Hewitt, TX 
Hewitt Park Share



Reviews: 3
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers
Solid Compliment Course for Waco's DG Scene

1    11/30/2013   11/30/2013
Review By: bluedodger
Played: 21  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Signage, the tee signs are amazing, very descriptive and even point you in the direction of the next tee, lay-out the OB clearly on each hole

- Brand new Innova Discatchers, I've never played on such fresh baskets, and one is mounted on a huge rock

- Creative use of the space available, the topography is not as unique as Cameron or Brazos East, but they use what they have well

- Interesting holes, there is one "island hole" that is just surrounded by a giant pebble-filled circle, one elevated basket on a rock, challenging OB
Cons: - The Creek, this is the only glaring issue on this course, you have to cross it several times on holes 1-13, and there is NO bridge...ANYWHERE, there needs to be at least 5 bridges placed strategically for it to be a 3 disc course

- Some of the tee signs are broken off and/or stolen, they were mounted at an angle (which never works well) instead of vertically and some were broken off

- Some of the holes are short and open, around ~250, not terrible but somewhat drab to play
Other Thoughts: This is a great course! I really enjoyed it, despite the creek issue. I did get very muddy by having to jump the creek, which annoyed me but I expect to get a little dirty whenever I play DG.

I would advise new players to really look at the signs, I threw at basket 8 thinking it was basket 3. I also missed a couple holes and had to go back and play them because I didn't look at the tee sign "next hole ->" feature.

There were some genuine driver, midrange, and putter tees which I really liked. The distances were varied well, but most of the short holes are in the front nine and the long holes are in the back nine.

This would be a 3 disc course for me if there were bridges over the creek.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Another good local course for Wacoans

2-4    3/20/2015   10/22/2013
Review By: rootofthechord
Played: 41  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.9 Years
This review was updated on 4/28/2015
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Overall, Hewitt Park is a nice neighborhood park disc golf course.

Navigation is good - the next tee or fairway is rarely more than 100 feet from the previous basket.

The Waco DGA has spoiled this course with a ton of obstacles and elevated pins; these obstacles take a 2.5-disc terrain and turn it into a 3-disc playing experience. Some of the special highlights include the totem poles on 4 and a 30-foot rock circle on 5. Land in the circle or re-tee.

The park is mixed-use, but other than a running trail across the first six holes the disc golf is largely segregated.

The course starts out fairly short but really opens up in the end with a handful of true par 4's. The length provides a nice contrast to the shorter holes of Cameron Park, the main disc golf attraction in town.
Cons: Over a third of the holes play along or across a drainage creek that's a bit too wide to jump. There are a few very strategically placed bridges, but the bridges don't help when your drive lands in the mud. I recommend a bad pair of shoes.

I mentioned it earlier - 2.5 disc terrain. Most of the course is on a very bland plain with only occasional quirks. While the course capitalizes on a ton of these quirks, John Houck style, there are still a couple of "throw a disc straight ahead in an open field" holes.

At least four of the holes have subdivisions off the side of the fairway. From my anecdotal experience, the neighbors aren't the friendliest people.

The course gets very windy in the afternoon.
Other Thoughts: Waco has always been a surprisingly rich area for disc golf, and Hewitt Park only adds to that reputation. As a Recreational player, I find this course really fun to play. More experienced players will probably find the course easy and open.

Last updated on 4/28/2015. I raised my rating from 2.5 to 3.0 due to the addition of bridges across the creek and man-made obstacles.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Getting there

2-4    10/4/2013   10/4/2013
Review By: Saddin
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A lot of open shoots.
Birdies all over the front 9 of the course.
Cons: one bathroom and one water fountain at the park.
limited shading
needs about 4 bridges to cross back and forth over the course ,creek which runs down the middle
not very many tech shoots

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.