Spring Lake, MI 
LakeShore Disc Golf Complex Share
Uploaded By: Povis Hole #10 (Taken 9/2013)
3 / 218ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Bridge to Terabithia

2-4    11/9/2013   11/11/2013
Review By: sgamerp
Played: 80  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 6.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Baskets - Nice New baskets.

Park is disc golf only. In some parts it kind of reminded me of being at the beach (sandy dune like areas)

All the holes have set "paths" to find the next hole with some signs and also logs to mark the way.

Tee signs - all have a coffee can for ciggbutts they also have a sharpie drawing that should show how the holes run.
Cons: Teepads - natural pads, and the course holds water in some spots which makes for not the best driving.

Tee Signs - They have them, I am marking this as a con, because with better teesign/teepads this course would move up about half a disc.

No Drinking - This is a con and a pro for some, I listed it here, because even thought I am pretty sure you can't drink there because the last course people threw cans all over the place, there were a few still here(reason last spring lake course got pulled)

This place holds water hard. We went after a rain 3 days before and it was still wet.
Other Thoughts: This place is super fun. A full all around course and an upgrade from what was here (unless you want an easy ace :D)

This place is very new, and I am sure it will be a lot better within a year or soo, when I played someone was cleaning up the course.

There seemed to be some awkwardly placed bridges throughout the course but it was still a lot of fun and I could see myself coming back here a lot.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


5+    4/20/2014   10/14/2013
Review By: Mark R
Played: 83  Reviewed: 65  Exp: 12.1 Years
This review was updated on 4/21/2014
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Has some interesting tunnel holes through dense lowland forest. Hole 8, a course highlight, opens up across sandy lowlands (resembling a water hazard), with a short tunnel at the end. Many paths are very narrow, resulting in some challenging drives. Many tunnels appear to have been cut through brush with hedgehogs, effectively creating a course where one wasn't possible before.

Parts of the course wind of out lowlands into pine forest on the back nine, with short but fairly tough Coldbrook-like driving lanes. Has some straight paths as well as right and left doglegs and sharp turns. Hole 18 is the longest, a 420 foot tunnel hole through lowland jack pines and brush back to the parking lot.

Buffeted winds and shelter areas should make the course acceptable in inclement weather, provided there isn't too much rainwater. Has a number of signs that help navigation, but the tee signs are very basic with distance and hole layout information.

Sunday league play at 1PM appears to be popular and well-organized. Free course!
Cons: Massive potential for disc loss, from the very first hole though most of the lowland holes. Brush and tall grass leads to frequent disc searching. The brush is so thick in some places that you can be right on top of a disc and not see it. Marshy lowlands on several holes are still wet after other area courses (such as Whitehall) are dry.

Poor tee pads for the most part, though the distances needed for most of the drives make this a minor issue.

Many tire tracks and sawed-off stumps create walking hazards. Course is closed during rifle season (11/15 to 12/1), with hours restricted to 10AM to 4PM during bow season.
Other Thoughts: This is a sorely-needed addition to help the relative lack of courses in the Muskegon/Grand Haven area. Course is on the south side of Wilson Rd., (Muskegon/Ottawa county line) just west of Grand Haven Road, south of Pontaluna Rd.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Lots of potential

1    10/5/2013   10/6/2013
Review By: landon77
Played: 49  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 14.8 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: ---
-high fun factor
-great design. There are some really high quality holes. Designers did a great job when designing.
-course is fair to all types of throwers
-signature holes present on this course that makes it unique
Cons: ----
-overgrown
-new
-very easy to lose discs
-lacks good signs
-lacks cement or comparable tee pads
-lacks trash receptacles
-lacks huge distance holes
Other Thoughts: ----
This course has high potential for a better score in the future. I also plan on playing the course as it gets worn in.
It had a high fun factor and there were some really good holes.
Some of the holes had robert morris, three rivers, and even idlewild characterstics. These are just some courses that some of these holes reminded me of.
As of now its very rough. To easy to lose discs even a foot off the fairway. When it gets thinned out it will be an easy 3.5 rated course.
A great addition to Northern Michigan disc scene!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

thank god muskegon has this course...

1    9/26/2013   9/26/2013
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 243  Reviewed: 236  Exp: 4.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Aesthetic-- plays through marshy area that has a past as a 4-wheeler area. Area now seems to be a dg exclusive area.

Teesigns-- basic, but shows basic layout of hole and footage which seem accurate.

Routing and nav-- there are a LOT of cross trails out here, the only tricky spot was 17-18 for me... but "next tee" posts were plentiful.

Baskets-- new ChainStars but could really use some reflective tape to help aide in visibility.

Challenge/Variety-- challenge here comes in the way of VERY thick scrub which lines the fairways. there is a "lake" on #8 which I'm sure is more wet during rainy times. When I was there, it was dry (save for a few mud puddles). A fair balance of lefts rights, longer and shorter holes... the short holes are TIGHT and don't really seem like short holes at all.
Cons:
Teepads-- I'm sure that these will get better with the addition of rubber teepads (planned) but for now they are very rutty and have roots and other trip hazards.

Signage-- I am hoping the signage will improve with time. for now it serves it's purpose but could be much better.

Baskets-- I'm pretty sure that these are recycled baskets from rycenga and some have the wrong numbers on them.

Future wetness issues-- this area is LOW LOW, I'm sure it's gonna be muddy and buggy when the weather is a bit wetter and in the spring. I'm sure that this course will be a blast in the winter.
Other Thoughts:
So glad that Muskegon has a respectable course again. I mean Whitehall is close but this is closer. :)

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Lakeshore aka "Rats Nest" Disc Golf

5+    7/6/2014   9/23/2013
Review By: rshrevo
Played: 38  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 18.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/7/2014
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Benches at a lot of the holes. fairly easy to navigate. front nine and back nine both end at parking lot so you can play a quick nine if you only have time for nine. fairly challenging you have to really shape some of your shots in order to try and stay in the fairway. good mix of long and short holes. There is a pond on hole 8 that you have to shoot across. during a dry period the pond goes away.
Cons: rough can get hide your disc really well but that is getting better as more people play the course. some of the fairways are a little rough with the ruts from 4 wheelers that used to travel the property. could be a problem with bugs i didn't experience any but might get worse in spring and summer.
Other Thoughts: I almost walked past the tee for 6 and 17 the post is right by the turn almost didn't see it. Overall I really like this course. I am glad that the Lakeshore Disc Golf Club was able to get Spring Lake township to approve a replacement course location for Rycenga. Course will only get better as more people begin to play it. I also like the security camera posted on the telephone pole in the parking lot. Scorecards are located on the back of the Kiosk sign before hole 1.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.