Ellisville, MS 
The Lynx Share
Uploaded By: WSP420 Hole #15 (Taken 9/2013)
3 / 340ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Course with everything. Beautiful

2-4    9/3/2016   9/3/2016
Review By: busted knuckle
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1
Pros: Well designed, you park by a lake and can play 9 or 18 and still wind up close to where you start. Every hole you can imagine, long, short, up hill, down hill, woods and water. Equal amount of forehands and back hand shots. The number 1 and 18 holes are two of the prettiest holes I've seen in Mississippi especially 18. Signs lead you through the course nicely. 9 to 10 is tricky. Every hole marked wit nice signs.
Cons: Hole 6 is a bogey just play it and move on. Hole 7 needs to be widened about 10 feet. If they are playing soccer or football practice is going on you may have trouble with a few holes.
Other Thoughts: Well laid out. I will be going back. Safe friendly environment and a challenging beautiful course. Wasn't expecting much after reading previous review. But was very surprised. They must of put in a lot of work recently.

Guessing the whole way

1    5/11/2016   5/11/2016
Review By: billcoke
Played: 102  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 0.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Looks like a lot of the holes have great potential. Grounds are well groomed. Campus is pleasant.
Cons: Many holes throw over, around, near athletic fields. Playing this on a weekend or evening could be very dangerous if those fields are in use.
Other Thoughts: The lack of signage made this a course that I would avoid. Not worth the drive unless you know a local who can walk you through the course. There are better courses in the area to play.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

This course needs some TLC

1    2/27/2016   2/29/2016
Review By: golfmaniac89
Played: 27  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is situated in a decent part of the campus of Jones County Junior College. The elevation changes are used fairly well, as well as the different shot shapes required to execute good shots. I found myself going from an overstable disc on one tee to throwing a big flex shot on the next to a stable straight drive on the next.
Cons: --The course map provided on the website needs to be updated, because the course has been changed. The hole marked #12 on the course map no longer exists. That basket has been moved to create another wooded hole.
--Most of the tee signs have been lost, leaving just the metal poles to mark the tee pads, which are natural (not a con at all).
--The holes in the woods (#5-10 now) need some work. Hole 5 is in good shape, but from 6 on, it needs some work. The fairway on 6 is not very fair. You need a ton of luck to get within 35 feet of that pin. What is hole 7 now is an absolute disaster. There is no fairway. It's just the walk way between 6 and what is now 8. There needs to be a chainsaw taken to that hole and widen the fairway to more than 5 feet. The hole is only about 225 feet, and I fought to make a 4 on that hole even with a solid tee shot. The rest of the holes in the woods are OK, but what is hole 10 now needs to have a slightly wider area to make the turn after going through the mandatory.
--Hole 11 can become a bit of a problem. The length is not the issue (550'), but it seems after the installation of the course that there was a building put right where the average player would land a tee shot. Either the basket needs to be moved or the tee box moved up to take that building out of play. I prefer the latter, because I love the pin position on the side of the hill (even though I made a 5 on the hole thanks to poor putting).
--Hole 14 has been seriously impeded thanks to a fenced in area being added that now houses a dog. Your tee shot could hit the roof of the kennel that was built and fall into it, which is a dangerous prospect.
Other Thoughts: This course has SO MUCH potential. I really like the layout, but it needs some work. I'm not sure as to the traffic the course gets (doesn't look like much), but I'm sure if someone could get in there and do a bit of work and some minor redesign, you could hold some solid one-day tournaments on this course. The layout is great, and I really love the last hole just because of the view. Just make sure to wear some shoes you don't care about if you go after a big rain. The low spots and get very soggy.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Cool New Course

1    9/6/2013   9/10/2013
Review By: WSP420
Played: 51  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 14.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/15/2013
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Brand new Mach V baskets.
-Tee signs with pertinent info and fancy sign posts on every hole. (The signs themselves are hand drawn with stickers for numbers and zip-tied to the posts, but these are temporary.)
-Course flows well (with only minor exceptions). No map needed.
-Nice variety: Long and short open holes; tight, technical wooded wooded holes both long and short; O.B. and water also come into play on several holes.
-Good use of elevation and obstacles (natural and man-made)
-Parking available near Hole #1 and course loops back around with #18 basket close to parking area, also.
-The course is clean and well maintained and the scenery is wonderful.
Cons: Not much in the way of amenities. Only one bench, it's on Hole #11 and it looks like it was there before the course. No trash cans on the course, either. No convenient restrooms. (This IS a new course, these are in future plans)
-Some of the wooded holes are still a little rough around the edges with debris and small tree stumps tripping you up in the fairways. Although, I'm listing this as a con, I didn't factor it in the rating. This will 'fix' itself over time and with regular traffic.
-Hole #6 needs a makeover. A 310' hole, with two, left hand turns (almost 90 degrees, each) and around 200' of fairway between them, on a wooded hole with a 10'-15' wide lane to throw down. You can't see the tee or basket from your second shot, even if you land in the fairway.
Other Thoughts: I had high expectations for The Lynx and was not disappointed. Yes, there are quite a few things that it still needs, but it's a new course and things like professional tee signs, Pro tees, alternate pins, benches & trashcans are in the works. I would recommend this course to anyone.

If you're making a trip to Hattiesburg PLAY THIS COURSE! It's worth the 20 min. drive.
From Jackson or Meridian it's about an hour... still well worth the drive.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent New Course in South Mississippi

2-4    8/31/2013   9/3/2013
Review By: 22thegreat
Played: 16  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is absolutely beautiful. The surrounding area is definite eye candy. There is a fountain in the middle of the lake that you throw over and there are old oak trees on some of the holes. The holes have great variation; from completely launching a disc, to finessing it through the woods, to throwing over water, and all in between. The tee signs are beautiful, probably the best signs I have ever seen, especially around other courses such as the PVC pipes at Paul B. or the signs tacked to trees at Tatum Trails. It is on a college campus, so the course is regularly mowed. The baskets are brand new and have the proper taping on the neck as to see them from far away.
Cons: There are great tee signs but I suppose you use them as the tee marker also. The woods need a little bit of stamping down, as any new course that incorporates woods would. Other than that it is a pretty perfect course. Would play it every day if I could.
Other Thoughts: Props to the designer, but maybe a few holes need to be manipulated around the band field, but that is my only suggestion! Good job!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.