San Antonio, TX 
McClain Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #4
3 / 257ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 Good Start

1    11/24/2009   12/3/2009
Review By: DGRZ001
Played: 180  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 37.4 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Hole 5 is what I take away as the signature hole - place your tee shot just right, and you can go for the elevated basket, but watch out for the moat. Most of the water was shallow enough to allow for disc retrieval. Concrete tee pads were nice.
Cons: Too many fairways with trees in the fairway (remember-a tight fairway with a navigable path is much prefered to some space between the woods where there are still trees to go between). Long walk between some of the holes- some were as long as the hole itself. I played with a map I drew out from one posted here, and I still made a few wrong turns.
Other Thoughts: Don't know what the other courses in SA are like, but this looks like one that a club could use as a home course.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 too wet

1    10/28/2009   11/4/2009
Review By: discNDav
Played: 295  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 28.4 Years
This review was updated on 11/5/2009
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: good tee signs and cement tee pads...hole 5's incline was very surprising..
Cons: the late October day I was here the course simply was suffering from too much standing water; the mud, the puddles and wet grass made it extremely difficult to walk let alone play.

Looking at the landscape, this appears to occur often. Maybe it's dry in the hot Texas summer?
Other Thoughts: This was my first Texas course and found it to be very disappointing, I had to leave after 9 holes.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 McClain

1    10/29/2009   10/29/2009
Review By: todd75
Played: 35  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 26.8 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Awsome course In San Antonio. Plenty of technical shots and several long strong arm shots.
Cons: Not so great in the end of Oct. Bring your waterproof boots. The creeks are very deep in several spots.
Other Thoughts: A couple of bridges to help with winter play would be nice

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course in N San Antonio

1    6/5/2009   6/5/2009
Review By: drgnslyr221
Played: 25  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 10.7 Years
This review was updated on 9/18/2009
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: great tees!The hole signs are great (though a lot of them are missing).

Great variety of lengths of the holes.While most holes are wooded it will let you grip it and rip it on occasion.

Two great Ace runs at 6 and 16.Hole 6 is a great short hole.about 140 feet going down a creek bed.about 80 feet behind the basket is severely downhill that will make a hyzer shot go way long if missed.Hole 16 goes right along the same creek bed ending with the basket on the edge of an elbow in the creek.

The fairways are well maintained and make the course look like a ball golf course.

No poison plants that I could see.

Great park setting with benches to relax at after or between rounds.
Cons: HEAVY foliage with thorns thick trees and cactus's.I spent half my time retrieving discs from thorn infested trees.This wouldn't matter if it wasn't for the fact that most of them were just 10 feet of the fairway.

Some of the holes are hard to find without a map (thank God for my Iphone).

There are some would be great lines that could be opened up with only tearing down a few trees and some foilage.
Other Thoughts: Moving from DFW to San Antonio I was disappointed in the number of courses in San Antonio.Luckily I'm only 20 minutes from this course and I'm proud to call this my new home course.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 McClain Park

5+    3/22/2009   3/23/2009
Review By: texasemt13
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.8 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A beautiful course that takes advantage of the local landscape. You would never think that this course would be tucked away inside Loop 1604. It's such a nice retreat from the city which is just outside its boundaries. This course will definitely test your skill level, as many holes are designed for specific shots. This course is designed for players with shot control.
Cons: Be prepared to fight trees and incline shots. But none to ridiculous.
Other Thoughts: This course is on the backside of an elementary school so be careful.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Ya Baby!!

5+    10/30/2008   2/16/2009
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 126  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 13.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/12/2009
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Super fun course with some really great holes!! Lots of shade, lots of tight shots. Good mix though because there are some boomers but even those are in the woods. I saw a con on another review saying if your off the fairways you cant save par, Isnt that what disc golf is supposed to be? One of my favorite. Watch out for the couple of signature holes out here, you'll know them when you see them and your mouth will drop
Cons: Parking in the school lot sucks. Kind of hard to find some pads first couple times out, but after your first round your good. Some of the water is nasty and deep so losing plastic could be an issue.
Other Thoughts: Dont pass up playing here!

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Had a Blast!

2-4    12/27/2008   12/29/2008
Review By: kpc2004
Played: 42  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.7 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The park is in good condition, with a lot of very interesting holes. The elevation change on some make for very tough but makeable shots. I was from out of town and played while the locals were having a saturday morning mini and they were very welcoming. They told me that they meet just about every saturday and registration is by 9:15, tourny begins at 9:30. There are also hand-crafted benches on every hole, which comes in handy when taking a break from the san antonio heat.
Cons: if you stray from the fairway, it is near impossible to save par. there is also a lot of thorns and sharp branches located all over the course, so do your best to keep your shots straight and on the fairway.
Other Thoughts: the park is dedicated to an Aggie who died in the tragic bonfire accident. I am from an Aggie family, so the idea of honoring him by naming a DGC after him seemed pretty neat to me.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Very good all around

1    4/2/2008   8/26/2008
Review By: Olorin
Played: 303  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 35.4 Years
This review was updated on 4/10/2012
18 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
There are a couple of really cool holes, but what stands out about McClain is that it has a total package that includes almost everything you'd want in a course.
On the Design side there's a very good balance of fairway shapes with 7 St/ 4 Lt/ 6 R/ 1 S. And there's a tremendous variety of hole lengths ranging from 140 to 605 ft. (3<199/ 7<299/ 4<399/ 2<499/ 1 of 503/ 1 of 605). The terrain is what I think of as quintessential Texan- rather rough and dry, a bit dusty, with some gnarled trees, and dry creek beds. I liked it!
It's got all of the Basics covered quite well- excellent tee signs with good maps, very good long trapezoid cement tees, good double chain Discatcher baskets.
The course has almost all of the Amenities covered too-- a very clear map and scorecard are available online. There's a warm up basket, an excellent message board, plus lots of benches and trash cans.
Add up the sum total of the Design, Basics, and Amenities and you've got a very good course!
Cons:
These are really just minor quibbles…
The tees for holes 10 and 17 were hard to find, even with the map.
The course is predominantly flat, with 11 holes that are flat (but you have to use the land you've got).
There's no restroom.
Other Thoughts:
Course Level: Blue (most suitable for Advanced players rated 925-975)

My favorite hole- 6. (The signature hole) A short hole over a dry "stream" bed that could easily be aced, but it also has plenty of risk vs. reward. The safe hyzer route to the right is more obstructed, so you're more tempted to take the riskier straight shot.

The majority of the course has good solid holes that may not "Wow!" you, but a few are exceptionally good (6, 16), several are quite good (5, 7, 12), and none are lame. It's definitely worthy of adding to your Wish List of courses to play.

A note about my rating: My rating is a subjective measure of my enjoyment of the course, on the day I played it, and it is NOT intended to be a measure of the quality of the course. My Enjoyment Ratings are given "on the curve" in relation to all other courses I've played.

Look in the "Links/Files" section for my files with Hole-by-hole ratings and a more detailed Overall review. You can also read more of my review philosophy and rating notes at Disc Golf Course Reviews
----------
I'm always trying to improve my reviews, so if you mark this review unhelpful or you find a mistake, please send me a Personal Message here on DGCR to tell me what is wrong with it. I'll be grateful for the feedback.

18 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 McClain Review

5+    8/16/2008   8/19/2008
Review By: JerryChesterson
Played: 150  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 20.2 Years
13 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Nice Mixture of long and short holes
- Lots of lines on the holes
- Very thumber friendly (but by no means required to do well)
- Lots of birdieable holes, however if not executed correctly can easily bogey any hole on the course
- Very secluded feel for an in town course
- All concrete tee pads, good baskets, trash cans
Cons: - Doesn't have many ammenities, only one pavillion, no bathroom, no running water, no BBQ, etc.
- Shares a parking lot with an elementry school
Other Thoughts: This course contains some very rugged shule. If you are off the fairway, chances are you'll likely have to just pitch out.

There are numerous (both types and quantity) of snakes on this course. Be carefull.

13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.