Rosenberg, TX 
Seabourne Creek DGC Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #7 (Taken 9/2013)
3 / 253ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Pleasant course

5+    5/25/2014   5/26/2014
Review By: Drewford
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice tee pads
Nice use of water and trees as obstacles
Mowed fairway
Cons: Walking paths go through your line of fire
If it's windy 1-5 can be a pain
In the summer and spring watch for snakes (nothing to worry about just keep an eye out)
Other Thoughts: I think it's a fun 9-hole course. The first holes are open with a few small trees and the lake as obstacles, the wooded areas of 6-8 are fun because of the trees. Windy days can be challenging, but otherwise it's a pleasant course to stop by and throw through.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Rosenberg DGC

1    12/3/2013   12/3/2013
Review By: bogeymanjr
Played: 27  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 3.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Brand new concrete tees, brand new baskets, and easy to navigate. Concrete tees are a welcome sight on a course of this size and definitely came in handy in the woods as there was quite a bit of mud still from the recent rains. The gem holes of this course are the wooded holes, of which there are 3. Only one hole could I see where it might be difficult to shoot par on. That was 8 where it is the longest wooded hole.
Cons: I would say the only drawback here is the open holes if it is windy. That tends to bother some drives and to throw the putting off a little.
Other Thoughts: Not necessarily a destination course, but worth stopping off to play. I enjoyed my round here and hope to play again sometime.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

New Course in Seabourne

2-4    9/17/2013   10/18/2013
Review By: uwdiscgolf
Played: 66  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The PROS:

1. Nice size tee pads made of concrete.

2. Good mix of open/wooded holes.

3. Easy to Navigate.

4. Course layout at beginning of course.

5 New Mach 5 baskets.

6.Three Ace runs: holes 4, 6, & 9

The course plays along walking paths and water. Holes 1-4 play in the wide open with basically no obstacles in the way. Hole 3 plays with huge water hazard on the left.
Hole 5 brings you from the wide open holes into the wooded ones. From there you are in the woods till you drive on hole 9.
Cons: The CONS:

1.No tee signs yet, but they are on their way!

2. Dangers with playing so close to walking paths. This is so true on hole 9. the basket is less than 7ft from the walking and with the bushes blinding you from the walking path its best to have a spotter.

3. Holes 1-5 basically have no obstacles. It is wide open with hole 3 being the exception with the water hazard.

4. Wooded holes need more trimming. I am not downgrading this course due to this because its a new course.I will update my review and maybe think about my grade if the wooded holes are not groomed in a year. They are still playable. I barely pared hole 8.

5. One big thing i noticed was that the most of the basket are poorly installed into the ground. Though i was not trying to pull the basket out of the ground I was sure I could do so with ease. I worry about theft and thats why I am mentioning this as a CON.

Other Thoughts: I think that SEABOURNE is a good variety of holes given the open and wooded holes. Add in the Ace runs on holes 4, 6, and 9 for your fun factor. I tried several times to ace 6 and nine. I think i emptied my entire bag on 6. Not a destination course, but definitely one that you should check out if in the area. I actually made a day of playing FCAC / River Pointe / Seabourne playing them all for the first time in one day. So I would say this course is well within reach of the SW Houston area. I hope this course makes the list for the SW Houston Handicap Mini ran by Ericj next year.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


2-4    9/24/2013   10/1/2013
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 124  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 2.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Seabourne Park is a new course in a very well kept up park southwest of Houston. The baskets are brand new and the concrete tees are ample in size.

The amount of variety at this course is surprisingly high for a 9 hole course as a few holes are out in the open and one big long hole leads the player for four holes in the woods.
The course has ace runs (4,6) and very strategic holes that getting a three on would be an impressive feat (8).
Two holes play near the water and #3 plays over it completely. The hole length is around 350', so a good shot is needed to clear the water to avoid losing your disc.
Cons: The only two cons I can think of are the walking paths and the lack of obstacles in the open shots.

The walking paths play next to the course on virtually every hole. This is a big safety hazard as well as a nuisance for golfers if they are having to wait 3+ minutes for a walker to walk by. This park seems to has a high density of walkers throughout the day.
Other Thoughts: It is pleasantly surprising to see a course like this spring up in a small town like Rosenberg. This course is not too far from the next nearest course at Riverpointe Church and if you are there the drive here would be worth it.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Brand Spankin' New

2-4    9/8/2013   9/9/2013
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 187  Reviewed: 150  Exp: 6.7 Years
This review was updated on 2/27/2014
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Brand new Mach V baskets and 6'x12' concrete tee pads make for good starting and stopping points. The course has a decent mix of open and wooded holes and even a water hole. There's some minor elevation in play on a couple holes. Good length with holes ranging from 179' to 422'. I would say this is a good INT to ADV level player course. Course loops around the park starting and ending near the parking lot. Restrooms easily available. Plenty of trash cans.
Cons:
The biggest con for this park is the close proximity of holes to the trails: almost all the holes throw alongside or across the trails. This can lead to dangerous situations for trail walkers/joggers/riders who aren't expecting a new disc golf course in this established park. It can also lead to long delays for players waiting for trails to clear of pedestrians. Also, hole #9 plays to a mostly blind basket with a trail only a few feet away that you cannot see from the tee box.

Temporary Cons:
No tee signs yet, posts are in, but no signs on them yet. It's early in the course's life, but hole #8 needs some more clearing to establish a clear throwing line/fairway.
Other Thoughts:
Seabourne Creek is by no means a destination course, but it is a nice course on the far Southwest side of Houston that might expose some new players to the game. It's on the same property as the Seabourne Creek Regional Sports Complex but located on the other side of the park and you cannot (presently) drive between the two without a big detour off property; so pay attention to the directions on the DGCR Course Info page.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.