Houston, TX 
MacGregor Park Share
Uploaded By: Bevo Hole #C (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 365ft.   3 / 507ft.   3 / 558ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #C Tee



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 A Quick Front Nine in 30 Minutes

5+    7/10/2012   7/16/2012
Review By: nomex
Played: 8  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: MacGregor Park isClose to the Medical Center and Rice Village and has ample parking. The course plays quickly and you can be done with a round in under an hour and a half (playing red tees with an equally skilled partner) if you can par most of the holes. I didn't get a chance to play this course in its former glory before the drought and subsequent tree kill, but the current course is perfect for introducing players to the sport (it was my first course). Just tell your new players to buy a putter and a midrange and loan them one of your drivers, because they won't really need/know what drivers to buy.

The tee boxes are asphalt and the course has a good flow to it. There is a practice hole with putting markers between hole ten and the walkup to the first tee box. If you mix in ABC holes between 4 and 5, you're going to have a bit of a walk, but it is nice to have an extra three holes if you wish. My favorite holes are 12, 16, and 18. In the summer months you can show up at 7 pm and still have plenty of light when you finish the round.
Cons: A few more tree obstacles would have been nice, but what can you do, they pretty much all died after the drought. This place does get a little swampy after the rain, but it does drain in a couple of days. My buddy and I played the course right after a thunder storm and the drainage ditch before the 4th basket was filled. We played the course again two days later and the water was gone.

Watch out for hole 10, it's built for the vertically challenged - you may need to putt from your knees, or just imagine you're putting downhill.
Other Thoughts: This is not a realy challenging course, but is it fun for a quick round. You'll only need two to three discs for this course depending on your arm. Try the hyzer shot over the chain link fence on 16 for some "pucker factor", and don't worry - there's a hold in the fence for you to retrieve your disc. Hole 12 seems taylor made for new players since it's a dogleg left. It's just the perfect shot for "noob hyzers" with a 13 speed driver.

To speed up play, my buddy and I drive from hole 6 and then hole 7, and then play out hole 6.

I wish there were a course at Hermann Park, but this will have to do. It does play fast, and my buddy and I were able to leave our local pub in Rice Village, play the front nine in 30 minutes, and got back to our seats before anyone knew we were gone.

This is a great beginner course and for the bigger arms, you could just mix up the tees and maybe use the blue tees for your up shotting. This course plays well with a kid in a Maclaren or Bob stroller.



5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Thank Goodness These Trees Donít Move!

1    7/26/2011   8/31/2011
Review By: Donovan
Played: 209  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 27.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has lots of sparse tall trees over a large flat park area. The trees are what make this course. Many of the holes require good disc control to navigate the lines to the basket, without there being so many trees that make some people feel things are "unfair". This place actually has a full set of three tees for each hole. Their locations are varied enough on many holes to give the holes a different look. The tee pads are not concrete, they are a kind of asphalt; they are still good tee pads. This course also has bathrooms, a message board (with a course map on it), and decent parking.
Cons: Except the different tee pads, there really isn't much of hole-length variance here. Short tees will be about 220, mids are at about 275, and longs are around 350. The 3 bonus holes, A, B & C (19-21) are much longer though. There is not much in the way of tee signs, and some of the navigation can get tricky, so take a pic of the map to help you out. There seems to be some drinkers and/or homeless people ever so often. So keep that in mind.
Other Thoughts: The Fun Factor here was good. I love navigating disc flights around trees and this was all of that. The 3 extra holes were really just throw hard and long and that is fine if you like those. Plus, that area did give you room to practice your throws. This place had a practice basket as well. I really enjoyed this course. If I go back down here I will certainly play here again.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Game

1    3/18/2011   5/3/2011
Review By: MrNiceFella
Played: 17  Reviewed: 15
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Multiple distance tees. Lots of trees. Fun place to play.
Cons: I wouldn't be comfortable going to this park without a couple of buddies. There are some shady characters that hang out in and around the park. Layout of course was a little bit confusing.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 MacGregor Park, Houston TX

1    12/17/2010   1/5/2011
Review By: martinb
Played: 144  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 34.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Alternate tee pads, bathrooms, 21 holes
Cons: Crazy course layout, too many alternate tee pads?.
Other Thoughts: This course is in a well established park with mature trees and practically no other foliage in sight. The park is flat, with sandy soil that may challenge your footing if your not careful. There is a huge bulletin board at the start of the course with the entire course layout to look at. Trees play a huge role in making this course technically challenging. Most fairways demand your attention to those trees for proper execution of your tee shot and advancement down the fairways. There are 3 sets of well-marked teepads on every hole, blue, red and gold. Tee pads are crushed asphalt. Visibility from hole to hole is high so you wont get lost the first time out. A little bit of a walk to the A, B, and C holes between holes 4 and 5. The blue tees are short, in the 250-300 foot range. The gold tees stretch out the course, in the 350-450 foot range. Holes A, B, and C, are separate from the course proper and adds 1500 feet to the course length.
Course player attraction covers a wide range with alternate tee pads. Beginners will like the shorter, blue pads and advanced players will like the longer, gold pads. The mid, red tee pads may give beginners a tougher throw compared to the blues, but on the average doesn't create a much of a difference to the blue tee pads.
I played this course on a Friday afternoon, hardly anyone else was there. I don't believe this course gets too crowded considering the neighborhood, not being the best. This course covers a lot of area though, so you can have lots of people playing and not notice. Unfortunately I didn't have too much fun here. I got bored with the same repetitive tee shot (gold tees), for the most part, though course design strove to give you different looks off the tee pads using the trees in the park as obstacles down the fairways. The terrain is very 2 dimensional, flat with trees. If you can throw a roller you would crush this course.
I had issues with some of the holes, I think 7, 8, maybe 9 or 10, where you teed off, completed the hole and then had to walk completely back down the fairway and teed off right next to the previous tee. Safety is the obviously reason for this, as there are conflicts with other park amenities to account for. BUT, sometimes dropping a hole from an area and putting in another hole somewhere else may be much more desirable for continuity and ease of playÖ. and safety. As it is, it detracted from the entire experience this course offers. There also seemed to be some alternate tee pads that really didn't need to be there. I understand the philosophy for providing alternate teepads for every hole to get your SSA rating established, but some of them were unnecessary, and in my opinion detracted from the overall course rating.
Overall MacGregor Park is a solid course with lots to offer most ability levels.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good Course

5+    10/25/2010   11/4/2010
Review By: scuddyp4
Played: 32  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 12/15/2010
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good mix of holes and shots. Recently upgrade tees. Not concrete but still good asphalt that isn't loose. You can easily find the next tee box and the course flows really well. You don't really need a map if you are over the age of 4 and can see. Usually can find someone to play with in the afternoons if you want. Not a lot of opportunities to lose a disc (other than 16 if you hang it out over the bayou). Good field to throw in by the ABC holes. Plenty of parking. Practice basket by 10's basket and before 1's tee. Good use of the trees in the park to make the course challenging.
Cons: Not the best neighborhood. I would suggest playing in a group or at least pack some heat. I've never had any problems but there are always some shady folks hanging around. Usually you will have some non-dgers walk across the hole that your playing on and even if they see someone else from your group throwing they won't stop (almost daring you to hit them (that's when a good high speed driver comes into it's own)). Blue tees are a little small although the course does play very short from the blues and isn't much of a challenge it would still be nice to at least be able to do an x-step.
Other Thoughts: Watch out for the bayou on 16 if the wind is howling it can really make that hole interesting. Birdie opportunities on most holes from the red tees. Gold tees make the course a little more challenging because it becomes a longer course and if you don't have distance you'll be playing for par on most holes, but still very manageable for the average player. Blue tees are great for mid practice as there are few holes over 250. Overall this course loses points for the neighborhood and that's really it. Good houston course that you should check out.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  A great course to hone skills

5+    3/1/2010   5/3/2010
Review By: deadlyheatray
Played: 13  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 14.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- three tee boxes per basket
- three alternate baskets offering longer range drives and a 21-basket round
- trees abound
- difficulty of the course serves as both a challenge for beginners and great opportunity for intermediate and advance players to hone their skills
Cons:
- tee boxes can be a mess sometimes
- located in a sometimes heavily used public park (read: at times you have to dodge some park goers)
- holds water. i'd suggest waiting a day or two after a good rain.
Other Thoughts: this is a great course to learn how to throw your discs. it provides variety for beginners and plenty of obstacles.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    11/12/2009   2/4/2010
Review By: bobbeno
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.6 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice course, trees on almost every hole, but not too heavily wooded. Fun & easy round of disc'n. Well maintained most of the time.
Cons: Tends to hold water after a good rain, can get a little muddy at the start/finish of first 10 holes.
Other Thoughts: Tee boxes could use a little TLC

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Easy 18

2-4    4/10/2009   4/11/2009
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/29/2010
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Possibly the most used course in central Houston, MacGregor is a good 18 hole course with three additional long holes located at the south west end of the park for those players who just didn't get enough.

There are three tee placements, but two are marked only with large bricks and can be difficult to spot, but the main red tees are marked with posts showing the number and yardage. The pins show their years of wear, but are still in decent shape.

There are no real elevation changes, but this is normal for the Houston area. The front nine play a tighter technical course, and the back nine open up slightly for players needing to air it out. Beginners will enjoy this course, since most holes are short and straight with 16 being the only one "big" hole playing over 400' along the bayou. More experienced players will certainly be tempted to play out over the fence on this hole and bring it back into the clearing for a good risk/reward shot.

There is a full course map, which is good since a few holes play back on each over the front nine and could be confusing to the first timers. There is also plenty of parking, the course is stroller friendly for families, and there is a big playground area for kids, which is visible from most of the front nine.

BEST HOLE/S: #14 (minus tee box); #16
Cons: The biggest gripe would certainly be the tee boxes. The gravel tee boxes vary from decent to straight up hazardous shape. Hole five tee has a large left over piece asphalt making footing treacherous, and the short 14's tee box is just begging for someone to sprain an ankle.

Some may argue that the course is too straightforward with no real challenge that force players beyond the beginner level to work to get par. An experienced player looking to be challenged should drive south to Tom Bass Park or north to Oak Meadow Park (private) or Spring Valley DGC.

WORST HOLE/S: #5
Other Thoughts: MacGregor, along with Jim Mozola DGC are the only true course options for people in the southern area of Houston. Both Jack Brooks courses are fairly far away, and Anges Moffitt Park is equal in the opposite direction, so it's not surprising the amount of play this course receives.

I enjoy MacGregor since I can shoot low with many birdie opportunities, but I still have to work to earn them. With plenty of trees to contend with, it's a completely different challenge than Anges Moffitt Park up the road. While it certainly shows it's age, MacGregor is a solid disc golf course that could be a perennial Houston course if had a makeover that included some better tee boxes and more accurate color signs.

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Got a Gloc?

2-4    1/2/2009   1/5/2009
Review By: gsuslikesme
Played: 10  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.7 Years
18 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a basic course, most holes are right to left which makes it fairly easy to par most holes, with birdie opportunities galore. Holes 1-10 are in a pine tree forest. Not dense tree coverage at all. The baskets are strategically placed well. Starting at hole 11 it is like a different course, hilly for a few holes, long on one hole, and then back around a side arm throw to hole #18.
Cons: Gunfire, Police Sirens, Crazy people shouting about, drug deals and gangstas. This course is not in a very good neighborhood. If you are a ghetto boyee, go for it, play this course at twilight and try your luck, bring your Kevlar.
Only the red tee boxes are marked, we did see a few brick markers, but they could not be found on most holes. You can play the same throw on almost every hole, there is not a whole lot of variety here. What is up with holes A,B,C?
Other Thoughts: If I lived nearby this course (I would move) I would play this course again.(during a weekday, between 7am and 3pm) If you do not live nearby, travel to a different course, the pros do not outweigh the cons here. (pun intended)

18 of 20 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course in H-Town

5/24/2008   5/25/2008
Review By: 713juggalo
Played: 28  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 17.3 Years
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Course is easy to follow. Tees and baskets marked well. Hole 1-10 are pretty short holes bunched together. Lots of birdie chances. Hole 11-18 are set on back part of park away from the picnic area. Nice mix of shots on back 7 holes. Fun course.
Cons: Had to skip hole # 5 because a football game was being played in the fairway. Lots of people unaware a disc golf is in this park.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.