San Antonio, TX 
McClain Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #9
3 / 297ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Well On It's Way

2-4    6/12/2014   6/16/2014
Review By: jimjohnmarks
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Long and short tees almost all the way around.
Great mix of technical woods and big open distance.
Excellent use of elevation and terrain changes.
Great signage and well maintained
Cons: Several pins only have one tee pad that really need a second one. Given how much harder some of the long pins are on the first half of the course, the lack of them on some of the easier, shorter pins in the back makes that section of the course a lot less challenging, comparatively.

Indicators on baskets of the direction of the next tee pad and indicators on the sign of which basket position is currently in operation would really speed up play, as well.
Other Thoughts: This would be a 4 or 4.5 review if the course had a full set of long tees, but more importantly, the change in the past year to the pin position of #8 is a serious problem. The pin is still only rated as a par 3 and yet the final 100 feet to the basket is (a) a more than 90 degree turn from the fairway (b) through a complete pinball machine of trees with no real fairway to speak of. Even left handed you have almost no hope of placing your drive anywhere that's actually helpful as your second shot _will be_ facing a wall of trees no matter where you put it.

The rule of thumb is that a fairway is something you can drive a small car through. While in theory you could drive a car from this tee pad to this basket, the last 100 feet would hardly be in what anyone would call a throwable line. They really need to either open up _some_ throwable line from the fairway to the basket or they need to make this a par 4. It is very frustrating to put a drive on a hole that technical about 40 feet from the pin and still end up with absolutely no chance at a bird because you can't even see the chains.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 ill keep playing it

2-4    7/21/2012   7/30/2012
Review By: skiper220
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Provides challenging shots but not overly hard. It was a few easy wholes to recover on, if you like water hazards
Cons: needs to be cleaned up a little. If you dont like water hazards there are a few wholes to avoid
Other Thoughts: its a must play

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/27/2012   7/29/2012
Review By: lukebro22
Played: 15  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Excellent design with several tee placements. most holes have longs and shorts, and theres usually red stakes marking more of a pitch and putt course if that's your fancy. Plenty of shade for summer rounds. Nice flow and signage, 1, 9, 10, and 18 are all within a short walk to the parking lot. there are not a lot of great courses in SA area but this one is worth playing.
Cons: Lots of trash for my round the other day, regulars need to do a better job maintaining, i know they don't get much help from parks and rec so it's up to the players to keep it clean. The trash was a recurring source of frustration throughout the round. Several schools nearby so it could very well be students using the course as a place to drink and litter, but it was obvious to me that disc golfers were partially responsible.
Other Thoughts: When the course is clean, it's closer to a 4.0, when its dirty it's closer to a 3.0. Fun and challenging course, the local club has a ceanup at the end of every month so the course should be in good condition during the early days of the month.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 McClain's Challenge

1    2/21/2012   2/21/2012
Review By: hefalump
Played: 23  Reviewed: 19
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a course that I put off for a long time playing but has been recommended to me several times. This course has several good challenge holes. I can't think of any better than 5 & 6. Hole 5 has a couple of good throws (about 100 feet each) to a steep embankment where you have to toss up to the basket. Tough to get this one in par. Hole 6 is a 140 foot throw to a basket that is sitting on the bank of the creek on the same side you are on. If you were to play this hole throwing out over the creek, you would have to throw at least 120 feet without dropping into the creek. There is an overhanging branch that is sitting just right to where your disc could possibly be diverted into the creek itself. I got kicked back on the trail next to the creek, so I avoided losing a disc. Hole 10 reminds me of hole 3 at Searight in Austin. Both are slightly over 500 feet straightaways and look almost exactly the same, except hole 10 here is a little tighter in one place. This course contains great tunnel shots on two or three holes and even a couple of wooded holes where you have to do some tree dodging. Good course layout overall. Not hard to navigate. A little muddy on the first 5 holes, but dries up as you play from hole 6 on back. Good challenge all around. Plenty of trash cans that I could see.
Cons: No restrooms. Messy on the early holes. Needs better parking arrangements. Lots of places to lose a disc or even lose your footing if you're not careful.
Other Thoughts: This course is comparable to Universal City in it's make-up and looks. I would be hard pressed to say which one I liked better, so I will say I like both equally.I would definitely play here again. This course is a fun 18 holes and I would recommend it to any disc golfer in San Antonio.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Who the heck is McClain? I want to meet him!

1    1/13/2011   7/10/2011
Review By: harr0140
Played: 715  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/11/2011
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Practice basket available at the first tee area.

2) Nice sign and map at the entrance. Nicely landscaped entrance to the course also . . . not something you usually see on a disc golf course.

3) Signs have all the pertinent info Hole # Par, Distance, and a hole map . . .always positive for a first timer and traveller like myself.

4) Nice diversity on this course in regards to shot selection and hole design.

5) Foliage density is a big plus as it forces some real shot making to be needed on a lot of these holes.

6) Very Blair Witch feeling . . . little stones and branches placed in piles to line fairways and walkways between holes.

7) #3 has a very well done retaining wall. Proper and attractive landscaping is becoming one of my favorite things to see on a course because most other courses seemt o throw whatever they can together. Owning a landscape company really makes me appreciate good work when I see it.

8) Water is visible on a few holes although it seemed to mostly be right off the tee. They used the creek well however especially on one hole.

9) Elevation change was used as well as possible on this course.

10) 3 sets of tees to offer a completely different course for all skill levels.

11) Awesome rock wall out in the back corner of the course. It is quite a feature to this already great course.

12) 5 and 6 are two very unique holes and are worth playing this whole course just because of those holes!!

13 Nice concrete tees on this course and they are appreciated because of how wet it can get.
Cons: 1) Walks from #3 to #4 is tough and also from 9 to 10. It can be confusing and hard to figure out for a beginner or traveller.

2) The hole across the power wire right of way seems really unnatural and is also really tough to see the basket because it is tucked right into the edge of the woods.

3) Seemed to be a lot of garbage around this course. I just don't rem

4) As seems to be the same on almost all TX courses so far . . . compaction and erosion are factors on this course. Mulch could be needed in spots to diminish the impact of the visual on this course.
Other Thoughts: This is just another great course in Texas . . .well designed, cool property, nice challenge, nice variety . . . what more can you ask for? I would be here all the time too!!!!

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 well maintained and fairly easy

2-4    11/26/2010   11/27/2010
Review By: johncourt
Played: 26  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 12.3 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course is well maintained. The tees are all in good shape and the baskets are all there and marked. Each tee has post with hole info. The course has a good variety of open fairways and ones through the woods. The vegetation is thick but easy to search for a disc (little high grass). The occasional ravine is also a welcome treat.
Cons: The course is a little too generic. I feel if you were to play this a few times it would become very easy and monotonous. The deep and disgusting looking water at hole 18 tee was a worry for me. Would not want to unluckily hit a tree and have to fish my disc out of that murky water.
Other Thoughts: I was visiting for Thanksgiving and McClain Park provided a great place to disc golf for the day. Props to whoever maintains the course. I hope all of San Antonio's courses are this nice (hopefully a little more technical).

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 McClain

5+    12/20/2009   12/26/2009
Review By: mfcastillo17
Played: 77  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 8.3 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very challenging course that puts a premium on accuracy and placement. There are many birdies out there, but playing too aggressive can really make the strokes pile up. You can make quite a few birdies and still find yourself over par. A good thumber will help you quite a bit.
Cons: Can become very muddy if not unplayable after a rain. Some people can't seem to pick up their trash. Vandals like to paint graffiti on the course. Water in creeks can become murky making it impossible to retrieve your discs.
Other Thoughts: Since I have moved to SA, I have seen the pride that SADC puts into this course. I really wish that everyone would share that same pride and not trash and deface this great course.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 McClain Park

5+    3/22/2009   3/23/2009
Review By: texasemt13
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.7 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A beautiful course that takes advantage of the local landscape. You would never think that this course would be tucked away inside Loop 1604. It's such a nice retreat from the city which is just outside its boundaries. This course will definitely test your skill level, as many holes are designed for specific shots. This course is designed for players with shot control.
Cons: Be prepared to fight trees and incline shots. But none to ridiculous.
Other Thoughts: This course is on the backside of an elementary school so be careful.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Very good all around

1    4/2/2008   8/26/2008
Review By: Olorin
Played: 303  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 35.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/10/2012
18 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
There are a couple of really cool holes, but what stands out about McClain is that it has a total package that includes almost everything you'd want in a course.
On the Design side there's a very good balance of fairway shapes with 7 St/ 4 Lt/ 6 R/ 1 S. And there's a tremendous variety of hole lengths ranging from 140 to 605 ft. (3<199/ 7<299/ 4<399/ 2<499/ 1 of 503/ 1 of 605). The terrain is what I think of as quintessential Texan- rather rough and dry, a bit dusty, with some gnarled trees, and dry creek beds. I liked it!
It's got all of the Basics covered quite well- excellent tee signs with good maps, very good long trapezoid cement tees, good double chain Discatcher baskets.
The course has almost all of the Amenities covered too-- a very clear map and scorecard are available online. There's a warm up basket, an excellent message board, plus lots of benches and trash cans.
Add up the sum total of the Design, Basics, and Amenities and you've got a very good course!
Cons:
These are really just minor quibbles
The tees for holes 10 and 17 were hard to find, even with the map.
The course is predominantly flat, with 11 holes that are flat (but you have to use the land you've got).
There's no restroom.
Other Thoughts:
Course Level: Blue (most suitable for Advanced players rated 925-975)

My favorite hole- 6. (The signature hole) A short hole over a dry "stream" bed that could easily be aced, but it also has plenty of risk vs. reward. The safe hyzer route to the right is more obstructed, so you're more tempted to take the riskier straight shot.

The majority of the course has good solid holes that may not "Wow!" you, but a few are exceptionally good (6, 16), several are quite good (5, 7, 12), and none are lame. It's definitely worthy of adding to your Wish List of courses to play.

A note about my rating: My rating is a subjective measure of my enjoyment of the course, on the day I played it, and it is NOT intended to be a measure of the quality of the course. My Enjoyment Ratings are given "on the curve" in relation to all other courses I've played.

Look in the "Links/Files" section for my files with Hole-by-hole ratings and a more detailed Overall review. You can also read more of my review philosophy and rating notes at Disc Golf Course Reviews
----------
I'm always trying to improve my reviews, so if you mark this review unhelpful or you find a mistake, please send me a Personal Message here on DGCR to tell me what is wrong with it. I'll be grateful for the feedback.

18 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 McClain Review

5+    8/16/2008   8/19/2008
Review By: JerryChesterson
Played: 150  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 20 Years
13 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Nice Mixture of long and short holes
- Lots of lines on the holes
- Very thumber friendly (but by no means required to do well)
- Lots of birdieable holes, however if not executed correctly can easily bogey any hole on the course
- Very secluded feel for an in town course
- All concrete tee pads, good baskets, trash cans
Cons: - Doesn't have many ammenities, only one pavillion, no bathroom, no running water, no BBQ, etc.
- Shares a parking lot with an elementry school
Other Thoughts: This course contains some very rugged shule. If you are off the fairway, chances are you'll likely have to just pitch out.

There are numerous (both types and quantity) of snakes on this course. Be carefull.

13 of 14 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.