Des Moines, IA 
Ewing Park Share
Uploaded By: Bevo Hole #16 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 215ft.   3 / 236ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Basket



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 One of the better ones in the area

2-4    8/18/2011   8/25/2011
Review By: RockStarValkyrie
Played: 16  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 18.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well maintained, good tee pads and baskets, beautiful scenery and views, decent mix of shot types, very challenging
Cons: Some baskets are hard or impossible to see from the tee pad, some of the signs can be deceiving and b/c they do move the baskets around you can't just "memorize" the course, some shots are little too long for my taste but maybe my drive is just weak
Other Thoughts: A nice challenge, I've never shot even or under here. Even from short tees I still clock in a +5-7, I realize that is relative but you can play this course 100 times and not completely master it, great course for experienced players looking for a challenge,

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Long and diverse

1    8/21/2011   8/22/2011
Review By: deadbody
Played: 138  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 12.8 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great tees and baskets. Good signs, multiple possible placements. Different pins and tees make for very different shots.

Pretty well maintained. Good variety of shots needed, everything from short plinko type tree holes, to 800 foot open bombers.

Pretty holes, lots of nice trees and such all around.
Cons: Poor layout (this seems to be a common theme in my Iowa reviews) some spots where the course just doesn't flow well. Signs don't display where the pin is so you have to still hunt it down, especially obnoxious on longer holes. Appeared to have been mowed not that long ago, but grass was still pretty long.
Other Thoughts: I think this was the best of the Des Moines courses that I played last weekend. It really is a nice course, but you need to bring a big arm, and a bunch of water. Not as many memorable holes as Walnut Ridge, but more overall quality and while the layout still isn't great and has some long walks (17 to 18 I'm looking in your direction here) it is much better than Walnut Ridge.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun for all!

1    6/5/2011   7/14/2011
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 265  Reviewed: 251  Exp: 20.3 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Ewing is a well-manicured and mature 18 hole course. The hole design is very good with a lot of diversity- woods/open, long/short, left/straight/right, elevation/flat, and some road o.b. Navigation was fairly simple and flow was natural (for 16 holes*). The course consists of two 9-hole loops coming back to the car after 9 and 18. The front 9 plays through a more wooded area and the holes offer choices on the tee with more than one path to the basket around all the mature trees. The back is more open and has the longer holes, but shot placement is still important. By the end of the round you will be forced to throw a wide variety of shots of all lengths.

Each hole has 2 huge tees (pro and am), 2 signs (one per tee), and the baskets are in great shape (with 3 possible locations that appear to get moved often as we saw a guy moving them as we played). The 2 tees are quite diverse, primarily in length, but I really felt like the shorter tees did a great job of not detracting anything from the course as they were still challenging and still put most obstacles in play. The long tees are just that, adding a substantial amount of distance on many holes. (It is possible that the shorts are the originals and the longs were added later.)
Cons: The fairways had not been recently mowed in many spots (not too horrible, but not as good as it could have been). The restroom was a port-a-pottie.

Even though I really enjoyed this course, there are some design issues that are really holding it back:

-The road is majorly in play on hole #1, playing downhill, cars have a good chance of getting hit with some force. There is also a walking trail throughout much of the back and many holes play along or over it so be aware.

-There are several holes on the front that are close together and feel a little cramped. #11 to #12 is pretty stupid because you have to backtrack the entire hole to get to 12's tee (which is essentially back-to-back with 11's tee.)

-There was an abnormally long walk from #17 to #18 and then back to the car. I thought #17 was one of the weaker holes and it plays away from the direction of the car at the far corner of the park. (Hello! Only 1 hole left to get back!) Then you have to walk a long ways through the most beautiful section of the park (the arboretum) to get to #18's tee, which is hard to find anyways. Then #18 is super long... It seems after 15, the course should begin back and have 16,17,18 play through the arboretum which just screams "put disc golf holes here!"
Other Thoughts: Ewing can be really fun for players of all levels- it offers the usual challenges without being too frustrating and there is very little chance to lose discs. Though not too difficult for them, experienced players can still enjoy the shorter tees, or they have the option to play the longs.

I personally really enjoyed playing this course and recommend it to anyone. It does lack that "epic" factor I generally reserve for 4.0-5.0 ratings, and it does have some design flaws, however I still give Ewing a strong 3.5 (Very Good) to me, but I understand why many others have rated it higher than that.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/27/2011   4/28/2011
Review By: happytree290
Played: 29  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 8.3 Years
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Many ways to play each hole, with three baskets, and two tee pads at each hole. Course looks very beautiful.
Cons: Course design leaves something left to be desired. It seemed like there is a lot of wasted space. Especially between 17 and 18.
Other Thoughts: Overall It's a good course to play on. I would definitely play it again, but I just think they could have done more with it than what they did. I like courses that use the space, creatively, and functionally as well.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 In my top 5

1    3/24/2011   3/31/2011
Review By: MNcyclone
Played: 48  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 26.6 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - very well thought out tees and pins
- a challenge on every hole
- well paced, good mix of shots
- seems to be fairly clean
- an awesome bomber hole viewable from the parking lot
Cons: - new players may find the course too challenging
- the road is a bit close on a couple holes, a bad tree bounce could result in a smashed window
Other Thoughts: First, let me say that I played the course in the early spring, so the trees weren't full yet.

This course instantly made my top 5, and is a better course than Pickard Park. Ewing doesn't have a single hole that is impossible, but only has a couple sure birdies. The challenge of the course is consistent and manageable without any extremes (easy or hard). Some of the lines are really thoughtful, especially when you play the paths as OB. Again, thoughtful and technical, not difficulty without fun.

I do wish the long and short tees were marked as such. Each tee has a very nice card showing pin positions, but it fails to mention which tee you are at. I don't think this would be an issue on a second playing however. Just print the map, it is fairly well made.

I drove from Minneapolis to play Ewing and Pickard and Ewing made the trip for me. I would say any course I am willing to drive 4 hours for is a good one!

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Ewing Park

1    8/17/2010   8/17/2010
Review By: jwetter
Played: 92  Reviewed: 30
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -It is in a very nice looking clean park
-multiple tees and pin locations for each hole
-very easy to navigate with really good signes
-fantastic first 9 holes. They use the elevation well and play though a wooded area but leaves plenty of room for throwing lanes.
-especially the front 9 has alot of interesting throws
-good ues of distance, there are open and very long holes but also some shorter skill shots
-its open enough where you do not lose discs but still wooded enough where there are some challenging shots
Cons: -The back 9 get a little long especially from the back tees
-the walk between 17 and 18 is very long and may be confusing if you had never been there before
Other Thoughts: This course would be good for all skill levels.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

2-4    10/9/2009   10/17/2009
Review By: tmigchel
Played: 128  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 14.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Two nice concrete pads for each hole
-Easy to navigate, especially with a map
-Very nice park, nice surrounding neighborhood
-Very clean with garbage cans and port-o-potties at the parking lot
-Front 9 wooded holes are pretty excellent
-Back 9 has some very long stuff
-Cool basket placements, 3 placement variety
Cons: Elevation changes are not great, but the course works with the terrain very well. It feels like a little bit of a longer walk, and some holes are very long (I think 18 was 720' and had trees surrounding). But great course and worth the trip.
Other Thoughts: Definitely worth traveling to, a great course. The front 9 is awesome. Its a very balanced course with a lot of variety. Drove out from Colorado, and I wish it was closer.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 very nice course in the city

2-4    4/8/2008   9/27/2009
Review By: djphilzy
Played: 23  Reviewed: 17
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: nice mix of short/tight and long/bomber holes with beautiful wild life. I saw some deer and met some locals, If I had more time they suggested II should play the other 2 courses in town. I had fun and nearly lost a disc or two which is always interesting.
Cons: The length of fairways where the most challenging part of the course. The mud was bad when playing across the field lowlands (not great drainage).
Other Thoughts: If our in Iowa near Des Moines you should play it.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome!

5+    8/20/2005   8/20/2009
Review By: Michler
Played: 247  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 24.4 Years
This review was updated on 1/20/2010
5 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Aesthetically beautiful. Elevation changes. Fun shots on every hole. Very challenging. Several par 4's to go with some really challenging par 3's.

Front nine you are looking at some tighter wooded shots (espeically hole 2). The holes are shorter, mostly under 350', with the exception of a couple par 4's. Not too much OB to worry about.

Back nine you get more into the open. Hole 10 you are bombing straight downhill on a 700+' hole. There are several par 4's on the backside, but its not just grip and rip. Some OB with the road at the bottom of the park comes into play and you need to place your shots. 17 and 18 are super long holes coming back to the parking lot. 18 perhaps a Par 5. You need to be able to throw for distance to score well out here. For the very top pros, scores of under 50 are hot. Anything under 54 is very very good. For an advanced amateur, shooting under 60 is great golf.

Awesome pine trees make for a fair course with fantasically designed fairways. Huge air shots, huge rollers, forehands, anhyzers, this course has it all! Extremely well manicured park make playing here an enjoyable disc golf experience. Baskets catch awesome and tees are great.
Cons: None. This is one of my favs.
Other Thoughts: If you have time to play 1 course in Des Moines, hit Ewing Park!

5 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Discin' Da Hills In Des Moines

1    6/24/2009   7/13/2009
Review By: Donovan
Played: 235  Reviewed: 186  Exp: 29.7 Years
14 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: First half of this course is in a nice wooded area and the second half is more open and longer holes. There is some really good elevation use, protected pins, random trees, left and right shots, and long and short holes. The front 9 makes the most of this. There is a bathroom and a few trashcans. There are some nice tee pads and great tee signs here. Navigation is not too bad. Water is available on #8.
Cons: There is some walking between some of the late numbered holes. A couple of the holes should be par 4's in the longs. The back nine is a lot of a straight throwing holes that can get repetitive.
Other Thoughts: All in all, this course is one of the best that Des Moines has to offer. The fun factor here was really good. There was enough to keep you motivated hole by hole. I would play this one again upon returning to Des Moines.

14 of 15 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.