Hewitt, TX 
Hewitt Park Share

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers

1    10/5/2016   10/6/2016
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 286  Reviewed: 137  Exp: 28.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Map near the parking lot and hole 1
tee signs are nice and big with a map of the hole
Nice big cement tee pads
The park is pretty open, the course has some add features and uses what obstacles there are to make it interesting.
Cons: short open holes and long open holes
Other Thoughts: Locals play across the creek from the basket OB and sidewalks and across OB. This adds some to several of the holes.

Hole 5 has a man made obstacle, telephone polls with wire mesh making you either throw straight at the hole or over the top.
Hole 6 is a man made island hole. Land in the gravel and you have a putt.

Hole 8's basket in in a big rock. And it is near the OB creek.

Wind is a factor out here.

Holes 17 and 18 make use of old fence lines. Rows of trees. 17 is a tunnel shot down the row and then 18 throws though the first row, across a field into the middle of another row of tree.

I played doubles out here with the locals, winners shot more than 10 down if that tells you anything.

you can get into OB trouble, but it is not that hard of a course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

1    12/22/2015   4/9/2016
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 240  Reviewed: 178  Exp: 9.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -good signs, tees, and baskets
-nice park, clean, family-friendly, great for a beginner course
-a creek winds through the park and is in play on many holes
-some trees and a few man-made obstacles
-largely out of the way of other park users
Cons: -mostly open, repetitive, practically no forced shots
-the back 9 has lots of longer, almost completely wide open shots. as another reviewer said, par 4 by distance only and easily 3'ed by anyone that can throw a controlled 250'-300'.
-the area around the creek can be extremely wet and soggy after wet weather, hole 7 in particular
Other Thoughts: Hewitt Park is a nice, well maintained park and the DG course is pretty well separated from most other park users. The course makes good use of the creek and a few other unique areas: the barrier of trees to the green on hole 9, the rocks circling the green on hole 12, and the corridor of trees on holes 17 & 18.

Unfortunately, most of the rest of the course is pretty wide open. There are a few trees to avoid but you can mostly take any line you want to the basket and wind is the main obstacle. I liked the totems on hole 4, the island on hole 5, and the elevated basket on hole 8 to create more challenge on otherwise open and easy holes.

Other reviewers have pointed out that this is a good course to balance out the more challenging courses around Waco. Not every course can be a championship course and Hewitt Park plays its role well, especially in a smaller, probably more family-oriented town.

A great course for beginners with just enough obstacles. The creek will create drama but not many lost discs. More advanced players will prefer the more challenging courses nearby in Waco. Well executed and worth stopping to play if you're into new courses.

**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


2-4    3/19/2016   4/4/2016
Review By: araytx
Played: 165  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 10.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/7/2016
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The biggest pro is the nice park, relaxing scenery, a separation of the dg area in a multi-use park while still being in a place high profile enough for casuals and non-dg'ers to see and ask about it. It seems to be very well taken care of, with baskets still having the feel of new and signage, tee boxes, etc. all in great shape. There are a few artificially made obstacles -- the pebble island and rock island; an elevated basket; and the plank wall (which I call "not-so-bamboo") as the idea likely came from the USDGC.

There is a variety of distance throughout the course; a couple par 4s, but only by distance, not by requiring a really specific landing zone. Anyone with 275'-300' control or so, will 3 those holes easily. The use of the drainage creek as an obstacle, just to make you think is also good along with the sidewalks. At least 15, probably 16 of the holes can be attacked with a control hyzer -- either putter, midrange, fairway or distance driver -- whether you're right-handed or left-handed. There are not a lot of trees as obstacles. It's mostly open above.
Cons: When we last played the water was running in the drainage creek, AND running down to the creek for a hundred feet in certain areas all over the course. It appeared to be struggling to drain well. Holes 6 and 7 were VERY, VERY marshy and in some places required causal relief. Would recommend using your mudders out there until the drought returns. I did not like the plank wall hole (#4), because it still allows a poke & hope option; if you're gonna put that in as an obstacle, then make in a true obstacle, not one you might just wanna throw at and get lucky. Hewitt Park DGC is a true hyzer fest and can be really repetitive and not as challenging for experienced players. Only hole #18 really forced me to use something other than hyzer, and there were a couple holes where I decided I liked another shot better, but the hyzer was still wide open.
Other Thoughts: This is an excellent park for casual and beginner players to learn on -- as Woodway, Cameron, and especially bEast all require excellent control in the tightly wooded areas. The repetition can be boring for pros, but very encouraging for learners and younger players. All communities with a disc golf scene need a course like this, and I applaud the Waco DG Association for putting it in.

Have a comment or question about my review? Feel free to pm me anytime.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Solid Compliment Course for Waco's DG Scene

1    11/30/2013   11/30/2013
Review By: bluedodger
Played: 26  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Signage, the tee signs are amazing, very descriptive and even point you in the direction of the next tee, lay-out the OB clearly on each hole

- Brand new Innova Discatchers, I've never played on such fresh baskets, and one is mounted on a huge rock

- Creative use of the space available, the topography is not as unique as Cameron or Brazos East, but they use what they have well

- Interesting holes, there is one "island hole" that is just surrounded by a giant pebble-filled circle, one elevated basket on a rock, challenging OB
Cons: - The Creek, this is the only glaring issue on this course, you have to cross it several times on holes 1-13, and there is NO bridge...ANYWHERE, there needs to be at least 5 bridges placed strategically for it to be a 3 disc course

- Some of the tee signs are broken off and/or stolen, they were mounted at an angle (which never works well) instead of vertically and some were broken off

- Some of the holes are short and open, around ~250, not terrible but somewhat drab to play
Other Thoughts: This is a great course! I really enjoyed it, despite the creek issue. I did get very muddy by having to jump the creek, which annoyed me but I expect to get a little dirty whenever I play DG.

I would advise new players to really look at the signs, I threw at basket 8 thinking it was basket 3. I also missed a couple holes and had to go back and play them because I didn't look at the tee sign "next hole ->" feature.

There were some genuine driver, midrange, and putter tees which I really liked. The distances were varied well, but most of the short holes are in the front nine and the long holes are in the back nine.

This would be a 3 disc course for me if there were bridges over the creek.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Another good local course for Wacoans

2-4    3/20/2015   10/22/2013
Review By: rootofthechord
Played: 41  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/28/2015
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Overall, Hewitt Park is a nice neighborhood park disc golf course.

Navigation is good - the next tee or fairway is rarely more than 100 feet from the previous basket.

The Waco DGA has spoiled this course with a ton of obstacles and elevated pins; these obstacles take a 2.5-disc terrain and turn it into a 3-disc playing experience. Some of the special highlights include the totem poles on 4 and a 30-foot rock circle on 5. Land in the circle or re-tee.

The park is mixed-use, but other than a running trail across the first six holes the disc golf is largely segregated.

The course starts out fairly short but really opens up in the end with a handful of true par 4's. The length provides a nice contrast to the shorter holes of Cameron Park, the main disc golf attraction in town.
Cons: Over a third of the holes play along or across a drainage creek that's a bit too wide to jump. There are a few very strategically placed bridges, but the bridges don't help when your drive lands in the mud. I recommend a bad pair of shoes.

I mentioned it earlier - 2.5 disc terrain. Most of the course is on a very bland plain with only occasional quirks. While the course capitalizes on a ton of these quirks, John Houck style, there are still a couple of "throw a disc straight ahead in an open field" holes.

At least four of the holes have subdivisions off the side of the fairway. From my anecdotal experience, the neighbors aren't the friendliest people.

The course gets very windy in the afternoon.
Other Thoughts: Waco has always been a surprisingly rich area for disc golf, and Hewitt Park only adds to that reputation. As a Recreational player, I find this course really fun to play. More experienced players will probably find the course easy and open.

Last updated on 4/28/2015. I raised my rating from 2.5 to 3.0 due to the addition of bridges across the creek and man-made obstacles.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Getting there

2-4    10/4/2013   10/4/2013
Review By: Saddin
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.6 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: A lot of open shoots.
Birdies all over the front 9 of the course.
Cons: one bathroom and one water fountain at the park.
limited shading
needs about 4 bridges to cross back and forth over the course ,creek which runs down the middle
not very many tech shoots

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.