Houston, TX 
MacGregor Park Share
Uploaded By: Bevo Hole #2 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 204ft.   3 / 275ft.   3 / 362ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Destroyed by Construction

5+    4/21/2014   4/21/2014
Review By: jimjohnmarks
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is easy to get to, and will be even easier to get to when the new train line goes live any day now.

The triple tees make it great for all levels of play from "first time" to very skilled.

Everything from 200 feet to 600 feet provides variety with both left and right dog legs as well as moderate tunnels and stiff water based OB.
Cons: The front 9 used to be wooded. The drought of 2011 killed about a hundred trees. So now it's mostly wide open and in some cases just straight, short throws right at chains.

The MLK memorial walk means that parks service re-laid the tee pads for #3 in a manner that makes no sense whatsoever. The "long" tee is shorter than the "mid" tee but at a bizarre angle forcing right handers to throw an enormous anhyzer line.

#7 has been totally ruined. They moved the basket about 75 feet and didn't put in new pads. Even if they had, it would be a 100 foot hole. It DESPERATELY needs to be moved back where it was, beyond the mature trees, with new pads behind the patio set or something.

The back nine is much more varied and generally more fun to play although the hedges between #11 and #12 get horribly over-grown and VERY dangerous to fish discs out of in the summer in terms of biting insects, spiders, thorns, &c. You can lose an hour or more trying to get a disc back.
Other Thoughts: What's most weird to me is that parks service actually asked me, while they were surveying for the MLK memorial, what they should do with #7 to move it without ruining it, and then they did exactly what I asked them not to do. Worse, they swore #7 was the only pin they'd have to change, and then they _completely_ altered #3 in a way that makes no sense at all.

I also asked HFDS about putting in a course at Willow Waterhole about 3 years ago and they said it would have to wait for renovation of MacGregor because of the drought impact.

That was three years ago. We're still waiting for the renovation and we're still waiting for a course at WWH.

The new tee pads at Agnes are nice and all, but they're a slow start for a city whose selection of public courses are being decimated by construction, drought, neglect and vandalism.

This course is one of the most centrally located in the city, especially of the full 18 basket courses, and yet seems to get essentially no attention whatsoever in terms of up-keep.

My guess is all the HFDS guys moved out to the 'burbs and are putting all their attention into the courses they play on Saturdays which are 20+ miles outside the city, but which they consider "Houston" courses. It is a real shame.

The original wooded layout here was extremely challenging and technical despite short distances. A rare treat in Houston. Now it's just a mess. But I can't drive out to Texas Army Trail (or even TC Jester) at 4pm on a weekday. It would take hours.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good for almost all skill levels

1    8/26/2013   9/4/2013
Review By: ejsanchezjr
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Liked the idea that there were three sets of tees, although the back set of tees appeared to be not too much farther than the middle which I played. Course is easy to navigate and has a map by hole 1 which you also pass on the way to hole 11 to refresh your memory. Hole 12 is a neat right to left blind shot. Fence by bayou prevents errant shots on 15 from going in, but it may just be there for the construction.
Cons: A bit short maybe for some long throwers, but I'm not one of them. Played when it had rained a bit and the sandy areas that weren't gloppy were very slippery. Again, construction probably has something to do with it. Navigation without the map would be difficult, especially between 13 and 14.
Other Thoughts: When the new trees come in and the construction is complete, this will be a gem. Could be a few years yet.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

For all skill levels

2-4    4/25/2013   5/27/2013
Review By: Masonian
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Free, not crowded, easy to find tees and pins, easy to drive to for people who live in medical center, midtown, montrose. Where I go for routine maintenance of my skills.
Cons: Boring course -- flat and very few obstacles. Sometimes the kids from the nearby playground wander into the course and you have a skip a hole or two.
Other Thoughts: Be sure not to throw it over the fence into the bayou -- infested with fire ants!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good old fashion course

1    12/18/2012   1/2/2013
Review By: windsurf17
Played: 15  Reviewed: 10
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
* In the middle of Houston
* Exists
* Probably fun with a group of casuals
Cons:
* Pretty old fashion park course
* Flat and mostly open
Other Thoughts: A buddy told me he played this course in the early 90's and it was a "don't leave you wallet in plain sight" course. I didn't find the area to be bad at all but maybe that's what 20 years does. It is a basic city park, like many early courses, and is pretty easy.

It was easy to follow the layout, especially with the map found on this site. I pulled it up on my phone to make sure I didn't waste any time wandering around. Even on a windy day where I wasn't shooting great, I came in E and was okay with that.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


5+    10/8/2012   10/10/2012
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 118  Reviewed: 101  Exp: 2.2 Years
This review was updated on 2/23/2014
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - There are 3 different tees that are all distinctly marked, something that is rare to see in Houston.
- The course is easy to find as it is off of a very busy Old Spanish Trail road. The course also is very easy to navigate.
- The baskets are all in good shape, they may be showing a little bit of weather wear but they all have their structural integrity. There is also a practice basket right before the first hole which is always a plus.
- There are a mix of shots off the tees. A few holes need a big hyzer around trees.
-This is a good beginner course. There aren't enough trees anymore to get frustrated by hitting them. Most baskets are straight shots, perfect for beginners.
-There are not any holes that is really possible to lose a disc
-With the area that it in no one is usually ever playing which gives you a chance to throw multiple discs off the tee if you want.

Favorite Holes: #14 #15
Cons: -One con is the area that the course is in. There are sketchy individuals around but most do not want any business with disc golfers and will let you be.
- After the drought of 2011 several big trees have died and have been removed. This leaves little to no imagination when it comes to shots. Most holes have no obstacles to block your shot so the holes, especially on the front 9 feel very repetitive.
-The tee pads are all there but they are made out of a gravel substance, not concrete. A few are becoming rutted and some "blue" pads are disappearing all together.

Worst Hole: #5
Other Thoughts: The course has had new trees planted but it will be many years before they grow into anything like the trees were before the drought.

If you are taking a tour of Houston courses this will be one that needs to be on the list, just not on the top of the list.

This course sort of has two parts. The first 10 holes are on one side of the street and the last 8 are on the other side of the street. The first 10 can be played fairly quickly so if you are in a rush it is a great course to only play a small part of. However, the back 8 holes are much more challenging and different then the front 10.

UPDATE: A few holes have been removed because of the MLK statue being built near hole 2

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A Quick Front Nine in 30 Minutes

5+    7/10/2012   7/16/2012
Review By: nomex
Played: 8  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: MacGregor Park isClose to the Medical Center and Rice Village and has ample parking. The course plays quickly and you can be done with a round in under an hour and a half (playing red tees with an equally skilled partner) if you can par most of the holes. I didn't get a chance to play this course in its former glory before the drought and subsequent tree kill, but the current course is perfect for introducing players to the sport (it was my first course). Just tell your new players to buy a putter and a midrange and loan them one of your drivers, because they won't really need/know what drivers to buy.

The tee boxes are asphalt and the course has a good flow to it. There is a practice hole with putting markers between hole ten and the walkup to the first tee box. If you mix in ABC holes between 4 and 5, you're going to have a bit of a walk, but it is nice to have an extra three holes if you wish. My favorite holes are 12, 16, and 18. In the summer months you can show up at 7 pm and still have plenty of light when you finish the round.
Cons: A few more tree obstacles would have been nice, but what can you do, they pretty much all died after the drought. This place does get a little swampy after the rain, but it does drain in a couple of days. My buddy and I played the course right after a thunder storm and the drainage ditch before the 4th basket was filled. We played the course again two days later and the water was gone.

Watch out for hole 10, it's built for the vertically challenged - you may need to putt from your knees, or just imagine you're putting downhill.
Other Thoughts: This is not a realy challenging course, but is it fun for a quick round. You'll only need two to three discs for this course depending on your arm. Try the hyzer shot over the chain link fence on 16 for some "pucker factor", and don't worry - there's a hold in the fence for you to retrieve your disc. Hole 12 seems taylor made for new players since it's a dogleg left. It's just the perfect shot for "noob hyzers" with a 13 speed driver.

To speed up play, my buddy and I drive from hole 6 and then hole 7, and then play out hole 6.

I wish there were a course at Hermann Park, but this will have to do. It does play fast, and my buddy and I were able to leave our local pub in Rice Village, play the front nine in 30 minutes, and got back to our seats before anyone knew we were gone.

This is a great beginner course and for the bigger arms, you could just mix up the tees and maybe use the blue tees for your up shotting. This course plays well with a kid in a Maclaren or Bob stroller.



5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Thank Goodness These Trees Donít Move!

1    7/26/2011   8/31/2011
Review By: Donovan
Played: 211  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 27.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has lots of sparse tall trees over a large flat park area. The trees are what make this course. Many of the holes require good disc control to navigate the lines to the basket, without there being so many trees that make some people feel things are "unfair". This place actually has a full set of three tees for each hole. Their locations are varied enough on many holes to give the holes a different look. The tee pads are not concrete, they are a kind of asphalt; they are still good tee pads. This course also has bathrooms, a message board (with a course map on it), and decent parking.
Cons: Except the different tee pads, there really isn't much of hole-length variance here. Short tees will be about 220, mids are at about 275, and longs are around 350. The 3 bonus holes, A, B & C (19-21) are much longer though. There is not much in the way of tee signs, and some of the navigation can get tricky, so take a pic of the map to help you out. There seems to be some drinkers and/or homeless people ever so often. So keep that in mind.
Other Thoughts: The Fun Factor here was good. I love navigating disc flights around trees and this was all of that. The 3 extra holes were really just throw hard and long and that is fine if you like those. Plus, that area did give you room to practice your throws. This place had a practice basket as well. I really enjoyed this course. If I go back down here I will certainly play here again.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Game

1    3/18/2011   5/3/2011
Review By: MrNiceFella
Played: 17  Reviewed: 15
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Multiple distance tees. Lots of trees. Fun place to play.
Cons: I wouldn't be comfortable going to this park without a couple of buddies. There are some shady characters that hang out in and around the park. Layout of course was a little bit confusing.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 MacGregor

2-4    12/11/2010   2/2/2011
Review By: GFWilliams
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.9 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Tee pads are in good condition. Has a good mix of long and short shots.
Cons: Holes in the front 9 are practically on top of each other. this makes for a frustrating path from basket to tee pad, especially if your throwing from the advanced (yellow) tees.
Other Thoughts: Beware of hole 16. By far the most dificult on the course, and the only one that has a chance of swallowing your disc.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 In Texas

1    1/8/2011   1/8/2011
Review By: bserpas
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.8 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course is ideal for a beginning player.No water on the course so theres always the option to be aggressive and go for the pin.
Cons: Not much imagination went into the course development,somewhat easy with lack of real distance.
Other Thoughts: I played this course with my brother-in-laws who have never played before and it was very enjoyable to just go out and be able to shoot for the pin and not have to worry about them loosing disc.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.