Houston, TX
MacGregor Park Share
Uploaded By: Bevo Hole #2 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 204ft.   3 / 275ft.   3 / 362ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Good Course

5+    10/25/2010   11/4/2010
Review By: scuddyp4
Played: 32  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 6.9 Years
This review was updated on 12/15/2010
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good mix of holes and shots. Recently upgrade tees. Not concrete but still good asphalt that isn't loose. You can easily find the next tee box and the course flows really well. You don't really need a map if you are over the age of 4 and can see. Usually can find someone to play with in the afternoons if you want. Not a lot of opportunities to lose a disc (other than 16 if you hang it out over the bayou). Good field to throw in by the ABC holes. Plenty of parking. Practice basket by 10's basket and before 1's tee. Good use of the trees in the park to make the course challenging.
Cons: Not the best neighborhood. I would suggest playing in a group or at least pack some heat. I've never had any problems but there are always some shady folks hanging around. Usually you will have some non-dgers walk across the hole that your playing on and even if they see someone else from your group throwing they won't stop (almost daring you to hit them (that's when a good high speed driver comes into it's own)). Blue tees are a little small although the course does play very short from the blues and isn't much of a challenge it would still be nice to at least be able to do an x-step.
Other Thoughts: Watch out for the bayou on 16 if the wind is howling it can really make that hole interesting. Birdie opportunities on most holes from the red tees. Gold tees make the course a little more challenging because it becomes a longer course and if you don't have distance you'll be playing for par on most holes, but still very manageable for the average player. Blue tees are great for mid practice as there are few holes over 250. Overall this course loses points for the neighborhood and that's really it. Good houston course that you should check out.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  A great course to hone skills

5+    3/1/2010   5/3/2010
Review By: deadlyheatray
Played: 13  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 14.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- three tee boxes per basket
- three alternate baskets offering longer range drives and a 21-basket round
- trees abound
- difficulty of the course serves as both a challenge for beginners and great opportunity for intermediate and advance players to hone their skills
Cons:
- tee boxes can be a mess sometimes
- located in a sometimes heavily used public park (read: at times you have to dodge some park goers)
- holds water. i'd suggest waiting a day or two after a good rain.
Other Thoughts: this is a great course to learn how to throw your discs. it provides variety for beginners and plenty of obstacles.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    11/12/2009   2/4/2010
Review By: bobbeno
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.3 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice course, trees on almost every hole, but not too heavily wooded. Fun & easy round of disc'n. Well maintained most of the time.
Cons: Tends to hold water after a good rain, can get a little muddy at the start/finish of first 10 holes.
Other Thoughts: Tee boxes could use a little TLC

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Course of the Cougars

1    7/3/2009   7/3/2009
Review By: SpringDgLover
Played: 91  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 9.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/4/2009
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Located a hop, skip, and a jump from UH this course is a downtown Houston tradition. This course provides the central part of town a much needed disc golf experience.

The holes are well balanced with shots equally favoring forehands and backhands. Each hole is typically protected by at least one tree and usually there are trees close to the teebox that make you change an angle you thought might have been there.

The park itself is very well maintained. I did not see any trash on the course and there were quite a few friendly disc golfers looking to play with whoever walked up. It's easy to see that the people who play this course alot have an affinity for it.

I felt very relaxed playing this course and never felt overwhelmed. Which can be a welcome breather from courses like Oak Meadows, McDade, Jack Brooks 1&2, and River Grove.
Cons: I thought that Agnes Moffitt had the worst teeboxes in Houston.... I stand corrected. These boxes are B A D bad and playing from the side on most of them is almost obligitory.

Although the course is very well maintained. It is located in a somewhat shady side of town and you will have the occasional character cross your path.

This course is not what I would call a "hard" or "challenging" course. As I said it is very laid back so if you're looking for a challenge look elswhere. Most holes dont exceed 300' so being a bomber won't do much good out here.
Other Thoughts: All and all I always seem to enjoy myself at MacGregor. Although it may not be the most challenging course in Houston it may be one of the most fun to play.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Mac daddy

5+    6/5/2009   6/11/2009
Review By: shamgar07
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.6 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Sign with course layout when you walk up to the first tee, it is a good course with a good chuck of trees to present a bit of fun. It can be a birdiefest if you are shooting good.
Cons: Some of the bricks are hard to find and the tees have the feet written on them and our starting to fade.
Other Thoughts: It is a fun course to go relax and play a round or two with your buds and go home feeling good. it is still tough at times but overall fun.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Eponymous review.

5+    2/28/2009   5/21/2009
Review By: ChrisMacG
Played: 79  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 6.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great wooded course without underbrush. Not overly challenging but difficult enough for seasoned players. The practice basket has one of the best 'clock' set-ups in Houston and is a great place to practice putting. The north side of the course makes good use of elevation changes.
Cons: The course could use better markings. On your first run through the course it is a bit difficult to figure out where to go to next. The occasional group picnicking in the middle of the course happens a bit too frequently.
Other Thoughts: A really nice course and a nice park. It does get a bit sketchy after dusk though.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Easy 18

2-4    4/10/2009   4/11/2009
Review By: srm_520
Played: 152  Reviewed: 138  Exp: 10.1 Years
This review was updated on 3/29/2010
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Possibly the most used course in central Houston, MacGregor is a good 18 hole course with three additional long holes located at the south west end of the park for those players who just didn't get enough.

There are three tee placements, but two are marked only with large bricks and can be difficult to spot, but the main red tees are marked with posts showing the number and yardage. The pins show their years of wear, but are still in decent shape.

There are no real elevation changes, but this is normal for the Houston area. The front nine play a tighter technical course, and the back nine open up slightly for players needing to air it out. Beginners will enjoy this course, since most holes are short and straight with 16 being the only one "big" hole playing over 400' along the bayou. More experienced players will certainly be tempted to play out over the fence on this hole and bring it back into the clearing for a good risk/reward shot.

There is a full course map, which is good since a few holes play back on each over the front nine and could be confusing to the first timers. There is also plenty of parking, the course is stroller friendly for families, and there is a big playground area for kids, which is visible from most of the front nine.

BEST HOLE/S: #14 (minus tee box); #16
Cons: The biggest gripe would certainly be the tee boxes. The gravel tee boxes vary from decent to straight up hazardous shape. Hole five tee has a large left over piece asphalt making footing treacherous, and the short 14's tee box is just begging for someone to sprain an ankle.

Some may argue that the course is too straightforward with no real challenge that force players beyond the beginner level to work to get par. An experienced player looking to be challenged should drive south to Tom Bass Park or north to Oak Meadow Park (private) or Spring Valley DGC.

WORST HOLE/S: #5
Other Thoughts: MacGregor, along with Jim Mozola DGC are the only true course options for people in the southern area of Houston. Both Jack Brooks courses are fairly far away, and Anges Moffitt Park is equal in the opposite direction, so it's not surprising the amount of play this course receives.

I enjoy MacGregor since I can shoot low with many birdie opportunities, but I still have to work to earn them. With plenty of trees to contend with, it's a completely different challenge than Anges Moffitt Park up the road. While it certainly shows it's age, MacGregor is a solid disc golf course that could be a perennial Houston course if had a makeover that included some better tee boxes and more accurate color signs.

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Macgregor What Son...

5+    2/9/2009   2/18/2009
Review By: jlow54
Played: 19  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 10.1 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nicely laid out gives you room to open up and throw, but also gives you a chance to work on the finesse aspect...
Cons: I agree, it is in a rough area, but whos going to come mess with a big group of people throwing things? The only con I could really find with this course is the monster chain-link fence that you could very well fly over if not careful...
Other Thoughts: Good park, I play it when Im in the Old Spanish Trail area for work, itll give you a workout though

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Got a Gloc?

2-4    1/2/2009   1/5/2009
Review By: gsuslikesme
Played: 10  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.5 Years
18 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a basic course, most holes are right to left which makes it fairly easy to par most holes, with birdie opportunities galore. Holes 1-10 are in a pine tree forest. Not dense tree coverage at all. The baskets are strategically placed well. Starting at hole 11 it is like a different course, hilly for a few holes, long on one hole, and then back around a side arm throw to hole #18.
Cons: Gunfire, Police Sirens, Crazy people shouting about, drug deals and gangstas. This course is not in a very good neighborhood. If you are a ghetto boyee, go for it, play this course at twilight and try your luck, bring your Kevlar.
Only the red tee boxes are marked, we did see a few brick markers, but they could not be found on most holes. You can play the same throw on almost every hole, there is not a whole lot of variety here. What is up with holes A,B,C?
Other Thoughts: If I lived nearby this course (I would move) I would play this course again.(during a weekday, between 7am and 3pm) If you do not live nearby, travel to a different course, the pros do not outweigh the cons here. (pun intended)

18 of 20 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty, fairly easy course

1    9/6/2008   9/8/2008
Review By: Jeterdawg
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 12.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pretty course (beautiful pine trees throughout - my favorite), well-manicured and maintained (not much trash). Main set of teepads marked well, and easy to find.
Cons: Alternate tees not marked well enough to easily find all without a printed map. Mostly short holes (from main teepads), and other than ABC holes, pretty much all are reachable; however the course was still worth playing if in the area.
Other Thoughts: Note: rating based mostly on difficulty.
Suggestions: Add a sign for A, B, C holes near hole 5's basket so that players can go play those if they want without driving in the car or walking from tee 18. From what I could tell, the gold teepads made this a significantly more challenging course...I couldn't find several of the first few holes, so I just played the normal marked teepads. I'd add similar posts if possible to help guide.
Also: I got hole 6's tee to 7's basket mixed up, but I probably wasn't paying very good attention.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.