Lawrence, KS 
Centennial Park Share
Uploaded By: Erocx345 Hole #11 (Taken 5/2009)
3 / 176ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee: Basket is located either straight ahead or further right (circles).



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Pretty Good, but wasted a lot of time looking for holes

1    8/2/2014   8/13/2014
Review By: thecolorofhue
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well laid out course (I think, spent a lot of time asking people were the next hole was), nice mix of technical and distance shots. Its a very scenic park, with a lot going on (there's a skate park in it as well).

Baskets are in pretty good shape, nice concrete t-pads.
Cons: Not a single sign on the whole damn course. Luckily it was busy when I played, so I was able to ask people where the next hole was, but this is a little ridiculous for a course that is so well maintained to not have a single topper labeled (even though every hole had a topper) or even a label on a the t-pads (some had faded spray paint on them, but most did not).

The frustration that I felt wondering around for several hours (oh I finished this baby) is the sole reason this course was giving such a low rating. It more effort where put into something as simple as labeling, I would consider it a pretty good course.
Other Thoughts: Some interesting holes, especially enjoyed the hole that's built into a tree stump, and hole 1. It's nice to start the course off with a bit of a challenge.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great for beginners

5+    4/11/2011   6/1/2014
Review By: chaddyboy_2000
Played: 21  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 13.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great course for introducing people to the sport, as almost every hole is wide open.

The concrete tees are great, and multiple pin locations help to give the course some variety when the baskets move.

Good use of terrain, as you get a few fun bomb shots from the top of hills!

There is also a picnic area here with restrooms, which is a convenience many courses don't have.
Cons: The course is fairly boring for people with more experience, as the openness of every hole means it really doesn't matter where you chuck it. You could have the worst shot ever and it really doesn't matter at all since you'll still land in mowed grass. For the most part, the course is a giant field of mowed grass with a few scattered trees in it.

Due to the openness, there's not a huge shot variety here either. A couple times, you'll need to stay out of some woods that line the edge of the course, or stay out of a creek bed that runs through the course, so you may have to switch up your shot to avoid a fade into these areas. However, overall, you can throw however you'd like.
Other Thoughts: Good intro course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Larryville Loafin

2-4    5/31/2009   6/30/2009
Review By: ChainMan
Played: 17  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There are a good variety of shots necessary to do well on this course and the setting is pleasant. Virtually every hole has some elevation change but not what I'd call steep. There was enough length to satisfy those who like to rip long distances without a lot of obstacles but no really technical shots necessary as long as you keep it clean.
Cons: Even with a map a sign or two would be most helpful. After taking far to long to find the #2 tee pad and #3 nowhere in site we invited some locals to play through so we could follow their lead. Even though there hadn't been rain in days when I played there were muddy spots camouflaged by grass to ensnare the unsuspecting. The sidewalk between #17 tee pad basket had a muddy spot that was slick as ice...AVOID IT!
Other Thoughts: All in all I enjoyed this course quite a bit. I stayed at the nearby hotel and it was a relatively short walk from there. Aside for the need for some signage I graded it as I did because I think it would get a little stale after a few plays but it's worth a play or two if you're in the area.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 TOUGH ..to navigate!

6/30/2008   6/30/2008
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 226  Reviewed: 179  Exp: 16.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Good overall hole design
-Tee pads
-Well mowed
-Creek in play
-Longish
Cons: -Tough, to impossible to navigate by yourself for the first time
-No signs
-Not well laid out, weird walks and criss-crossing sometimes
Other Thoughts: REALLLLLLYYYYYY needs tee signs or re-marking of tee pads and baskets, with arrows pointing to next hole. Hard to tell off a tee which end of the tee to throw in what direction, let alone which basket it is.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.