San Antonio, TX 
McClain Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #1
3 / 249ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    3/14/2013   3/28/2013
Review By: tkmcdougal
Played: 153  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 6.6 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Wow, this course is awesome. They have a great map at the start. I also really liked the nice tee pads and DISCatchers. I love the elevation change that is throughout the course. It starts out with hole 1,3,5,6,17. McClain has great technicality but not too much, it was definitely a perfect mix. There is a really good mix of open and wooded holes. The course was laid out nicely and everything was in great condition. I loved hole 5 shooting up the hill was a really fun shot. Right after hole 6 was a nice fun down hill shot that was very tight.
Cons: There are very few cons. The sidewalk that goes throughout the first holes is dangers for walkers( there are signs warning them). A few of the holes were too open for me like hole 10. Hole 10 also is a little bit of a far walk.
Other Thoughts: I think this is the best course in San Antonio. I was very pleased with the layout and the use of elevation throughout.

Parking for McClain is in a school parking lot. So walk down the hill toward the first tee. There is also a practice basket.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Pretty darn close to perfect

5+    5/5/2012   1/13/2013
Review By: windsurf17
Played: 15  Reviewed: 10
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros:
McClain is right in the middle of a good sized city but isn't a clogged city park. It has an excellent mix of fairways and challenges, only lacking significant elevation changes. The holes aren't maniacally long but pose reasonable challenges. I like how this course is tucked away but right in the city and it's just plain fun.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

best all around course

5+    1/2/2013   1/5/2013
Review By: Hammer Time
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.6 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This course had a little bit of everything. From long straight fairways to shorter technical shorts this course will challenge you. As others have stated, holes 5 and 6 are the signature holes at this course and you will want to throw multiple drives.
Cons: Not many negatives with this course. If it hasn't been mowed in awhile than the open fairway on 13 could be a negative if the wind catches the disc making it hard to find if you lose it around the corner off the long tee.
Other Thoughts: Excellent course. Play it weekly and always excited to go back

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A little mud, but a lot of fun!

1    5/31/2010   6/1/2010
Review By: BewareOfPenguin
Played: 13  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.3 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice course with a fair share of technical shots. A few of the holes place an emphasis on being able to toss a tight, laser beam kind of throw. This is due to trees lining the fairway, both on the sides and overhanging. The creek that weaves its way through the course at numerous locations really adds another level of difficulty during rainy seasons.

I would agree that Hole #5 is the signature hole for this course. It features a dogleg to the right, a creek crossing and an elevated shot at the basket. I'll admit that the elevation change was an unexpected surprise. Hole #6 is a cool one as well. During a dry spell, I might have been tempted to go for broke and take a direct shot at the basket. But since the creek was quite full, I played it safe and went around the dogleg to settle for par.
Cons: The course definitely lives up to the hype about being muddy. It appears that some of the locals have taken to driving their ATV's on the course. This only helps to make the muddy mess worse by tearing up the grass and creating ruts where water can collect. The tee box for #10 can be difficult to find if you're not familiar with the course. Unfortunately, the basket for #10 can be even harder to find. Mainly because it's not there. The mounting base is there, but the basket is gone. Parking in a school parking lot is kind of a bummer. A few of the tees are missing their maps and/or par and footage signs.
Other Thoughts: I found myself in San Antonio with only enough time to play one course. I'm pretty glad to come to play this one. I would definitely come back and do it again. Though I'll be sure to bring a change of footwear this time.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent yet Slippery course

1    2/17/2010   2/21/2010
Review By: Froztfx
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: A lot of challenging shots, you want to play more for accuracy and placing your discs rather than pure power. You have a great mixture of hard & fairly easy holes.
Cons: You want to make sure it hasn't rained in ohh I would say a month lol. The course is VERY muddy in spots the back 9 isn't near as bad as holes 2-8ish.
Other Thoughts: There was a little trash on the course and not many trash cans.

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 McClain

1    10/29/2009   10/29/2009
Review By: todd75
Played: 35  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 26.7 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Awsome course In San Antonio. Plenty of technical shots and several long strong arm shots.
Cons: Not so great in the end of Oct. Bring your waterproof boots. The creeks are very deep in several spots.
Other Thoughts: A couple of bridges to help with winter play would be nice

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course in N San Antonio

1    6/5/2009   6/5/2009
Review By: drgnslyr221
Played: 25  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 10.6 Years
This review was updated on 9/18/2009
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: great tees!The hole signs are great (though a lot of them are missing).

Great variety of lengths of the holes.While most holes are wooded it will let you grip it and rip it on occasion.

Two great Ace runs at 6 and 16.Hole 6 is a great short hole.about 140 feet going down a creek bed.about 80 feet behind the basket is severely downhill that will make a hyzer shot go way long if missed.Hole 16 goes right along the same creek bed ending with the basket on the edge of an elbow in the creek.

The fairways are well maintained and make the course look like a ball golf course.

No poison plants that I could see.

Great park setting with benches to relax at after or between rounds.
Cons: HEAVY foliage with thorns thick trees and cactus's.I spent half my time retrieving discs from thorn infested trees.This wouldn't matter if it wasn't for the fact that most of them were just 10 feet of the fairway.

Some of the holes are hard to find without a map (thank God for my Iphone).

There are some would be great lines that could be opened up with only tearing down a few trees and some foilage.
Other Thoughts: Moving from DFW to San Antonio I was disappointed in the number of courses in San Antonio.Luckily I'm only 20 minutes from this course and I'm proud to call this my new home course.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Ya Baby!!

5+    10/30/2008   2/16/2009
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 126  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 13.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/12/2009
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Super fun course with some really great holes!! Lots of shade, lots of tight shots. Good mix though because there are some boomers but even those are in the woods. I saw a con on another review saying if your off the fairways you cant save par, Isnt that what disc golf is supposed to be? One of my favorite. Watch out for the couple of signature holes out here, you'll know them when you see them and your mouth will drop
Cons: Parking in the school lot sucks. Kind of hard to find some pads first couple times out, but after your first round your good. Some of the water is nasty and deep so losing plastic could be an issue.
Other Thoughts: Dont pass up playing here!

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Had a Blast!

2-4    12/27/2008   12/29/2008
Review By: kpc2004
Played: 41  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The park is in good condition, with a lot of very interesting holes. The elevation change on some make for very tough but makeable shots. I was from out of town and played while the locals were having a saturday morning mini and they were very welcoming. They told me that they meet just about every saturday and registration is by 9:15, tourny begins at 9:30. There are also hand-crafted benches on every hole, which comes in handy when taking a break from the san antonio heat.
Cons: if you stray from the fairway, it is near impossible to save par. there is also a lot of thorns and sharp branches located all over the course, so do your best to keep your shots straight and on the fairway.
Other Thoughts: the park is dedicated to an Aggie who died in the tragic bonfire accident. I am from an Aggie family, so the idea of honoring him by naming a DGC after him seemed pretty neat to me.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.