Madison, WI
Hiestand Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #3
3 / 376ft.   3 / 476ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 up and down and all around!

2-4    5/11/2009   5/13/2009
Review By: tomjulio
Played: 60  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 11/7/2009
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -ELEVATION change used almost to perfection
-ripper holes, short holes, technical holes:variety
-pro/am tee pads that change the lines and the course
-beautiful
-right across the street from Glide disc Golf shop.
-super fun course
-cement tees in great condition
-trees, small and large. rough that is there to make you think about risk/reward.
Cons: -SIGNAGE-extremely poor and lacking: both hole info and directions to the next hole. MAJOR con here.
-restrooms
Other Thoughts: Once again, ANOTHER Wisconsin course that falls into the 3.5+ range that could easily be a 4+ or a 4.5 course, in this case. BUT this is a great challenging and fun course perfectly designed for the hill it is built around. LOVED IT!

First off this course is about elevation changes. It is built around and on a huge hill and uses it to the absolute best of it's ability. Long shots with the pro tees, shorter technical tees with the ams. Up hill shots, down hill shots, rippers, technical, lefty and righty shots. This course has it all, seriously.

My MAJOR complaint about this course is the absolute lack of signage. When we played (early May) there were absolutely no signs at any hole, only brown posts that indicated that there used to be signs, or maybe will be signs. No yardage, no numbers, no next hole locations. The latter played a part in trying to find some next locations. Some are just not that apparent. A lot of the baskets were in blind locations, especially on longer dog leg holes, so a walk up the fairway was a very common occurrence. Once in a while there would be a painted yardage on a tee, but this was inconsistent. If this place had signage it would EASILY be one of my favorite places to play. Maybe since it's a public course they have had issues in the past with vandalism but I didn't get a feel for that being the case here.

This is a MUST play course in the Madison/Wisconsin area. Be prepared for uphill walks, and downhill strolls...and for searching for waward discs in unforgiving brush and trees...but that's the risk/reward this course serves up.

battled between a 3.5 and a 4.0, but this course got rounded up in my book. Give me great signs and a 4.5 is right the corner.

UPDATE 11/09 SIGNAGE!!! some new signs with hole, number, pin locations, and next hole locations. A super solid 4 rating!

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Best in Town

5+    12/30/2008   12/30/2008
Review By: Texconsinite
Played: 127  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/5/2009
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: As I played this course, and thinking back on it, it really had a little bit of everything. Uphill shots, Downhill, both tunnel and open, some doglegs, even a shot over a tiny creek covered by ice that I almost broke through while crossing!! Now, having played Elver Park, Token Creek, and Hiestand, each once, and having rated them about the same I have to say that I prefer Hiestand over the other two.

While Elver plays through thick woods up and over a large hill, Hiestand plays through woods with more rolling hills, and thus more interesting elevation changes. ie- some holes go down THEN up, or vice versa, instead of just uphill, downhill, or along the hill. Though Elver is more wooded, this course has a greater variety of wooded and open holes. Also, #3&4 bring a little water into play, an element Elver lacks.

Though token creek is immaculately manicured, with multiple pin positions for every hole, Hiestand has some tighter fairways that are more winding (with more trees in the fairway), and has significant elevation changes, unlike token creek, which is relatively flat with mostly wide, open fairways.

During the spring and summer, several of the baskets here would be blind shots around corners and/or over hills, but since it is winter, many of the baskets are visible from the tee.

Every basket has a diamond-shaped reflective sticker on the top of the pole, which also makes them much easier to see than some raggedy, frozen flag would.

The concrete tees, which all looked in good shape, were sometimes icy when I played, but the tee pads were easy to see, and clearly marked, especially when the short and long tees are down different paths in the woods from previous basket, which is fairly often.

This course has dual tees on almost every hole, and playing from the short tees was quite challenging. The great news is that the long tees are even moreso, and many of them give significantly different looks at the basket than the shorts. Unlike some courses, which have short tees, and all long tees 30-60 ft directly behind them, (boooring), this course tries to do it right, and actually makes you want to play a round from each set of tees.

Another thing that's great about this course is how genuinely challenging it is (from the short tees). Its challenging enough that most people seem to play from the short tees all the time, which is quite impressive.

Also, its the only one open in the winter, so 12 months a year of playing Hiestand versus only 7 months of Elver or Token Creek makes this park slightly edge out the other two for the title of overall best in Madison, IMO. The fact that Glide Disc Sports is right next door doesn't hurt either.
Cons: Most of the wooden posts found at all the tees had the hole distance and par on laminated paper stapled to them, while some were missing. #3 post missing as well

This is not the most FTF course. There are several spots where you can get turned around, and skip holes. Fortunately for me, I had help, both from the wonderful people next door at Glide DG, and a local who I met on the course and tagged along with for the round.
Other Thoughts: I'm going back tomorrow, but I think I will need to play this course a few times, and get used to winter golfing, before I feel ready to try the long tees out.

As previously mentioned, the Tees can be icy, so it might be a good idea to bring a bit of sand to sprinkle on the nastier ones. Usually, the locals are very good about keeping them swept, but better to play it safe.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Glide

5+    10/31/2008   12/25/2008
Review By: Stashride
Played: 20  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 17.9 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Right accross the street from a disc golf pro shop~Glide..Challenging course with a variety of pin placements..Pro and Am boxes for nearly every hole..Really cool sleepy hollow trees on hole 6..Jaw dropping views of the Mad town Capitol Skyline..
Cons: Tough to walk more than 36 here..Lots of inclines to trek..real busy all the time..
Other Thoughts: Designed very insightfully for the viewer as well..The 3rd hole renders a gigantic chuck off a hill to a pin 400ft away. You have to walk back accross the valley providing a magnificant uphill viewer perspective..Aced hole 7 with a pink tee bird..

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Tough

1    7/3/2008   11/21/2008
Review By: leathercash
Played: 8  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Man,I love when a course brings it ALL ON. This course does just that. Good variation on all holes and tees. Tight and technical to a few wide and open.
Cons: Tough. Some holes are challenging in a very annoying way. I'm not going to get into exactly why,but lets just say this course is not easy at all.
Other Thoughts: I would love to play this course again next time I'm i n the area. Over-all good.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Lots of fun

1    10/18/2008   10/27/2008
Review By: Doctor Faustus
Played: 13  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 11.1 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Long, Hilly, the leaves were turning and it was a beautiful day. Plenty of wide fairways. Challenging for a beginner like me.
Cons: Busy. We had people nipping at our heels the whole time. Nice people, but nipping nonetheless.
Other Thoughts: Perfect time of year for disc golfing in WI.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  One of my personal Favorites.

4/25/2008   4/25/2008
Review By: LastRecordInd
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a challenging course for either beginner or pro players. There is an interesting combination of hole placement and natural forest growth that create delightful obstacles. The terrain seems to change with every hole, so its not just a monatonus play.
Cons: Playing in mid July to late August can create a problem. Because it is in a wooded area, there is a certain amount of prairie grass growth that can swallow a disc for it never to be seen again.
Other Thoughts: Would recommend to any level player for a relaxing afternoon or for an intense head to head game.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

11/19/2007   11/19/2007
Review By: kvanorsdel
Played: 33  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 9.9 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Hiestand Park DGC is a well maintained course on Madison's east side. There are garbage cans on every hole, that are maintained by hole volunteers. Hiestand offers recreational to professional players a challenge. Course has dual tees on nearly every hole as well as multiple pin placements.
Other Thoughts: This course is maintained by the Madison Area Disc Club - for more information visit http://www.madcitydisc.org

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.