Traverse City, MI 
Hickory Hills Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #11
3 / 362ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee



Reviews: 48
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 E-L-E-V-A-T-I-O-N

1    9/11/2009   9/14/2009
Review By: tomjulio
Played: 60  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 9/30/2009
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -ELEVATION
-Cement Tee pads (exception of platform on one)
-Signs w/ map, number, distance
-Outstanding layout and flow
-basket placement
-beauty of the forest and age old trees
-risk/reward of most all shots.
-The VIEW of hole 19. One of the best ever.
-Tilleys Disc Golf Party store is right down the street (Randolph & Division)and has it all for a day of DGing...including a practice basket outside to test a new disc.
-the rough is fairly clear due to it being a forest of old trees.
Cons: -the cement tees are texture free. sand can be a trouble spot. some brooms provided at certain holes.
-a few holes bland, but serve as a transition due to the elevation change.
-no restrooms or water. MUST BRING WATER.
Other Thoughts: Man, talk about a destination course that will give you a run for your money! This course is all about elevation and risk/reward.

The moment you walk onto the course you are dwarfed by the majestic trees. You sense something special. For the first three holes you feel the elevation build under your feet. Basket placements that require all shots, left and right, straight and curved. By the fourth and fifth hole you know you are in a elevation lovers paradise and that this is another of West Michigan's gems.

Many up shots will require you to decide to layup or go for it, often resulting in your next shot rolling down a ravine. Hole 6 in particular is 130 feet with a basket that sits atop danger in every direction. Another signature hole is 14. A wooden platform allows a shot over a valley into a wood curtain with some tough lines to the basket. Just beautiful.

The signature hole is, of course, 19. This is when your aching calf's and mind sync and you know you are at the top of this old ski hill. You are rewarded with a great view of Traverse City and a 600'+ shot downhill to an awaiting basket. The temptation to unload your whole bag is high. Hole 20 follows up with this same concept to a lesser extent.

The last three holes play long and flat, but they are a must needed transition to get back to the parking lot.

Summary? A MUST PLAY WEST MICHIGAN COURSE. Right now as it stands Flip City is the goto course to the south, and Hickory to the north, with Mason County being the gold in the middle.

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

  Hickory Hills #1

5+    8/25/2009   8/26/2009
Review By: SQUIRES
Played: 19  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 14.6 Years
2 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Hickory has every shot imaginable. Is a great hike. Gorgeous views especially in the fall. Sick elevation changes. Excellent course layout. Excellently managed.
Cons: One individual gave a bad review on this great course cause it's too hard. Boo hoo.

2 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Need to go back

1    6/8/2009   8/18/2009
Review By: bigjohnd24
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.6 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Hickory Hills is a 24-hole course set up across several ski runs. The hole designs are varied and challenging, and you never feel like you're playing the same way twice. It's also decently beginner friendly, because there is no water and several holes have open fairways. Tee pads are well-maintained, long, and usually have brooms near them.

The views and scenery far surpass any course I've seen. You can see down to the water at the top tee pad on hole 19 and it is awesome. The hole itself is about 650 ft down a huge slope, which helps you let loose. The first 9 are through the woods, the back 9 are varied between open fields and scattered trees, and the last 6 open completely.
Cons: As I said before, you will be in for a hike up and down ski slopes, so bring water and possibly a lunch. If you're out of shape, you'll hate this course. There's a gully along the left side by 4 and 5 that presents a problem retrieving your discs, but nothing too hard. It's kind of easy to get carried away on some holes and lose your discs (I lost my champion leopard on hole 23).
Other Thoughts: I went up to Hickory with a hangover from my birthday party the night before and it certainly cured it. This place is the best course I've ever played and I would love to go back and lower my score...

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Well worth it

1    8/14/2009   8/16/2009
Review By: davetherocketguy
Played: 37  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 10.4 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Great layout
- Concrete pads
- Brooms at *most* of the tee-boxes.
- Well maintained.
- I have to disagree with some of the reviewers about the underbrush. It really wasn't that bad until #19 and even then it isn't that bad because the fairway is so wide. Sorry but, until you've endured the torture of schule that is Oshtemo Township you don't know what you are talking about.
- Crowds? What crowds? I must have been there on the wrong day for that one...Maybe it was just too hot (85+) for the young un's when I was there.
- #19 - awesome view of downtown Traverse City. It is a nice reward for the punishment dealt on the previous brutally awesome 2 holes.
- Tee signs. Very nicely done.
- Very little trash. There are cans at every tee box. Nice!
Cons: - Holes 22 through 24 seem kinda bland and vanilla. But that probably has more to do with awesomeness that is #19. Too bad the course can't end with #19. If it did, you'd be no where near where you parked your car.
- Vandals. Someone put a lot of TLC into this course and yet idiots have managed to break half of the brooms on the pads and scribbled crap on the benches and a few of the tee signs.
- Looooong walks between holes.
- Not the easiest to navagate. It would really improve the course if there were signs pointing to the next tee. Maybe there were some at one time because I did notice a fair number of posts without anything on them.
Other Thoughts: This is a must play course for anyone in Michigan. Hands down the best I have ever been on anywhere. I spent more time looking at the holes thinking, "This looks like fun" more than I ever have on any other course. The hills are quite severe compared to other Michigan courses so bring oodles of water and comfy shoes.

Be sure to pay close attention to the "NEXT TEE" labels on the signs. There aren't always signs after the basket to show where the next tee box is and there are lots of hiking trails all over the place so it is easy to get a little sidetracked.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  Great Course

5+    7/9/2009   7/25/2009
Review By: epiedmonte
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great elevation changes. Has a bit of everything. Wide open holes to tight technical holes. Challenges every part of your game. Has some great views on a few holes, everything you look for out of a great course
Cons: Has a bit of a hike between a few holes, but if you enjoy the outdoors (as you should since your a disc golfer) you will have no issue with it. Can get crowded at peak times. If you play in the league though people are good about lettering you play through.
Other Thoughts: If you are a big golfer in michigan you must play hickory hills. I have played all over Michigan and this is my second favorite course. Happy discing.

4 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Very close to being Elite

5+    6/14/2009   7/2/2009
Review By: DaKineSurfer32
Played: 429  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 13.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/23/2009
13 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -safe, well built tee pads on every hole (#14 is slightly elevated and wood because of existing roots that would have been destroyed by a cement pad)
-quality pin positions on every hole
-every type of hole imaginable (long, short, open, wooded, uphill, downhill, left, right, etc)
-very nice tee signs
-small brooms are attached to EVERY tee sign for cleaning sand off the tees
-easy to follow, course flows nicely
-multiple entry/exit points (after 8, 15, and all 24) if you want to play a short round, or skip some holes
-trash cans are abundant
-many benches and places to rest
-no long walks between holes
-the local pro shop, Tilley's Party Store, is just down the street from the course and they have a great selection of discs and other merch
Cons: -one set of tees
-only one pin position per hole
-can be very crowded (this is Hick's biggest downfall) in the summer, especially during Cherry Festival due to lots of use by local teens
-lots of mosquitos, so bring your bug spray
-no water holes (there is a small creek that runs just inside the treeline on hole 23, but it doesn't ever come into play unless you throw a really shitty shot)
Other Thoughts: This course is my home course, its the course that I started playing disc golf on, so I'm a little biased... but all in all it's still sitting at #14 in my top 25 courses (of 241 that i've played) after playing most of the best courses in the nation. The only thing that really bugs me about it is that there aren't multiple tees or at the very least, multiple pin positions. Hickory Hills would be among the elite courses in the country if we were just able to change it up every once in a while.

And its missing a lake, or water of some sort. If there were one or two decent water holes on this course it would have a little bit of everything! Oh, and on the note of water, there are lots of hills to walk and it'll take a group of 4 a good two hours (+/- 30 mins) to play, so bring water of your own so you don't get dehydrated.

give me a call when you come to town and i'll happily meet you out there for a round! (231.590.0878)

13 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course

5+    6/28/2009   6/29/2009
Review By: KzooKid
Played: 15  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 11.4 Years
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: open fairways, great elevation, scenic, nice tees w/ occasional broom, lotta bomber holes, very fun
Cons: last three holes are kinda weak(22,23,24), bring water! bring extra discs cuz if your a noob your GONNA lose your disc of hole #19
Other Thoughts: One of my top three favorite courses, prolly top two to be more accurate.

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

No Wimps!

1    5/5/2009   6/28/2009
Review By: xrockfistx
Played: 19  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 7.7 Years
This review was updated on 6/24/2013
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Challanging I guess could be a word for it, although it isn't quite the word for it. Very clean maintained course. Locals are pretty friendly too and are interested if you are from other areas. The signs are easy to follow and no need to worry if you are in another person's fairway.
Cons: TIGHT, TIGHT fairways. MANY, MANY, MANY trees. And so many hills. You are consantly walking up hill. No offense but, you aren't physically fit in someway, you are not making it up this course.
Other Thoughts: Improved my game in a new way but, I never got to use my main drivers really because, of how the shots where. Deffinately favors straight shots. And if you hit a tree, happy hunting.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 It's Disc Golf...I guess...

2-4    6/20/2009   6/27/2009
Review By: Merkaba311
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
1 Helpful / 21 Not
Pros: Everything is very well maintained. Great signs and trash cans abound.
Cons: Course design is very unorthodox. My main discs never came out of my bag and I heard that sentiment echoed.

Too many elevation changes that punish good shots more often than they reward them.

Don't count on throwing many backhand shots if you're a righty.

Most holes are more difficult than they are fun.
Other Thoughts: I'm currently an 833 rated player so this course is probably too difficult for my skill level. I don't normally throw forehand shots but I feel like every shot here requires a forehand.

I'd never play this course to have a good time. Everything I love about disc golf is absent from this course.

1 of 22 people found this review helpful.

 A great one...

2-4    5/25/2009   5/26/2009
Review By: Rupert M
Played: 73  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 16.7 Years
This review was updated on 6/12/2010
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great signs/tees. Some tees have brooms. Trash cans on most holes.
Easy to follow.
Great scenery and surroundings.
Perfect mix of long-short holes.
Tilley's party store is a few minutes away and is a great disc-golf store. They have good retail prices on bags, discs and other goods. Plus lots of local beers. A must-go before/after a round.
Cons: Just a little dirty/dusty for my taste. A few long walks. A few extra people. Get there early-ish.
Other Thoughts: A great place to go and play. I wish we were in town longer.
If you have the time, hit Tilley's and then go play Myles Kimmerly in Maple City, about twenty minutes away. It makes for a great day of golf.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.