Chesterfield, MO 
Logan University DGC Share
Uploaded By: Brokensaint Hole #3 (Taken 9/2013)
4 / 366ft.   4 / 400ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
picturesque

5+    12/28/2013   12/28/2013
Review By: thrillthrower
Played: 51  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 1.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of elevation changes on almost every hole- not crowded, challenging, but tight realistic wood holes-
The risk/reward element on many holes brings an element of excitement and surprise every time you play.



Cons: Natural tee pads look right for this setting, but a little slick when wet ; traversing from hole 8 to 9 is not the best dry and definitely treacherous when wet. -(ok I fell down the hill.) Basket locations not changed on any interval I can tell and I am there a lot (work close by) - all of my cons are minor/ easily fixable
Other Thoughts: Disclaimer: have been playing just since Oct , although nearly 3-4 times a week - "newbie disc fever" Course has become my favorite . Have played enough courses in St. Louis to compare and rate it as a solid 4

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


2-4    10/12/2013   10/12/2013
Review By: birdman101
Played: 54  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 5.7 Years
This review was updated on 10/28/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a championship caliber course. no doubt about it. It sits on the beautiful campus of Logan College and plays in and out of the woods with ponds and creeks coming into play.

the water hazards and the elevation changes which are 2 things that aren't found to this extent in the St Louis area really make the course.

Has a variety of shots both left to right and right to left and several holes where you get to choose.

The ponds come into play on 4 holes (3, 8, 16, 17)

The tight lines in the woods require accuracy, and most of the wide open holes require a fairly decent placement to give you a decent shot at the basket.

Front and back 9 do loop to the parking lot, but comes at a slight cost (more in the cons)

There are 2 sets of tees and from what I understand 2 pin placements on each hole (unsure of who has keys, or the authority to move baskets though)

Nice big metal tee signs just got installed, although there is no method of marking which pin is currently in play and a few of them dont seem to match up 100% to the hole, but they are still way better than nothing.
Cons: This course is new and still in the works (not sure if its immediately in the works or a trial run see how it goes situation)

natural pads are in decent shape right now but over time could become rough. Currently no tee signs and most holes don't even have distance info. The posts are in, so that helps find the tees, but most of them are by the whites, but a couple are by the blues.

The flow of the course is kind of silly. Part of this seems to be they wanted the course to loop to the parking lot after 9. After hole 8 you have to walk by 17's alternate placement, 13 tee, and essentially down 4 and 12s fairways to get to 9. Same issue after 17 you walk past 13 tee, and up 4 and 12s fairway.
Other than that the navigation isn't too bad but you WILL STILL WANT A MAP OR A GUIDE.

Other issue is that hole 1 plays along side part of 18's fairway and 18's basket is right there which could get confusing.
As well as the fact that the first half of 9 and 18's fairways are essentially the same fair way.
Other Thoughts: This course is supposedly still under construction, so the lack of trash cans and other little things may get ironed out in the near future we will have to wait and see. I WILL UPDATE THIS AS I KNOW OR SEE THINGS CHANGING.

Also this is on a college campus so be respectful pick up your trash and avoid causing a big scene. Rumor is that it may go pay to play or buy a membership and people taking advantage my make that happen faster.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Wonderful course

1    10/5/2013   10/11/2013
Review By: ustenido
Played: 28  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 1.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: EXCELLENT USE of water and elevation. EXCELLENT mixture of wooded and open space (see hole 4). Strategically placed pins (watch out for water!). Two tee boxes, blue and white, which are correctly designed and par'd for intermediate and advanced amateur players - a rare find in courses today, thank you Mr. McCormack for doing this correctly!. The groundskeepers are superfriendly and excited to see disc golfers.
Cons: Trash cans are lacking - this could lead to future green fees or course closure.
Needs tee signs - though I imagine these will come.
Needs a kiosk with a course map.
Hole 1 can be a bit confusing, the basket is located at the far end of the field under the canopy. The confusion derrives from hole 18's basket being in site and looking like where 1 should be. So I'd like to see these two fairways separated by trees.
No concrete tee boxes for white or blue - I actually prefer natural settings, but many won't. It would be better if the teeing areas were level, but there are some instances where they are not (hole 3 blue is on a rolling hill).
Other Thoughts: I hope this course doesn't get bypassed for STL Open because of the teepads. It's better than Endicott

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Championship Caliber

2-4    9/21/2013   10/1/2013
Review By: Golden Tuna
Played: 117  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 14.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful grounds, well maintained, multiple tee pads, multiple pin placements, elevation changes, tight and technical, championship caliber, water holes, lots of risk/reward

This course is bound to be one of the top courses in St. Louis once it gets concrete tee pads, tee signs, and has some time to mature. It is situated on the campus of Logan University - College of Chiropractic which means they have a full time, year round grounds crew that maintains the course/property. The course boasts both white and blue tee pads which offer a great challenge due to the technicality you find on nearly every hole.
For those who are familiar with St. Louis courses, Logan is a combination of elevation changes from Sioux Passage and tight technical shots from Endicott. There are a couple open, grip it and rip it holes. But, you'll need precision in order to score well here. There are a handful of short Par 3's, but none of them are gimmies. You may drive with your putter, but you still have to form your line to navigate around all the obstacles in your way.
There is a great use of elevation on nearly every hole. Smart golf wins the round out here as the rough is still very rough and difficult to play through. So, if you can stay in the fairway and stay dry, you're doing pretty well. Water comes into play on holes 3, 8, 16 & 17 which forces a smart shot or the risk of losing a disc.
Cons: Natural tee pads, tough to navigate, challenging, no trashcans, water and restrooms are not readily available

Though there are only natural tee pads out here now, they aren't that bad as most of them are relatively flat and debris free. You will encounter some difficult footing on a number of fairway shots, but that is mostly due to the terrain and elevation, not the design or maintenance of the holes. There are a couple questionable choices when it comes to the flow of the course, but I've attached a map which should be helpful. When you finish holes 8 & 17, you have to walk back across holes 4 and 12 to get to 9 and 18, so keep an eye out for incoming shots.

This is a college campus, so naturally there are bathrooms and water fountains, but I'm not sure campus personnel wants disc golfers traipsing around their campus and tracking mud into their buildings. Please tread very lightly in this regard because they are the ones that could choose to make this course pay to play or private for students only.
Other Thoughts: This course is an awesome challenge and a great work out for the mind and body. My caution to everyone is to be respectful and smart at this course since it is on private property and we don't want a few bad apples to spoil this great course for the rest of us. There aren't really any trash cans on the course yet, so if you pack it in, please pack it out. Also since there aren't really any facilities, be sure to bring your own water, soda, whatever. Thought it is a college campus, I assume alcohol is frowned upon, so be very discrete, don't leave any bottles/cans on campus or just wait till you're done playing

Traveler's Note: Turning left out of the campus will bring you right back to Highway 64/40. If you turn right on Schoettler, then left on Clayton, you have everything you need in regards to food, fuel, shopping, etc.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.