons: Busy course... gonna be sitting/waiting if its a busy day.. water fountain would be nice.....
Other Thoughts: Its a great course.... everyone should play... elver and token creek are close too... i play all these courses decent amount of times a year....

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Classic Disc golf

1    9/12/2009   9/14/2009
Review By: bass4grace
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.9 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is a must play for every disc golfer. It's great for beginners and still fun for pros. The holes are so scenic and well structured that it's like playing a video game. It's the best course layout I've ever played hands down, and you can take a good run at the basket from the tee on nearly every hole. I had my hopes up coming to this course and it exceeded my expectations. Not to mention the "Glide" disc golf store is right across the street.
Cons: The am tees are fun, but they present no real challenge. I shot a -6 first time playing. Next time I'll hit up the pro pads. Also, this course can be a little crowded, expect people playing through or groups in front of you.
Other Thoughts: I've played a decent number of Wisconsin courses and this is one of my favorites, if nothing else, because it's uniquely Disc golf. Some courses are just parks that also have baskets, and some courses are meant to mimic ball golf courses, this one is the kind of course that defines disc golf. You take one look at it and realize that all it could be is a disc golf course.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Great elevation and some awesome woods

5+    6/14/2009   9/11/2009
Review By: superberry
Played: 158  Reviewed: 90  Exp: 16 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Heistand offers play up, down, and around, a huge ridge in a city park and excellently utilizes the woods and open areas of the park. The park offers some terraced greens and elevated tees. Variety here is excellent with uphill, downhill bombers, across hill, tight woods, and wide open bombers all balancing left and right. Some memorable holes are the #3 downhill bomber, #6 and 7 wooded tunnels under a massive canopy of old oaks and maples, and many of the longer open holes that add immense challenge and distnace when playing the long tees (long tees here are WAY more challenging). The rough here can also severely punish you. Although there is a creek behind #3, it really doesn't come into play (con of no true water hazard).
Cons: Tons of glass and bums out there who vandalize and litter. Signs are often broken and do not indicate the many redesigned holes. The overall course design suffers from oldschool mentality that does NOT include risky greens. Almost all greens are wide open, flat, and minimal chance of a bad putt actually hurting you.
Other Thoughts: 4.5 is possible, but the amount of traffic, garbage, vandalism, litter etc really distracts from losing yourself here. The wooded holes are pretty tight and under a canopy but don't require extreme accuracy. Plus it is only 18 holes and there is no water hazard, so a 5 was not possible. Heistand is a great course, probably the best all around in Madison and the closest to receiving a 4.5 rating. It has amazing vareity and balance, lacks very little, and would be well worth your time to travel and play.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 A- = Absolute Perfection!.....with a few blemishes

1    7/22/2009   7/23/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 363  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 19.9 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up in my list of 18 hole courses:

1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == A (From the longs there are plenty of holes were I need to decide to go for birdie or play for an easy par. On my go-for decisions there is plenty of danger that will turn a desired 2 into a 4 or even 5. Nice! From the short tees, it is not nearly as good in this aspect.)

2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I throw 300' accurately, 360' max. == B- (Half the holes on the longs are not realistic birdie opportunities, but too short to make par rewarding. On the shorts most holes are too short to be rewarding.)

3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == A (Great balance of right, left, up, down....with good variety of shapes too. Hole 3 is my favorite since it is the most fun....a downhill wide open bomb - with danger lurking in the form of water not too far past the basket.)

4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == A- (Very beautiful and well maintained. If not for the city park feeling on 4-5 holes, I would be tempted to go A+ in this area - easily an A.)

5) Bonus points for multi-throw holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == N/A
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well the course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. Since I have played a decent number of courses (125 18-hole, 64 9-hole as of mid 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me….that's the fun of things here. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Well designed and challenging

2-4    6/21/2009   6/22/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 682  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) This course has a good variety in their holes. . . A handful of uphill holes, a few slightly downhill and some sidehill holes (where rollaways are possible) and one Big Downhiller. There are trees in play on most holes except the massive downhiller. There is also scrub brush on many holes that can eat your discs alive and if you throw into them you will get eaten alive by skeeters (And I do not mean the midrange discs).

2) Dual concrete teepads on all holes are nice and supposed multiple basket locations would provide this course with some varying play ever ime you went to play assumng the baskets get moved regularly.

3) Very well designed course for the property. This courses uses the elevation as a key ingredient to its success. It also uses the wooded areas on this course masterfully. Although there are no tight densely wooded alley holes, the trees are well placed and opening you must hit on a few holes that create the same type of feel as a tightly wooded course.

4) Course varies the shot required. There are a lot of left to right and right to left variations of holes. This makes the course tough on all throwing types . . . so if you can throw both ways sidearm and backhand you will be in better shape than a one direction thrower (like myself).

5) Baskets are in good condition and so are most of the concret teepads. They are large and allow you to find multiple spots to plant and throw your drive.
Cons: 1) Maintenance is a little lacking. . . fairways look like they do get mowed regularly, but some trimming work could be done on some of the trees and scrub in play.

2) Teesigns would be helpful . . . they already have the posts so it is at least easy enough to find your next hole, but there are no signs with distances listed or hole layouts.

3) Could use some more benches for those slow Madison Disc Golf Weekends due to overuse of only 3 courses in the area.

4) I would like to see more mulch applied to some of the green areas to diminish the amount of mud around the baskets.

5) Course is not really beginner friendly because of the scrub brush areas lining many of the holes. The short tees make the distances ok, but there is still a lot of punishing trouble along many of the holes.

6) Looks like garbage could be picked up more regularly as there were full trash bags by most tees and half filled bags still in the baskets . . . fortunately however at least they have the baskets in place to diminish the amount of garbage on the course.
Other Thoughts: This course is similar to Elver Park in Madison in that it only would need a little more maintenance and infrastructure to make it excellent. I love this course for its variety and its design and use of elevation . . . but it is slightly lacking in maintenance. I would like to see some scrub trimming and washout area maintenance (They do a good job in helping to retain the washout areas by using timbers and gravel to fill in those areas to slow the flow of water runoff). They could however use some beautification projects to make the course look better than it does. Trim up some of the scrub brush . . . fill out some of the trouble green areas with mulch . . . add some more gravel to the washout areas to fill in the gulleys. I know these things are typically volunteer, but one good weekend of help from a dozen people would have this course in much better shape. It is still an excellent 3.5 disc rated course in my book. The extra work might make it a 4 disc rating.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.