San Antonio, TX 
McClain Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #18
3 / 291ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee



Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 A little mud, but a lot of fun!

1    5/31/2010   6/1/2010
Review By: BewareOfPenguin
Played: 14  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice course with a fair share of technical shots. A few of the holes place an emphasis on being able to toss a tight, laser beam kind of throw. This is due to trees lining the fairway, both on the sides and overhanging. The creek that weaves its way through the course at numerous locations really adds another level of difficulty during rainy seasons.

I would agree that Hole #5 is the signature hole for this course. It features a dogleg to the right, a creek crossing and an elevated shot at the basket. I'll admit that the elevation change was an unexpected surprise. Hole #6 is a cool one as well. During a dry spell, I might have been tempted to go for broke and take a direct shot at the basket. But since the creek was quite full, I played it safe and went around the dogleg to settle for par.
Cons: The course definitely lives up to the hype about being muddy. It appears that some of the locals have taken to driving their ATV's on the course. This only helps to make the muddy mess worse by tearing up the grass and creating ruts where water can collect. The tee box for #10 can be difficult to find if you're not familiar with the course. Unfortunately, the basket for #10 can be even harder to find. Mainly because it's not there. The mounting base is there, but the basket is gone. Parking in a school parking lot is kind of a bummer. A few of the tees are missing their maps and/or par and footage signs.
Other Thoughts: I found myself in San Antonio with only enough time to play one course. I'm pretty glad to come to play this one. I would definitely come back and do it again. Though I'll be sure to bring a change of footwear this time.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent yet Slippery course

1    2/17/2010   2/21/2010
Review By: Froztfx
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: A lot of challenging shots, you want to play more for accuracy and placing your discs rather than pure power. You have a great mixture of hard & fairly easy holes.
Cons: You want to make sure it hasn't rained in ohh I would say a month lol. The course is VERY muddy in spots the back 9 isn't near as bad as holes 2-8ish.
Other Thoughts: There was a little trash on the course and not many trash cans.

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 McClain

5+    12/20/2009   12/26/2009
Review By: mfcastillo17
Played: 78  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 9.1 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very challenging course that puts a premium on accuracy and placement. There are many birdies out there, but playing too aggressive can really make the strokes pile up. You can make quite a few birdies and still find yourself over par. A good thumber will help you quite a bit.
Cons: Can become very muddy if not unplayable after a rain. Some people can't seem to pick up their trash. Vandals like to paint graffiti on the course. Water in creeks can become murky making it impossible to retrieve your discs.
Other Thoughts: Since I have moved to SA, I have seen the pride that SADC puts into this course. I really wish that everyone would share that same pride and not trash and deface this great course.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Good Start

1    11/24/2009   12/3/2009
Review By: DGRZ001
Played: 180  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 38 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Hole 5 is what I take away as the signature hole - place your tee shot just right, and you can go for the elevated basket, but watch out for the moat. Most of the water was shallow enough to allow for disc retrieval. Concrete tee pads were nice.
Cons: Too many fairways with trees in the fairway (remember-a tight fairway with a navigable path is much prefered to some space between the woods where there are still trees to go between). Long walk between some of the holes- some were as long as the hole itself. I played with a map I drew out from one posted here, and I still made a few wrong turns.
Other Thoughts: Don't know what the other courses in SA are like, but this looks like one that a club could use as a home course.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 too wet

1    10/28/2009   11/4/2009
Review By: discNDav
Played: 310  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 29 Years
This review was updated on 11/5/2009
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: good tee signs and cement tee pads...hole 5's incline was very surprising..
Cons: the late October day I was here the course simply was suffering from too much standing water; the mud, the puddles and wet grass made it extremely difficult to walk let alone play.

Looking at the landscape, this appears to occur often. Maybe it's dry in the hot Texas summer?
Other Thoughts: This was my first Texas course and found it to be very disappointing, I had to leave after 9 holes.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 McClain

1    10/29/2009   10/29/2009
Review By: todd75
Played: 35  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 27.3 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Awsome course In San Antonio. Plenty of technical shots and several long strong arm shots.
Cons: Not so great in the end of Oct. Bring your waterproof boots. The creeks are very deep in several spots.
Other Thoughts: A couple of bridges to help with winter play would be nice

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course in N San Antonio

1    6/5/2009   6/5/2009
Review By: drgnslyr221
Played: 25  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 11.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/18/2009
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: great tees!The hole signs are great (though a lot of them are missing).

Great variety of lengths of the holes.While most holes are wooded it will let you grip it and rip it on occasion.

Two great Ace runs at 6 and 16.Hole 6 is a great short hole.about 140 feet going down a creek bed.about 80 feet behind the basket is severely downhill that will make a hyzer shot go way long if missed.Hole 16 goes right along the same creek bed ending with the basket on the edge of an elbow in the creek.

The fairways are well maintained and make the course look like a ball golf course.

No poison plants that I could see.

Great park setting with benches to relax at after or between rounds.
Cons: HEAVY foliage with thorns thick trees and cactus's.I spent half my time retrieving discs from thorn infested trees.This wouldn't matter if it wasn't for the fact that most of them were just 10 feet of the fairway.

Some of the holes are hard to find without a map (thank God for my Iphone).

There are some would be great lines that could be opened up with only tearing down a few trees and some foilage.
Other Thoughts: Moving from DFW to San Antonio I was disappointed in the number of courses in San Antonio.Luckily I'm only 20 minutes from this course and I'm proud to call this my new home course.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 McClain Park

5+    3/22/2009   3/23/2009
Review By: texasemt13
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 9.4 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A beautiful course that takes advantage of the local landscape. You would never think that this course would be tucked away inside Loop 1604. It's such a nice retreat from the city which is just outside its boundaries. This course will definitely test your skill level, as many holes are designed for specific shots. This course is designed for players with shot control.
Cons: Be prepared to fight trees and incline shots. But none to ridiculous.
Other Thoughts: This course is on the backside of an elementary school so be careful.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Ya Baby!!

5+    10/30/2008   2/16/2009
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 127  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 13.9 Years
This review was updated on 10/12/2009
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Super fun course with some really great holes!! Lots of shade, lots of tight shots. Good mix though because there are some boomers but even those are in the woods. I saw a con on another review saying if your off the fairways you cant save par, Isnt that what disc golf is supposed to be? One of my favorite. Watch out for the couple of signature holes out here, you'll know them when you see them and your mouth will drop
Cons: Parking in the school lot sucks. Kind of hard to find some pads first couple times out, but after your first round your good. Some of the water is nasty and deep so losing plastic could be an issue.
Other Thoughts: Dont pass up playing here!

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Had a Blast!

2-4    12/27/2008   12/29/2008
Review By: kpc2004
Played: 45  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 7.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The park is in good condition, with a lot of very interesting holes. The elevation change on some make for very tough but makeable shots. I was from out of town and played while the locals were having a saturday morning mini and they were very welcoming. They told me that they meet just about every saturday and registration is by 9:15, tourny begins at 9:30. There are also hand-crafted benches on every hole, which comes in handy when taking a break from the san antonio heat.
Cons: if you stray from the fairway, it is near impossible to save par. there is also a lot of thorns and sharp branches located all over the course, so do your best to keep your shots straight and on the fairway.
Other Thoughts: the park is dedicated to an Aggie who died in the tragic bonfire accident. I am from an Aggie family, so the idea of honoring him by naming a DGC after him seemed pretty neat to me.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.