Pine Grove, PA 
Sweet Arrow Lake DGC Share
Uploaded By: drewkline9 Hole #13 (Taken 9/2013)
3 / 216ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee Sign



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Beautiful scenery, decent course

1    7/6/2014   7/6/2014
Review By: kyledstauffer
Played: 51  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.3 Years
Pros: I'm giving this course a higher rating than I would otherwise mostly because it is in an absolutely beautiful setting! Several holes play over/around a stunning waterfall and the views to the lake are fantastic. The old growth forest portion is also very nice. A similar course in a blah location would probably be around 2.5 stars. That said there are some nice holes here. Lots of up and down holes with some challenge though many are of the pitch and putt variety, there are a few hair-raising holes that play over the stream/waterfall and next to the lake. In particular, hole 9 and 15 were a lot of fun due to the perceived risk of losing a disc down the ravine (clearing the ravine isn't too difficult on any of these). The course makes good use of elevation making some of the shorter holes play a little longer. In general, the holes that play through the woods/over the stream were a lot of fun. On the whole I'd almost say it's a destination course just based on the scenery. Certainly not your every day run-of-the mill course
Cons: On the downside this course does have some issues. Chief among these is circulation. Several holes 1, and 6 play directly over picnic areas/picnic tables. There were people sitting and eating not 20' from hole six when I played - I decided to skip it rather than risk beaning some kids. A few holes are also directly adjacent to the parking lot where an errant shot can easily bean a parked SUV for instance (with a dx teebird from the top of 18....). Navigating the course is also a little loopy. Several holes double back on themselves and a few tees are a little hard to find. It doesn't have a great flow to it. As teepads go, I didn't have an issue with the crushed gravel material however they are pretty short. You're not going to get any kind of run up - basically stand and deliver (which is Ok for the length of most of these).

The first few holes are an absolute jungle! Very thick undergrowth - be prepared to lose some plastic if your placement isn't awesome. There's also a good bit of potential to lose some plastic in the lake or stream that plays throughout. I'd recommend bringing a few sacrificial dx discs just in case. A good bit of the course was pretty marshy when I played - a change of socks is not a bad idea to bring along
Other Thoughts: On the whole this course is not your typical community park course - it's quite stunning and worth the drive. Leave the drivers at home, bring some fairways, a couple rocs (or buzzzes if that's your thing) and have a blast! I also highly recommend launching a sacrificial dx disc into the lake off the top of 16 - very satisfying!

Desperado

1    6/14/2014   6/17/2014
Review By: swatso
Played: 347  Reviewed: 346  Exp: 6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Challenging holes
Cons:
Challenging flow
Other Thoughts:
Didn't read the reviews ahead of time - simply printed the map, saw the holes seemed to avoid the largest bodies of water, and with an average distance of 260', expected to find a simple little recreation course. When pulling into the parking lot, saw a few baskets in the wide open, and a family hanging about one, seeming to confirm my assumptions.

I then spent the next 1.5 hours thinking "Hmm, that's a more difficult shot than I'd expect, based upon the map/distances", A perfect example of this was 135' #8 - an ace run if I ever expected one. However, find the tee down and to the right, and the basket straight up a steep hill to the left, with large hardwoods on either side of the main window just prior to the basket, and I earned a four, as both my drive and (first) approach hit wood, got on their edge, and rolled back down the hill.

There are challenges here - uphill shots, water-carrys (more than the map indicates), runaway greens, touch shots, and turns, with the lefts outnumbering the rights by a fair amount. Most fairways are a window or a tunnel, requiring line-holding vice tree-avoidance.

One the negative side, studying the map will give you an idea of the flow issues - fairway-1 crossing both fairways-2&6, cul-de-sacs formed by 3-4-5 and 9-10-11. Thick undergrowth on about half the holes could result in (futile) searches, While the tee signs are sufficient, the 3'x6' wood-framed/gravel (partially) filled tees can be an issue. Two parking lots and pedestrian-filled walking paths add to the complications.

Somebody(ies) went to a lot of effort to create this course, creating some paths to avoid completely returning down the fairways on the cul-de-sac groupings, strategically placing orange arrows/info to assist with the more-awkward transitions, and even some orange spray-painting of trees to aid with navigation. (Note, tee-15 is beneath the boardwalk - walk to bottom, then hard right to access it, then throw over stream).

There's a lot to like (challenges) about this course. There's a lot to dislike about this course (flow). I can imagine a wide variety of reactions (ratings) for this course. I'll simply rate this course as "average", although it is anything but "typical" - it is more a case of balancing extremes!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

rec course fun to play.

1    5/30/2014   6/3/2014
Review By: 21111
Played: 80  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 17.2 Years
Pros: The scenery on the last 2/3 of the course was refreshing. A 10foot waterfall, lake, and creek all come into play.
Nice use of the area given the limited space.
Over all the course was fun to play.
Nice recreational course that demands accuracy, or you can shoot a high number.
A Lot of fun shots to throw.
Cons: Holes 1-6 didn't seem to flow cohesively. Re-routing those holes might correct this.
A little congested, example would be hole 6 tee is in the fairway of the first hole.
The opportunity to throw a bad shot and lose your disc is very high for new players on the first 6 holes.
Spotters will be helpful when the vegetation is ripe.
Other Thoughts: Play 6-18 first, then walk across parking lot to the play hole 1-5 after the 18th.

 Use the park all the time, first time playing DG here.

1    3/16/2014   3/18/2014
Review By: gemiller
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 0.4 Years
Pros: The course seemed varied and had an interesting path through property. The course took advantage of well maintained trails through the property. A decent mix of difficulty and risk taking. A nice walk through the park taking you past a few features and near the boardwalk trail as well.
Cons: I thought the hole near the bottom parking lot (I believe it was 5, 6) curved left towards my own car, and the 14th hole(previously pointed out) up top that kind of cuts off the corner of the parking lot seemed like chance for impact. This place isn't full very much but I could see these two being interesting sometimes.

Everything had the same par, and I'm no expert but it just didn't feel right comparing the difficulty of various holes.

Lots of brush if you end up off the trail, but I don't know much can be expected differently for a course going through the woods/brush. I played my first game here and didn't end up in any bad situations though.
Other Thoughts: To some of the other commentary: the course was added to existing trail system, the system was not generated just for this course if that explains some of the path choices.

Nice facilities at main building area (you pass by a little over halfway through course) and portable facilities at waterfall parking lot.

Lots of close by activities, park trails, waterfall, fishing, play ground, and geocaching to name some.

Not for the Faint of Heart

1    10/30/2013   10/31/2013
Review By: Junkman510
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful little park. Waterfalls, lake, great views. Some very interesting holes. Well marked. Very entertaining course but not for the beginner.
Cons: This is not a course for everybody. Lots of blood letting when retrieving the disc from the many dense brush (major sticker bushes). Water comes into play on many holes. The gravel (more like large rocks) tees are no fun. Found myself on my a** a few time on the run ups. On hole 17, they have a park bench right in front of it. Had to move off the tee so we wouldn't hit the people sitting there.
Other Thoughts: Lots of cons but I really enjoyed it. Lots of things to fix. I would love to see better tees and a few re-designed holes so you would be less likely to take someones head off.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    9/27/2013   9/30/2013
Review By: McGorry
Played: 60  Reviewed: 2
This review was updated on 10/7/2013
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Some interesting tee shots across the dam (2 holes) and some fun ace runs. Could be really interesting course over time if rough is cut out
Cons: Hole 14 over parking lot is a dangerous tee shot. its a small gap to hit and has the potential to wang someone in parking lot on errant tee shot. Holes 2-6 would be head-hunting territory if there was anyone else playing as you must walk back through previous fairways and backtrack...a major design flaw. A lot of the holes are lined with extremely dense trees that would frustrate a small animal to navigate them never mind a human being - I kept thinking that I hope I don't throw a disc in and be able to see it but not get to it (which could happen on a LOT of the holes) as many fairways had too many trees considering the rough is THAT thick. Holes were short with some unnavigable pitfalls for an amateur...like throwing across a parking lot (?!) through a narrow tree gap, dense trees on the side of dense tight fairways
Other Thoughts: It seems like there is a lot of land around some of the front nine holes, and I wonder if some of this land could have been utilized for the course so that you did not have to walk back through fairways. It seems like this course was put up in a hurry without a lot of thought given to course design...I would not recommend this course to someone interested in giving the sport of disc golf a try. It is definitely not an amateur course (for the reasons I listed above) and it is pretty frustrating in its current condition.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.