Traverse City, MI 
Hickory Hills Share
Uploaded By: Caribbeing Hole #19
5 / 621ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #19: 600' to the basket, with an incredible view of Traverse City and West Bay



Reviews: 48
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 5 Next >
 great course

1    5/25/2009   5/26/2009
Review By: taxman
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 22.4 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: being my first trip here i found the course easy to navigate from hole to hole.

signs were great, tee pads were cement, and trash cans were plentiful.

the course was challenging but didn't feel beyond limit.
Cons: these are really minor cons but i felt like mentioning them.

it was very dry the day i played and i don't think it had rained in a while which may have made it worse. dust and dirt coated everything i brought by the time i finished the course. i think mainly this was from the lack of recent rain.

the other is that it is a long course (24 holes) with lots of elevation/terrain which makes for a long walk. make sure to bring water.
Other Thoughts: the walk through the trees was really cool and the views from some holes were really terrific.

others have pretty much covered everything about this course.

it was very busy while i was there. but people were very friendly.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Favorite Course So Far

5+    5/20/2009   5/20/2009
Review By: Wiichtoski
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.4 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Varied distances, both hilly and wooded terrain and ski slopes provide wind tunnels that make things interesting, 24 holes, easy to navigate, nice tees and holes. Overall amazing course! Easily my favorite course thus far!
Cons: Usually pretty busy. Might be easy to lose a disc if you're not too careful (Especially on the 600' hole! Found my disc somewhere in Africa...)
Other Thoughts: Simply amazing. If you disc in Northern Michigan you have no reason to not have played this course.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Hickory Hills

5+    5/1/2008   5/1/2009
Review By: Mackb6
Played: 29  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 11.6 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Good elevation changes and a lot of woods. Placed on an old ski resort, Hickory gives a good challenge to just about any type of disc golfer out there. One of my favorite Northern courses played.
Cons: I live three and a half hours away.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 The Best Around

5+    5/1/2009   2/8/2009
Review By: colombo117
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
This review was updated on 5/4/2009
6 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Lots of variety, and elevation changes. The first eight holes are layed out in the hardwoods. The fairways are tight, some are uphill, and will challenge even the most experienced throwers. Holes nine through thirteen give you a little more room to work your discs with. There are still trees that come into play, just not as heavy as the first eight holes. Fourteen through eighteen put you back in the trees, where you'll navigate some less than 200ft holes and some greater than 300ft holes. Nineteen though twenty-one you are throwing downhill and trying to avoid losing a disc or two. The city cut down two large trees on nineteen because they were in the way for the ski season, this changes the hole for anyone whos ever played it before. The views from the top are great. Twenty-two through twenty four things level out but distance and trees are still factors. There are right and left turning holes so having a decent backhand and forehand will pay off. All teepads are large, cement and well built. Signs are on everyhole, although graffti and ace signinatures are strating to cover some of them. Definitely worth the drive if your in the area.
Cons: Its long, so on a hot summer day you'll need water and good shoes. Plan on at least two hours to play, possible more depending on how large your group is and how busy it is. Can get crowded with teenagers, who sometimes are there just to party and goof around.
Other Thoughts: Best in the area. This course has it all, anyone in Michigan should come to Traverse City and play the Mighty Hickory!

6 of 10 people found this review helpful.

  A Must Play

5+    10/26/2008   10/26/2008
Review By: Dark Strangely
Played: 35  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 38.4 Years
4 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: The beauty of this course is unmatched. You need all shots to be succesfull at this course.. its technical.. its long... elevation challenges your touch
Cons: Tee pads at times arent the best and signage to get around the coures could be more user friendly
Other Thoughts: Just a great Northern Michigan Course

4 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Agree, One of the best in Michigan

5+    8/30/2008   9/3/2008
Review By: Hyramdubya
Played: 27  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 14.4 Years
15 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is great!! Every hole is completely different with a variety of different challenges. There are tight shots through wooded areas, shots up hill and down hill, dog legs and long distances drives. The few shorter holes you have to be very accurate, on either side of the fairway there is a hill that if you miss the mark your disc will go rolling down the hill. There are some holes where you tee off from high elevation giving you confidence in your drive. Along with the short holes there are longer holes ranging from 400 to 600 ft, and dog leg hole that make you throw up hill. As I said every hole is different, making this a fun and challenging course for any skill level.

The course is very clean and well laid out. The tee boxes are cement or wood and are in prime condition. Every hole has a sigh with hole's layout, distance and par. There were arrows to direct you to the next hole if it wasn't perfectly clear.
Cons: This course has a lot of elevation changes because it is built on a ski hill. Make sure to wear good shoes and bring plenty of water. This is a 24 hole course and you will be doing most of your walking up hill to get to the elevated tee boxes. I didn't find any paper score cards or maps. With a map it would be easier to know where to go, but there is arrows to the next tee box so it is not a big deal. They course is not ideal for beginners; some of the holes can get frustrating if you can't drive or control the disc.
Other Thoughts: I may be kind of bias because this is the course where I learned how to play disc golf. The best hole on this course is hole 19. It is 620 ft par 5 downhill. At the tee box is a beautiful view of Traverse City and the water. If you can throw it just right you could get a 2 on this hole. It makes you feel powerful to throw a disc 600 ft, even if it is downhill.
This course should be ranked at least at 4 discs, but because the epic hole 19, and I have so much history with this course I think this course is one of the best of bests.

15 of 17 people found this review helpful.

 One of the best in Michigan

7/12/2008   7/16/2008
Review By: Caribbeing
Played: 17  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 15.4 Years
9 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Incredible natural beauty. Immensely challenging and fun. 24 holes, with every kind of variety you can think of.

In the old days this course had one flaw, which was the dirt holes they used as tee pads. Thankfully, those days are past and they've got concrete tee pads everywhere, making this course just about flawless.
Cons: The only bad thing is that it's a four hour drive from my house. If I lived closer, I would play it constantly.
Other Thoughts: Do not miss out on this course. If you are anywhere in the state of Michigan, do yourself a favor and play this course.

9 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 

7/16/2007   12/10/2007
Review By: riecker2
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
16 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There is a huge amount of diversity at Hickory but it definitely favors big arms. There are some beautiful holes, especially on the back. I think it's hole 17 that offers a panorama of Traverse City and Grand Traverse Bay and it's a 600' + bomb down a ski hill with woods on either side. There are wide open holes in fields and some really technical holes through the trees. There's a really dedicated group of people that have gotten some nice concrete tees put in on a lot of the holes and have spent time and money on really nice tee signs. There are a number of events over the summer and there is plenty of room to park. This course will have you using every disc in your bag and every throw you've got. Also, if you can't fit all 24 in, there's a few convenient places to cut off the back of the course.
Cons: It's one of the biggest courses in the area and it attracts a lot of junior high and high school kids. Not a bad thing on its own but it becomes a problem when they're playing in packs of 10 and 12. If you want to play this course in the summer and you've got the time, get there early. Also, it's a hike; you play much of the back side up a hill. It isn't the greatest course for beginners.
Other Thoughts: Bring water, especially in the summer. The course is pretty isolated once you start hiking back and there's a lot of uphill walking. There's a Party Store called Tilley's right at the beginning of Randolph (the road Hickory is on) that has really decent plastic and good drinks. They can also let you know about any events as all the guys that work there seem to play. If you've got them, wear hiking boots as there is a lot of uneven ground.

16 of 17 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 5 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.