Bradford, VT 
Oxbow Disc Golf Share
Uploaded By: chairman63vt Hole #13 (Taken 3/2009)
4 / --   4 / 347ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee (Lichen Gully (or I'm Lichen It))



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Surprisingly great!

1    7/5/2012   7/10/2012
Review By: Dan H.
Played: 80  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/12/2012
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great design. This course has a good variety of holes and LOTS of elevation changes. I was put off at first, but by hole 6 I was really enjoying it.

Decent signage to direct you to the next hole.

"pro" tees under construction that are playable on several holes

Beautiful views of mountains and farmland on the course and in the surrounding area

There is a great kids park by hole 10
Cons: Needs concrete tee pads. or at the very least, better defined tee border lines

There are several holes that are just wide open with few obstacles. The course could be changed around a little bit to make these more interesting.

A lot of the course pars are way off. Most of these should be par 3. maybe 1 or 2 par 4s.

Like a lot of courses, the addition of benches on a few holes would be nice.
Other Thoughts: I ran into a very nice local named Pete who was interesting to talk to. He helped me find my disc and played the rest of the round with me.

I highly recommend playing this course. There are several holes that are to me, awesome in their design and use of elevation change.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Par WHAT!?!

1    5/27/2012   5/28/2012
Review By: smalcome
Played: 33  Reviewed: 8
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I was in the area for a wedding, and this was the closest 18 hole course. During non-school hours there's tons of parking. I really enjoyed the course after the first 4-5 holes (forgettable start)- the signs were a tad old, but really helpful for navigation. The tee pads were fine- i imagine if it were heavily used they'd wear out and be a problem, but they were in great shape for dirt tee pads. I was surprised at how the course went up a long hill, along the edge, and all over- after the first few holes my hopes were not high, and then holes 6 through 14 are great! It's worth a trip if you're in the area.
Cons: The signs that state the hole, the distance and the par- their "par" numbers must be for lids or traditional frisbees. I threw a 54, and felt like a left a ton of shots out there. Yet according to the signs, that's a -12 down!!! YEAH!!!! ha ha, 12 down is not a score i'm capable of...

a few spots are WICKED thick with thorns and grass and you can easily lose a disc as this isn't an overly used DG park/course. not a ton of foot traffic to keep down the underbrush. i'd recommend using bright colored discs if you're new to the course- to avoid losing them.
Other Thoughts: I had a fun round- i wish i had the chance to play the course 5 or 6 more times to see what kind of score i could really throw- it makes me wonder what the course record is.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    8/26/2010   8/27/2010
Review By: eteP
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Everything has been mowed as of O8-25-10. Tee number one is the corner of the gymnasium at the end of the back parking lot, there is a white sign that says discgolf on the corner of the building. The directions to tee number two are on the rim of basket number one. All of the other holes are pretty well marked but the sign to Tee number two doesn't seem to stay up long. I love this course. I might be prejudice, I live about 150 yards from Tee number four so I might play it four or five times a week. As with all courses there are plenty of places where if you get off the fairway you may have to hunt for while. On number eight called the ski jump if you shoot over the trees into the field and it fades left you're going to be in the deep woods. Pete

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/12/2008   8/21/2008
Review By: ghova
Played: 42  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 9.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: a lot of work went into this course, very good tee signs, and easy to navigate course. scorecards at first hole. lots of different holes requiring many different shots, good use of elevation. the course is around a high school campus and back through the woods so there are some open field holes and some wooded holes. softball and football fields come into play on some holes. so during a school day might not be a good time to play as practices will probably be going on. played in early august so there was a football practice going on but not much else. there was even some water to deal with so this course has a little of everything. also nice baskets.
Cons: first couple holes are pretty short and the whole course seems to be designed around 200ft. drives. no tee boxes, and lots of mosquitos. pars seem to be off by one stroke, par fours should be 3's and 5's should be 4's but it feels good to go by what they have on the scorecards. lots of ferns on some holes so discs that fly offline take a long time to find. the front nine is short and well designed, but the back 9 lacks diversity and there are a few holes in a row that are just wide open fields or down roads with no obstacles.
Other Thoughts: fun course, looks like all the tee markers were made in shop class, and i can picture a lot of kids running through it on school days after school or during recess. plays pretty quick if you stay on the fairways. wish my high school had a course like this on its campus when i went there. looks like it is promoting the sport really well and getting alot of new young players interested.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.