San Antonio, TX 
McClain Park Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #6
3 / 140ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee

Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4

1    8/1/2015   8/1/2015
Review By: Zander
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Challenging course, but not too hard. Shaded, Clean, some very hard technical shots/holes. Overall great course.
Cons: Can't really think of any, Oh yea, Some hole signs are missing but thats really all the cons.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

You Can Die Hard On A Couple Of Holes Here!

1    4/3/2015   4/3/2015
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 770  Reviewed: 720  Exp: 37.4 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I don't know anything about this playing the course in reverse stuff. I think I played it forward. The course has concrete tee pads and yellow banded Discatcher baskets. The tee signs that are present give yu good information. This is a nice challenging course playing at a solid intermediate level. Better players will score well under par while us rec players can still enjoy the course and it's challenging side.
# 3 teepads was a nice bit of engineering. The hole is just 287' but the pad is raised and there is a gnarly tree with large branches forcing you to keep your drive low. I liked the looks of this hole a lot.
There are garbage cans and rustic branch benches here too.
Everyone mentions # 5 and # 6 and they both merit acolades as they really are memorable disc golf holes. # 5 is 405 with a dogleg right. The basket is then perched 20-25 feet up on a ledge and there is a swampy moat at the base of the cliffside. Fun hole! Not that incredibly difficult, just fun.
# 6 was actually freakier for me. It's just 140 foot almost completely over the swampy moat with lots of overhanging branches to knock your discs down It's probably a easy little forehand but for us players who don't have a forehand, it's a little tougher. Both of these holes would take on a different complexion after a rain with the moat/creek becoming engorged with flood waters.
I liked # 17 quite a bit with the basket perched just before the deep ditch.
The course ends back at the start which is always good.
Cons: I could see this course being a disaster after a rainstorm of any kind. The crreek alone could cause much havoc throughout the course. And i can see the mud being terribly slippery.
The back nine didn't quite measure up to the front nine, IMO.
Tee signs were missing on # 1, 9, 12, 13, and 17.
There was a garbage can at # 10 and it was overflowing. Who in charge of emtying these?
Other Thoughts: This is an delightful little course here. There were a couple of those signature holes that really stood out for me. Not too many clunkers. For being close to a couple of schools, the grafitti and vandalism was minimal. Middle school students are especially malicious little monsters around disc golf tee sins and baskets. I'd love to see those four missing tee signs replaced. It doesn't sound like this playing the course in reverse thing is real popular. I like the idea of A & B pads.
This is a nice solid course....Yippee-Ki-Yay mother*^%$^&^&#@!

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Challenging and evolving course

5+    2/16/2015   2/22/2015
Review By: frogdog1988
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: I want to start by saying. This is my home course so I may be a little bias. I play here 3+ times per week.

That being said, at the moment the course is in McWrong (reverse) mode. It is a great change, both directions are a lot of fun. This course is the closest by far to my house and I love having to great courses in one location. The reverse mode is a little more of a position course, where placement is key, while in forward mode there are more shot options that open it up to big arm throwers that might not otherwise have as much control to handle the low straight shot that alot of the holes require in reverse. So the reverse kinda evens the playing field in my opinion. Both courses are alot of fun.
Cons: Need a map on the back of the current map that shows the reverse layout.
Other Thoughts: I can't give it a 5 bc there is always more work to be done to make it bigger and better.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Glad I took the time to play.

1    10/8/2014   11/4/2014
Review By: tigerdisclarry
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Nice mix of short, medium, and long shots. Short holes had a good risk/reward balance. You can go for the ace but if you mess up it is likely to be a hassle to get your par. Long shots were fair, not so hard as to keep novices from coming back, but difficult enough to keep advanced players coming back for the challenge. Beautiful course- a great representation of the beauty of the San Antonio area. This one my first time in San Antonio, if I go back, this will definitely be one of my stops.
Cons: Need for it's own parking lot. Schools shouldn't share their parking lot with strangers. One hole was a little confusing on the back nine, probably a work in progress.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Reverse McClain is Bad

5+    7/18/2014   8/18/2014
Review By: kennycramhat
Played: 12  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This course has two layouts now, forwards and backwards. When the course is reversed (backwards) the baskets are near the forwards tee boxes and the tee boxes are near the forwards baskets. This is a review of the backwards layout.

This course has good baskets, an active group of people who keep it clean and in good repair, nice trees (for Texas on the back nine when in reverse), trash cans, park benches at the start and on the course, a little pavilion near the first hole, ample parking when the school isn't in session, a couple of weekly minis, an active Facebook page, night golf opportunities, and locals who are friendly and who will show you around.
Cons: The backwards layout has lots of problems.

There are greens where your disc can land within thirty feet of the basket and you will have no putt because of obstacles (This is true on reverse 2, 4, 5, 6, 7, 13, 15, and 16.).

There are fairways without a clear path to the basket (Reverse 11, 15, and 16.).

There are holes that are well above the ability of the typical disc golfer the course sees (16 for example requires an absolute laser shot 300+ feet long through some tight spaces at the end to an elevated basket that is birdcaged by a bunch of little trees, utterly ridiculous).

There are a number of blind par 3's (2, 5, and 14). There is a table and benches beside the 14 basket. It's an accident waiting to happen.

The reverse course was designed to take away overhead shots from the tee when possible. This often results in a single shot choice from the tee, a low straight shot.
Other Thoughts: Forwards I would rate McClain a 4.0. Backwards I give it a .5. Since it is supposed to be reversed every other month (that was what I was told), I have to give McClain a 4.5 divided by 2 rating (a 2.0).

I'm worried McClain is going to end up like Live Oak when it's done being tinkered with. Live Oak does not have a set 18 holes that people play. There are 30+ holes and when people say they played Live Oak, you have no idea what holes they played.

Instead of reversing the course, I think more tee boxes and permanent alternate baskets should be added. If baskets are too expensive, put up tone poles until baskets can be bought.

Also, there is plenty of room for another 18 north of the current 18. Add those holes instead of messing up the ones that are there.

5 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Well On It's Way

2-4    6/12/2014   6/16/2014
Review By: jimjohnmarks
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Long and short tees almost all the way around.
Great mix of technical woods and big open distance.
Excellent use of elevation and terrain changes.
Great signage and well maintained
Cons: Several pins only have one tee pad that really need a second one. Given how much harder some of the long pins are on the first half of the course, the lack of them on some of the easier, shorter pins in the back makes that section of the course a lot less challenging, comparatively.

Indicators on baskets of the direction of the next tee pad and indicators on the sign of which basket position is currently in operation would really speed up play, as well.
Other Thoughts: This would be a 4 or 4.5 review if the course had a full set of long tees, but more importantly, the change in the past year to the pin position of #8 is a serious problem. The pin is still only rated as a par 3 and yet the final 100 feet to the basket is (a) a more than 90 degree turn from the fairway (b) through a complete pinball machine of trees with no real fairway to speak of. Even left handed you have almost no hope of placing your drive anywhere that's actually helpful as your second shot _will be_ facing a wall of trees no matter where you put it.

The rule of thumb is that a fairway is something you can drive a small car through. While in theory you could drive a car from this tee pad to this basket, the last 100 feet would hardly be in what anyone would call a throwable line. They really need to either open up _some_ throwable line from the fairway to the basket or they need to make this a par 4. It is very frustrating to put a drive on a hole that technical about 40 feet from the pin and still end up with absolutely no chance at a bird because you can't even see the chains.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.


2-4    4/6/2013   4/8/2013
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 153  Reviewed: 120  Exp: 3.4 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is set up right off of an elementary school with a nice map showing the course. There are concrete tees, dual tees on some holes with very descriptive signs on each hole.

This is a very tight wooded course (think Texas Army Trail for Houston golfers) The wooded holes are tough but fair with multiple lines to take on each hole. The course also has a few holes that play out in the open.

The holes that are open like 10, 13 and 17 are very well kept up with short, green grass. Hole 13 is a massive 700+ hole that is the signature of the back 9.

There is plenty of elevation at this course. Hole #5 is THE hole of the course with a long dogleg right and a 30 foot elevation jump up a cliff to the basket. I have played very few courses where a hole jumped out in my mind like this one did.

I found the walking path in the front nine holes quite helpful for navigation and well needed with the mud that was present on the course at the time.

The course is quite simple to follow, with signs pointing you in the right direction when the walk in between holes is long.
Cons: After a good rain this course is an absolute mess. It is the type of mud that cakes to the bottom of your shoes and once dry is impossible to get off your hands and discs.

Even though Holes 5 and 6 are the "signature" holes on the course, footing may be treacherous walking up the steep incline on #5 and walking down the incline if you miss your throw and land in the ravine on #6.

I did not notice any bathrooms, or water on site. This could be problematic at tournaments.
Other Thoughts: This is a good course to have a tournament at. There is plenty of space at the beginning of the park to practice putting and set up.

The course has A LOT of holes that go left to right and that is something that is unique about this course because lefties and flickers could do very well here.

I have now played Universal city and McClain in the San Antonio area. I must say McClain is far and beyond the better course of the two. All kind of shots are necessary to do well here. Accuracy is needed off each tee. A fun time is guaranteed.

After the round go to Mama Margie's Mexican Restaurant a few miles north on I35, it is fast and cheap and a very good meal.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.


1    3/14/2013   3/28/2013
Review By: tkmcdougal
Played: 153  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 7.6 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Wow, this course is awesome. They have a great map at the start. I also really liked the nice tee pads and DISCatchers. I love the elevation change that is throughout the course. It starts out with hole 1,3,5,6,17. McClain has great technicality but not too much, it was definitely a perfect mix. There is a really good mix of open and wooded holes. The course was laid out nicely and everything was in great condition. I loved hole 5 shooting up the hill was a really fun shot. Right after hole 6 was a nice fun down hill shot that was very tight.
Cons: There are very few cons. The sidewalk that goes throughout the first holes is dangers for walkers( there are signs warning them). A few of the holes were too open for me like hole 10. Hole 10 also is a little bit of a far walk.
Other Thoughts: I think this is the best course in San Antonio. I was very pleased with the layout and the use of elevation throughout.

Parking for McClain is in a school parking lot. So walk down the hill toward the first tee. There is also a practice basket.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.


1    1/23/2013   3/23/2013
Review By: zewski12
Played: 77  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.4 Years
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: -gorgeous well kept well designed course.
-a concrete walkway leaving you through the first 5 holes
-nice signage and easy navigable
-creative holes throwing under and over unique trees.
-good mix of open and wooded holes
Cons: NONE
Other Thoughts: out of the 17 courses i've played in 6 different states this is my favorite. i wish i had more time in san antonio so i could have played this course more. i'm from the north east and i will be returning to play this course again.

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty darn close to perfect

5+    5/5/2012   1/13/2013
Review By: windsurf17
Played: 15  Reviewed: 10
1 Helpful / 8 Not
McClain is right in the middle of a good sized city but isn't a clogged city park. It has an excellent mix of fairways and challenges, only lacking significant elevation changes. The holes aren't maniacally long but pose reasonable challenges. I like how this course is tucked away but right in the city and it's just plain fun.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.