Disc Golf Center
Des Moines, IA 
Ewing Park Share
Uploaded By: Donovan Hole #1 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 280ft.   3 / 320ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee Sign



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

1    4/27/2011   4/28/2011
Review By: happytree290
Played: 23  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6.1 Years
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Many ways to play each hole, with three baskets, and two tee pads at each hole. Course looks very beautiful.
Cons: Course design leaves something left to be desired. It seemed like there is a lot of wasted space. Especially between 17 and 18.
Other Thoughts: Overall It's a good course to play on. I would definitely play it again, but I just think they could have done more with it than what they did. I like courses that use the space, creatively, and functionally as well.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 In my top 5

1    3/24/2011   3/31/2011
Review By: MNcyclone
Played: 48  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 24.4 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - very well thought out tees and pins
- a challenge on every hole
- well paced, good mix of shots
- seems to be fairly clean
- an awesome bomber hole viewable from the parking lot
Cons: - new players may find the course too challenging
- the road is a bit close on a couple holes, a bad tree bounce could result in a smashed window
Other Thoughts: First, let me say that I played the course in the early spring, so the trees weren't full yet.

This course instantly made my top 5, and is a better course than Pickard Park. Ewing doesn't have a single hole that is impossible, but only has a couple sure birdies. The challenge of the course is consistent and manageable without any extremes (easy or hard). Some of the lines are really thoughtful, especially when you play the paths as OB. Again, thoughtful and technical, not difficulty without fun.

I do wish the long and short tees were marked as such. Each tee has a very nice card showing pin positions, but it fails to mention which tee you are at. I don't think this would be an issue on a second playing however. Just print the map, it is fairly well made.

I drove from Minneapolis to play Ewing and Pickard and Ewing made the trip for me. I would say any course I am willing to drive 4 hours for is a good one!

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Ewing Park

1    8/17/2010   8/17/2010
Review By: jwetter
Played: 51  Reviewed: 30
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -It is in a very nice looking clean park
-multiple tees and pin locations for each hole
-very easy to navigate with really good signes
-fantastic first 9 holes. They use the elevation well and play though a wooded area but leaves plenty of room for throwing lanes.
-especially the front 9 has alot of interesting throws
-good ues of distance, there are open and very long holes but also some shorter skill shots
-its open enough where you do not lose discs but still wooded enough where there are some challenging shots
Cons: -The back 9 get a little long especially from the back tees
-the walk between 17 and 18 is very long and may be confusing if you had never been there before
Other Thoughts: This course would be good for all skill levels.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

2-4    10/9/2009   10/17/2009
Review By: tmigchel
Played: 105  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 12.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Two nice concrete pads for each hole
-Easy to navigate, especially with a map
-Very nice park, nice surrounding neighborhood
-Very clean with garbage cans and port-o-potties at the parking lot
-Front 9 wooded holes are pretty excellent
-Back 9 has some very long stuff
-Cool basket placements, 3 placement variety
Cons: Elevation changes are not great, but the course works with the terrain very well. It feels like a little bit of a longer walk, and some holes are very long (I think 18 was 720' and had trees surrounding). But great course and worth the trip.
Other Thoughts: Definitely worth traveling to, a great course. The front 9 is awesome. Its a very balanced course with a lot of variety. Drove out from Colorado, and I wish it was closer.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 very nice course in the city

2-4    4/8/2008   9/27/2009
Review By: djphilzy
Played: 23  Reviewed: 17
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: nice mix of short/tight and long/bomber holes with beautiful wild life. I saw some deer and met some locals, If I had more time they suggested II should play the other 2 courses in town. I had fun and nearly lost a disc or two which is always interesting.
Cons: The length of fairways where the most challenging part of the course. The mud was bad when playing across the field lowlands (not great drainage).
Other Thoughts: If our in Iowa near Des Moines you should play it.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome!

5+    8/20/2005   8/20/2009
Review By: Michler
Played: 230  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 22.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/20/2010
4 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Aesthetically beautiful. Elevation changes. Fun shots on every hole. Very challenging. Several par 4's to go with some really challenging par 3's.

Front nine you are looking at some tighter wooded shots (espeically hole 2). The holes are shorter, mostly under 350', with the exception of a couple par 4's. Not too much OB to worry about.

Back nine you get more into the open. Hole 10 you are bombing straight downhill on a 700+' hole. There are several par 4's on the backside, but its not just grip and rip. Some OB with the road at the bottom of the park comes into play and you need to place your shots. 17 and 18 are super long holes coming back to the parking lot. 18 perhaps a Par 5. You need to be able to throw for distance to score well out here. For the very top pros, scores of under 50 are hot. Anything under 54 is very very good. For an advanced amateur, shooting under 60 is great golf.

Awesome pine trees make for a fair course with fantasically designed fairways. Huge air shots, huge rollers, forehands, anhyzers, this course has it all! Extremely well manicured park make playing here an enjoyable disc golf experience. Baskets catch awesome and tees are great.
Cons: None. This is one of my favs.
Other Thoughts: If you have time to play 1 course in Des Moines, hit Ewing Park!

4 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Discin' Da Hills In Des Moines

1    6/24/2009   7/13/2009
Review By: Donovan
Played: 212  Reviewed: 185  Exp: 27.5 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First half of this course is in a nice wooded area and the second half is more open and longer holes. There is some really good elevation use, protected pins, random trees, left and right shots, and long and short holes. The front 9 makes the most of this. There is a bathroom and a few trashcans. There are some nice tee pads and great tee signs here. Navigation is not too bad. Water is available on #8.
Cons: There is some walking between some of the late numbered holes. A couple of the holes should be par 4's in the longs. The back nine is a lot of a straight throwing holes that can get repetitive.
Other Thoughts: All in all, this course is one of the best that Des Moines has to offer. The fun factor here was really good. There was enough to keep you motivated hole by hole. I would play this one again upon returning to Des Moines.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 A jewel in Des Moines' crown

5+    4/12/2009   7/12/2009
Review By: cydisc
Played: 170  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 18.4 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Lots of variety
-Very few conflicts with other park uses
-multiple tees on each hole
-Good, descriptive signage
-logical flow
-
Cons: -inadequate restroom facilities (porta-jon)
-some holes stay sloppy after a rain event
-Safety issue with #1 (see below)
Other Thoughts: On Des Moines' southeast side resides a huge city park. The portion used for the course has no other active recreation uses, so disc golfers can throw to their hearts' content with no fear of hitting another park-goer. With the exception of Spring, when the park's considerable number of lilacs are in bloom, there is little else to bring non-golfers to this section of the park.

The course has two distinctive personalities in its looping 9 design. Each 9 starts and returns to the park lot, which is a very nice feature for a course of this length.

The front 9 rambles through a more heavily wooded area that is actually an arboretum, containing many different species of trees. The lengths of each hole are quite appropriate for the tightness of the fairways. There are a few legitimate par 4 holes available. My only knock is #1 when the basket it set in its longest or shortest positions (there are 3 for each hole). When set long or short, the basket will be within 40' of Indianola Road, which is a fairly heavily trafficked street bordering the park and you are actually throwing toward the road.

The back 9 starts with the signature #10 which features a huge, open downhill drive to a circle of crabapple trees that surround the basket. This sets the tone for the rest of the course, which is quite a bit more open and long, but still requires control of the disc to get it where you want without hitting strategically placed obstacles.

What the front and back 9s share is a nice rolling topography that the course uses quite well. Each tee features two substantially sized concrete pads and very good, vandal-resistant tee signs that graphically show the shape of the holes with accurate distances to each pin position. What's missing is a system of communicating which position the basket is in as it's not always apparent from the tee.

Overall, it's a fantastic course. Challenging, varied and fun to play. Some minor improvements and a simple re-design to #1 would bump it a half-star. Adding better restrooms and some on-site concessions would put it in the 5-star realm.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Best In Des Moines

5+    6/22/2009   6/23/2009
Review By: jdggna
Played: 23  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 8.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/11/2010
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Two tees and three pin locations on all holes.
Very well kept/mowed grounds.
The elevation of the hills is used very well, with a couple uphill holes, several downhill holes, a a couple up then down or down then up holes.
Distances range from 160 - 550 (short tees) and 250 - 700 (long tees) depending on pin placement.
Signs at tees showing hole layout.
The front nine requires more controlled shots while the back nine opens up allowing players to throw FAR.
Port-a-potty at the parking lot.
There is a water spigot after hole 8.
Navigation is pretty easy, but for complete first timers it would be beneficial to have a map (check the links/files tab).
Cons: There could be nicer restrooms (not a big deal for me).
There aren't many really tight shots, though I feel the majority of the holes require the right amount of precision with respect to the distance.
After rains there are a few places where the ground gets pretty soft/swampy. Not usually in play but there are a couple times you have to go around between holes if you want to keep your shoes from getting muddy (once again, not a big deal for me).
Other Thoughts: In my opinion, this is the best course in the Des Moines metro.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Bring your walking shoes!

1    6/12/2009   6/18/2009
Review By: wolito
Played: 85  Reviewed: 84  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/28/2010
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: First few holes are nicely wooded with large trees. Very nice tee signs on nearly every hole with multiple teepads and pin locations. Teepads are nice large cement, no plorblems with these. Fairly easy to navigate. Baskets were in good shape. Lots of longer holes that will give you arm a workout.
Cons: Long course! Some of the holes were rather long and they use that as an eay way to add to the challenge of the holes. Some walking required between the holes, especially between 17 and 18. After 17, after looking around for a while I just gave up and headed back to the car and after a while I ran into 18. I just bring your big arm here and let them rip. I feel that on most of the holes as long as you throw a good drive, then par or birdies are reasonable. Most of the fairways are open, up to the last 50-100 feet of the hole then it will tighten up with trees. Therefore your upshot is the more technical throw, rather then your drive.
Other Thoughts: The first 5 holes really excitied me. Large trees with more skill than just power required. Look at the pictures of the first holes and you will see large trees making a nice canopy over the fairway. More technical shots are required on these. However, after that the course really opens up and just seems kind of boring. Long holes where you just let it rip. Some trees do appear on a few of the back 9 holes that add some interest. Want to throw big then come here, looking for technical shots, then probably go elsewhere.

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.