Rochester, NH 
Squamanagonic Share
Uploaded By: ragebikes Hole #16 (Taken 8/2014)
3 / 217ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
It translates to "Land of Many Par Fours"

1    10/29/2016   11/20/2016
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 176  Reviewed: 171  Exp: 8.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Near the New Hampshire/Maine border, this course is wooded with a lot of elevation. And it's not lacking for good design.

There are two tee pads on most holes. Strangely, the concrete pads are the shorter pads (the long ones are rubber). The longer tees offer some great multi-throw holes. Hole 12 is a great S-shaped fairway that probably has some big score variations. At 630 feet, it is a true par 5 with several shots where you need to consider your distance vs accuracy. Hole 13 is a nice dogleg par 4 from the long tees.

A stream winds its way through the course and comes into play several times. Hole 17 is a short hole that has you throwing over the stream twice with a fun downhill drive. Hole 15 might be my favorite. From the long tee, your drive is a left-to-right sweeping shot that starts uphill but finishes downhill. You need to set yourself up for an approach to the basket on a slope just across the stream. Every shot was fun and a little dangerous.
Cons: Navigation wasn't always simple. I completely missed hole 8 somehow, which is too bad because it looks like a fun one with the basket next to some rock outcroppings. Searching for the next hole really sucks the energy out of the round.

Given the length of the course, it's pretty tough to decipher the real fairway contours without walking all the holes, which isn't practical. I mentioned hole 12 before, and I'd really like another bite at the apple now that I understand where I'm going. I played the long tees, but playing the short tees may be better for your first round. That said, the long tees are where the really interesting shots are.
Other Thoughts: With Salmon Falls nearby, this is a great place to visit. I was pretty happy with my drive up from Boston on a late October day.

The course is closed in November and also on all Fridays throughout the year for police training, so plan accordingly.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    8/8/2016   9/3/2016
Review By: clankfu
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Other Thoughts: Nice challenging course with a good variety of left/right action. As a regular player at Bellamy, I found this course even more technical.Long walks between holes. I went ass over teakettle twice during my round "tripping" on some of the endless perfectly round dowel shape branches on the ground on this course. Watch your footing here! You definately get a great round while at the same time getting A great hike here in Gonic.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fun wooded course

1    8/15/2016   8/16/2016
Review By: Lupulus
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 0.4 Years
Pros: This was a fun course with a mix of hole types. There are a range of short and long 3s, and a few 4s and 5s, including a 600 foot par 5 that is birdieable following a good drive and upshot. The pin placement is creative in a few places, with a basket elevated in a rock formation or behind a large hill. Most holes had a second and shorter tee placement, although some short tees were either never completed or in disrepair.

The course if heavily wooded, only the first and last couple holes present any kind of open shot. Be prepared to bounce off a lot of trees during your round, even with good shot placement. The woods get deep right off the fairways as well, which can make finding errant discs difficult.
Cons: Be sure to study the course map near the parking lot because the layout is confusing. I pulled in at the same time as two golfers who play there regularly, so they let me join them and showed me the way around. I would have been lost without them as the walks between holes are long and sometimes pass by earlier and later tee pads. They also helped me by describing the holes and pin placements since there are a number of blind shots off the tee.

There is also water on the course in the form of several streams and some standing water. This made mosquitoes an annoyance throughout most of the round; be sure to bring bug spray if you are playing in the summer.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this was a fun course that I will be going back to play again.

Great Balance

1    3/5/2016   3/11/2016
Review By: Soaponrope37
Played: 25  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Great balance between left and right throws
- Open enough to have room to play if you get into trouble
- Multiple choices on each hole
- clearly marked
Cons: - Tee pads are a bit lumpy. (I am 100% attributing this to winter just ending, only putting it as a side effect of the rubber tees)
- Couple of low spots that are easily flooded/swampy (that's just the lay of the land tho, no points off there)
- A couple sketchy walk ways/paths that could be deadly if wet/any snow left on them.
Other Thoughts: Love this place! Arguably the best in the state. Or at least a Nominee.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

A walk in the woods -- the hard way

1    6/9/2015   6/9/2015
Review By: biff_malibu
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful wooded setting. Nice elevation changes. Meandering stream. Rocky elevated baskets. Awesome signage. New rubberized tee boxes. Seating on every tee.
Cons: some overly wooded fairways that seem borderline fair. Some home cooking quirkiness/ unorthodoxy that can make your first round a head scratcher. Lacks go-for-it holes. Thought a handful of the par ratings were bullshit.
Other Thoughts: In from out of town... Really challenging first try at this course. Lots and lots and lots of wood out there. Heavy penalties for missing the tight fairways. As this place matures, some of that spare lumber will come out, for sure. A tame grouse followed me for a hole-- pretty cool!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great addition to Seacoast Disc Golf

1    8/9/2014   8/9/2014
Review By: Noahlearner
Played: 34  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great Signage (digital hole signs and directional signage), rubber tee pads
Great use of Terrain / elevation changes
Pretty views
Challenging but fair
Uses many throws in the bag
Cons: Transition from hole 4 to 5 was a bit confusing. Cross the swamp then fork to left.

This feels like a push, but I play with a gotta go cart and the course, especially the walks to next tees, were not cart friendly.

Other Thoughts: This course was a blast. I strongly recommend it if you need to find a course to play in the seacoast. Lots if putter and mid drives, some fairway shots. Course design was really interesting. There were a bunch of memorable holes that all play different. While the holes are tough, they are generally all fair. One exception was hole 15. I couldn't figure out how to par that hole. The approach was fully guarded, I would love to have seen at least one 8 ft wide route to pin.

Kudos to course designers and maintainers.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Great New Course

2-4    5/18/2014   5/19/2014
Review By: emslason
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great layout and challenges for all abilities. Very cool terrain and great use of elevation changes. Lots of trees strategically left in place and pin placements were well thought out.
Cons: Still a very new course and needs to be played and worked in a bit.
Other Thoughts: A big thanks to those who crafted this course. It's going to be a true gem in NH. I only wish someone would build a course near Manchester,NH...The black hole of disc golf...

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great design and bigger potential

5+    7/1/2014   10/15/2013
Review By: jtreadwell
Played: 76  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 4/21/2015
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Excellent hole variation
- Pars are spot on
- Land features used to fullest extent
- Tough but Fair
- Quality Baskets
- Free to play
- Devoted volunteer caretakers with a proven track record of excellent course upkeep (see Bellamy Park)
Cons: - Difficult navigation
- A few spots that smack of muddiness
- Shared land means occasional course closure.
Other Thoughts: OK! I'm updating the review as there have been significant upgrades to the course. I am a local, but had no hand in the design or implementation of the course. Most of the cons I originally mentioned (teepads, signage, swampiness) have at least been partially addressed. So on to the review. Squamanagonic is going to be a destination course once it gets seasoned in. The holes are greatly varied and make excellent use of the significant elevation available. There are several holes with streams (or one meandering stream, I couldn't confirm) that are/is perfectly placed to provide an extra challenge without being a risk of losing a disc. All five of the par 4s are honest to goodness par 4s, meaning the locals aren't going to be saying "well the card says 4 but you suck if you don't see a 3" like a few holes over at Bellamy Park. The par 3s were all interesting and difficult, with even the short "throwaway" hole 4 making up for its length (around 200ft downhill) with a very tight but manageable fairway that will separate those who can truly aim a disc from the chuckers. The par 5 is brutal, with the possibility of a 4 for quality players and a 3 for the chosen few, but a reasonable expectation to 5 for the average joe. Nothing feels gimmicky and the course never throws similar holes at you in succession.
As the course is new, the concrete teepads have yet to see the light of day. There are currently framed teepads with rubber mats installed, which, wile not holding a candle to a proper concrete tee, are leaps and bounds above the previous tees. Several spots on the course are pretty much swamp land, and mosquitos abound. The course designers and some local business partners got together and crafted some fine bridges over the worst of it, so no more hopping from treacherous log to treacherous log. Finally, the area is used by the Rochester Police Department for target practice, so on Fridays the course will be closed for their use. There was talk of relocating the RPD, but that seems to have fallen through. Overall the sheer potential of Squamanagonic is staggering. With great land that is well used, the fun factor more than makes up for the flogging that the course will give players that are less than high end Intermediate level. Bravo to the designers!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  Squamanagonic's time to shine!

1    9/14/2013   9/16/2013
Review By: JBDREAMBROTHER
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Nice scenic course with a great trail system and unique natural features built into the course.To the team of guys who have done work on this course led by Jim Chambers,Rob Feeney,and William Marshall great job guys! you have helped to create a movement in the community that is sure to take hold at Squamanagonic,Great Job to all that have worked on giving this course a great start!
Cons: Are there any? Oh just stop complaining this course is gonna own!
Other Thoughts: The course should be completed and ready to crush your so called skills by spring but it has a playable 9 now that is still challenging for sure.Yeah even for you!

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.