Walnut Creek, CA 
Walden Park Share
Uploaded By: cboucher Hole #2 (Taken 12/2013)
3 / 210ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Criss cross will make you, jump! jump!

1    8/27/2016   8/29/2016
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 237  Reviewed: 228  Exp: 13.3 Years
Pros: Located in a small park in the middle of town Walden Creek DGC is located. Luckily being smaller, navigation is simple although a few baskets are hard to see from the tee pad. Tee pads and baskets are in great shape, so no worries there. Not a whole lot of variety/variance in line shaping but nothing crazy as far as righty/lefty preference; probably the usual slightly to moderately righty favored. Early in the morning you may get to play it in under 20 minutes or you could even play some crazy safari route but the course is crowded most of the time or so I'm told by locals.
Cons: The biggest issue with the course are all of the crossing fairways, combined with a crowded course which make you look over your shoulder at all times or have to duck or jump out of the way. All of this in an area that is also used by lots of dog walkers and I would be surprised if people aren't getting nailed multiple times on a daily basis. It's also a shorter, 'chucker' course so lots of high speed drivers and errant throws and throwers.

Not a ton of challenge though not really a pitch and putt length, there are a few holes out here closer to 300 especially some of the alternate pin positions. That being said trees and limited to the few around the baskets and some shading you at the tee pad on sunny days. Most holes are open with a tree in play but not something you have to worry about much if you are an accurate player using slow discs. A few holes though require you to throw over or through bushes.
Other Thoughts: Although the crossing fairways are highly annoying and very dangerous it makes for the best course available and without it would be a very short course or possibly a 5-6 hole "practice" course. If you're a local it's a decent option but not worth a special trip unless you're a course bagger.

had a great time

1    8/15/2016   8/15/2016
Review By: Zank
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 15.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: technical and short, mostly trees for obsticles, well signed at the tees and the map on this site is sufficient
Cons: greens are very tightly packed and the course crosses a few pedestrian paths

be mindful of the many greens and tee pads you are throwing towards but also be mindful of the greens you are standing near. It would not be hard to hit someone else or get hit while playing this course.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

walden park

5+    10/29/2015   11/3/2015
Review By: nukerfu
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Some technical(not super challenging) shots. You can play 9 tee's in a short amount of time.Good beginner course.Great signage.Like the mandatory shots.Lots of bird and ace runs.
Cons: Way to many People there most of the time! Always feel rushed or have to wait.To much cross fire on the last four tee's. Be care full of people not yelling four!! Parking sucks at tournament days.
Other Thoughts: Though there are lots of people they are mostly very nice except your occasional Tweekers.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Nice course in the heart of Downtown Walnut City

1    6/11/2015   6/14/2015
Review By: sumo21
Played: 31  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 2.7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1) Bathrooms on site.

2) Pedestrian walkways are out of play of most, if not all holes.

3) Holes not too long, which makes this a good course for beginners.

4) Mando's and obstacles provide a challenge for all levels of disc golfer.

5) Lots of trees, so shade is available and welcome on hot days.

6) Each hole has a place in which you can have a seat or place your bags.

7) Signage on all holes with pin position screws.

8) Nice, sized tee pads on every hole.
Cons: 1) No water fountain, but not a big concern because it's only 9 holes.

2) Small parking lot.

Other Thoughts: Hole 1 starts behind the basketball court. It has a sign that shows the layout of the course. Be careful of the criss crossing of the course because you may be throwing at the wrong basket. It's a nice quaint park off of a major road. It has a kids playground, basketball court and a place begins the course for runners/joggers. I thoroughly enjoyed my time playing the course.

I also believe that hole 9 might be slightly longer than the posted 315 feet.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fun little 9 in Walnut Creek

1    2/26/2015   2/26/2015
Review By: NotFadeAway757
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Good use of space
-The mandos definitely add a nice edge to some of the holes.
- A lot of ace runs
-locals are nice
-great signage
Cons: -some of the holes cross over each other, but not really a con because how limited the space is, They just worked with the space they had.
-not a fan of the bricks they use for the tee pads
Other Thoughts: - I could see how this course could get hella busy on the weekends.
-Overall this is a nice little course that is fun if your are in the area. Im sure people are getting there Ace average up here.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Short, fun course

1    12/14/2014   12/17/2014
Review By: mdegs
Played: 23  Reviewed: 6
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice, highly visible baskets. Great signage and good flow (with the exception of 8). It's nice to have more courses in the Bay Area, even short 9-hole courses. This course will be good for new players, and I saw a lot of different demographics out there enjoying the course. (Grow the sport!) A few fun shots and good safari potential if no one's out there.
Cons: Constrained by private property on one side and a walking trail on two more sides, this course makes the most of limited space. But there is not a lot of variety and there's a risk of wayward drives landing on other fairways. You will need a driver on one or two holes, and you'd probably be fine with 4-6 discs total.
Other Thoughts: I am happy to play any course within an hour, and I enjoyed my morning out at Walden, but don't see myself playing here regularly. If you lived equidistant between here and Moraga, or here and Benicia (etc.), you would not play here too often.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Good neighborhood course

2-4    9/6/2014   9/8/2014
Review By: Fntsygamr
Played: 46  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 1.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There really are not too many "pro" mentions for this course. It takes up the back half of a neighborhood park. Good for practice with your mid or putter. Baskets are in great condition. Quiet park setting. Mostly away from park foot traffic. Hard to lose your plastic here.
Cons: Small course. No big arms need play here. There is no need to bring a driver, unless you want to work on some hyzer / anhyzer shots. Bring a putter and a mid, you will be good. There can be some stray people that venture through the playing area to get to the bike / walking trail, so you will have to be careful. Hole #8 plays through a few other holes as well. You will need to keep your eye out for the other discers on the course.
Other Thoughts: If you passing through the area on your way elsewhere, then I would say stop and play at least once. My brother-in-law and I were along for the ride while my wife and mom went to shop in the nearby area. We were able to throw 36 holes in about 1.5 - 2 hours. There seemed to be a rush on the course in the later morning, early afternoon, but that came and went. Met up with a few locals who showed us some alternate ways to play the course as well. You can very much safari almost every hole. Just need to make sure you aren't throwing into another group before you do so. If I were in the area again, I would come back to play.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Wasn't BJ Honeycutt From Walnut Creek?

1    6/22/2014   7/10/2014
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1005  Reviewed: 955  Exp: 38.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I witnessed an 80 year old lady playing this course, with an man, who I have to assume is her husband. Or it could be her date? The good news is I finally have found someone on a course that I can ABSOLUTELY beat! I might even have to spot her a few strokes.

Walden Park is a nice little city park with a undeveloped area in the back. Much of the course plays through this area. The course has a small rules sign and map at the start.
it has nice new colored tee signs with all the pertinent information needed on them. They have the A--B basket positions which are indicated with a red screw. The signs also have the basket number on the back. This helps in the navigation. The baskets are orange DGA models with a big number on top.
The tee pads are hexagon shaped patio blocks filled in with dirt and then bordered with 4" x 4"s.
Walden Park DGC plays as an easy recreational level course with holes ranging from 190' to 305'.
Cons: Holes # 8 crosses over # 6, # 7 and # 9. Probably not the safest route but everyone is in sight and you'd have to be real careless to nail someone. There were other groups on the course when I played.
Not necessarily a challenging course.


Other Thoughts: Solid, fun course is a lovely little park. Kind of a weird design with the 8th hole criss-crossing three others although I kinda doubt whether that's ever a problem. I have to give props to the designers for squeezing 9 decent sized holes into this small area. If I lived around here, I'd be a regular.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Henry David Thoreau

2-4    6/23/2014   6/23/2014
Review By: swatso
Played: 438  Reviewed: 358  Exp: 8.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Hitting moderately-difficult windows will lead to many birdy opportunities for intermediate+ players, as the average distance is ~260', with only two holes (barely) over 300'.

Good teesigns, indicating current pin position (for those holes which have multiple positions). Use the online map for navigation.

Safari opportunities.
Cons:
To say this course is a little bit jammed is akin to saying Shaq is a bit big - many chances to land in the wrong fairway. And, of course, number-8 is the definition of a crossing fairway, as it crosses three others (6,7,9)!

In addition to other players, pedestrians on the walking paths need to be avoided, too.

Most visible basket may not be the proper basket (basket-6 more visible from tee-4, basket-8 more visible from tee-5).
Other Thoughts:
Course Is located on a small parcel of extremely flat, undeveloped land, set behind a small section of developed park land. This undeveloped land contains a smattering of mid-sized trees - tall enough to form portions of canopy, eliminating most up-n-over options, but small enough that their branches also come into play, creating windows to throw through / dense areas to throw around. Lefts > straights > rights, but all three are required from the tee.

The tee are roughly 4'x8', brick(?) "lattice" filled with concrete - a bit small for anything more than a single x-step, but for the distances, not much more is needed,

There's a nice variety of shot-shaping needed on these holes, but if the course was ever crowded, there could be some real carnage! A bunch of decent short holes, trying to share the same space ...

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great neighborhood course with trees

1    4/13/2014   4/13/2014
Review By: tenayaguevara
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - New and excellent signage, tee pads, baskets
- Great use of space - some interesting tee pads set back off the main area to get more distance
- Great use of trees to create challenges, especially on holes 4, 6 & 9
- Thoughtfully paced - Hole 8 is an easier hole leading up to 9 which is 315 feet
Cons: - Bottom line: The course is just the back acre or so of a community park, pretty flat. Difficult to get variety given what's here
- Some fairways cross, though coming at 8 AM on a sunday, I was there with one other guy, so as long as it's not filled up, I don't see that being too big of a problem for most of the day
- It's packed pretty tight back there, so you might think you're aiming on the right basket when you're really not
Other Thoughts: I had a great time on this course. I've played another pitch n' putt - the one in Woodland, CA, and found this a welcome improvement over that. As a beginner, I kind of enjoy these small courses as a way to not get frustrated and work on getting birdies (almost got one today...). But there were enough trees and variety of shots to not get into a boring rhythm.

Kudos to the Walnut Creek folks who got this going. It's clear that a lot of hard work and love went into getting this going. The map of the alternate course looks like fun, too, though you'd need a totally empty course to try that.

Also, there was a taco bell not too far away with easy access to the freeway. Just saying'.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.