Des Moines, IA 
Ewing Park Share
Uploaded By: Donovan Hole #6 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 250ft.   3 / 473ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 great course

5+    4/17/2012   6/21/2012
Review By: DjKilliQuik
Played: 34  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 12.3 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Love this course. It was 1 of the first courses i ever played. And ive always liked it. Hole 10 is fun to try to rip on discs and empty your bag. Rest of the course is challenging and tech. All around good course
Cons: Not a lot of bad things to say. Not a big fan of some of the new placements. Especially on hole 4

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

1    5/27/2012   5/28/2012
Review By: Wheelz
Played: 28  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 4.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenge - Ewing offers a great challenge to both the experienced and new golfer. The long tees are very long and force you to navigate through trees, wide open space, small gaps, and over shrubbery/bushes.

Tees/Signs - There are two concrete tees per hole with a tee sign at each. The signs are in great shape and do a good job of displaying the hole info. Many tee boxes have retaining walls around them along with mulch to help with erosion issues.

Design - The course is very large and uses a large section of the park. There is a good amount of elevation as well as some moderately wooded areas. The design flows very well and takes advantage of the landscape.

Location - Ewing is located in Des Moines and is close to food, beverages, hotels, etc. It is easy to find off the interstate and has a good overall location.
Cons: Restrooms - limited restroom facilities in this section of the park
Other Thoughts: Overall I thought that Ewing is a fantastic course that provides a great challenge. The long tees are very tough but are fun to play. The shorts offer a relaxing round. I would highly recommend Ewing park for a fun round of golf!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 In my top 5

1    3/24/2011   3/31/2011
Review By: MNcyclone
Played: 48  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 24.5 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - very well thought out tees and pins
- a challenge on every hole
- well paced, good mix of shots
- seems to be fairly clean
- an awesome bomber hole viewable from the parking lot
Cons: - new players may find the course too challenging
- the road is a bit close on a couple holes, a bad tree bounce could result in a smashed window
Other Thoughts: First, let me say that I played the course in the early spring, so the trees weren't full yet.

This course instantly made my top 5, and is a better course than Pickard Park. Ewing doesn't have a single hole that is impossible, but only has a couple sure birdies. The challenge of the course is consistent and manageable without any extremes (easy or hard). Some of the lines are really thoughtful, especially when you play the paths as OB. Again, thoughtful and technical, not difficulty without fun.

I do wish the long and short tees were marked as such. Each tee has a very nice card showing pin positions, but it fails to mention which tee you are at. I don't think this would be an issue on a second playing however. Just print the map, it is fairly well made.

I drove from Minneapolis to play Ewing and Pickard and Ewing made the trip for me. I would say any course I am willing to drive 4 hours for is a good one!

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Ewing Park

1    8/17/2010   8/17/2010
Review By: jwetter
Played: 51  Reviewed: 30
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -It is in a very nice looking clean park
-multiple tees and pin locations for each hole
-very easy to navigate with really good signes
-fantastic first 9 holes. They use the elevation well and play though a wooded area but leaves plenty of room for throwing lanes.
-especially the front 9 has alot of interesting throws
-good ues of distance, there are open and very long holes but also some shorter skill shots
-its open enough where you do not lose discs but still wooded enough where there are some challenging shots
Cons: -The back 9 get a little long especially from the back tees
-the walk between 17 and 18 is very long and may be confusing if you had never been there before
Other Thoughts: This course would be good for all skill levels.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Best In Des Moines

5+    6/22/2009   6/23/2009
Review By: jdggna
Played: 23  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 8.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/11/2010
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Two tees and three pin locations on all holes.
Very well kept/mowed grounds.
The elevation of the hills is used very well, with a couple uphill holes, several downhill holes, a a couple up then down or down then up holes.
Distances range from 160 - 550 (short tees) and 250 - 700 (long tees) depending on pin placement.
Signs at tees showing hole layout.
The front nine requires more controlled shots while the back nine opens up allowing players to throw FAR.
Port-a-potty at the parking lot.
There is a water spigot after hole 8.
Navigation is pretty easy, but for complete first timers it would be beneficial to have a map (check the links/files tab).
Cons: There could be nicer restrooms (not a big deal for me).
There aren't many really tight shots, though I feel the majority of the holes require the right amount of precision with respect to the distance.
After rains there are a few places where the ground gets pretty soft/swampy. Not usually in play but there are a couple times you have to go around between holes if you want to keep your shoes from getting muddy (once again, not a big deal for me).
Other Thoughts: In my opinion, this is the best course in the Des Moines metro.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Gem of a course

5+    11/8/2008   3/11/2009
Review By: SpikeHyzer
Played: 63  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 11.6 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course is a gem. The front nine has a good mix of tight wooded holes that range from 250 ft to 600 ft. The back nine is more open a long bomber type holes, with holes bumping up around 600+ ft. The course is fairly well manicured and the signage is pretty good too.
Cons: Missing quality restrooms. And that is about the only cons for this course.
Other Thoughts: If you are in town, this is definitely a course you should visit.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 One of Des Moines best

5+    6/3/2005   6/3/2008
Review By: smyith
Played: 134  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 13.1 Years
This review was updated on 1/15/2010
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Beautiful and large park with rolling hills. Well maintained and a host of other activities. Multiple pin locations and dual tees.
Holes 1-9 play through large mature trees, from tight fairways and tunnel shots are common. Shorter than the back nine. Shot placement is favored over distance.
Holes 10-18 open up with some trees coming into play. Distance because more favored over accuracy. Hole 10 is one of my favorites, its a long open hole and the basket is surrounded by a grove of small trees. Hole 13's basket also has mulberry trees around it (makes for a tasty snack mid round).
Overall this course is going to demand a variety of shot types for you to do well. Hyzers-straight-anhyzers are all needed.
There is a port-a-potty at the parking lot were holes 1, 9, 10, and 18 are next to... not a con for me.
Cons: The back nine after hole 14 can be a bit confusing to follow especially hole 17 to 18. After 17's basket just head for the parkinglot and you should find what your looking for.
Other Thoughts: If your in the Des Moines area and you only have time to play one course this is the one I would choose.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Top notch!

3/25/2008   3/25/2008
Review By: garublador
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 10.6 Years
2 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Well groomed fairways, wide variety of shots, difficult but few chances for losing a disc very scenic.
Cons: Few amenities, baskets sometimes get stolen.
Other Thoughts: Definitely worth checking out. Beautiful, fun and challenging course in a park setting.

2 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.