Chesterfield, MO 
Logan University DGC Share
Uploaded By: Brokensaint Hole #7 (Taken 9/2013)
3 / 244ft.   3 / 294ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
I've been wandering early and late/From the New York City to the Golden Gate/And it don't look like I'll ever stop my wandering

1    4/26/2014   5/5/2014
Review By: Three Putt
Played: 137  Reviewed: 80  Exp: 19.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Logan University is a private chiropractic college in West St. Louis County. West County has so far avoided the disc golf trend (other than the 9-holers in Manchester and Ellisville) so the location is prime for a top-quality course. Fortunately, this course delivers. This isn't a terribly long course, but a lot of the distance shoots uphill and it feels longer than it is. The elevation changes here combined with the wooded nature of the course creates a lot of variety in the shots; I had to throw some rollers and try a few trick shots to try to get by here. A few of the holes (#1,#3, #17) are long and open enough to let you air it out. #9 and #18 do as well, but there is a stand of trees that you have to negotiate that take away the bomb's away effect. On #17 you have to put on your big boy pants because it is a long water carry (I took the safe route) and #3 has some tricky water as well (there is a blind pond up on the right by the pin.) Most of the rest of the course is wooded. There are some really short touch shot/Ace runs (#2, #8, #10) and mostly technical holes. Hole #16 is a great hole; it's a downhill tunnel shot with an OB fence to the right leading to a blind pin with a creek in front and a pond to the left. There is some water on the course, but all of the holes gave you a safe route to avoid the water other than #8, and #8 is an Ace run. There are good tee signs and multiple tees/pins. The course was very challenging to me, but enough of the shots are technical wooded holes that it was not boring like a lot of the courses that primarily get their challenge from length. It's does a good job of balancing challenge with a high "fun factor" and should be attractive to a wide variety of players.
Cons: The flow here is atrocious. The holes are set up to bring you back to the parking lot between #9-#10, but to do that you create a ghastly combination of long golfless walks, walking past tees for other holes to get to your hole, crossing the same street four times for no good reason, a dicey creek crossing to get from #12-#13 and a cluster of #17's basket and people walking from #8-#9. Because of the wandering back in forth, there are several places where you can get lost. However, there is a solution to the horrendous flow. Start on hole #10 and play #10/#11; walk across the street and play #12; cut over and play #4/#5/#6/#7/#8, walk around the green for #17 to get to #13 (which eliminates the dicey creek crossing) and play #13/#14/#15/#16/#17; cross the street and play #9; then play #1/#2/#3/#18 to end the round. If you use the 10/11/12/4/5/6/7/8/13/14/15/16/17/9/1/2/3/18 rotation the flow isn't half bad; #8 to #13 isn't a great transition but the rest of it plays OK. This does not get you back to the parking lot between holes #9-#10, but it eliminates a lot of the staggering around the course like a sailor on shore leave.

The routes on some of the holes (#4, #9 & #18 come to mind) are not really defined for somebody that can't bomb.

Hole #16 is a fabulous hole, but the White tee runs against a property line fence. Considering how many disc golfers would jump a fence and trespass in a heartbeat to get a disc back, it doesn't seem like a great idea to be throwing over there. The Blue fairway is a bit better.

As mentioned before, the creek crossing from #12 to #13 is dicey. You either make a muddy slog through a creek or cross over a downed tree that was too narrow and up too high for my old legs to feel steady on.

Hole #9 and the safe route for hole #18 use the same fairway. The shots go the same direction so the design should be safe if people will wait, but it can create a backup.

When you finish #18 and start walking up the hill, you are in #1's fairway blind from the tee. If it's going to be that way there should be a warning sign directing you to stay out of #1's fairway (or there should be a big bell for you to ring so the guys on #1 know you are there :p)
Other Thoughts: Hole #3 was closed due to a nesting goose. That was a new one for me.

The tees are natural. I don't list this as a con, but concrete would be better. The course is very pretty and the grounds are very well maintained otherwise.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

picturesque

5+    12/28/2013   12/28/2013
Review By: thrillthrower
Played: 40  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 0.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of elevation changes on almost every hole- not crowded, challenging, but tight realistic wood holes-
The risk/reward element on many holes brings an element of excitement and surprise every time you play.



Cons: Natural tee pads look right for this setting, but a little slick when wet ; traversing from hole 8 to 9 is not the best dry and definitely treacherous when wet. -(ok I fell down the hill.) Basket locations not changed on any interval I can tell and I am there a lot (work close by) - all of my cons are minor/ easily fixable
Other Thoughts: Disclaimer: have been playing just since Oct , although nearly 3-4 times a week - "newbie disc fever" Course has become my favorite . Have played enough courses in St. Louis to compare and rate it as a solid 4

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


2-4    10/12/2013   10/12/2013
Review By: birdman101
Played: 49  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 4.9 Years
This review was updated on 10/28/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a championship caliber course. no doubt about it. It sits on the beautiful campus of Logan College and plays in and out of the woods with ponds and creeks coming into play.

the water hazards and the elevation changes which are 2 things that aren't found to this extent in the St Louis area really make the course.

Has a variety of shots both left to right and right to left and several holes where you get to choose.

The ponds come into play on 4 holes (3, 8, 16, 17)

The tight lines in the woods require accuracy, and most of the wide open holes require a fairly decent placement to give you a decent shot at the basket.

Front and back 9 do loop to the parking lot, but comes at a slight cost (more in the cons)

There are 2 sets of tees and from what I understand 2 pin placements on each hole (unsure of who has keys, or the authority to move baskets though)

Nice big metal tee signs just got installed, although there is no method of marking which pin is currently in play and a few of them dont seem to match up 100% to the hole, but they are still way better than nothing.
Cons: This course is new and still in the works (not sure if its immediately in the works or a trial run see how it goes situation)

natural pads are in decent shape right now but over time could become rough. Currently no tee signs and most holes don't even have distance info. The posts are in, so that helps find the tees, but most of them are by the whites, but a couple are by the blues.

The flow of the course is kind of silly. Part of this seems to be they wanted the course to loop to the parking lot after 9. After hole 8 you have to walk by 17's alternate placement, 13 tee, and essentially down 4 and 12s fairways to get to 9. Same issue after 17 you walk past 13 tee, and up 4 and 12s fairway.
Other than that the navigation isn't too bad but you WILL STILL WANT A MAP OR A GUIDE.

Other issue is that hole 1 plays along side part of 18's fairway and 18's basket is right there which could get confusing.
As well as the fact that the first half of 9 and 18's fairways are essentially the same fair way.
Other Thoughts: This course is supposedly still under construction, so the lack of trash cans and other little things may get ironed out in the near future we will have to wait and see. I WILL UPDATE THIS AS I KNOW OR SEE THINGS CHANGING.

Also this is on a college campus so be respectful pick up your trash and avoid causing a big scene. Rumor is that it may go pay to play or buy a membership and people taking advantage my make that happen faster.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Wonderful course

1    10/5/2013   10/11/2013
Review By: ustenido
Played: 26  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 1.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: EXCELLENT USE of water and elevation. EXCELLENT mixture of wooded and open space (see hole 4). Strategically placed pins (watch out for water!). Two tee boxes, blue and white, which are correctly designed and par'd for intermediate and advanced amateur players - a rare find in courses today, thank you Mr. McCormack for doing this correctly!. The groundskeepers are superfriendly and excited to see disc golfers.
Cons: Trash cans are lacking - this could lead to future green fees or course closure.
Needs tee signs - though I imagine these will come.
Needs a kiosk with a course map.
Hole 1 can be a bit confusing, the basket is located at the far end of the field under the canopy. The confusion derrives from hole 18's basket being in site and looking like where 1 should be. So I'd like to see these two fairways separated by trees.
No concrete tee boxes for white or blue - I actually prefer natural settings, but many won't. It would be better if the teeing areas were level, but there are some instances where they are not (hole 3 blue is on a rolling hill).
Other Thoughts: I hope this course doesn't get bypassed for STL Open because of the teepads. It's better than Endicott

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Championship Caliber

2-4    9/21/2013   10/1/2013
Review By: Golden Tuna
Played: 117  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 13.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful grounds, well maintained, multiple tee pads, multiple pin placements, elevation changes, tight and technical, championship caliber, water holes, lots of risk/reward

This course is bound to be one of the top courses in St. Louis once it gets concrete tee pads, tee signs, and has some time to mature. It is situated on the campus of Logan University - College of Chiropractic which means they have a full time, year round grounds crew that maintains the course/property. The course boasts both white and blue tee pads which offer a great challenge due to the technicality you find on nearly every hole.
For those who are familiar with St. Louis courses, Logan is a combination of elevation changes from Sioux Passage and tight technical shots from Endicott. There are a couple open, grip it and rip it holes. But, you'll need precision in order to score well here. There are a handful of short Par 3's, but none of them are gimmies. You may drive with your putter, but you still have to form your line to navigate around all the obstacles in your way.
There is a great use of elevation on nearly every hole. Smart golf wins the round out here as the rough is still very rough and difficult to play through. So, if you can stay in the fairway and stay dry, you're doing pretty well. Water comes into play on holes 3, 8, 16 & 17 which forces a smart shot or the risk of losing a disc.
Cons: Natural tee pads, tough to navigate, challenging, no trashcans, water and restrooms are not readily available

Though there are only natural tee pads out here now, they aren't that bad as most of them are relatively flat and debris free. You will encounter some difficult footing on a number of fairway shots, but that is mostly due to the terrain and elevation, not the design or maintenance of the holes. There are a couple questionable choices when it comes to the flow of the course, but I've attached a map which should be helpful. When you finish holes 8 & 17, you have to walk back across holes 4 and 12 to get to 9 and 18, so keep an eye out for incoming shots.

This is a college campus, so naturally there are bathrooms and water fountains, but I'm not sure campus personnel wants disc golfers traipsing around their campus and tracking mud into their buildings. Please tread very lightly in this regard because they are the ones that could choose to make this course pay to play or private for students only.
Other Thoughts: This course is an awesome challenge and a great work out for the mind and body. My caution to everyone is to be respectful and smart at this course since it is on private property and we don't want a few bad apples to spoil this great course for the rest of us. There aren't really any trash cans on the course yet, so if you pack it in, please pack it out. Also since there aren't really any facilities, be sure to bring your own water, soda, whatever. Thought it is a college campus, I assume alcohol is frowned upon, so be very discrete, don't leave any bottles/cans on campus or just wait till you're done playing

Traveler's Note: Turning left out of the campus will bring you right back to Highway 64/40. If you turn right on Schoettler, then left on Clayton, you have everything you need in regards to food, fuel, shopping, etc.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.