Keene, NH 
Otter Brook DGC Share
Uploaded By: solomon.trenton Hole #3 (Taken 9/2013)
3 / 395ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Mid-Fairway



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers
Great road trip stop

1    5/21/2015   5/21/2015
Review By: gabereif
Played: 27  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 4.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/19/2015
Pros: I was very pleasantly surprised by this course! Pros include:
-Close to Keene and directly off the highway (Rt. 9)
-Easy to find without a map
-Easy to navigate
-Great signs
-Two tees per hole
-Beautiful wooded setting. The underbrush has no poison ivy or thorns, just lots of nice-smelling pine needles. There are some creeks and a couple of muddy spots, but there are nice footbridges to cross them. The secluded, natural feel of the course is special.
-Incredibly sexy tee pads. With brooms for sweeping.
-Great use of topography! Some huge uphill and downhill shots, while others use more subtle topography to make things interesting.
-Clearly cared for by the local DG community
-Shots that bend left and right
-Very wooded, but clear fairways
-Nice baskets
-Challenging yet fair
-You can play a round here quickly. Although you'll want to play 2 rounds... or more
-Fair pars
Cons: -Only 9 holes.
-I wish there were a few less trees on some holes. Slightly wider fairways would be nice, but I'm being picky.
Other Thoughts: This is a great 9 hole course. I'm so happy I stopped by on my way to Concord and will be sure to do so every time I'm in the area. I met Rob, the designer, and he assured me that the back 9 are being installed. Very exciting. Once these go in, the course might earn a 4-disc rating. (For now, it's a 3.25, but I decided to give it 3.5 discs because Rob was super nice). I wish this was my local course!

Road Trip

1    11/25/2014   11/27/2014
Review By: AwanaTrek
Played: 102  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 10.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The tee boxes are very nice
Nice layout - good use of the natural features
Long and Short Pads offer a good variety
Cons: Only 9 holes
Too far from my house for regular play
Other Thoughts: Keene DGC has done a fine job. Lots of potential and will need to get back after the other 9 pins are in the ground.
I am always a fan of alternate pin locations for erosion control and more variety.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great Wooded Layout

5+    9/15/2014   9/16/2014
Review By: ItsLake
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.1 Years
This review was updated on 11/24/2014
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Tee Pads. As of 15 Sept 2014, 8 of 9 A-Tee teepads are installed. These are some of the better teepads in the area. The 9th teepad will be installed by winter.
-A/B teepads for every hole. Allows for 18 distinct holes. 2015 should see the back-9 being cut and constructed, so just a matter of time for the full 18 to be complete.
-Baskets. Great Innova baskets.
-Layout. Each hole is unique. A variety of shots is required to complete these 9 holes.
-Free.
-Improvements made weekly.
Cons: -Currently only 9 holes. This will change in the near future, though.
- Work is still being done to clear out stumps, branches, and brush piles. The parts that have been cleared out look gorgeous, though.
Other Thoughts: Otter Brook is a highly wooded and technical course. Distance drives only come out on a couple shots as you wind through the trees. Current plans are to extend the course to 18 holes over the next 12 months. Course already looks great and will only get better.
**Update**
As of Nov 24:
All 9 built-up, Fly-18 teepads are installed and look great. The back-9 has begun. Hole 10 is cut and occasionally has a temp basket on it. Hole 11 is being cut and progress is made on the back-9 each week.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

A work in progress

5+    7/18/2014   7/19/2014
Review By: KLydon
Played: 15  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 2.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/21/2015
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: +Great hole layouts
+Good mix of uphill and downhill
+Maturing quickly
+New tee boxes are fantastic
+Technical and challenging!
+LEAGUE NIGHT
+Holes are well spaced, you don't need to worry about hitting people on other holes
Cons: -Some trees/branches still need to come down
-It can be quite muddy after a rain
-Brush piles exist in sometimes inconvenient locations
-Course isn't finished (9 holes).
Other Thoughts: For a newer course it is fantastic. Once a back 9 is installed it will no doubt be on par with other great courses nearby. I come here multiple times a week and love supporting the course and club. If you are in the area you should definitely check this great, woodsy course out! A back 9 is expected by late Summer '15.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Lovely course in woods

1    12/27/2013   12/29/2013
Review By: Chezziebr
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Trees, terrain, rather difficult. After 9 holes I was tired.
Cons: Its steep in some areas, and we played in the snow, so if you are not sure-footed you might want to wait until spring. Otherwise we loved it.
Other Thoughts: The course is rather challenging for how short it is. Loved the technical tree holes, the elevation gain/loss for each hole, and the overall lovely-ness of the area.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

This Course will be a Gem

5+    9/26/2013   9/26/2013
Review By: breck66
Played: 25  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 20.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Two tee pads for each hole, gorgeous setting, dramatic elevation change, plenty of risk VS reward shots. Almost daily improvements are being made. Local league is drawing new players to the sport
Cons: Tee Pads are natural but will be upgraded next spring, gets soggy in spots after heavy rain,
Other Thoughts: As the co-designer and head worker for the course I am obviously biased, that being said, I have played for a long time and know what constitutes a solid design and decent layout. Otter Brook Park will challenge you, require every shot in your arsenal. She will provide you with moments of joy, followed by agony that will only leave you wanting to come back again and try to master her. Back 9 is flagged and marked but work will not begin until I have a solid crew of workers supporting me. If you are in the area come check it out, and hit me up for a guided tour, I live 3 miles away and am usually on the course Sat-Sun

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

New 9 Hole in Keene NH

5+    9/22/2013   9/24/2013
Review By: rcj333
Played: 19  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 1.9 Years
This review was updated on 4/19/2014
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a new course in town and thusly "my" course. Also I am a beginner disc player. Otter Brook is nicely laid out and I think has a nice variety of holes. Despite the fact there are a ton of trees, I feel like this is a pretty forgiving course. When I mess up, I still feel like there is a shot to be made to get to the basket.
Cons: Course is not quite done. Needs better Tee boxes and signage. Word is that 9 more holes are coming in the spring. It is a work in progress and could be a real gem in the next couple years.
Other Thoughts: It is on Army Core of Engineers land. So you park in the Otter Brook Dam area in the summer and play from hole 1. After Labor Day, the gate is closed and you need to park at gate and walk in. The 5th hole is where most start and is on the right hand side of the road just after the fork in the road. Hole 7 is the hole that can wreck a round. Ace opportunities on 2 and 9.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great New Course

2-4    9/1/2014   9/10/2013
Review By: Adventureortiz
Played: 17  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 3.1 Years
This review was updated on 9/1/2014
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: UPDATED: I just got back to this course today after being away for about a year. WOW... the improvements are noticeable and this course is really taking shape. Many permanent tee pads have been installed an several more are in process.
This course has some great varied terrain and I would call it a classic NH course (miss the tree and you are golden... hit it and you swatted 100 feet off course). WHILE THERE ARE STILL A LOT OF TREES MAKING IT A VERY INTERESTING CHALLENGE, THE CLEARING HAS REALLY OPENED THINGS UP AND IT IS A JOY TO PLAY. It was easy to follow, a really great location. Love all the streams and the open forrest. It has both an A and B tee for almost all holes which was great. I particularly liked hole 3 which was this fun downhill through the woods.
Cons: THIS COURSE IS MATURING SO NICELY This is only a con because I want more people to get out there and play and break this thing in.
Some of the Natural tees on uneven or sloppy terrain. ALMOST ALL OF THE REALLY SLOPPY DIFFICULT TEES FROM BEFORE ARE NOW BRAND NEW RUBBER TEE PADS. NOT OF THE TEES ARE THAT RUGGED ANY MORE... MAYBE HOLE 2 BUT I SAW LUMBER ALL OVER SO THAT PROJECT IS IN PROGRESS. It is and will likely be a pretty wet course after rains but you can see where they have done a lot of work to contain the water flow and some rough log bridges have been put over stuff. MANY OF THE LOG BRIDGES ARE NOT NICE PLANK BRIDGES WHICH ARE GREAT.
Other Thoughts: This is an AWESOME 9 hole course that is REALLY TAKING SHAPE. Fun layout. I am very appreciative of all the hard work these folks put into the course. This is going to be a great one. I can envision nice bridges and paths throughout... already some benches and picnic tables. I would love to volunteer some work on the course so I will pursue that... Get out and play this one and help "break it in".
SIGNS ARE LAMINATED PAPER BUT GIVE YOU CLEAR DIRECTIONS AND IT IS EASY TO FIND ALL TEES WITH CLEAR SIGNAGE THROUGHOUT.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.