Disc Golf Store
Bradford, VT 
Oxbow Disc Golf Share
Uploaded By: chairman63vt Hole #17 (Taken 3/2009)
3 / --   3 / 186ft.   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee (Spruce Curtain)



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
A neglected course

1    7/21/2013   7/22/2013
Review By: jtreadwell
Played: 34  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 4.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Free
-Scorecards provided
-Some cool holes
-Good use of elevation
-Several holes loop back to the beginning of the course throughout.
-Most holes have multiple tees
Cons: -Navigation is atrocious
-Overgrown and packed with poison ivy and stinging nettles
-Teepads too small, badly shaped, or nonexistent
-Long walks between many holes
Other Thoughts: I took a drive down to Oxbow to meet some folks that have recently acquired the disc golf addiction. Arriving at the High School, I was happy to find a very large athletic field in which to warm up my driving arm. The first and last holes are evident from the parking lot, as are a few other baskets in the distance. There are white tees with mixed teeboxes (mostly natural but some with small, 2x2ish cement "launch pads" at the end), as well as blue tees, usually marked with either blue ribbon or some other type of blue marking. These teepads were mostly functional, with a few being exceptions. Hole 8's teebox is a deathtrap. on top of a very steep, very tall hill, you have maybe 5 ft from front to back and 4 ft side to side on which to drive, with a scary drop on 3 sides. Not the hole to overstep on. On the plus side, there are many shots that use elevation to great effect, with a few downhill bombs as well as uphill slogs thrown in for good measure. You won't be bored by the shot variation, that's for sure. What you will get tired of is hunting for your discs in the overgrowth. Not only is the rough neigh impenetrable in many spots, the fairways on many holes are also severely overgrown. Along with clots of poison ivy, there was also a fair number of stinging nettle plants, as well as a patch of some kind of poisonous turnip (I'm not plant literate but one of my playing partners was shocked to see it on a course). Navigation also left much to be desired. Many of the trips from basket to tee were long, counterintuitive, and poorly marked. This would definitely be a course to use a guide on. It should be noted that many of the treks from hole to hole are a bit of a hike, so less fit disc golfers may not enjoy this course for that reason alone.
Overall, Oxbow is not a course to go out of your way to play, but it isn't unplayable if you've got a guide and thick skin for noxious plants and bugs. Good golf, poor maintenance and execution.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Surprisingly great!

1    7/5/2012   7/10/2012
Review By: Dan H.
Played: 80  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 7/12/2012
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great design. This course has a good variety of holes and LOTS of elevation changes. I was put off at first, but by hole 6 I was really enjoying it.

Decent signage to direct you to the next hole.

"pro" tees under construction that are playable on several holes

Beautiful views of mountains and farmland on the course and in the surrounding area

There is a great kids park by hole 10
Cons: Needs concrete tee pads. or at the very least, better defined tee border lines

There are several holes that are just wide open with few obstacles. The course could be changed around a little bit to make these more interesting.

A lot of the course pars are way off. Most of these should be par 3. maybe 1 or 2 par 4s.

Like a lot of courses, the addition of benches on a few holes would be nice.
Other Thoughts: I ran into a very nice local named Pete who was interesting to talk to. He helped me find my disc and played the rest of the round with me.

I highly recommend playing this course. There are several holes that are to me, awesome in their design and use of elevation change.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Par WHAT!?!

1    5/27/2012   5/28/2012
Review By: smalcome
Played: 33  Reviewed: 8
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I was in the area for a wedding, and this was the closest 18 hole course. During non-school hours there's tons of parking. I really enjoyed the course after the first 4-5 holes (forgettable start)- the signs were a tad old, but really helpful for navigation. The tee pads were fine- i imagine if it were heavily used they'd wear out and be a problem, but they were in great shape for dirt tee pads. I was surprised at how the course went up a long hill, along the edge, and all over- after the first few holes my hopes were not high, and then holes 6 through 14 are great! It's worth a trip if you're in the area.
Cons: The signs that state the hole, the distance and the par- their "par" numbers must be for lids or traditional frisbees. I threw a 54, and felt like a left a ton of shots out there. Yet according to the signs, that's a -12 down!!! YEAH!!!! ha ha, 12 down is not a score i'm capable of...

a few spots are WICKED thick with thorns and grass and you can easily lose a disc as this isn't an overly used DG park/course. not a ton of foot traffic to keep down the underbrush. i'd recommend using bright colored discs if you're new to the course- to avoid losing them.
Other Thoughts: I had a fun round- i wish i had the chance to play the course 5 or 6 more times to see what kind of score i could really throw- it makes me wonder what the course record is.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    8/26/2010   8/27/2010
Review By: eteP
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Everything has been mowed as of O8-25-10. Tee number one is the corner of the gymnasium at the end of the back parking lot, there is a white sign that says discgolf on the corner of the building. The directions to tee number two are on the rim of basket number one. All of the other holes are pretty well marked but the sign to Tee number two doesn't seem to stay up long. I love this course. I might be prejudice, I live about 150 yards from Tee number four so I might play it four or five times a week. As with all courses there are plenty of places where if you get off the fairway you may have to hunt for while. On number eight called the ski jump if you shoot over the trees into the field and it fades left you're going to be in the deep woods. Pete

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Oxbow Disc Golf

1    6/6/2009   6/6/2009
Review By: jdc03270
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice tee signs, arrows, and baskets. It's easy to find the next tee box and basket. Good range of long and short holes. Makes you use different shots on each hole.
Cons: Grass is pretty high on the front 9, makes it very hard to find your disc. The back 9 holes are all pretty much the same, open and flat.

Other Thoughts: Finding the first three holes are the hardest part of this course. The first hole is located by the wall of the gym. From the first basket, you walk to the closer dugout and the tee is right behind it. and from the 2nd basket you walk along the tree line to a path that runs to your right, and the 3rd tee box is right down the path.

This course all around is pretty fun and hard at the same time.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/12/2008   8/21/2008
Review By: ghova
Played: 42  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 9.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: a lot of work went into this course, very good tee signs, and easy to navigate course. scorecards at first hole. lots of different holes requiring many different shots, good use of elevation. the course is around a high school campus and back through the woods so there are some open field holes and some wooded holes. softball and football fields come into play on some holes. so during a school day might not be a good time to play as practices will probably be going on. played in early august so there was a football practice going on but not much else. there was even some water to deal with so this course has a little of everything. also nice baskets.
Cons: first couple holes are pretty short and the whole course seems to be designed around 200ft. drives. no tee boxes, and lots of mosquitos. pars seem to be off by one stroke, par fours should be 3's and 5's should be 4's but it feels good to go by what they have on the scorecards. lots of ferns on some holes so discs that fly offline take a long time to find. the front nine is short and well designed, but the back 9 lacks diversity and there are a few holes in a row that are just wide open fields or down roads with no obstacles.
Other Thoughts: fun course, looks like all the tee markers were made in shop class, and i can picture a lot of kids running through it on school days after school or during recess. plays pretty quick if you stay on the fairways. wish my high school had a course like this on its campus when i went there. looks like it is promoting the sport really well and getting alot of new young players interested.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center