North Yarmouth, ME 
Bittersweet Ridge Disc Golf Share
Uploaded By: snappyfingers Hole #18 (Taken 8/2013)
4 / 356ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Approach



Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Premiere Maine Disc Golf Location

5+    8/24/2014   9/3/2014
Review By: Discobedience
Played: 81  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Bittersweet Ridge is my favorite course in the state of Maine. Between the player experience, the staff and the course itself, there is no other place I would rather toss my discs. Currently BSR has 1 fully completed course with one more nearing completion. There is a fully stocked clubhouse lined with discs and extras as well as hydration and sustenance for the course.

The original course plays great with a borderline pitch and putt on the front 9 followed up by a challenging and creative back 9. When the course was designed they managed to capture the vast majority of what you would look for in a course. You get a variety of shots; long and short, up and down, hyzer and anhyzer.

There are few times you step up to a tee and feel like you've played a similar hole. I'm not suggesting that you need a stuffed bag to the navigate the course, rather a good handle on the few discs you will need to be successful. On any given day, your higher level players are capable of shooting a 10 down or the next round the course might bite you for a couple over.

The community at Bittersweet is also a huge pro. The course is always busy, but not too busy to be enjoyable. I never have to make plans to meet a friend there as there is always someone pleasant kicking around to play a round with. Bittersweet plays doubles on Thursdays nights and will occasionally host a tournament or charity event.
Cons: Honestly, there are very few things that I would consider a con at Bittersweet. As mentioned in the upper section the front 9 can play a little short, but on the other side of that coin, it provides plenty of ace run opportunities. Out of 18 holes I would only call 2 of them desperately easy birdies. Keep your eyes open while walking around the course as the roots can seemingly jump up and grab you by the foot. Not only do they trip you up occasionally, they most certainly stop skipping discs from advancing towards the basket.
Other Thoughts: If you're going to play golf in Maine, you better make sure this is one of the stops on your list. As the second course is just months from being playable we are all looking forward to Bittersweet being one of the best disc golf destinations in New England.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    5/25/2014   6/1/2014
Review By: reposado
Played: 206  Reviewed: 204  Exp: 3.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: For someone who grew up in these parts, Bittersweet is like playing in your backyard. If your backyard had a sweet disc golf course in it. The layout is on the short side but theirs is quite a bit of elevation and it weaves nicely through the trees. Honestly, I had this one pegged as a 3.0 until the stretch from 12 to 16. The holes get a bit longer and the elevation increases mightily. Overall, it's got a cool vibe with a decent amount of variety and elevation all over the course. The fairways are wooded but are typically very generous. A slightly above average course with one stretch approaching greatness.

Bittersweet does a nice job of catering to different skill levels. Mid-level players will be the most at home here but I can't imagine newer players being turned off. There is even a sign that suggests they skip a few of the tougher holes and a path provides an easy way for them to do so.

Aesthetically, the course is well on the way to gorgeous. Step up to the tee on 9, where the fairway drops off dramatically in front of you. Peer through the gap in the trees just in front of you and check out the gracefully curving hillside, begging you to throw a sweeping hyzer that bends with the hill and around the protrusion of vegetation. When you turn the bend on 12 and seethe basket high on the hill, it's a real moment. Or stand on 13 and ponder where to throw a completely blind shot down a perilous slope.
Cons: It definitely needs more wearing in. Occasionally, the distinction between fairway and rough is minimal. There are places where alternate routes are available that seem not to be intended. Some of that is places where some more needs to grow in.

While the entire course looks great, and there are some nice basket placements, the course doesn't bring much challenge for the first half of the round. A lot of open looks at the basket and fairways are a bit on the wide side. Definitely not a course that really considers par or landing zones.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Potential, lots of it.

1    4/14/2014   4/21/2014
Review By: Chris Main
Played: 11  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 1.3 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Friendly owner and regular players, always a plus. Course layout does not require you to be a particularly long driver. Tees are good. Some of the holes are scenic and give you and excellent vantage to watch your shots. Worth the trip.
Cons: Overall course design favors backhanders. Here is another Maine course that will not be friendly to beginners; no forward tees & way too many trees (discouraging to new players, they don't return). Also, many 'pro' level players were present the day I played, and while it was awesome to watch them chew up the course, they were not all that friendly to the average player that I am (rand dubs).
Other Thoughts: Another course being built as we speak, with a design philosophy that should result in a longer more open course, good things.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Simple pleasure

1    9/21/2013   9/22/2013
Review By: ErockTads
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great new course for the area. There is nice tee pads and new baskets. There arent many long holes, but there are some challenging ones. The elevation gain and loss in the back 9 are very fun and provide some challenge. This being a new course to the area isnt going to receive a whole lot of traffic this year and so I will be going back as much as I can in the next few weeks.
Cons: Its new, so there is some "breaking in" that still needs to take place. The course was well maintained, but a little more clearing of some of the stumps in the fairway would be nice. Aside from that, this is my type of rustic course. Again, not too many long holes, but it still makes for a challenging outing.
Other Thoughts: This is a no frills operation, worth a trip if you're in the area!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.