Lawrence, KS 
Centennial Park Share
Uploaded By: Erocx345 Hole #14 (Taken 5/2009)
3 / 241ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  Good course

1    7/31/2014   7/31/2014
Review By: Jeremyapt
Played: 17  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great mix of short and longer holes. Good vegetation made some holes a challenge. I really liked the elevation changes throughout the entire course.tee pads were nice and baskets were in good shape. Parking was easy and an good course
Cons: Need better markings on tee boxes and holes

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Course, Great People

2-4    10/1/2013   10/2/2013
Review By: constantlyej
Played: 13  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.2 Years
This review was updated on 12/17/2013
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It is a very well kept and clean course with access to two restrooms. It has elevation changes that top most courses in the area. The people who play at Centennial Park are just downright good people- I've yet to run into anyone who was not courteous and careful- which is pretty important on this course as there are a few holes where you are forced to cross paths with others.

The pea-gravel around the baskets are a nice touch. It keeps the ground around the baskets from getting muddy like the majority of courses... and it also will help a long approach shot sit down and stick (it helps a newbie, and makes a vet have a little bit of comfort in taking bigger risks).

There are a few ace-run opportunities here, and a few long bomb shots. This course can be a bit tricky if the wind is blowing, but every hole is a manageable par.

My wife and I love to play this course together. She has really become more confident since she began playing here compared to some other courses we've played.

This is by far the nicest course in Lawrence.
Cons: The baskets are a bit smaller than Innova Discatchers, but I have found it makes my putting better when I go back to the larger baskets.

This course is not the most intuitive layout, but it's not impossible to navigate as long as you keep your head up and look around a little.

After you finish hole 18, you have to kind of peek around the tree-line to get back to the parking lot... if you aren't careful, someone teeing off on on #1 won't be able to see you until you are in the danger zone.
Other Thoughts: Lawrence is just a great place. Period. The atmosphere of the community, along with the skatepark that the course is built around makes this course a fun place.

If you get the chance to play Centennial Park, you'll have a good time.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun - If you know where to go

5+    6/11/2013   6/20/2013
Review By: sipplry
Played: 19  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.3 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Lots of down hill tee shots, allowing you to use several different shots.
Cons: There are lots of areas on the course that are muddy alot of the time. Course can be crowded in the summer.
Other Thoughts: Overall the course is rather short, relying on trees to make it more challenging. Definitely worth your time to play if you're in town.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic if you know where to go

5+    7/13/2012   8/8/2012
Review By: bigreddog
Played: 80  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 4.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/23/2016
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There is a great mix of openness on holes, but there aren't any that are completely wide open or ridiculously wooded. 10/10

Most holes have three alternate hole positions, and there are pretty big differences in the hole positions, affecting distance and direction of the holes fairly drastically. The baskets are also changed pretty frequently, which makes this a great course for playing often and it never gets boring no matter how much you play. New alternate positions were added last year on holes 2, 5, 9, and 10. 10/10

At the same time, there are a few holes like that do force certain shot paths to be successful. 8/10

There isn't a ton of elevation compared to some of the KC courses like Water Works or Swope or Blue Valley, but there's still quite a bit, and it's used very well with lots of variety between uphill, downhill, sidehill etc. 8/10

Obstacles are used very well, they bring challenges to at least one of the shots on each hole (either drive or approach) without making any of them impossible. 9/10

I've been dozens of times and it's always been well mowed. There is running water a couple of places along the course and restrooms after hole 12 (which comes back to the parking lot) There are several benches along the course, not on every hole, but at least every three. The only complaints I have with course maintenance are the mud on the tee hole 4 and the weeds around the creek not being trimmed as frequently as they could be. 8/10

Great baskets. Tees are concrete, which is good, but a couple in the lower lying areas have a bit of mud on them. 9/10

Several holes have options for how to play them successfully, the course really lets you throw every shot in the bag. 7/10

Forested regions make it not the easiest to find discs, but it's not nearly as bad as some courses and there is no knee/waist high grass anywhere that the disc can burrow into. 8/10
Cons: Navigation between holes is pretty bad the first time. There is a map which is somewhat helpful on the first tee, and the course is frequented by locals who can help you out 3/10, but shouldn't warrant lowering the course rating to a 1 or 2 overall... plus it's fine after the first time playing.

Navigation on the actual holes isn't the best either. There are no tee signs, only numbers on the pads telling you what hole the tee is for. Bright orange nickels on top now show basket numbers. There aren't too many blind holes, but a few are close to each other (2 and 14 are close, and so are 3 and 7). 3/10

It's more crowded than most courses, but it's not like you're waiting on every hole or anything.

The gravel around the baskets can be annoying at times with the skips, but it helps keep the areas around the baskets from getting muddy after rain.

Holes 11-12 make up the only section of the course that's sort of "eh...", they feel sort of crammed in and are only there to connect from hole 10 to 13 and fit in 18 holes.
Other Thoughts: I'm a big fan of forested regions used as hazards more than individual trees all over the place or tall grass. I've played ball golf for a long time so I guess I just like the open lanes for fairways on most holes with larger areas that you need to avoid with your misses. It helps give the course the ability to challenge all levels of disc golfers. This was the first course I ever played, and I didn't find it to be impossible at any point, but with some individual trees, the course can provide all levels with a challenge.

I go to school at KU, and it's a great course to play over and over again, fun every time even if you go frequently, and that's a big part of why I rated it so high.

I think this is a fantastic course that gets pretty severely underrated by people who only played it once and got frustrated with the navigation. I know we aren't supposed to comment on other reviews, but I just feel the need to point out that pretty much all of the low reviews are by people who only played the course once.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 NICE!

1    7/12/2011   7/13/2011
Review By: Dirt4dinner
Played: 72  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 9.7 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: A little bit of EVERYTHING! Great layout, great scenery, tight shots turning left and right and a couple long open bomber holes.
Cons: No complaints from me on this one. I really enjoyed it!
Other Thoughts: I hit up the Tuesday night league while in town on business and had a great time. Pretty small turnout, but a fun group.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Challenging, Fun

1    9/5/2010   9/9/2010
Review By: parrothead8
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.1 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Not too crowded, a good mix of wide open and narrow tree-lined holes. Slightly hilly, a good workout.
Cons: A little difficult to figure out where the first few holes were.
Other Thoughts: This course gets some bad reviews because of its "lack" of markings. A group of four novices figured it out pretty easily the first time we played it, especially once we noticed the arrows painted on the base of each hole that pointed towards the next tee.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great Home Course

5+    10/19/2009   10/19/2009
Review By: jartiv
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Target placement varies weekly. Variation goes beyond short/long, but can drastically change shot selection.
-Good use of elevation.
-Even set of right/lefty shots.
Cons: -Difficult to navigate.
-Awkward tees. Some tees are sunk well into the ground and can be covered in mud. Other tees seem to be raised up which has led to many falls off the sides and front... 13 is notorious for bad falls.
Other Thoughts: This has been my home course for the past 4 years and I have yet to get tired of it. Baskets move all the time. Over half the baskets are unlocked. If the groundskeeper doesnt move a basket by the end of the week, a regular is most likely going to move it. But this is also what makes it difficult to navigate the course, even with a map. Several baskets are not visible from the tee. Fortunately this course gets a fair amount of play. If you get lost, wait a few minutes and more often than not there will be another golfer for you to follow. I play this course at least 3 times a week and I usually end up helping a first timer through once a week.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A Solid Course

2-4    6/15/2000   10/14/2009
Review By: chad groen
Played: 23  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 16.6 Years
This review was updated on 12/15/2010
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This was the first disc golf course I ever played, and I really enjoyed it. The elevation of the park, the winding creek, the multiple cage locations, and the trees make this a fun course with a variety of fun and challenging holes. It's been many years since I last played here, but I remember the course was in great shape, and some of the the holes were strategically set up in ways that forced you to take an alternative route to the basket. Otherwise your disc could run into a tree or get stuck in the woods or in the creek. It's a nice looking park that provides a lot of unique layouts throughout the course.
Cons: A few holes are mostly open and kind of easy to get a low score on. They could use some more obstacles like trees and bushes to make them more fun and challenging like the rest of the course. It can be kind of difficult figuring out where some of the tee boxes and baskets are located. Adding signs to this course would make it a lot easier to navigate. Also, you might not want to play here if it's rained recently, because some areas tend to flood rather easily.
Other Thoughts: This is a pretty solid solid course with a good variety of obstacles and layout designs that make it a fun place for disc golf, though finding some of the holes can be a bit of a challenge for anyone not familiar with the course. I would've played here more often growing up, but I lived about thirty minutes away from the park, and there were other good courses nearby for me to play.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A wonderful course!

1    7/25/2009   7/30/2009
Review By: Miller
Played: 99  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 11.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/3/2009
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course has a lot of variation to it. Has a good mix of right and lefts with some good distance and elevation changes everywhere. The boxes were all nice and with a map the course is pretty easy to navigate. The course is also pretty forgiving in that most holes are pretty open if you make a bad shot.
Cons: No tight holes for those technical shots. Signage on the course could be a little better, but with the map in hand navagation is fine.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course to challenge the experienced golfer or to bring someone new to the game. We had both in our group and everyone had a great time.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Rocket Park

5+    4/25/2009   4/25/2009
Review By: D-Low
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The park is full of trees and a creek. Topeka players always talk crap on this park and I can't figure why. Topeka to me is about large flat long holes. Rocket Park is about hills, obstacles, and losing a disc in the creek brush. Hole 3 and 7 are my favs. Down Hill and long but keep it low and float around the trees.
Cons: There are no maps or directions. Yet every sunny day the Lawrence locals are crowding the course so just ask someone. Warning: spring is a bad time to play unless you love your mud up to your ankles. Once Lawrence averages 95 no prob after a rain storm. No Benches.
Other Thoughts: My father in law said this park was always called Rocket Park because of the warhead missile that is there. He said in the 60's when they put that in all the hippies were pissed off because it was a some type of Nuke. Bymers BBQ is at the top of Hole 15. The best BBQ in town plus open 7 days a week. There is an all natural grocery store called the Merc next door for all you hippies. Crimson and Brews is across the street. On Sundays the Chinese Drum club plays and you can hear it across the whole park. Water drinking fountain on hole 13. Google the course and there is a printable map on Lawrence's Rec Site. There is also a Hotel that is on the edge of the park.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.