Walnut Creek, CA 
Walden Park Share
Uploaded By: cboucher Hole #3 (Taken 12/2013)
3 / 260ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Wasn't BJ Honeycutt From Walnut Creek?

1    6/22/2014   7/10/2014
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 680  Reviewed: 614  Exp: 36.2 Years
Pros: I witnessed an 80 year old lady playing this course, with an man, who I have to assume is her husband. Or it could be her date? The good news is I finally have found someone on a course that I can ABSOLUTELY beat! I might even have to spot her a few strokes.

Walden Park is a nice little city park with a undeveloped area in the back. Much of the course plays through this area. The course has a small rules sign and map at the start.
it has nice new colored tee signs with all the pertinent information needed on them. They have the A--B basket positions which are indicated with a red screw. The signs also have the basket number on the back. This helps in the navigation. The baskets are orange DGA models with a big number on top.
The tee pads are hexagon shaped patio blocks filled in with dirt and then bordered with 4" x 4"s.
Walden Park DGC plays as an easy recreational level course with holes ranging from 190' to 305'.
Cons: Holes # 8 crosses over # 6, # 7 and # 9. Probably not the safest route but everyone is in sight and you'd have to be real careless to nail someone. There were other groups on the course when I played.
Not necessarily a challenging course.


Other Thoughts: Solid, fun course is a lovely little park. Kind of a weird design with the 8th hole criss-crossing three others although I kinda doubt whether that's ever a problem. I have to give props to the designers for squeezing 9 decent sized holes into this small area. If I lived around here, I'd be a regular.

Henry David Thoreau

2-4    6/23/2014   6/23/2014
Review By: swatso
Played: 347  Reviewed: 346  Exp: 6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Hitting moderately-difficult windows will lead to many birdy opportunities for intermediate+ players, as the average distance is ~260', with only two holes (barely) over 300'.

Good teesigns, indicating current pin position (for those holes which have multiple positions). Use the online map for navigation.

Safari opportunities.
Cons:
To say this course is a little bit jammed is akin to saying Shaq is a bit big - many chances to land in the wrong fairway. And, of course, number-8 is the definition of a crossing fairway, as it crosses three others (6,7,9)!

In addition to other players, pedestrians on the walking paths need to be avoided, too.

Most visible basket may not be the proper basket (basket-6 more visible from tee-4, basket-8 more visible from tee-5).
Other Thoughts:
Course Is located on a small parcel of extremely flat, undeveloped land, set behind a small section of developed park land. This undeveloped land contains a smattering of mid-sized trees - tall enough to form portions of canopy, eliminating most up-n-over options, but small enough that their branches also come into play, creating windows to throw through / dense areas to throw around. Lefts > straights > rights, but all three are required from the tee.

The tee are roughly 4'x8', brick(?) "lattice" filled with concrete - a bit small for anything more than a single x-step, but for the distances, not much more is needed,

There's a nice variety of shot-shaping needed on these holes, but if the course was ever crowded, there could be some real carnage! A bunch of decent short holes, trying to share the same space

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great neighborhood course with trees

1    4/13/2014   4/13/2014
Review By: tenayaguevara
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - New and excellent signage, tee pads, baskets
- Great use of space - some interesting tee pads set back off the main area to get more distance
- Great use of trees to create challenges, especially on holes 4, 6 & 9
- Thoughtfully paced - Hole 8 is an easier hole leading up to 9 which is 315 feet
Cons: - Bottom line: The course is just the back acre or so of a community park, pretty flat. Difficult to get variety given what's here
- Some fairways cross, though coming at 8 AM on a sunday, I was there with one other guy, so as long as it's not filled up, I don't see that being too big of a problem for most of the day
- It's packed pretty tight back there, so you might think you're aiming on the right basket when you're really not
Other Thoughts: I had a great time on this course. I've played another pitch n' putt - the one in Woodland, CA, and found this a welcome improvement over that. As a beginner, I kind of enjoy these small courses as a way to not get frustrated and work on getting birdies (almost got one today...). But there were enough trees and variety of shots to not get into a boring rhythm.

Kudos to the Walnut Creek folks who got this going. It's clear that a lot of hard work and love went into getting this going. The map of the alternate course looks like fun, too, though you'd need a totally empty course to try that.

Also, there was a taco bell not too far away with easy access to the freeway. Just saying'.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Best they could have done in this park

1    11/23/2013   12/13/2013
Review By: kevaunne
Played: 29  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 6.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Great signage
- I could not imagine a better layout in such a small area - great job
- New tees/baskets. I could almost smell their new-ness
- No 'dead-simple' holes. Each requires some thought and technical skill
- Accessible. I could imagine a disc golfer dad and his kids all enjoying a round here
Cons: - All short, flat holes
- No critical hazards. Very easy to recover from a botched shot
Other Thoughts: This one was tough to rate. Technically, I'm not sure they could make this course much better without demolishing nearby homes and terraforming the surrounding land. They've done an outstanding job laying out a course in such a small area. I'm grateful that this course was added to the East Bay

However, I wasn't challenged enough and I can't say I'm excited about playing here again.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good course to work on your short game.

5+    11/11/2013   11/11/2013
Review By: cboucher
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.2 Years
This review was updated on 12/5/2013
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: New tees, signage, baskets.
Located in a clean, well maintained park.
Close to freeway.
Technically challenging.
Does not favor one or two types of shots, plenty of opportunities to use different throws and different discs.


Cons: Crossing fairways on several holes.
Navigation becomes sketchy after hole #7.
Last three holes do not flow well.
Course seems to have been shoe-horned into too small of a space.
Short tee pads.
No use of elevation at all. No "top of the world" shots...
Very little parking.
Lots of people and dogs to try and avoid.
Non disc golf park users seem oblivious to the fact that there is a disc golf course here.
Other Thoughts: Not very many opportunities to just let it rip for max D, but plenty of opportunities to practice control shots and work on your short game. A variety of shots can be used including rollers on #7 and #9 although the loose bark tends to slow down rollers somewhat. Decent hyzer windows on #4 and #6. There's a nice little hallway on #3 for working on those low, straight shots. Only one real hyzer flip hole (#9), due to obstacles and some low ceilings on the other holes. This course is the equivalent to a "chip and putt" course in ball golf. Very nice course for it's size, though...

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Walden Park

5+    11/10/2013   11/10/2013
Review By: kkwedell
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Easy to read signs
-Restrooms
-Well kept park
-Good use of space
-Family/Beginner Friendly
-Freeway access
Cons: -Little parking
-Lots of pedestrians
-Short tee pads
-Close fairways
Other Thoughts: It is a really good park for the amount of space. Only problem is hole #8 crosses three fairways, but I don't see anywhere better to place it. It is a short course with only two holes over 300 and no more than 315+. It does make good use of trees. Beginners will find this course fun fun and forgiving, while better players will have some harder shots to go for the basket. There is a long back nine (as seen on FB page -Walnut Creek Disc Golf-) that has much longer and difficult holes, just make sure to play it when nobody is there.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

A Small Walk in the Walnuts

1    10/19/2013   10/22/2013
Review By: Magiken
Played: 42  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Easy to find and navigate with a map or the tee signs
Great tee signage
Nice little park (basketball, walking/biking trails, jungle gym) with restrooms and water
Par is very attainable
Tees are decent
Brand new Mach 5 baskets in the lovely orange color
Cons:
Parking lot is a bit small but there is street parking (not a big deal)
Course is very tight with people and structures in play
Holes are a bit criss-crossy in spots
Other Thoughts:
Tips:
Bring a map
Go as early as possible to avoid people traffic

Random Thoughts:
I'm quite thrilled to have another course in the East Bay and it is nice to see a course in a clean area of a park versus the backwoods. I can also see that a lot of love went into the construction of this course. The baskets and tee signs are fantastic. The tees, I'm going to say, are just ok. They are built using some kind of formed blocks, with rock fill to even them out, which is fine, except the fill is missing in some small spots making you think a bit about your steps. I imagine with everything filled in, this is a non-issue, so this is probably a problem that will go away. As for the course, it's a fairly small course with a decent variety of throws and good use of the trees as obstacles. As the distances tend to hover in the ~250' range, there are birdies and aces out there to be had, so I find the scoring to be extremely fair. I also notice that most of the holes have alternate basket placements to keep things interesting on repeat visits. I think you'll also be tempted to call this a good beginner course, but I'd take some caution with that assessment. The surrounding neighborhood butts right up against the park so you can quite easily sail your disk over a fence into a private area. More importantly, the non-disc park attendees are definitely in play. If you're not careful, you can hit someone quite easily. It's also quite easy to hit your fellow discers due to the tightness of the layout. So if you're going to bring a beginner out, I'd suggest targeting an early morning weekday. I would actually suggest that anyway as I'm sure you'll enjoy the round more with fewer distractions.

Bottom Line:
This is a good short/technical course that makes good use of an unused space in a nice park located in a nice area. It is also a welcome addition to the East Bay arsenal. I'm looking forward to playing it again.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great short course

5+    10/6/2013   10/11/2013
Review By: Taras P
Played: 27  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great layout for the space provided and use of natural obstacles. Make you use ever shot in the arsenal.
Cons: No real cons the course is very good for what it is "a short course".
Other Thoughts: Great location in Walnut Creek with parking and toilets.


0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Nice new course

1    10/5/2013   10/5/2013
Review By: dlmehl
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice location in Walnut Creek, right off the freeway. good variety of shots, some low due to the tree's & a few that you can play high. All holes have good tee pads with signage. There are poles for variety of pin placements.
Cons: The only con I can say is the there is some sand around some of the holes & mulch in some of the fairways that stop your disc from going any farther after landing.
Other Thoughts: Met the course designer who was out there taking care of what needs to be done.(not much Great job) Very friendly guy. Thanks for bringing another course to the east bay.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Walden Park

1    10/3/2013   10/3/2013
Review By: elton807
Played: 56  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 4.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Awesome location and very welcomed addition to DGC-thirsty chuckers in the Bay Area. Neatly located between downtown WC & Pleasant Hill. Good distances as far as 325ft. and as short as 190ft. Dual basket locations per hole. Really nice Hyser windows on #4 and #6. Sidearmer's delight on #7. Plenty of trees. Most of the course makes maximum use of otherwise ignored space bordered by the Iron Horse Trail. Excellent signage and baskets. Decent but shortish cement teepads. Very good playground, basketball, restroom & picnic facilities onsite. I could tell the designers were cognizant not to have DG play interfere with otherwise normal park activities.
Cons: The layout up to hole 6 is good to decent, but gets a little whacky after basket 7. The #8 teepad is placed in an unintuitive location and the teeshot criss-crosses the approach shot on #7. The teeshot on #9 also crosses fairways with #8. I wonder how high the danger concerns are here. Flat.
Other Thoughts: Props to the City and Individuals who made this course a reality! An old lady named Betsy, who's been taking walks through Walden for years, asked me what this strange sport is, and also commented that she thinks it's a good addition. I hope Fallon Park in Dublin is another candidate for a 9 or 18-holer.
==================
Uniqueness: B- (nothing too unique here; it's cool that the mature trees makes the course feel much older than it is)
Difficulty: B+ (lot's of grabby trees force some tight windows and low ceilings; flat but breezy; medium to short in length)
Fun factor: B+ (decent DG traffic already; would be a fun betting course)
Aesthetics: A- (really nice neighborhood park with some decent shade; a couple of fencelines and buildings around the perimeter)
-------------------
Overall: B+

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.