Urbana, OH 
Melvin Miller Park Share
Uploaded By: sisyphus Hole #13 (Taken 3/2014)
3 / 200ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee Sign



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Perfect coarse for Urbana!

5+    7/15/2014   7/30/2014
Review By: Barefooter
Played: 55  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 2.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good mix of shots.
First five holes are good to warm up the arm.
I like the tee pads, i hope they hold up.
This coarse was desperately needed in the area.
Two local dudes are totally dedicated to this coarse, they are champs.
Cons: The good citizens of Urbana are not good with change, it will take some time for the community to 'get' disc golf, until then, vandalism.
Other Thoughts: This coarse is 10 miles from my parents house and the 12th coarse we visited on summer vacation, I am very pleased with it, and look forward to playing it many time in the future.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    7/14/2014   7/15/2014
Review By: jscincy1
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Good uses of space
-Fair amount of ace runs for all players
-Good amount of proper shot selection is needed
-There are a few "wow" moments with holes on this course
Cons: -not a fan of the asphalt (even though they have been resurfaced)
-the first 5 holes can be difficult to play depending on how busy the park is
-not enough trash cans and benches
-I feel like 17 is a bit of overkill in distance given the fact it is uphill and even for a intermediate player makes you not want to play the course again.
-Some of the playground equipment is a nice touch on holes... personal though I am not a fan.
Other Thoughts: The layout of the course worked well with what it had. I think I may be the only one to say this: This course reminds me nothing of Englewood. In fact I think it reminds more of the course in Kettering than anything. All in all I wouldn't make a trip for it, but as a last second stop on a trip or if you live in the area it is worth it to play it once.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/8/2014   6/12/2014
Review By: discrev
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: -lots of variety
-minimal weeds and well maintained
-excellent design and holes, flows nicely around interesting park playsets
-use of all types of throws
-the tee pads were once poor but they have redone them and they are now good, the pads are just temporary until they will be paved
-the length of the tee off pad is longer than standard
-great signage
Cons: -no pro tees at the moment but they will come soon
-once you have gotten into the woods trash cans and benches are minimal
Other Thoughts: Great course that is comparable to the Medina course in Northern Ohio

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Nice new course with potential (Updated 6/17/14)

1    5/23/2014   5/23/2014
Review By: lildragon
Played: 40  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 19.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/17/2014
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Great signage
- Nice flow from hole to hole
- Excellent use of the given terrain
- Practice basket
- Lil bit of everything here
- Great upkeep! It's only been a month since I first played here, and they've redone all the tees and added benches and mulched the heavy mud areas
Cons: - (No longer an issue, all new teeboxes for every hole!) Broken/Poor asphalt on some of the teeboxes
- Benches?
- Trashcans?
Other Thoughts: The course starts you off gently with some shorter opening holes. Then you get some nice "pick your poison" lanes as you wind thru the woods. There are some interesting sculptures/playground obstacles as you play which add some character, like the train. The last 4 holes were my favorite as they're in a wide open area with good length so you can grip and rip for those nice bombs.

All in all it's a great start for the course. I would rate it higher if not for the poorly made teeboxes on some holes. For a new course that's just a letdown. There are large chunks missing from at least 2 or 3 boxes, you'd swear they were there for 10 years it's that bad. I would love some long teeboxes too, but you can't always get what you want :)

(Update 6/17/14)

I would rate the course a 3.75 now!

They have re-done every teebox on the course, which was sorely needed on some holes. There are also many new benches placed strategically around the course and they have mulched the areas that were mud swamps.

Makes a nice course, that much more enjoyable already. I would rate it as a 4.0 if they had long tees too :)

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Another solid course in the area

1    4/11/2014   4/11/2014
Review By: AnimeJ
Played: 12  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 2.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Very well laid out
- Requires a well rounded shot selection
- Excellent signage
- Navigation is generally easy and intuitive

On the whole, this is an outstanding course. It's a relaxing round for a more advanced player, and a challenge to those who are of more intermediate or beginner skill. All holes have a clearly identifiable line to the basket, with several in the woods requiring good control in order to hit them.

While the majority of holes aren't particularly long, save 17, the course presents a cohesive, enjoyable experience from the first hole, to the 18th.
Cons: - Some teepads need work
- The transition from hole 13 - 14 could use additional signage to clarify flow
- No benches on any holes
- Very few trash cans on the course

Most of the issues with the course are of a facilties nature. Things like a bench here and there, or trash cans, or the difficulty in finding a restroom(I was unable to locate one in the park). However, none of these things, save teepads, are major detractors from the expereince.
Other Thoughts: As I mentioned up front, this isn't a particularly challenging course in the same way that Buck Creek or HAH is. However, I don't really feel like that's a major issue. The course feels a great deal like Englewood, which is a personal favorite in the area, and having another course of that caliber is exceptionally welcome IMO.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Excellent Variety

2-4    3/15/2014   3/15/2014
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 163  Reviewed: 139  Exp: 3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The only course in Urbana, Ohio, Melvin Miller comes out of the gate strong. The brand new Innova DiscCatchers on all 18 holes (plus a practice basket) are numbered and have next tee arrows, even though course flow is relatively intuitive in all but one spot. There are large boxed asphalt tees, trash receptacles, and it's obvious when you get into the woods that the work crews here have lovingly spent AGES clearing brush and the most obstructing trees.

Don't let this course fool you: if you're an advanced disc golfer, don't bail out on the first few easy holes. They're just a warm-up. You big arms will get your chance before it's all over. You'll play five park-like holes up and along the hill, enter the woods on 6 thinking the fairways are going to be too generously cleared, then you'll likely crack a grin when you come to hole 7. A beautiful lane 275 footer where a good shot will dig into the ridge below the pin, but where a tree kick OR a rollaway putt spoils the deuce.

Just when you think all the holes are easy rhbh fades and hyzers, you'll encounter the big down hill, left to right sweeping hole 8, the ridiculously guarded L-R 9, and so on. Gradually, you'll work your way from easy looking ace runs on the anny (again, rhbh) hole 11 and the fade 13, through the longer, wooded 14, and pop out into the open for the finishing holes, two of which are over 400 feet, and one humongous uphill 540 footer that tees off between the trunks of an old tree in the corner of the park.

The park itself has almost everything you'd expect in activities for the rest of the family (see park website link for some details).

In all, I felt there were several memorable holes out here, with some difficulty for the Intermediate level player (where I'm at), but enough fun ace - deuce holes to keep it light and fun. The variety is impressive and well-appreciated.
Cons: It is an absolute shame that he asphalt tee pads didn't set up right. They are crumbling to gravel in spots, even though they've just gone in.

There are too many places on this course where hikers and other non-disc golfers WILL be in the woods with you. You'll usually be able to see the play equipment, but note that there are two pieces IN the 12th green. Even if a thousand warning signs were put up, it is up to the disc golfer to NEVER release a disc unless absolutely certain even the worst shanked shot is safe, so be alert when you play, please.

The one spot with difficult course flow is between the 13th and 14th holes. You'll cross the service road, note the arrow on the tree pointing the way, and walk a muddy/ swampy (in springtime) path about 400' to the next tee.
Other Thoughts: Don't turn in at the main park entrance, but drive on to Edinger road next to the woods. You'll see baskets on your left, then turn in and park near the practice basket.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Nice course

1    3/8/2014   3/9/2014
Review By: DiscCommander
Played: 19  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Starts out on a couple of nice warm up holes that are fairly short, then you get a little more technical entering the woods, about half the course is wooded and has a lot of right turning holes. The tee pads are longer so your run up is better. The baskets are marked with arrows for the next holes and are easy to follow. This park is really neat though it also has a skatepark and an rc car track.
Cons: Even though the tee pads are long they are asphalt, never seen them like that before, they are not in the greatest if shape either. Kind of ashame this being are new course. I'm not sure how busy the park is in the summer but the course is close to a few playground equipment.
Other Thoughts: Drove about an hour to go play this course and I am really looking forward to playing it again real soon

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

fun little course

1    9/28/2013   9/28/2013
Review By: jimcramer24
Played: 21  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice use of the land. Lots of fun holes.
Cons: Most of the markings are good directing you to the next hole. There were a few holes that were a little confusing on where the next one is, but other than that, not bad.

Not all tee pads are done, but I could find a spot where the pad will be eventually, so it wasn't bad either.

Hole #1 may be a challenge to play sometimes, as it seems that a lot of people park along the road there.
Other Thoughts: What a fun course to play. With the exception of hole 1, all the holes were accessible and a ton of fun to play.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Something for Everyone

1    9/21/2013   9/21/2013
Review By: cad77
Played: 66  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 10.4 Years
This review was updated on 11/16/2013
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice use of elevation. Wide, beginner friendly fairways in the woods. The recycled asphalt teepads will be nice when they are all installed.
Cons: This is a multi-use park, and the potential for problems with non-golfers on the fairways is very real. Several holes have old playground equipment right on the fairways. This afternoon, spectators for the softball games were parking their cars on fairway #1, and I counted at least three dozen beer cans lying on the grass around the practice basket and tee #1. Very disappointing, and I did not expect that a family-friendly park would put up with that kind of behavior.
Other Thoughts: Interesting layout, with several bomber holes for the big arms, and nice, wide fairways in the not-too-technical wooded holes. Right-handed players will have to bring a good anny or sidearm game to make par on several holes in the woods. Personally, I would have preferred tighter wooded holes, but beginners shouldn't have too much trouble, and pros can shoot a lot of birdies in these woods. Several fun downhill shots, and the uphill shots are not that difficult.
This is a brand new course, and once the tees are completed, and signs are installed, it should be a very popular course. The old (probably unused) playground equipment on some of the wooded holes will probably be removed (I hope!), or else some real problems could develop.

Now that the tees and signs are in, I had to give the course a 4.0. My favorite holes are the more technical ones, numbers 7, 12, and 14, but this course is full of fun holes.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.