Chesterfield, MO 
Logan University DGC Share
Uploaded By: Brokensaint Hole #13 (Taken 9/2013)
3 / 243ft.   3 / 293ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 STL's New Premier Course

5+    1/16/2014   11/27/2013
Review By: allenhoop
Played: 57  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.5 Years
This review was updated on 1/17/2014
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: --Great use of elevation
--Tight but well defined fairways with challenging lines
--Good mix of field/woods
--Water comes into play making several approaches very difficult
--Great dug out natural tees
--Proper signage/Easy to navigate
--Most basket areas are mulched
--Front/Back 9 loops/Tees for 1 and 10 are close together
--Several signature holes come to mind...
The last 5 holes are amazing
--Course requires a good mix of technical, placement, and distance disc golf -- you might just throw every disc in your bag/every type of throw in your aresenal
--Gateway Titans
Cons: --Some fairly long walks between holes
--Brush is pretty thick in some areas
--9/18 share a fairway (to an extent)
--Walks between some holes cut across other holes fairways slightly
--Tee pads are pretty treacherous when wet, needs some work
--Tee signs are hidden in woods on 8, 16; could be hard to find when new to the course

Other Thoughts: You won't find many courses like this in St. Louis. The use of elevation is unmatched in the area. Adding more pin locations (longer/more varied) to use specifically for pro tournaments could make this a championship caliber course.

Lots of water is in play on this course, so make sure to bring some discs you don't mind losing. A bad kick on your drive could send you into a pond pretty easily.

If you play disc golf in St. Louis, play this course immediately. You will not regret it.

Definitely a signature Dave McCormack course that will only get better with age.


2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Logan University- Championship Cal.

5+    11/14/2013   11/21/2013
Review By: discdanny
Played: 37  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 1.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: So many pros..where to begin? Logan University's campus spans over 60 acres of rolling hills and dense woods with 2 beautiful lakes. One of these lakes features a large fountain for an added aesthetic appeal.

-This course truly requires every shot that you have in your bag.

- Left/Right & Right/Left
-Big Arm Bombs
-Extreme control
-Steep elevation shots
-Rollers, Etc...

---Getting off of the fairway here at all is likely to cost you a handful of strokes on your day due to the density of the woods on the tighter holes.
--Water OB is also a huge factor on holes: 3,8,16 & 17
-Large Metal Tee Signs
-Loops after 9
-Gateway Titan Baskets
-Beautiful Land- Extremely well manicured
-Chiropractic School very close if you throw your back out during your round. hah

Cons: Not too many..

-Trash Cans
-No Concrete tee pads (yet).. Though i prefer natural pads.
-This is a college campus..so alcohol is not permitted
Other Thoughts: This course is stellar.. I love it.. Should be rated even higher, wishlisted and favorited by more!!!

A HUGE thank you to Dave Mac and the guys at Gateway Disc Sports for this one!! Awesome Job

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great potential!

2-4    10/4/2013   10/4/2013
Review By: Dantastic
Played: 26  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.4 Years
This review was updated on 11/28/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Logan College has a beautiful campus with mature woods, ponds with nice fountains (that come into play), and trash cans and benches through out the course. There are many pros about this new course to St. Louis
- great use of elevation.
- variety
- Detailed signs
- well maintained
-tight lines
-water hazards
-long bombs
- two possible pin locations and tee markers.
-nice new gateway baskets with 3 sets of chains
- mulch around a lot of the baskets.
- possible Ace runs.
Cons: -no tee pad(yet)
- navigation is quite confusing without signs telling you where to go next.
- some of the holes use the same fairway and cross over.
- 9 is far away from 8 and hard to find your first time through. Basically you go back to the road and over the cross walk and it's Fairway is side by side. This was done to loop back to the parking lot after 9. (Kind of annoying).
Other Thoughts: This course has potential to be one of the top rated courses in the st. Louis area. It is only a couple months old so a lot of the cons I listed will most likely be fixed. Also as the other two reviewers noted this course MAY be a pay to play course in the future. As of now it is not. So be nice and respectful! Have fun!

One of my favorite things about this course is that it plays like an old worn in course. The fairways are expertly cut out and look superb.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


5+    9/23/2013   9/30/2013
Review By: TheGoldenPutter
Played: 52  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.6 Years
This review was updated on 12/1/2013
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: +Well well well, looks like I get to be the first to review another fantastic new DGC in STL. This may become the best course in town, so that means its good. A very high level course.

+Beautiful campus with large hills and ELEVATION changes, 3 ponds, nicely maintained grounds with mature woods.

+Every type of shot is needed here; course really has some cool and challenging lines, some of which certainly brought me out of my comfort zone.

+The times I've played, I play it as a par 61 (which most likely isn't going to be the actual par, probably higher). Anyway there's a good amount of par three shots that are more technical. Then the par 4's are the kind where it really pays off to have a good drive; but even then, you're not going to have an easy second shot. An example is hole 3, which is a sort of tunnel shot with the pond lurking behind. The tunnel is about 300ish long, and then the fairway takes a right 90degree turn where the pin is tucked 50 in. So holes like that, pretty cool.

+The 3 ponds actually come into play.
#3 has one pond on the left side taking any overthrown RHBH shots of the tee. Then behind the pin there's a smaller pond taking any overthrown approach shots.
#8 Pond about 20-30ft behind pin.
#16 Pond and creek protecting the green.
#17 Pond on the right side of fairway. Tempting shot to try to carry over it, probably about 400ft on a straight line.

+Signature holes. You're gonna leave Logan with a memory of a lot of holes that really stood out.
+This course really punishes bad shots.
+Two sets of pads. Some awesome different locations.
+Two pin positions, most of which really change the hole
+Very challenging. First time shooting there par is a great score.
+I'll say it again, Elevation.
+Oh ya, almost forgot, Elevation, ponds, beautiful scenery, challenging holes.
+Gateway Titans
+AS OF 10/23/13 Tee signs are in! Very nice signs.
Cons: -Natural tee pads. Concrete ones should be installed in the future.

- I think the one thing that will keep this course back is the flow. The walk between 8-9 and then 17-18 is a long one. The course was designed to make two 9 hole loops to the parking lot. While this is nice and some people really like this quality, I don't think it was worth it to cut up the flow as much as it does. This design element forces you to walk through at least one fairway to get to the next hole. I'm not one to complain and be upset about this if it were necessary. But that's thing, in my opinion, its not necessary. I play the course 1,2,3,9,10,11,12,4,5,6,7,8,13,14,15,16,17,18 if that helps you out.(probably didn't). I feel this hole sequence is much easier to follow and requires a lot less walking. Without a map or directions, you will most likely get lost.

- #9 and #18 basically share the same fairway.....

Other Thoughts: > So overall a fantastic course, a must play if in STL
> Very high level, challenging, punishes bad shots, lots of variety, elevation, water hazards, beautiful grounds, signature holes.
> Will be confusing, it'll help if you take a map. Flow is bad in those two spots that I ranted about.
> Is free to play at the moment.
> Will update this review

************************ IF you found this review unhelpful, found a mistake, have suggestions, or want more info, PLEASE tell me so I can make this review the best possible.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.