Lawrence, KS 
Centennial Park Share
Uploaded By: Erocx345 Hole #16 (Taken 5/2009)
3 / 264ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 A fair course

1    7/14/2011   8/30/2011
Review By: Mfrench
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.5 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Multiple pins, park in great condition, variety of holes.
Cons: Layout and lack of signage. Bring a map and it won't be bad to manage.
Other Thoughts: They really need tee signs to bring this to a top course. The water fountain wasn't working during a heatwave.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 NICE!

1    7/12/2011   7/13/2011
Review By: Dirt4dinner
Played: 72  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 7.7 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: A little bit of EVERYTHING! Great layout, great scenery, tight shots turning left and right and a couple long open bomber holes.
Cons: No complaints from me on this one. I really enjoyed it!
Other Thoughts: I hit up the Tuesday night league while in town on business and had a great time. Pretty small turnout, but a fun group.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/4/2010   10/4/2010
Review By: kevinmzane
Played: 86  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are easily accessible restrooms here and trash cans at several points throughout the park. This course has a lot of small hills and elevation changes in this park that come into play often as well as a creek. There are multiple pin placements and long concrete tee pads. There were many hole designs that I really enjoyed, especially 13 with the downhill shot past the skate park over the creek. There were a few risky putts on the edge of the creek/woods. I had a some trouble, but a lot of fun with the low ceilings I don't really come across much on my local courses. 7 was a nice one for that with the low, long downhill ending over the creek.
Cons: The navigation here was difficult, luckily there is a relatively accurate map for this course on here I was able to follow on my phone because there were none at the start of the course. Some of the fairways run parallel to each other and might present a problem on busier days here. Some tee pads are uncomfortably close to other holes' baskets where on some others are quite far, and could be difficult to find without help. The worst of these were where you must backtrack the length of 11 to get to 12 (which is on the other side of 10), to get to hole 3 you need to cross to the other side of 14 and 7 and to get to the parking lot from 18 you cross the blind spot of fairway #1. Be prepared and print a map or find a local your first time here.
All of the baskets were numbered, unfortunately most of the numbers are facing away from the tee pad. I made it all the way to the basket on one hole before I realized it was the wrong one.
Other Thoughts: A little bit of TLC, some tee signs and maybe moving a few things around and this could easily be a much better course.
Although the flow and navigation issues aren't at all necessary and could have been easily avoided, it is still fun to play and this will be one I look forward to playing again while passing through. I have not played any other Lawrence courses, but I have heard that this is the best in town.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  Challenging, Fun

1    9/5/2010   9/9/2010
Review By: parrothead8
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Not too crowded, a good mix of wide open and narrow tree-lined holes. Slightly hilly, a good workout.
Cons: A little difficult to figure out where the first few holes were.
Other Thoughts: This course gets some bad reviews because of its "lack" of markings. A group of four novices figured it out pretty easily the first time we played it, especially once we noticed the arrows painted on the base of each hole that pointed towards the next tee.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  2 and a half hour journey

1    7/19/2010   8/12/2010
Review By: JDMcNugent
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.5 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Clean, well cut and trimmed, concrete pads
Cons: baskets not marked at all. there were holes we had to walk all the way to a basket to see the number and then try and figure out from there where the tee off might be, lol! the placement made no sense and then the last couple holes are just open field back and forth
Other Thoughts: definitely beats river trails! lol

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Locals Only-the rest will get lost

2-4    6/10/2010   6/13/2010
Review By: SomeChump
Played: 33  Reviewed: 33
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Plenty of elevation changes. If you're not throwing up or down a hill you're lost again. Fun and challenging.

Great course for a local since each hole has 3 possible basket placements and once you know the course, it is a lot more fun.
Cons: Zero signage, difficult to follow layout, repetitive uphill tunnel shots. It was rather depressing to play an uphill tunnel shot on 4, then walk to 5, play another one, then WALK DOWNHILL to 6 to throw yet another one. 7 is a downhill tunnel shot, then 8 and 10 are both uphill canopied shots.

Extremely dense trees...I thought they were supposed to be 90% air. These ones are 100% branches...nothing goes through them.

A long hike. You really feel like you've had some exercise by the time you're done with a round.
Other Thoughts: I had to laugh when I saw the below review describing this as a "recreational/intermediate course." I typically shoot below par, at least posted par if not pro par, on most courses. I shot a +8 and a +4 here. Granted, I didn't know the course and the pins all seemed to be in the longest possible orientation, but still....hardly a beginner course. I only shot 3 birdies total in 2 rounds. Expect a challenge.

Unfortunately, much of the challenge involves orienteering and hiking. I went with a local (granted who had lived elsewhere for a couple years before returning with me) and we had to ask directions 3 times to the next tee. We had one hole where we played all the way down to the basket only to discover it wasn't the basket for the hole we thought we were on.

There is one shot you absolutely must master to score well on this course. It is the 300 foot uphill drive that never goes higher than 8 feet above the ground. It seems like that shot (which I don't currently have) was required on far too many holes.

The "big bomb" holes are disappointing in that you can't actually bomb them. You have to either go over the canopy (50-60 feet despite the fact that the holes descends 80) or throw a roller. Kind of a bummer to climb way up a hill, and then realize you don't get to watch your disc fly down because you have to throw a roller to have any chance at making par on the hole. Blah...

I liked the first hole, although I confess to taking a 6 on it the first time. 13, of course, is a classic, although it is a little hard to enjoy due to having to yell fore since the teepad for 14 is far easier to get to than the basket on 13.

Hey locals-- Buy some tee signs. This is the only course I've ever been to that didn't have a single one. Also, consider another set of baskets or another set of tee pads. This course could be a destination course, all it needs is a little money and a little work thrown at it.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun downhill bombs, but you may find Waldo before finding the next tee.

5+    4/20/2010   5/8/2010
Review By: scarpfish
Played: 315  Reviewed: 95  Exp: 11.2 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Scenic park. Decent intermediate to recreational level course with multiple positions. Has good albeit not great elevation changes. The big thing at Centennial are its varying uphill/downhill holes, especially the big bomb on 13 over the creek. Mostly park golf, but enough woods to keep you honest on some of the holes up at the north end. Plenty of amenities nearby.
Cons: Bad flow. As what been mentioned before me, this course is an orientation nightmare. There is no signage, and where you think the next tee logically would be, well it often isn't. You head towards both the north and sound ends of the park twice. Several parallel fairways (2 & 14, 5 & 6, 3 & 7, 15 & 16) where you can easily put an errant throw into the fairway of the people next to you, or mistakenly walk into it if you don't know where you're going. A lot of backtracking. A few holes (11 & 17) cut close to busy streets. Short positions are well...short and not all that fun. Multi-use park, watch for non-players around the skate park and shelters.
Other Thoughts: Nearing twenty years old, Centennial is starting to show its age in regards to the latest disc technology. Advanced players will be crushing some of the shorter holes for birdies. (although I didn't see to many of the course's short positions in play while here), but its still a fun play that I'd gladly hit again, and may be your only option if Riverfront is swampy and the Clinton Lake courses are overgrown. Crowds here can vary depending on when you show up. If you're going to be visiting Lawrence and want to play this, I cannot stress enough to print out a map. Not a must play, but the best venue in town.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Orienteering Badge Needed

1    4/26/2010   5/5/2010
Review By: Donovan
Played: 212  Reviewed: 185  Exp: 27.4 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has lots of elevation, a creek, some trees, wide-open holes, and uses the whole park. Some of the pin placements are protected or have creek or foliage behind them. This adds a bit of Risk reward on your approach shots. The hole length variation seems to be decent. Hole #13 is certainly the picture hole on this course as it is teeing off on a pad along a stairwell with flowers around it with a great pin placement across the creek at the end of the flight path. The elevation that is used on this course is decent well thought out. There is a bathroom here and you get to it more than once. They do have a nice message board at the parking area.
Cons: The cement tee pads are not in good shape and there are no tee signs. There was an attempt to put hole info painted on the tee pads, but that was not successful. As the title suggests, even with a map, this is tough navigation. Hole #5 to #6 and #11 to #12 have you back tracking to the next tee. So, the layout is not very friendly. There are many locations lacking in grass and making mud a common place. The baskets were in fair condition. The grass height was very inconsistent, which sometimes is a clue for a course not getting the proper maintenance.
Other Thoughts: The Fun Factor here was average. Some holes were fun, but the navigation for a new person coming here killed any real thrills. If you played here regularly, I suppose it would not be so bad. There are just too many "in better shape" courses in the area to spend time coming here, unless you get a course guide to play with you. I can't say it was not challenging at times, it just wasn't enough to keep me overly interested. It does have the potential to be a decent course with the proper TLC.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Not again

1    1/30/2010   2/1/2010
Review By: csheafer
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 26.3 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: It would be good except for the cons
Cons: They have changed the course from when I have played it years ago. It appears that it starts on the opposite side of the park.
No signs, no maps, no tee signs, no idea!
This course demands that you know where you are going to the next box or even where the basket is. Many are hidden, with NO signage.
All the tee pads are surrounded by lots of mud. Nothing has been done to reseed or putting down chips. Therefore, all the tee pads are covered with lots of MUD. Very dangerous.
One tee pad was on lower ground which gets covered with water that froze. Only about 1 1/2 ft of tee pad exposed with ice and mud surrounding it.

I tried to play, but after an hour and only figureing out 5 holes, I gave up. I won't ever go back there especially with so many fine courses in the KC area
Other Thoughts: Great course if you don't mind being muddy, walking amlessley and taking the chance of breaking your ankle on the tee pads.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Take a map. Here are some links.

1    11/14/2009   10/29/2009
Review By: KansasBoy
Played: 56  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 13.1 Years
This review was updated on 11/15/2009
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 hole course situated in a large park.
Concrete tee pads at all tees, and multiple pin placements at all holes.

I was actually a fan of most of the hole designs. The course is fairly open with scattered trees and only a few tight fairways and gaps to shoot through. Despite this fact, hole placement is rather well done with some tricky lines available to advanced players. The openness of the course means it's not a punishing course, so even if you can't hit the line for birdie, par isn't difficult to achieve.

Not a lot of dense brush or opportunity to lose a disc. The only real hazard is getting your disc or shoes wet in the small trickle of a creek that runs through the park.
Cons: A map is an absolute must for playing this course the first time.

It's not any one thing that makes this course difficult to navigate it's more an accumulation of errors.

Throughout the whole course, there is one sign pointing you to the next tee, and no signs on the teepads. There are also very few trashcans and no benches next to teepads. I don't need trashcans or benches, but when you're pulling your disc out of the basket and wondering which way to go next, they come in handy. There were spraypainted signs on the teepads at one point, but these have all worn away.

The layout for the course is ridiculous. There are sizeable walks between 2 & 3, 11 & 12, 12 & 13, and 14 & 15. These aren't necessarily long, but they're long enough that you need to know where you're going.

Teepads for 3 and 7 are right next to each other. Some fairways are rather close to other baskets and teepads. I imagine this could be quite annoying on crowded days. To get back to the parking lot after hole 18 you cross the fairway for 1 which happens to be one of the few blind holes on the course.

In short, if I hadn't had a map, i would probably have quit after wandering around for 5 minutes after hole 2 only to find two teepads with little to distinquish them and shooting at 7 rather than 3.
Other Thoughts: Here's some Lawrence, KS websites with course maps. In my opinion they are required.

The first is the pdf map from the parks and rec department. The second is a more general city website should the first stop working for any reason.

http://www.lprd.org/art/recre...cenwebmap.pdf

http://www.lawrenceks.org/lpr...ties/discgolf

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.