Lawrence, KS 
Centennial Park Share
Uploaded By: Erocx345 Hole #17 (Taken 5/2009)
3 / 307ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4
The Hills to Pay the Bills

1    11/10/2016   12/29/2016
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 306  Reviewed: 204  Exp: 13.7 Years
Pros: Centennial Park is a pretty good course. Ranging from almost wide open to a handful of scattered trees, the fairways are predominately covered with healthy grass, and several are playing up and down large hills. There are a good mix of shots, and not a lot of rough to punish the throw that is slightly off mark. All of the 18 holes have concrete tees and the baskets are good enough to get the job done. There are 2 or 3 possible pin locations on every hole.

I am a sucker for elevation changes that are more than subtle. You will get a nice dose of that here. Hole 1 is a moderate drop, and has fairly thick stands of trees on either side of the fairway, creating a fun line. There are a couple of great downhill crushers that take all you got off the tee. Hole 7 is long, from top to bottom of a tall hill, with a few trees and the long pin is across a stream. Hole 13 is not quite as long or as big of a drop, but it also plays across the stream, only with more trees making a definite window if in the B or C pin position. Hole 15 has a similar feel as well.

On the flip side, playing up the hills also gives you a couple of fun shots. This is the case on 5 and 6, but I really liked hole 10, with a pin tucked behind a line of trees taking away the most direct route.

Throw in a couple of short holes, as well as several more of the longer ones, and you've got a pretty nice course. Holes 2, 7, and 16 were all in the short pins, and allowed me to make birdies. It is all par 3's, so the distance holes can be tough, especially in the long placements.
Cons: Some transitions between holes aren't the smoothest. Between holes 2 and 3, and again after hole 11 on the way to 12 are a bit funky. Signs would be a great help, I would suggest taking a screenshot of the map on the link, or printing it out.

The layout is also near to some walking trails, and pretty close to the road on 10 and 11. 13 is along side the skate park, but not too close.

Exposed to the wind, so blustery days make things way more difficult. I recently moved back to Kansas and I'm having to learn how to deal with this on a much more frequent basis than I am used to. There was some very squishy grass on hole 5, with soft mud on the hill behind the hotel.
Other Thoughts: Some reviewers didn't like this Centennial Park as much as me, but that is fine. I have only played it once, but I live fairly close, and will be playing it on a regular basis now.

Scored a 2 over par (56) on the first round. 3 birds and 5 bogeys. Felt ok about that, but I hope to do a little better in the near future. If conditions are right and I bring the A game, under par should not be that hard to achieve.

looking for a sign....

1    6/25/2016   6/25/2016
Review By: juswinginit
Played: 73  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.5 Years
Pros: nice park, good elevation changes, great mature trees, good tee pads, pretty nice variety in hole layouts (uphill-downhill-right-left-long-short-a few gaps to hit- some wide open....)
Cons: No signs, No map at the beginning, which you could get away with if the layout was the slightest bit logical. but it is NOT logical or intuitive in any way. so it could use some signs. and some benches.
Other Thoughts: really enjoyable course, spacious enough, but not too spread out. there has to be a way to make a more logical flow from one hole to the next. but, whatever. just get some signs.

 Good Course-Not Great

5+    5/1/2016   5/5/2016
Review By: jayhawker4
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Fun Course
-Variable Shot Opportunities
-super nice people
-well maintained (can get muddy after rain)
-nice baskets
-nice tee pads
-adequate facilities

Perfect beginner and intermediate course
Not amazing for experts
Cons: -Lack of signage
-Sometimes hard to find basket your going for
-lack of seating on most holes
-Can get really muddy after a rain
Other Thoughts: Overall a very solid course. A lot of fun if you know where you're going. Definitely worth going to. Best course within 45 minutes of Lawrence. Recommend going with someone that has played there before as it could get a little bit confusing on where to go.

Check her out!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

I wish this was my everyday course.

1    10/27/2015   1/27/2016
Review By: RippH
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.9 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Change in elevation is awesome. Besides the creek you really don't have many water hazards on the course. The tee boxes are pretty nice compared to others I've played on. You can grab some bbq at any point during your game.
Cons: Make sure your driver doesn't fade off onto 6th street. Be sure to yell four when you're over by the sake park.
Other Thoughts: The sticker tagging is kind of awesome.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Good enough

5+    12/26/2015   12/26/2015
Review By: 30disc
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good use of a small amount of park space. Some challenging holes as well as a few that are easy enough to get creative. Rarely busy, even on prime throwing days the course is fairly wide open. The small creek is an excellent water trap for building skills but poses no real threat of losing a disc. I've played this course well over 100 times and have never lost a disc, or witnessed someone else lose a disc. The skate park lights can be manually turned on and really aid in playing night golf. This course certainly deserves it's par rating, but can also be a course where a player can respectably achieve a good score. The course plays well and is easily read by the only somewhat experienced player. Excellent beginner course, and definitely a few challenges for experienced players.
Cons: This course feels like someones gigantic backyard. It's obvious that in the not-so-terribly-distant past, this land was razed, and has since been re-purposed into a city park. A respectable park, no doubt, this course does not have that "out in nature" feel that other courses do. There are no signs, but the course barely needs any. There is a small amount of overlap with holes, and to eliminate this, the course designers were forced to keep holes short and compact. This course is great practice for any level of player, but is not very technical and has few outstanding holes.
Other Thoughts: This course can get a little wet. There are a few areas that have poor sod or grass covering and are thus muddy. Be sure to expect mud on your shoes.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Not up to par (get it?)

1    8/16/2014   8/21/2014
Review By: hnosaj
Played: 16  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 2.9 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Some challenging holes, nice mix of distance, good use of trees in a couple of spots
Cons: Even with a map it was hard to find the next tee or figure out what basket to throw to. Not a very good location. There's a run down hotel in the corner of the park and it feels like you're playing right next to a major road on several holes.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty Good, but wasted a lot of time looking for holes

1    8/2/2014   8/13/2014
Review By: thecolorofhue
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well laid out course (I think, spent a lot of time asking people were the next hole was), nice mix of technical and distance shots. Its a very scenic park, with a lot going on (there's a skate park in it as well).

Baskets are in pretty good shape, nice concrete t-pads.
Cons: Not a single sign on the whole damn course. Luckily it was busy when I played, so I was able to ask people where the next hole was, but this is a little ridiculous for a course that is so well maintained to not have a single topper labeled (even though every hole had a topper) or even a label on a the t-pads (some had faded spray paint on them, but most did not).

The frustration that I felt wondering around for several hours (oh I finished this baby) is the sole reason this course was giving such a low rating. It more effort where put into something as simple as labeling, I would consider it a pretty good course.
Other Thoughts: Some interesting holes, especially enjoyed the hole that's built into a tree stump, and hole 1. It's nice to start the course off with a bit of a challenge.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Good course

1    7/31/2014   7/31/2014
Review By: Jeremyapt
Played: 17  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great mix of short and longer holes. Good vegetation made some holes a challenge. I really liked the elevation changes throughout the entire course.tee pads were nice and baskets were in good shape. Parking was easy and an good course
Cons: Need better markings on tee boxes and holes

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Follow the locals!

1    7/4/2014   7/6/2014
Review By: jjw4ucm
Played: 32  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 3.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very pretty course set over a large park on the north end of Lawrence. The lay of the land seems to lend itself well to DG, and the layout never gets boring or unimaginative.

Not every hole is a huge challenge, but that's not a bad thing. I especially like the risk/reward where the baskets were placed very close to the little dry creek bed, making you decide whether to layup or make a run at the basket. Nice touch!

Anyone who has ever visited the KU campus here knows how hilly Lawrence is, especially for being in Kansas. This course is no exception. Lots of elevation changes keep things interesting, and the course has used them well.

While I can't say there were any overly memorable holes here, there weren't any that I just didn't like or thought were badly designed. I left feeling it was worth the hour drive I made to get here. Good amount of right-to-left and elevation usage here.

I realize this isn't as big a deal outside KC, but the surrounding neighborhood was perfectly fine and safe (at least it looked that way). Plenty of gas stations/fast food nearby if you're in the mood.

Course was very clean, neat, and picked up. Looks like the people that play here care and work hard to keep it clean and tidy. Good job!

Super friendly locals that helped guide me through basically the whole course, even as I was in my KSU hat. Thanks!!

Ample parking at the top of the course, along with nice bathrooms. I did see a couple water fountains out there, but it was fairly cool when I played so I didn't avail myself.

Not a lot of lost disc opportunities here. There isn't a whole lot of brush or overgrown areas, so you'll probably not lose anything.
Cons: Not to beat a dead horse, but holy lack of signage Batman! There is ZERO signage on this course -- no maps, no markers, no arrows pointing to the next tee, no signs at the tees, nothing. Just some faded numbers painted on the tee pads. There are also several areas where navigation is not intuitive (8-13 comes to mind), so were it not for following behind other players and the friendly locals, I wouldn't have even finished my round.

Baskets are a bit on the small side, compared to what I'm used to. There's also no flags or markers on top of them and they're not very brightly colored, so they can be easy to miss.

The lack of lost disc opportunities is nice, but on the flip side, there aren't quite the well-defined fairways that I like to see on a course either. That's kind of a push either way, but I've seen courses without tons of brush pull this off (Wyandotte County).

There's not a lot of creature comforts around, although I didn't really ding for that at all in my rating. Just be aware if you like big comfy benches and bag hangers, there aren't any.

A few holes do play close to one another, such as the pads for 3 and 7 being basically right next to each other. Again, going from 2-3 is a hike up the hill towards the playground, and there's no way I would have found it without the couple in front of me leading the way.
Other Thoughts: This nice course is at the corner of 6th & Iowa in Lawrence. From JoCo/LS, take K-10, turn right on Iowa, then left on 40 Highway/6th Street. It's right there on your left -- you'll see the sign for Centennial Park. Look for the missile.

The starting pad is on the south side of the parking lot, opposite the end of the missile. I just saved you the 10 minutes I wasted wandering around!

Bottom line is, this would be an easy 3.5 with signage. I only docked it .5 because I do recognize that next time I play here, it won't be a hindrance. However, it really does make it maddening for new players, and I've seen much worse courses than this one at least throw up some signs. It's still very much worth the play, and I would recommend it if you're in the area!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great for beginners

5+    4/11/2011   6/1/2014
Review By: chaddyboy_2000
Played: 23  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 15.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great course for introducing people to the sport, as almost every hole is wide open.

The concrete tees are great, and multiple pin locations help to give the course some variety when the baskets move.

Good use of terrain, as you get a few fun bomb shots from the top of hills!

There is also a picnic area here with restrooms, which is a convenience many courses don't have.
Cons: The course is fairly boring for people with more experience, as the openness of every hole means it really doesn't matter where you chuck it. You could have the worst shot ever and it really doesn't matter at all since you'll still land in mowed grass. For the most part, the course is a giant field of mowed grass with a few scattered trees in it.

Due to the openness, there's not a huge shot variety here either. A couple times, you'll need to stay out of some woods that line the edge of the course, or stay out of a creek bed that runs through the course, so you may have to switch up your shot to avoid a fade into these areas. However, overall, you can throw however you'd like.
Other Thoughts: Good intro course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.