San Antonio, TX 
McClain Park Share
Uploaded By: Midnightbiker Hole #1 (Taken 11/2008)
3 / 249ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee

Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 best all around course

5+    1/2/2013   1/5/2013
Review By: Hammer Time
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.6 Years
2 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: This course had a little bit of everything. From long straight fairways to shorter technical shorts this course will challenge you. As others have stated, holes 5 and 6 are the signature holes at this course and you will want to throw multiple drives.
Cons: Not many negatives with this course. If it hasn't been mowed in awhile than the open fairway on 13 could be a negative if the wind catches the disc making it hard to find if you lose it around the corner off the long tee.
Other Thoughts: Excellent course. Play it weekly and always excited to go back

2 of 10 people found this review helpful.


1    9/20/2012   10/4/2012
Review By: swatso
Played: 401  Reviewed: 356  Exp: 7.2 Years
9 Helpful / 3 Not

10' long, trapezoidal concrete tees. Alternate (typically closer) natural tee locations, if you know where to look. Excellent teesigns.

Two nine-hole loops. Online map makes the course a cinch for a first-time visitor to navigate.
Single pin position. Definitely some chance of disc loss, more so on the back nine.
Other Thoughts:
This course is set in a mixture of trees, brush, and open space, starting at the back of the parking lot behind an elementary school. The majority of the front nine plays tightish, under/amongst the trees, and contains most of the shorter holes (most holes sub 300'). The back nine, for the most part, is more open (sky above you, wider fairways), and longer, too (two longest holes, and half over 300').

A variety of shot shapes are needed from the tee - fairly even blend of straight/left/right/S - and the low canopy, and outreaching branches, will add a vertical challenge on most of the holes, often forcing your throw to start low, sometimes while needing to gain elevation!

A fairly flat course, but does make use of what little elevation is available. More challenging after a rain, such as when I played, as it does increase the amount of out-of-bounds.

Favourite hole: #5. One of the longer holes at 405', lines of trees along both sides create a fair initial lane, and force a moderate right turn at the midpoint. After the turn, the trees begin to narrow a bit, and the basket is still a couple hundred feet away, elevated about 20' atop a ridge.

Good course offering both challenges and opportunities, worth a visit if in the area.

9 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 ill keep playing it

2-4    7/21/2012   7/30/2012
Review By: skiper220
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Provides challenging shots but not overly hard. It was a few easy wholes to recover on, if you like water hazards
Cons: needs to be cleaned up a little. If you dont like water hazards there are a few wholes to avoid
Other Thoughts: its a must play

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.


5+    7/27/2012   7/29/2012
Review By: lukebro22
Played: 15  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Excellent design with several tee placements. most holes have longs and shorts, and theres usually red stakes marking more of a pitch and putt course if that's your fancy. Plenty of shade for summer rounds. Nice flow and signage, 1, 9, 10, and 18 are all within a short walk to the parking lot. there are not a lot of great courses in SA area but this one is worth playing.
Cons: Lots of trash for my round the other day, regulars need to do a better job maintaining, i know they don't get much help from parks and rec so it's up to the players to keep it clean. The trash was a recurring source of frustration throughout the round. Several schools nearby so it could very well be students using the course as a place to drink and litter, but it was obvious to me that disc golfers were partially responsible.
Other Thoughts: When the course is clean, it's closer to a 4.0, when its dirty it's closer to a 3.0. Fun and challenging course, the local club has a ceanup at the end of every month so the course should be in good condition during the early days of the month.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


1    7/27/2012   7/27/2012
Review By: larryth
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.5 Years
0 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: 18 holes
Cons: Barely maintained past first hole; trash & broken glass everywhere, many tunnel shots, hole 4 only encourages lost disc into a polluted creek ravine, and course design fails by hole placement and not considering terrain ( one shot literally has no opening through trese) and winds.
Other Thoughts: Glad to cross it off my to play list but won't be back.

0 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 McClain's Challenge

1    2/21/2012   2/21/2012
Review By: hefalump
Played: 23  Reviewed: 19
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a course that I put off for a long time playing but has been recommended to me several times. This course has several good challenge holes. I can't think of any better than 5 & 6. Hole 5 has a couple of good throws (about 100 feet each) to a steep embankment where you have to toss up to the basket. Tough to get this one in par. Hole 6 is a 140 foot throw to a basket that is sitting on the bank of the creek on the same side you are on. If you were to play this hole throwing out over the creek, you would have to throw at least 120 feet without dropping into the creek. There is an overhanging branch that is sitting just right to where your disc could possibly be diverted into the creek itself. I got kicked back on the trail next to the creek, so I avoided losing a disc. Hole 10 reminds me of hole 3 at Searight in Austin. Both are slightly over 500 feet straightaways and look almost exactly the same, except hole 10 here is a little tighter in one place. This course contains great tunnel shots on two or three holes and even a couple of wooded holes where you have to do some tree dodging. Good course layout overall. Not hard to navigate. A little muddy on the first 5 holes, but dries up as you play from hole 6 on back. Good challenge all around. Plenty of trash cans that I could see.
Cons: No restrooms. Messy on the early holes. Needs better parking arrangements. Lots of places to lose a disc or even lose your footing if you're not careful.
Other Thoughts: This course is comparable to Universal City in it's make-up and looks. I would be hard pressed to say which one I liked better, so I will say I like both equally.I would definitely play here again. This course is a fun 18 holes and I would recommend it to any disc golfer in San Antonio.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 san antonio favorite

5+    11/5/2011   11/18/2011
Review By: Guru10
Played: 39  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 7.6 Years
3 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: -clear course map at the beginning and tee signs throughout the course
-well paced mix of long and short holes
-variety of terrain, including steep hillsides, rough woods and rocky footing. not a typical walk in the park
-well maintained by city and local club
-not far from local businesses, hotels, restaurants, etc.
-ace runs, anyone?
Cons: -lots of traffic during peak hours (it's located behind a school, so look out for kids)
-tight woods and lots of trees might discourage beginners. easy to lose a disc.
-when it rains, it stay wet for a long, long time,
Other Thoughts: Favorite Holes
#5 - when i first played here and came around the bend, my eyes widened. i suddenly truly felt like i was "in the woods".

#6 & 16 - Ace runs for everyone!

all in all, it's a really fun course that one must play when in san antonio.

3 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Getting Skinny

1    7/31/2011   7/31/2011
Review By: BigE
Played: 108  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 13.8 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I really enjoyed this course! The course has a really good mix when it comes to shot variety! It also has a lot of unique holes. They used the given terrain well on each hole interesting and memorable! The fun factor combined with the skill needed to complete each hole. I thrived on needing all the shots in my arsenal to score well. Lots of wildlife to see adding to the experience. 2 sets of tee's was a bonus that offered a different shot all to gether for almost all holes giving new lines to try for each set of tee's. Locals where very nice and let me have a chance to enjoy some competition which is way better than solo.
Cons: Only con for me was the sidewalk they ran right through hole 1 that has you shooting toward a blind corner when it comes to foot traffic. A park patron told me they put the sidewalks in a few months back. So this safety issue which I think is a big no no lies directly on the citys sholder.
Other Thoughts: I will definitely be back as this is one high on the fun factor course. You need to hit a line on this course or you will be in the rough and scrambling to make par!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Who the heck is McClain? I want to meet him!

1    1/13/2011   7/10/2011
Review By: harr0140
Played: 859  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 6.8 Years
This review was updated on 7/11/2011
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Practice basket available at the first tee area.

2) Nice sign and map at the entrance. Nicely landscaped entrance to the course also . . . not something you usually see on a disc golf course.

3) Signs have all the pertinent info Hole # Par, Distance, and a hole map . . .always positive for a first timer and traveller like myself.

4) Nice diversity on this course in regards to shot selection and hole design.

5) Foliage density is a big plus as it forces some real shot making to be needed on a lot of these holes.

6) Very Blair Witch feeling . . . little stones and branches placed in piles to line fairways and walkways between holes.

7) #3 has a very well done retaining wall. Proper and attractive landscaping is becoming one of my favorite things to see on a course because most other courses seemt o throw whatever they can together. Owning a landscape company really makes me appreciate good work when I see it.

8) Water is visible on a few holes although it seemed to mostly be right off the tee. They used the creek well however especially on one hole.

9) Elevation change was used as well as possible on this course.

10) 3 sets of tees to offer a completely different course for all skill levels.

11) Awesome rock wall out in the back corner of the course. It is quite a feature to this already great course.

12) 5 and 6 are two very unique holes and are worth playing this whole course just because of those holes!!

13 Nice concrete tees on this course and they are appreciated because of how wet it can get.
Cons: 1) Walks from #3 to #4 is tough and also from 9 to 10. It can be confusing and hard to figure out for a beginner or traveller.

2) The hole across the power wire right of way seems really unnatural and is also really tough to see the basket because it is tucked right into the edge of the woods.

3) Seemed to be a lot of garbage around this course. I just don't rem

4) As seems to be the same on almost all TX courses so far . . . compaction and erosion are factors on this course. Mulch could be needed in spots to diminish the impact of the visual on this course.
Other Thoughts: This is just another great course in Texas . . .well designed, cool property, nice challenge, nice variety . . . what more can you ask for? I would be here all the time too!!!!

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Very nice course!

2-4    5/25/2011   5/26/2011
Review By: allent
Played: 36  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.3 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is pristine! The tees and baskets were in great shape and even quite a bit of nice landscaping has been done around the course in various spots. The course is pretty easy to navigate, even for a first-timer. I thought this was a very challenging course, though, and it required a large variety of shots...and I played it when it had been very dry so the big murky water hole in front of the 18 tee was the only water I had to contend with. I can only imagine how difficult it would be with water in all of those dry creek beds.
Cons: I can't really say much bad about this course. There was one spot, maybe from 9 to 10 that I wasn't sure exactly where to go, but I whipped out my map that I printed from this site and it was easy to figure out. There are new tee signs needed on a few holes since some new tee boxes have been put in for a "long tees" version of the course.
Other Thoughts: This course offers long tees, regular tees (some holes these first two are the same), and then a short tee version for newbies, kids, or just anyone wanting to work on their approach and putt game or short on time. The short tees are "natural" (either dirt or wood chips). I really liked this course a lot and overall I thought it was a great challenge. Do not miss this course if you are in or around the San Antonio area looking to play some disc golf.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center