Traverse City, MI 
Hickory Hills Share
Uploaded By: Scott L. Kuhns Hole #9 (Taken 8/2012)
4 / 401ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Basket to Tee

Reviews: 50
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers

2-4    10/17/2010   10/18/2010
Review By: m1morri1
Played: 41  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 9.7 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Very challenging course with tons of variety. Very nice mix of holes, open and wooded with a lot of elevation change. Beautiful scenery being that it is on an active ski slope. On hole 19 you get a lovely view of Traverse City and what I believe is West Bay.
Cons: The hiking up and down the hills may get a little old for some people but, for me that is part of disc golf and why I love it so much.
Other Thoughts: The only reason I didn't give this course a 4.5 is because they take the baskets out in the winter time because of skiing.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 (Sick)-ory Hills!!

1    10/10/2010   10/10/2010
Review By: CBass
Played: 99  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 10.8 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 24 holes of fantasic hillside chucking await you upon entering the forest at Hickory Hills! Good signage throughout helps you meander the alleyways carved through the trees. Lots of trash cans, concrete tees and shade. The shooting lanes at this course were tight enough to make you heave an honest throw, but open enough to keep you from getting too frustrated. Decent array of shot selections. Great view of the trees and the town/Bay below. Buy discs @ the liquor store nearby, on the way up the hill. Several old growth trees are something special to take in on hole 1.
Cons: People don't want to use trash cans so i found myself "cleaning up" the whole round. Vandalism found me picking up a tee sign from the trailside and carrying it up the hill, back to its rightful place where I propped it up against a tree. Lack of open hyzers and distance shots, except for the last few holes so not a huge deal.
Other Thoughts: Be prepared for quite a hike, lots of sand and no facilities. A must visit course if you are in the area!!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Only The Strong

1    7/3/2010   7/4/2010
Review By: BucketBonanza
Played: 47  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 13.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/17/2010
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Played this course today on one of the most lovely days I have ever breathed breath. Just amazing in its beauty, this glacier cut paradise took my breath away. Rights and lefts and downs and ups. Nice change in flow from up to down and then to flat for a few before progressing again into the wilderness for some fantastic hills and ravines and again to some flat and straightforward holes that you might find anywhere. A Very solid mixture. Visually stunning at many points throughout the round. Mine eyes hadn't seen such a magnificent piece of land with disc baskets installed until this day. This sprawl features twenty four holes that will make you realize how small you are in the grand scheme of things. Ravines and hills and natural formations that whisper of something greater will swallow you up and immerse you in their wonder. This course is neither long nor extremely difficult but it offers some of the most beautiful scenery I have ever laid eyes upon paired with a game that I love. Truthfully, the land traversed is of the most awe inspiring I have ever wandered but I don't get away much.. Disc golf becomes an added benefit really.
Cons: I have heard this place is heavily played, but an early arrival and some ambition allowed us to move about freely and absorb the scenery. It can be argued that variety is lacking in terms of technicality. This course offers up no water hazards, but it offers hills as major hazards. This is a looker course first and foremost, but it does offer some challenging shots and some well designed holes. It quickly becomes an oh my for the unitiated like myself.
Other Thoughts: Glad I brought ample hydration implements as suggested below. Glad I threw down some hardcore deet force field as I was getting dive bombed by flies that wanted me in the worst way. This place was something we made a trek for and it delivered. It is impossible for me to tell you in a review how fantastic of a destination this is. It smatters the elements of fun and challenge and stark beauty into an unforgettable experience. I wish that I was able to play this course whenever I want, but then it would lose it's majesty. The hills and landscape are an adversary and the reward is basket chains. Take time to visit Traverse City. Unbelievable. I am so glad I was blessed enough to get a chance to play at Hickory Hills. Thanks to God and the Bogmonster for making this journey possible.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Makes me miss Timberlee every time I play

5+    4/11/2010   6/4/2010
Review By: deBebbler
Played: 72  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 20.5 Years
This review was updated on 9/21/2011
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Uniform tees, baskets, & completely intact, informative signage.

24 holes.

Intuitave use of (significant) elevation changes, and a beautiful course flow. Nice mix of blind drives, up/downhill and dogleg right/left holes.

This course is incredibly picturesque when the leaves are changing, but there are A LOT of leaves, and they are quite adept at swallowing discs in October.

Very little non-DG traffic.

The twin bays are but a mile away, and there can be some significantly windy days.
Busy. Very, very busy. The parking lot for this course is almost always full, and often cars are lined up both sides along the approaching road. It is not uncommon to see 3-4 groups waiting to tee of at #1. Plan to play this course either early in the morning, or plan to not be anywhere else very soon.

Last 4 holes or so are fairly uninspired. More of a way to get you back to the car than anything worthwhile or challenging.

No bathrooms.

No water holes.
Other Thoughts:
I was very lucky to have moved to TC the year following my disc golf introduction, and to have this as my local. There used to be another beautiful 24 hole course at Timberlee in Leelanau county that alleviated the traffic here, but now Hickory is the only game in town, until Mt Holiday steps up and installs 9 more baskets.

***Update: Mt Holiday (Carly's Playground) now has 18 holes. Dual tees and dual basket positions. Finally!! ***

Stopping at Tilley's Party Store is a big Mando. Great disc selections, often with custom local stamps for you collectors out there, and the fellas at the counter are usually willing to chew the fat with you if there aren't other customers.

Although there is a large body of water close by, I have played this course on many sweltering hot days. Hope for at least a little wind, as TC is usually 10 degrees warmer than the surrounding area and a dead calm day can be dreadful. Ample water is a must.

This is a great course to use as a base for a longer visit. TC is a resort town, with tons of hotels, and between Kalkaska, Kingsley, Maple City, and Acme, there are 4 courses (plus one stinker, NMC) within 20 or so miles, with another 3 more lurking just outside.

We played the nicely redesigned Mt. Holiday after this, and were the only ones on the property, while Hickory was packed. ***update: Even now with 18 baskets, Carly's was empty when we played it. ***

The simple fact is, Hickory Hills is absolutely the best course north of Clare, MI.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


1    5/23/2010   5/23/2010
Review By: Jax11
Played: 102  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/26/2010
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Unbelievable elevation shots (Up and down)
- Majestic ambiance and beautiful scenery
- Great hole variety (short, long, technical, open and tight fairways)
- The elevation creates high risk/reward by punishing errant throws.
- Tee signs with distance and par listed
- Concrete tee pads on most holes
- Baskets are in solid conditions.
- #19 and #20 are awesome holes that are very memorable.
- Enough garbage cans to keep the course clean and tidy.

Cons: - Few holes have rubber tee pads that are slick in combination with Northern Michigan sand.
- Minor navigation issue between 17 and 18.
- No bathroom or water supply on site.
- Had quite a few tent caterpillars, but not enough to take away from the greatness of the course.
Other Thoughts: Hickory Hills was a brilliant course. It evokes feelings of adventure by trucking through this seemingly abandoned ski resort. Many of the holes play around and through old ski runs making for some really cool elevation shots. Though there were a few cons about this course, the pros and the ambiance made this course a 5/5 for me. Its hard to describe the magic of this course in words. I strongly recommend it to anyone who is willing to make the trip.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Insensitive traffic and lots of it.

5+    5/17/2010   5/17/2010
Review By: LangWu99
Played: 16  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.6 Years
This review was updated on 9/19/2010
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Some incredible scenery
Plenty of elevation change
For the most part great hole design
Concrete tees
Epic hole 19
Some generous pars
Cons: Lots of dirt
Huge amount of traffic on even a crappy day
No bathrooms anywhere on the premises
Errant throws can result in a major search.
Road on the last three holes is nasty on your discs and have a very thrown on,non thought out feel.
Other Thoughts: The more I play this course the more aggravated I get. Its not any fault of the course but the horrible people I've encountered that play it.Today was a nice day and the traffic was ridiculous. We were waiting for people who were waiting and the people who were waiting behind us were damn rude. There was a group that didn't even ask to play through and came right up to the tee to throw after our group had already thrown and after much searching I"m certain they took off with my ace disc that I was unable to find. What nerve, it has me so angry I can't sleep

If you want to be able to enjoy this course go on a week day early in the morning, Hole 19 is always a pleasure to throw a few discs on. The view of the bay is worth the taxing hike to the top I promise. Traverse City has enough players they would definately benefit from another quality course to ease some of the overwhelming traffic.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Something for everyone

5+    8/19/2010   5/10/2010
Review By: sorotan
Played: 28  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/21/2010
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The "flow" is linear and logical. Signs are accurate and clear.

Tees have benches and are concrete. Woods are mature and well kept.

Course is regularly maintained (generally clean for the heavy use of the course).

Outstanding shots:(particularly 8, 9, 14, 15, 19, & 20).

8 and 15 similarly are long drives gradually downhill through mature hardwoods.

9, 14, & 20 have long bombs off hills.

19 is just amazing: Par 5 over 600' with a view of both bays.

Hickory has variety: highly technical no-room-for-error (don't be a hero), broad flat meadows up hill, hazards (trench, steep hills, narrow fairways)... Not a lot of duplication.
Cons: Brooms are often missing, sand frequently covering certain tees (esp. #24). Due to the length of the course, a porta-jon would be nice.. Course can be extremely busy in the esp. in the Spring during the mid-late afternoons.
Other Thoughts: Note: I've completely revised my review of this course (trying to improve my reviews)

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Special Course

5+    4/19/2010   4/19/2010
Review By: Gary Wittig
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 16.6 Years
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: This course is beautiful. It is well designed to the contours of the terrain. I have played this course 200ish times and It is a challenge every time. There is a complete variety of holes, up, down, left, right, long, short. Amazing views! Well maintained. I agree that there are lots of Risk/Reward holes.
Cons: Tiring for the weak. Frustrating slopes that discs might roll down. Punks trash the place.
Other Thoughts: Personal favorite. Could use water station. Tilley's is right down the road.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.


1    3/8/2009   4/6/2010
Review By: sgamerp
Played: 82  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 7.7 Years
This review was updated on 6/19/2012
1 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: it was a very good place to play but could be very seasonal i played in the almost summer season and there was a lot of snow even though it was a good and sunny day(i wore shorts)
Cons: i lost a disc.
Other Thoughts: fun to play a lot of good shots, not a good place to play in the mid seaons areas cause there is a snow build-up

1 of 11 people found this review helpful.


5+    9/4/2011   10/11/2009
Review By: Mark R
Played: 87  Reviewed: 69  Exp: 13.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/5/2013
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A beautiful, forested area on what appears to be an abandoned ski range in the hills immediately west of Traverse City. Features some great downhill holes through defined fairways that look like ski hills, long and short (7, 8, 9, 19, 20). 19 is a signature hole; 671 feet from the top of a hill with a view of the west arm of Grand Traverse Bay, with a steep drop on the left hand side that can swallow discs off the tee. Hole 9 is a terrific downhill hole with woods on the far left, but plenty of room on the right, so just about anybody can walk up and throw hard with confidence. Probably my favorite over the frequently-mentioned 19/20.

Other highlights include Hole 15, a challenging but very fun downhill, transversely sloped tunnel hole through forest, and Holes 10 and 11, which are nicely defined, wide grassy fairways leading up a gently-sloped ski hill.

Excellent signs and good (slightly worn) tee pads, older Chainstar baskets. Decent navigation, though 8 and 17 can be hard to find. Benches and brooms at many holes. Few-to-average number of players. 24 holes offer two-plus hours of play. Lots of woodpeckers and black squirrels. Free admission.
Cons: Underwhelming forest holes on the front nine (1-6). Hole 6 is a little too short at 132 feet-this wouldn't cut it at some other top notch courses. Hole 13 also seems like a 'cheap' hole (very short hard left turn).

Holes at the end after 19/20 are flat holes with mandatories, but do add to course diversity. Maintenance in some areas is lacking, which leaves you wishing there was more sun to grow some more grass.
Other Thoughts: A somewhat windy and chilly area, as one would expect in the Northern lower peninsula. However, the fresh, clean air can be a benefit to the geographic location; I'd imagine an early October morning would be best. Long walks up the hill on front nine is best for those in average or better physical condition. Uphill slopes on some front nine holes makes them seem longer than the distances posted. Though outnumbered by lesser holes, the very best holes here are as good as the best at any other course.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.