Houston, TX
MacGregor Park Share
Uploaded By: Bevo Hole #11 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 234ft.   3 / 311ft.   3 / 354ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Good for almost all skill levels

1    8/26/2013   9/4/2013
Review By: ejsanchezjr
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Liked the idea that there were three sets of tees, although the back set of tees appeared to be not too much farther than the middle which I played. Course is easy to navigate and has a map by hole 1 which you also pass on the way to hole 11 to refresh your memory. Hole 12 is a neat right to left blind shot. Fence by bayou prevents errant shots on 15 from going in, but it may just be there for the construction.
Cons: A bit short maybe for some long throwers, but I'm not one of them. Played when it had rained a bit and the sandy areas that weren't gloppy were very slippery. Again, construction probably has something to do with it. Navigation without the map would be difficult, especially between 13 and 14.
Other Thoughts: When the new trees come in and the construction is complete, this will be a gem. Could be a few years yet.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

For all skill levels

2-4    4/25/2013   5/27/2013
Review By: Masonian
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Free, not crowded, easy to find tees and pins, easy to drive to for people who live in medical center, midtown, montrose. Where I go for routine maintenance of my skills.
Cons: Boring course -- flat and very few obstacles. Sometimes the kids from the nearby playground wander into the course and you have a skip a hole or two.
Other Thoughts: Be sure not to throw it over the fence into the bayou -- infested with fire ants!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good old fashion course

1    12/18/2012   1/2/2013
Review By: windsurf17
Played: 14  Reviewed: 10
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
* In the middle of Houston
* Exists
* Probably fun with a group of casuals
Cons:
* Pretty old fashion park course
* Flat and mostly open
Other Thoughts: A buddy told me he played this course in the early 90's and it was a "don't leave you wallet in plain sight" course. I didn't find the area to be bad at all but maybe that's what 20 years does. It is a basic city park, like many early courses, and is pretty easy.

It was easy to follow the layout, especially with the map found on this site. I pulled it up on my phone to make sure I didn't waste any time wandering around. Even on a windy day where I wasn't shooting great, I came in E and was okay with that.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


5+    10/8/2012   10/10/2012
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 105  Reviewed: 96  Exp: 2 Years
This review was updated on 2/23/2014
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - There are 3 different tees that are all distinctly marked, something that is rare to see in Houston.
- The course is easy to find as it is off of a very busy Old Spanish Trail road. The course also is very easy to navigate.
- The baskets are all in good shape, they may be showing a little bit of weather wear but they all have their structural integrity. There is also a practice basket right before the first hole which is always a plus.
- There are a mix of shots off the tees. A few holes need a big hyzer around trees.
-This is a good beginner course. There aren't enough trees anymore to get frustrated by hitting them. Most baskets are straight shots, perfect for beginners.
-There are not any holes that is really possible to lose a disc
-With the area that it in no one is usually ever playing which gives you a chance to throw multiple discs off the tee if you want.

Favorite Holes: #14 #15
Cons: -One con is the area that the course is in. There are sketchy individuals around but most do not want any business with disc golfers and will let you be.
- After the drought of 2011 several big trees have died and have been removed. This leaves little to no imagination when it comes to shots. Most holes have no obstacles to block your shot so the holes, especially on the front 9 feel very repetitive.
-The tee pads are all there but they are made out of a gravel substance, not concrete. A few are becoming rutted and some "blue" pads are disappearing all together.

Worst Hole: #5
Other Thoughts: The course has had new trees planted but it will be many years before they grow into anything like the trees were before the drought.

If you are taking a tour of Houston courses this will be one that needs to be on the list, just not on the top of the list.

This course sort of has two parts. The first 10 holes are on one side of the street and the last 8 are on the other side of the street. The first 10 can be played fairly quickly so if you are in a rush it is a great course to only play a small part of. However, the back 8 holes are much more challenging and different then the front 10.

UPDATE: A few holes have been removed because of the MLK statue being built near hole 2

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 MacGregor

2-4    12/11/2010   2/2/2011
Review By: GFWilliams
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.6 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Tee pads are in good condition. Has a good mix of long and short shots.
Cons: Holes in the front 9 are practically on top of each other. this makes for a frustrating path from basket to tee pad, especially if your throwing from the advanced (yellow) tees.
Other Thoughts: Beware of hole 16. By far the most dificult on the course, and the only one that has a chance of swallowing your disc.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 In Texas

1    1/8/2011   1/8/2011
Review By: bserpas
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.6 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course is ideal for a beginning player.No water on the course so theres always the option to be aggressive and go for the pin.
Cons: Not much imagination went into the course development,somewhat easy with lack of real distance.
Other Thoughts: I played this course with my brother-in-laws who have never played before and it was very enjoyable to just go out and be able to shoot for the pin and not have to worry about them loosing disc.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Course of the Cougars

1    7/3/2009   7/3/2009
Review By: SpringDgLover
Played: 91  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 9.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/4/2009
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Located a hop, skip, and a jump from UH this course is a downtown Houston tradition. This course provides the central part of town a much needed disc golf experience.

The holes are well balanced with shots equally favoring forehands and backhands. Each hole is typically protected by at least one tree and usually there are trees close to the teebox that make you change an angle you thought might have been there.

The park itself is very well maintained. I did not see any trash on the course and there were quite a few friendly disc golfers looking to play with whoever walked up. It's easy to see that the people who play this course alot have an affinity for it.

I felt very relaxed playing this course and never felt overwhelmed. Which can be a welcome breather from courses like Oak Meadows, McDade, Jack Brooks 1&2, and River Grove.
Cons: I thought that Agnes Moffitt had the worst teeboxes in Houston.... I stand corrected. These boxes are B A D bad and playing from the side on most of them is almost obligitory.

Although the course is very well maintained. It is located in a somewhat shady side of town and you will have the occasional character cross your path.

This course is not what I would call a "hard" or "challenging" course. As I said it is very laid back so if you're looking for a challenge look elswhere. Most holes dont exceed 300' so being a bomber won't do much good out here.
Other Thoughts: All and all I always seem to enjoy myself at MacGregor. Although it may not be the most challenging course in Houston it may be one of the most fun to play.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty, fairly easy course

1    9/6/2008   9/8/2008
Review By: Jeterdawg
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 12.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pretty course (beautiful pine trees throughout - my favorite), well-manicured and maintained (not much trash). Main set of teepads marked well, and easy to find.
Cons: Alternate tees not marked well enough to easily find all without a printed map. Mostly short holes (from main teepads), and other than ABC holes, pretty much all are reachable; however the course was still worth playing if in the area.
Other Thoughts: Note: rating based mostly on difficulty.
Suggestions: Add a sign for A, B, C holes near hole 5's basket so that players can go play those if they want without driving in the car or walking from tee 18. From what I could tell, the gold teepads made this a significantly more challenging course...I couldn't find several of the first few holes, so I just played the normal marked teepads. I'd add similar posts if possible to help guide.
Also: I got hole 6's tee to 7's basket mixed up, but I probably wasn't paying very good attention.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.