Disc Golf Store
Livermore, CA 
Livermore DGC Share
Uploaded By: marcuspohl Hole #1 (Taken 7/2014)
3 / 232ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
There Is Some Scrambling Involved Here!

1    6/22/2014   7/10/2014
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 682  Reviewed: 634  Exp: 36.3 Years
Pros: First of all, Livermore, CA is a beautiful little village.
The course here plays around the outskirts of the Ernie Rodriguez Softball complex. There's plenty of parking at the beginning. The course has rubber fly pads although a few are fairly rough and uneven. There is the standard Disc Golf Rules sign at the beginning. Small tee signs give you all the information needed like hole #, Par, distance, next tee and a map showing OB, trees, etc. Hole length range from 162' to over 400' and vary from technical to wide open.

My favorite was the shortie, # 2. It's just 162' but tight and technical to a basket just visible over a small ravine and a dry creek bed. It's very pretty while most holes on this course are borderline U-G-L-Y.
The baskets are DGA with the hole # on the inner tube. The wind was a factor later on the course out on more open holes.
Cons: As swatso says, there is a decent amount of scrambling up and down to be done here.
It's hot and there isn't a lot of shade.

You finish out at # 9 and then have to basically backtrack through about 5 holes to get back to the parking lot. Would be a problem during tournies or if ever busy.
Other Thoughts: IMO 8 & 9 were really boring. Felt more like they needed to get those last two holes in and then ran out of clever ideas.

# 2 saved this course for me. Take away that hole and I didn't find much here to excite me. Terrible long walk back after #9, hot dusty and not pleasant to look at and mostly uninspiring holes. But I thought the little town of Livermore was absolutely charming.

Billy Goat Gruff

1    6/21/2014   6/23/2014
Review By: swatso
Played: 359  Reviewed: 346  Exp: 6.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
A few baskets set on plateaus.
Cons:
If you thought scrambling up to basket-6 was a bit awkward, wait until …
If you thought scrambling up to basket-7 was a bit difficult, wait until …
If you thought scrambling down to tee-8 was a bit dangerous, wait until …
You walk through several fairways to return to the parking lot - stay alert.
Other Thoughts:
After number-1, starting near the corner of the parking lot, and throwing over some bushes/small trees, the bulk of the course is set in the undeveloped land located behind softball/soccer fields of a public park. The next three left-tuning holes bring the few available trees into play - a early jail cell (#2), a row of trees (#3), and similar #4, albeit over twice as long as #3. The remaining holes are mostly/wide open, with three of them being dead flat (5,8,9), and 6-7 having elevation gain.

Number-7 is probably the most interesting hole, as it requires nearly immediate elevation gain, has an early tree left, bushes and a fence a bit farther right, and a runaway slope late left.

Basic teesigns sufficient. Rubber mat teepads adequate in length, but a bit bumpy. Navigation simple enough with the online map. Several holes were baskets/tees/fairways are quite close to the holes - e.g. a reasonable drive on number-6 could either fly over basket-2 or tee-7.

RHBHers will be pretty comfortable here.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good intro course

1    4/7/2014   4/9/2014
Review By: IsThisThingOn
Played: 17  Reviewed: 10
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Good variety of skill shots and bombs
-Well maintained
-Excellent parking
-Sensible layout with good flow
Cons: -Blackberry bushes
-Baseball field makes for an annoying OB when you have to go around the fence.
-Could do more with the terrain, fit in a few more tricky holes
Other Thoughts: A great course for a newer player, and a very serviceable course for the veteran.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

One hyzer short

1    12/8/2013   12/8/2013
Review By: cefire
Played: 637  Reviewed: 134  Exp: 15.3 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: RHBHyzer, Hyzer, Hyzer, Hyzer...
Cons: Missing one hyzer
Other Thoughts: I joke but this is a pretty nice layout for the area that the park covers. The designers have utilized a lot of the varied terrain and have a range of distances, but almost all of the holes have been created for a RHBH hyzer shot...

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Decent Course

1    12/1/2013   12/2/2013
Review By: delaveagabeast
Played: 23  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I played two days in a row at this park to get a good feel for it before a tournament.

-Good mixture of short/challenging holes and longer shots that allow you to 'air it out' so to speak

-Pretty much empty. I played on a Saturday/Sunday and only ended up running into one other player (who I happened to know)

-Every pin has a basket and a well marked tee sign. There are no 'blind shots' for better or worse~

-Fenced baseball diamonds nearby if you want to do some field work on a certain throw

-Very clean, I didn't come across any litter in my time there

-Easy to get to, if you are coming from the east bay just exit on North Livermore Ave, turn right and continue for 2.5 miles or so until you see the park on the right

-My favorite hole is #2, it's about 150 feet skill shot that wraps around a corner. My route is using a disc that will come back hard and flicking around lightly to the left(xcaliber) or right up the middle with my putter (ridge)
Cons: -Tee pads are horrible. They are not rubber, they are not concrete, they are dirt-- many times these dirt tee pads have giant holes and rocks all throughout them so getting a good footing can be a problem at times.

-When you finish the course, you basically have to walk through the course again to get out, rather than end somewhat near the starting point. It's walk through the course again, or spend 2x longer trying to walk around the Church~

-River on the backside with holes 8/9 on the left hand side. Be careful around it, saw a couple people lose discs while we are over there. I personally consider the river being a bit of a pro, but for some it could lead to frustration so aim right.
Other Thoughts: Tee One was hard to find the first time there (turns out its right next to the parking lot lol). We ended up making up our own tee by the bleachers which ended up being a pretty sweet little putter hole.

This course is definitely a beginner course, but there are some good practice shots. Hole 4 is a tough hole to get a 2 on because it's hard to get proper placement to make your up shot. Play for a three there and shoot for a two on everything else~

The Disc Golf Club 'Hyzer Than You' is often around the area, if you happen to see one of them they are very nice guys.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

The bay get's another spot to play.

1    11/2/2013   11/2/2013
Review By: beereakfast
Played: 18  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/8/2014
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Accurate signs at each tee that are new and graffiti free. Nice new baskets. Rubber tee pads. Really good use of the available terrain. Almost no interference between holes, rarely do other players even come into your shot. Really clean park. No poison oak.
Cons: The course was kind of flat and wide open for my taste, but that's entirely subjective. So be it. The rubber tee pads are a tad short, but it's not really an issue. Yellow jacket nests in the groud on holes 8, and 9. (not seen the last time I played)
Other Thoughts: Park at the last driveway before you hit Concannon, really simplifies things. The first time I came out here we parked at the main parking lot at the park. It's a LONG walk to find hole 1. My fault entirely. There are frequently trees in play, but this is definitely not a wooded course. The trees are short and there isn't a lot of shade. Holes 2 and 3 are really short, but the trees shape the line and will punish a bad shot. Mostly hard to lose a disc if you're paying attention, but there are a few tricky spots that really require spotters. The creek does come into play if you have a bad shank. I hit it on 8 due to a rushed shot. My drive landed 5 feet past an in ground, yellow jacket nest. Watch out. I liked the balance of hole length. From tricky, short shot's with trees, to long bomber holes. there are always trees that force an interesting shot even on the open holes.I like this spot. The navigation was really easy as a first timer.


Update; There is no water in the creek. The restrooms are locked and the bee's aren't an issue. Bring water and a hat. It gets hot. Still a fun course. A LOT better than San Ramon!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Livermore DGC

5+    10/28/2013   10/28/2013
Review By: FMT15
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 0.9 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Good mixture of technical shots, and open shots.
-Easy to find signs and tee boxes
-Restrooms and snack bar near by
-Good use of terrain
Cons: -No tee pads
-Blackberry bushes and sometimes poison ivy can make retrieving discs difficult
Other Thoughts: When I first played this it felt like a course was forced into the area, but the more you play it, the more you realize the terrain and area was used very well. The first couple holes have lots of trees blocking a straight shot, but after the 4th hole they are alot more open.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Livermore DGC

5+    10/25/2013   10/25/2013
Review By: Rogers6
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 0.9 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Easy to navigate.
Signs mark where the holes end
Challenging but not impossible
Water and bathrooms close by
Cons: Easy to lose discs
Other Thoughts: This is my home course. Played it quite a bit. Really having a lot of fun. The distances aren't too far but the terrain makes it a fun challenge.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Livermore!

1    10/24/2013   10/25/2013
Review By: elton807
Played: 56  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 4.2 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Another excellent 9-hole addition to the growing number of East Bay DGCs! I love the variety of terrain and elevation, especially being in a multipurpose sports park. Great signs, and baskets. Tons of parking, and easy to find the 1st tee.
Cons: Sure, there are no tee pads, but I never found them to be necessary here. I could imagine this place is difficult, if not frustrating, to navigate for a first timer. Luckily, I paired-up with a very friendly local to guide me through...thanks J!
Other Thoughts: A little reminiscent of Benicia DGC. Other notable DGCs situated around baseball/softball fields: Sunset, LaMirada (Back 18), HCP, Travis AFB, and CSDB. I enjoyed this course, and look forward to coming back here again soon.
=====================
Uniqueness: A- (I've played other courses surrounding multi-sport parks, but this one has some cool terrain & obstacles)
Difficulty: A- (Lots of trees and shrubs on shorter holes; nice overall elevation features; wider open for longer holes)
Fun factor: A- (Super fun, but fair amount of walking between holes; long trek from end of 9 back to the beginning)
Aesthetics: A (Beautifully landscaped terrain and sense of ruggedness)
------------------
Overall: A-

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

An Interesting Trek

1    10/19/2013   10/22/2013
Review By: Magiken
Played: 42  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 5.1 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
• Easy to find and navigate with a map or the tee signs
• Great tee signage
• Restrooms and water
• Interesting surroundings
• Par is attainable
• Brand new Mach 5 baskets in the lovely orange color
Cons:
• Tees are mostly dirt
• Terrain can be a bit treacherous
• Poison oak in a couple spots
Other Thoughts:
Tips:
• Bring a map
• Wear good footwear and watch where you step
• You'll notice alternate tees here and there (little pink stringy markers in the ground) but the ones with the signs are the ones you're looking for on the map
• The fence behind #7 is lower than the ones by the softball field and you're throwing up towards it. Do be careful.
• After finishing #7, turn to the left and you'll see a way to get down to the walking path that will take you around to the right to #8. If you go straight, you'll have to navigate down a fairly steep cliff.

Random Thoughts:
It is so good to see more courses popping up in the East Bay. This course seems like it's still a work in progress, as the baskets and signs were fantastic but the tees were just marked in the ground pretty much as is. I did also notice some alternate tee markings here and there for perhaps some long/alternate tees in the future(?) Incidentally, #2 long…yikes. Where I did find this course rather interesting is in its locale. It's located in an area between and behind a softball complex and a church/school and what's interesting about that is the terrain you'll come across in such a small area. There are trees, wide open sandy spots, steep crevices, rocky areas, bushy areas, and a stream running through it all. I found myself enjoying the scenery as I climbed around the course. There's even a vineyard across the street near the basket on #4. The holes, as you might expect, take you through all of this. There are a couple holes that demand precise throwing off the tee but most of the holes give you a fair amount of room to let fly. The main thing you'll want to pay attention to is your landing zone. You can be in a great position for your second throw or be 10' away in a terrible position due to the terrain so do have a plan when you let go. Also pay attention to some areas of poison oak on holes #6-8 in the dry stream bed and near the stream itself. I imagine it's quite easy to hyzer (RHBH) your way into these spots if you're not paying attention. #8 is particularly unkind to missing left as I witnessed from a group in front of me. Having said all that, I found par to be attainable on this course as long as you're not over-aggressive. Pay attention to your distance and landing area and you'll be ok.

Bottom Line:
This is an interesting course in its scenery and layout. While a bit treacherous in spots, I found it to be a fair course, and I enjoyed the round overall. I will be back soon.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.