Metropolis, IL 
Fort Massac DGC Share
Uploaded By: Chain_Raper Hole #15 (Taken 5/2014)
5 / 615ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Championship Caliber

2-4    4/5/2014   4/8/2014
Review By: Chain_Raper
Played: 43  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 12.4 Years
Pros: Championship caliber course in a beautiful setting. Fort Massac is a breath of fresh air in an area where most courses are designed by the same person and all have a similar "feel." The disc catchers are easy to see and catch well. They are new so the chains have that orgasmic sound when they are hit. The teepads are long and grippy. You always know where to go next with all the next tee signs. This course rewards distance and accuracy and punishes errant or bad throws. There is a good mixture of holes that requires you to have every shot in your bag. The design was well thought out and provides a well needed challenge in the area. Long mostly open holes, ace run holes, hidden baskets, long tight holes - everything is here.
Cons: Only con I can think of would be the drainage by 18's basket. Other than that this course is AWESOME!
Other Thoughts: This is a true disc golf course that rewards distance and accuracy and punishes bad throws. In regards to hole 2 - it requires an accurate drive about 325-350' and then a good upshot to score a birdie. With an errant drive there is still chance at par but requires a good "get out of trouble" shot. Love this course, best in the area.

Few holes away from greatness.

2-4    4/6/2014   4/6/2014
Review By: goosefraba1
Played: 46  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 2.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is set along a wooded flood plain. Granted, the water does not make it up as high as what it probably used to with all of the dams and flood gates along the river. This course really provides some well placed trees right near the tee, and in the fairway. Some of the holes even resemble a ball golf course... like hole 9. Just a beautiful hole overlooking the river and the fort replica. The course even offers some nice up and down shots. There are a few holes with some awesome rollaway potential.
Cons: Just a few cons here... Hole 2.... somthing has got to give there. There is zero defined fairway. Either you play plinko through the trees.... or you play along the outskirts of the road. This is a major con for such a long hole. Otherwise, there are about 3 or 4 holes in succession that are basically the same shot (I am thinking of the 5, 6, 7, 8 combo). Would really have liked to have seen some type of sidehill shot in there somewhere. I know that you can only work with what parks gives you, but seems like there would have been room in there somewhere. Some of the fairways play rather close to another (5 and 18, 6 and 7). Not sure that it is possible to fix that now... just be careful out there. When I was there yesterday, hole 18 was surrounded by 1 foot deep of water. This is an easy correction that would be nice to change... add some fill dirt or make some drainage.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is a great course. Probably the best in the area that I have seen for practicing. I was really impressed with how well most of the course drained (except hole 18 see above). I would definitely recommend this course for anybody just travelling through. It is worth the stop. This course has potential in the future to bump up to a 4.0 rating for me with fixing the hole 18 drainage problem and doing something with hole 2... anything. It is definitely the largest issue with the course from what I can tell. I would like to see many of the small ditches sprayed off for a tournament. I am really thinking the ditch between 4 and 14... maybe the ditch along 6,7,8.... and definitely the ditch that crosses 10. This would definitely boost the SSE/difficulty. Would definitely make a difference in point spread for the course without being gimmicky. I am thinking of how Idlewild sprays off their ditches for their tournaments. Really enjoyed playing this course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

a must play course

5+    1/20/2014   1/24/2014
Review By: KyNitro
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Fort Massac DGC is a very beautiful and challenging course. A good mix of par 3's and 4's. I think it was played out perfectly and will improve with age. One of my personal favorite places to play.
Cons: Very few cons, but hopefully some will get straightened out. Hole number 2 is overly wooded and needs a few trees cut. You have to park at the far end of the course and if something came up and you have to leave your in for a long walk. Don't let that keep you from playing this fantastic course

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

NIce

2-4    9/1/2013   9/16/2013
Review By: tdortch
Played: 62  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 8.4 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very challenging course. There are lots of lines, but if you don't hit them, you will hit a tree. Elevation changes, hidden baskets, very nice view of the river at the turn, tricky hillside placement for a few baskets, tight lines, long and short holes - this course has all of that.

And, what it doesn't have is Sticker bushes, Nettles, Poison Ivy. Probably about 90% of the course is free of these pests, and so long as you don't have an errant shot, you won't hit that stuff even on the holes where it's close.

It's also in a pretty busy park, but the folks in the park don't ever really get in the way. I played on Labor day weekend and we never had to worry about playing into a group of people that were there for grilling, etc.

If you park in the right spot (near hole 6, more on that in the 'con' section), you are near your car at least 3 times, which is great for those hot summer days or a quick run through a few holes at lunch.
Cons: The parks guy decided he didn't want DGers parking at one of the most popular pavilions, so he renumbered the holes. If you start at hole 1, which is near the trout pond, you are actually outside the park when you leave your car. You won't see it again until hole 18, and it's a long walk if you decide to quit after 9 - across the entire park! If they make this a mandatory parking spot for disc golf, they just wasted a bunch of money, 'cuz a lot of locals are already up in arms about it.

There are so many trees on some of the holes that there really is no line at all. Hole 2 is probably the worst offender. They are supposed to cut some down, however (not just for us, these trees were set to come down already), so that should help some. But for now, 2 is a TLS - total luck shot. No amount of skill can purposely wind thru trees like that!

Locals don't know much about the sport yet, and they might grab your disc. This is to be expected though, and as the course ages, this problem should go away.
Other Thoughts: This course reminds me of Jefferson Barracks in St Louis. That is high praise indeed, because that is among my favorites in that area. But, the layout, long drives, rolling hills, and the general look of the park are all very reminiscent of JB. I'd recommend a stop here if you're near....or even if you're not!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

My new Home Course

2-4    9/3/2013   9/5/2013
Review By: zackery77
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great layout, Challenging pin placement, variety of terrain, forces you to use different discs
Cons: Long course, tee pads not installed yet, no signage to direct a player from hole to hole, not many defined lines yet
Other Thoughts: This will be an excellent course when the tee pads are put in and the limbs are trimmed. A rec level tee for each hole would be great and allow all levels of players to throw alongside each other without the good players getting bored or the new guys feeling horrible about their lack of distance or high score.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center